RPGNow.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info













Back
Celts Set $3.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 13
2 3
1 0
0 0
1 0
Celts Set
Click to view
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Nigel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2015 16:26:40

Excellent stuff, exactly what I need for my return to tabletop RPG's without having to re-mortgage my house for figures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by DALE T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2013 19:47:53

Another nice set of paper minis from Arion. Just wish the set was bigger.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/25/2011 18:42:34

I can't say enough good things about the Arion paper figures. The artwork is glorious, and the inclusion of bi-fold and tri-old figures is a great plus. I wish I could give them more than 5 stars. A stellar effort, which is all I'd ever expect from Arion Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2010 10:31:16

Excellent variety, Arion Games are one of the best producers of paper minis on the web.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2010 04:11:28

A useful and cost effective pack for both trying out new rules, setting up a quick 'army' or even playing a few characters. I do feel that the characters could be better researched (for dress, etc) but the pack generally achieves it's main object in being a simple and effective tool for the job. If I could suggest one improvement, it would be to ask for a 'flat' or 'counter' type 2d view of each character as seen from above.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Dennis S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2009 00:49:22

Just dowloaded set 1/6, and reviewed the .pdf's. nothing else done yet. So far all is well!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2007 11:35:50

I just purchased these as part of a set of Celtic themed books and what a great addition it was! I like minatures, but I can't paint worth a damn. These little paper ones are great. I run them off my printer (or more than one!) before my game and it is great. I can carry hundreds with me when going to a game (try doing that with lead minatures!) and I usually have what I need. I only have two complaints about this set. 1. Not enough red-heads! 2. Maybe this i just me, but I'd like them a little larger. I'll try printing them larger to see if I like that. Bottom line. I will be buying more of these very soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jim H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2007 20:16:16

I have been a wargammer for over 30 years and I find these high quality products extremely helpful. You can try out new rules, armies or eras without paying a fortune for lead while still enjoying the spectical of tabletop battles. I would recommed them to anyone interested in gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2007 00:00:00

This is my first review here on RPGNOW, and this is a great product to start with. Having been a gamer since 1978 and having used Poser (a 3D program) to create character portraits for my gaming group for the last five years, this product combined two of my favorite hobbies. Creating one of these images in Poser takes hours and the cost, not counting the program itself runs roughly $15 plus per figure with morphs, $10 plus per clothing outfit and another $10 per texture to get different looks. Overall to recreate just the Celt set you would need both the male and female figures and at least three clothing sets as well as the horse and its textures. That would run well over $100. It would be worth it if your character was always a Celt, but not so if you just need standins that look good. That is where these sets come in. For $3.00 to $5.00 you get several precreated figures ready to use as minatures. Even having all the Poser sets used, it was worth it to me to save the time of creating these. Overall, this is a great product that prints well, sets up well and will see plenty of use in my campaigns (I use a Celtic based game). <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The quality, the cost and the usability.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There wasn't anything I didn't like.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Gavin T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2006 00:00:00

Another great set, either for historical wargames or as generic RPG barbarians. I wish that there were maybe a few more variations of figure or pose, but with a $3 pricetag, who's complaining?

Hopefully a Celts II is in the works!

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2006 00:00:00

Arion Games provides the most beautiful paper minis in the industry. This set is good, but not among their best. If you need Celts or generic barbarians, I'd strongly recommend it.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The artwork is beautiful.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd like to see more variety among the figures in this set and I'd like to see more figures per set.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Tony R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00

Just bought this set and its everything the other writers have said the figures are great either as ancient celts or generic barbarians for a fantasy game.The only complaint I have is the set did not include either a Celtic slinger or a Noble warrior in Chainmail. perhaps we can see them in Celtics II<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: figures are nice. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Would have like to have seen a slinger and a Noble inChain included<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your comments. We are glad you liked this set, and are currently evaluating several sets to see if a follow-up is appropriate. If not, we will be sure to put a Slinger and a Chain-clad noble in our freebie or bonus sections on our website. Graham
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Rob M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/13/2006 00:00:00

If you are like this reviewer, you have neither the desire, or space, or cash, to ?collect? traditional miniatures. Yet, with the tactical combat systems used in many game systems these days, being able to bust out the battle mat and a set of minis is often necessary. Thus you find yourself looking for a practical and inexpensive option for your miniatures needs. Paper miniatures meet this need. When they are packaged as a PDF, you are provided with a readily available source of minis for your games, being able to print as many of a particular figure as you need, without having to invest too much money in them, or time and effort, in the case of those who paint their minis. In short, paper minis are an attractive option for their low cost and convenience, and are also logical options for ?collectors? needing a particular miniature, or several of them, for their game.

The figures in Arion Games? miniatures sets come in 3 styles, ?A-frame?, ?Flat?, and ?Triagonal?. The ?A-frame? and ?Flat? figures can be constructed from the same sheets, depending on how they are cut out. The ?Triagonal? minis are constructed from a separate sheet. These construction choices provide additional options in preparing your minis for use in the game, major characters or monsters can be constructed as the ?Triagonal? versions to provide a more visual flair, and to emphasize their importance. Other figures can be done as ?A-Frame? or flat versions to make them easier to handle or distinguish them from each other, thus providing a functional use beyond their graphical characteristics. Vehicles done as Triagonal versions of the minis work very well.

The instructions, which are not included in this PDF, but are available on the publisher?s website, are easy to follow and assembling the minis is quick and painless, just requiring a bit of work with scissors and some glue. The minis look good, even when printed on plain paper. Each figure is drawn from a 3D rendering (done in Poser using figures provided by DAZED, according to the credits), providing sharp detail and life-like shading, even when printed.

This 3 page PDF (4 with cover) provides a set of 18 figures. The figures include one Celtic Archer figure, six Celtic Warriors figures; armed with a variety of weapons in a variety of dress, all with historically appropriate costume. Also included are four Celtic Warrioress figures, also armed with a variety of weapons in a variety of historically appropriate costume. Finally there four individual figures, a Celtic Druid, a Celtic Hero (sporting the notable checked pants worn by the Celts), one Celtic Queen, and one Celtic Sorcerer figure. Finally, 3 ?vehicle? figures are included, a Celtic Chariot figure, a Mounted Celtic Hero figure, and a Mounted Celtic Warrior.

Overall, this is an excellent product from Arion Games, providing a wide selection of historically faithful Celtic figures. They would work well as barbarians for any fantasy or pseudo-historical setting. Adding in the fact that you can print as many as you need, and prepare your own figure sheets, this is excellent value as well. If you need a good set of miniatures for Celtic, or other ?Barbarian? figures, I highly recommend them. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Hero, Queen figures<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Horse hair textures are too smooth and shiny looking. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Jens H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2006 00:00:00

Very nice Artwork and realistic miniatures. Especially for Gamers , Gamemasters this Set is a very useful tool to get a lot of nice miniatures at a very low price. I use them for GMing or for my tabletop skirmishes:-) <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The graphics are very detailed and the miniatures look very realistic. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2006 00:00:00

Great-looking set for Barbarian Warriors, no matter if playing fantasy or medieval roleplaying or wargame settings!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG