RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Future Armada: Exeter $5.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
27 12
0 0
1 0
0 0
0 0
Future Armada: Exeter
Click to view
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Roger W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2014 16:40:07
A Serenity-esqe ship, this is vessel is a little smaller than what would be an economically feasible freighter in real life, but it served well as an interstellar archeologists team's vessel seeking relics from lost civilizations. Picture Indiana Jones in space, and you get the idea. While it mostly served as a sci-fi SUV, it was characterful enough to serve as a location for a gunfight or two. And it had to fight off an awakened Ancient army, returning to harvest the new crop of species to eat. It had help from an Orion vessel and a squadron of Drake's, of course, (See those products), but it survived. Mostly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2009 22:49:09
I have purchased this one first. After examining the product and began printing out the floor plans, I bought several more - and intend to collect the entire series. Why? Allow me to explain:
* Floor Plans - Exceptional quality maps are laid out extremely well and print out beautifully. I mounted mine on black foam-board which works very nice as I can layer the various levels vertically.

* Exterior Art - The beautifully rendered action shots are a most enjoyable addition to the product. They really help us all capture the feel of the ship and get that reality imagination churning. Very well done

* Background Info - The fact that these ships exist is no mystery once Ryan (author) spells it out for you. Another reviewer was sounding perplexed regarding the similarity between the Exeter and the Jo Lynn. Reading the wonderful background information explains the whole thing in detail. If used as "The Exeter" (rather than naming it as your own ship), a full history is included complete with its present owner and crew - who they are along with their histories and stats.

* Extras - The Skiff and Escape pods are an excellent inclusion, as are the two droid miniatures who work for the current crew - their stats are all included as well.

It becomes immediately evident that Ryan Wolf doesn't just throw floor plans at you that look cool. This, as with the rest of the series, are extremely well thought out and believable starships - complete with possible flaws, histories, functionality and real-world purpose. Each arrangement is a professionally assembled product organized to help the end user (me) to get the most out of it.

I enjoy the manuals so much that I printed them all out and hard-bound them into fine gaming books. Ryan Wolf, if you read this, Thank You! The very small price for the endless hours you've put into this series is incredible!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2008 09:53:39
Very detailed and colourful plans, much more than just the black & white line drawings of some other products. Each one comes with full deck layouts (for an overview) and printable 25mm sections to use for tabletop figures. Also, the deckplans are easy to modify with a little bit of skill in MS Paint or similar software. I've adapted this ship for the PC's in a Serenity compaign.

If you're looking for plans to use in Traveller, Serenity, or any other sci-fi rpg, these should be on the top of your list.

As with all the other deckplans in this line, the quality is outstanding.

LIKES: Everything

DISLIKES: Nothing

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2008 08:19:46
The entire Uture Armada series is the best looking tile set currently available on the market today. Evenrythign is virtually perfect, the full color 3-D art work, the information on the starship, the highly detailed tiles. If you are looking to for a sci-fi space/star ship based tiles set, t hen you HAVE to get Future Armada! Plus who doesn't love Firefly!!!!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Kity K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2008 14:40:57
Ryan Wolfe has put out a rather impressive series of ships. I'm far from disappointed and am in love with the layouts and ship designs!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2008 01:05:58
Future Armada deckplans are always a good buy: great artwork, awesome color floorplans, printer-friendly B&W floorplans, and a design that looks 'real'. All for very little money.

If I was to complain about anything, it would be the inclusion of NPC crew detail, which for me is wasted space.

The Exeter class is an up-sized version of the earlier Jo Lynn class. Its definately got a strong feel for the Firefly TV series ship, with more crew space.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Shawn G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2008 17:27:08
The Future Armada series is awesome! Each set includes a detailed write-up of one or two ships, including diagrams, deck plans, and d20 stats. The deck plans are provided in a small-scale image so that you can see the whole layout of the ship on a single page, as well as miniature-scale tactical maps in both black-and-white and color versions. In addition, each set includes a handful of very attractive CG images, showing in action (in space, flying through the atmosphere, in a hangar, etc.).

Even if you're not a d20 player, the images and deck plans make these sets well worth the cost.

(Some of the ships reminded me a lot of a Firefly, so these ships would work really well in a campaign set in the Firefly / Serenity universe.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Vell S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2007 00:00:00
One of the best resources to come out in a long time, Future Armada has raised the bar for RPG accessories. The art and maps have excellent detail. The descriptions of each ship, along with any supporting vehicles/spacecraft make this series top-of-the-line!


LIKED: Everything!

DISLIKED: Again, I liked everything!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2007 00:00:00
The future armarda packs are of the highest quality. The ship deck plans are lovely. The detail is excellent and the layout clear. Illustrations and elevations are well done and capture the feel of the vessel.

The written descriptions are useful and inspiring and the NPCs included are pretty useful as well (neither too generic and nor too specific)

Though I'm planning a home grown sf campaign so i won't be using the D20 stats, however their inclusion is useful for comparative purposes.


LIKED: A useful tramp style ship that can be easily used as a player vessel

DISLIKED: Not really a complaint or anything . . . but the ship has a stairwell. I would have thought ladders would have been more sensible.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2006 00:00:00
This ship feels like an upgrade from the Jo Lynn in that it's got that Firefly look to it but it big, real big. Great job BlackWyrm. Keep up the Great work!


LIKED: Absolutly everything. This product rating really needs to go up to 6 stars.

DISLIKED: Cound't find a thing wrong with it.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Mark A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2006 00:00:00
This and all Future Armada products are the most incredible, exciting and highest quality products available. If you are looking for spaceships for any future setting role-playing game (not just D20), then you can't do without these products. Ten out of Ten!



LIKED: Everything!

DISLIKED: Nothing!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2006 00:00:00
This is a very strange review for me to write. Make no mistake, the Exeter is a first-class quality starship deckplan. The problem -- if you want to call it that -- is only that the Exeter comes across as a "Expanded Director's Cut DVD Edition" of the last starship in the Future Armada series, the Jo Lynn.

This is not to say that the Exeter is a bad deckplan in any way, shape or form. I was merely surprised that it followed so closely in the design mold of the Jo Lynn. Like a Director's Cut DVD, the Exeter is larger, with more features, but it feels like the Jo Lynn on steroids.

Everything that I called good about the Jo Lynn, in my review of that deckplan, is also true of the Exeter. Such is the similarity between the two vessels.

This one will make a good home for a larger player-group (player crew maxes at 8, rather than the Jo Lynn's 4), especially a group interested in running large amounts of cargo or passengers. The Exeter will also make an excellent Tramp Freighter NPC ship, and the usual NPC crew stats and stories are provided.

Beyond these considerations, whether you buy the Exeter or not will depend largely on the specific needs of your SF campaign.

LIKED: The Exeter shows the same full-bore quality, amazing color artwork, and attention to detail as in the previous Future Armada release, the Jo Lynn. Designer Ryan Wolfe is once again at the top of his game here.

DISLIKED: Not a criticism, as such, but a bit of a puzzlement instead. The Exeter "reads" as simply a larger, expanded version of the Jo Lynn. I was surprised at the choice to follow up the Jo Lynn with such a similar vessel. Perhaps this was my own fault -- I realize now, I was secretly hoping for a space-exploration starship -- something to address the other popular SF campaign model, done in the Future Armada style.

Some buyers may be disappointed that the "alternative version" of the Exter is not a military vessel, as with the Jo Lynn, but rather, an expanded passenger/cargo carrier configuration.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG