RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
 
$13.00 $9.75
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 13
3 5
1 0
0 0
0 0
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Click to view
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2007 00:00:00
Excellent Product, purchased a hard copy as well. I use this when I am trying to figure out environmental factors for my worlds.


LIKED: Excellent resource for world building.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Francois L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2006 00:00:00
I thought this book was so good. I actually bought it as a hard copy when the special was on.


LIKED: It does cover the entire world building very thoroughly. Elements I would have never thought about in the realm of ecology mostly.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by william e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2006 00:00:00
I bought this book a while ago, and had not ahd a chance to use or read it for a while. I REALLY wish I had read it right off the bat, as it is an invaluable resource for any GM, or even an aspiring writter building his own world.
As with any Exped. Retreat product, it is very well laid out, and even more well thought out. One of the most excellent tools you can purchase.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2005 00:00:00
Well thought out. An excellent addition to any game master's library.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Rodney T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2005 00:00:00
I found this product to be more than helpful in getting started along the path to creating my personal fantasy world for my own home games.

LIKED: There is more than enough information presented to build a world of any detail level you desire.

DISLIKED: It would have been nice if the on-screen version were landscape instead of portait format. A minor complaint, but worth mentioning considering the length of the book.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Grimur F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2005 00:00:00
A nice product for world builders and for detailing your campaign setting. Unfortunatly very compact language and bad layout, making it tough to read. The book has huge amount of realistic information on how continental plates move, how migration take place etc. If U want to add realism into a fantastic setting, this is what you are looking for.



LIKED:
-Huge amounts of realistic information
-Adds the xtra twist to your campaign and world
-The authors really know their topic



DISLIKED:
-Very hard to read
-Bad layout
-Not nearly as good as: Magical Medieval Society

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Neil d. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2005 00:00:00
I stopped studying geography when I was 14, because I found it cripplingly boring. It doesn't matter how it's presented, I just can't raise any interest whatsoever. But I recognise that I'm in a minority, and as with all subjects, I'm glad that there are people who do find it interesting, for the benefit of mankind as a whole.

My problem with this book is that it's a geography textbook. It's "real-world". It explains tectonics and biomes and populations and other real-world concepts, and plays on creating a world which doesn't rely on magic to sustain it.

My fantasy setting contains two huge islands, with a lethally violent strait between them and jagged, dead mountains on the coasts. That's because they were formed by having one bigger island torn apart by two squabbling god-children. North is forever seperated from south, at least until the apocalypse, when the two masses will once again be thrust together, and two mirror-image cultures which have been seperated for thousands of years will meet once again.

That's fantasy. Bugger tectonics.

I will say, in this book's favour, that it is well written and engaging. The ongoing story, presented as interludes between the "learning" chapters, is nicely done and give the book a raison d'etre. And if you are building a fantasy world where consistency is important, it will be a brilliant learning aid.

Lastly, I'll pick up one point. Somewhere in chapter one, we read:

"Although magic is an important part of every world, magic shouldn?t be used to explain how a river flows over a mountain, except in very special circumstances."

Damn right! Fantasy is the special circumstance. I'm going to put a river that flows up the side of a mountain in my setting right now, because it's cool magic. So, thankyou Expeditious Retreat Press, for that alone, even if I can't love the rest of the book.

I'm also giving this book a good rating, because it is well written and informative, and it will be useful to a lot of people.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Jeffrey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2004 00:00:00
An excellent work on world creation. Like the 2nd Edition World Builder's Handbook in intent, but with more detail and fewer random tables. If you liked MMS:WE, you should enjoy this as well.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Joel T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2004 00:00:00
This book provides a very detailed description of how a magical world can be built. For someone who wants to build their own world from the ground up, it's a very valuable resource.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2004 00:00:00
A truly useful supplement for the world-builder. Too often it seems that I stammer over the hows and whys of a fantasy realm. Within this book I found the ideas to get my addled brain going to flesh things out. Very well done.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2004 00:00:00
An excellent, comprehensive world-building text. Covers natural phenomena from geology to animal and plant ecosystems. An absolute must for home-brew DMs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Fraser R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2004 00:00:00
I have read this book from cover to cover. What can I say that hasn't been said? Simply jaw dropping!! I can't get enough of it. I have already deconstructed my campaign world and am starting from scratch using this book. Amazing!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Glenn W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2004 00:00:00
Anthropology, economics, and geology 101 -- as they should have been. Well-written, well-researched, and surprisngly comprehensive. This book is fun to read, yet still practical.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2004 00:00:00
Unbelievably good, I loved reading it the first time -- I'm so excited to read it a second time.

These guys make fantastic world-building think-tank documents that give any designer, DM or writers good stuff to think about.

Thanks a lot!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Magical Society: Ecology and Culture
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2004 00:00:00
A fabulous guide to world creation through the eyes of a newbie god. Full of wit and intelligence, and crammed to the brim with good advice. Integrates facts from the real world with supposition on cultures and ecology in a magical world to provide a seamless commentary on setting development.

Highly recommended to all GMs creating their own fantasy world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG