RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
R.I.S.K. Supplement: Paani Empire
R.I.S.K. Supplement: Paani Empire
$0.50









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DWB Pakistan Flood Relief - RPGs [BUNDLE]
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2010 22:46:07
This partnership between OBS and Doctors without Borders is great. DwB is one of the best organizations of its kind, with an APR of 13%, and the generosity of OBS and its publishers is humbling. Frankly, I was tempted not to participate in this relief fund because I already have nearly half of the pdfs in the bundle, but therein is revealed one of the more selfish aspects of my personality. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that this isn't about the pdfs. Those are a free gift from generous publishers who are willing to put their potential profits where their mouths are. OBS and DwB have given us an opportunity at being more compassionate human beings. I say "Thank You" to both organizations. I hope to see a Thanksgiving bundle, a Christmas bundle, etc. I can think of far more frivolous expenses than DwB.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DWB Pakistan Flood Relief - RPGs [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2010 00:43:52
This series is really hitting its stride. I really like the background pieces with each character. Rather than generic third person origins, the backgrounds tend to be from the perspective of other characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS: Sins of the Past
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 13:37:31
I like this. You get an adventure, plus a glimpse into the Golden Age of the ICONSverse with fully statted heroes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Sins of the Past
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 13:34:08
I do have a physical copy of the fabled third edition, and while it's a beautiful book, I prefer the 2nd edition rules because they are less crunchy. BESM2 was the pennacle of Tri-Stat development because it provides a lot of options with little number crunching, while still running like a "traditional" RPG. The third editon is more like a "roll-over" version of Silver Aged Sentinels. The one "stock-genre" of anime the BESM2 doesn't run well out of the box is pet monster, but there is a supplement here on rpgnow for that. If you buy this pdf, I suggest geting the Fantasy Beastiary, Cold Hands, Dark Hearts, and maybe Space Fantasy, but really, with the core book, you should be able to run what you want.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Iron Dynasty: Way of the Ronin
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 06:36:23
I've waited since the release of the SW Explorer's Edition for someone to come out with a setting like this, and the guys who brought us Realms of Cthulhu have done it. Asian tropes are handled in a FFF way worthy of Savage Worlds. Some of it, like weapon finesse, is clearly derived from d20, but since this is a Savage Worlds setting, gamers won't be stuck on number crunching. The setting itself appears, at least at first gloss, to be standard, chiche, "fantastic-Japan-that-never-was" analog, but the adventure generation tables, loads of NPCs and creatures and new Edges, etc. make up for it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Dynasty: Way of the Ronin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2010 00:31:46
It's worth mentioning that Vigilance Force is the first in a series of pdfs. On it's own, it's probably a 2 star product because, while it provides standard Golden Age heroic fare, the writeups reference villains and other heroes not given herein. But, if you're willing to invest the $2.00 a week to buy the chapters of "Amazing Adventures of World War II" as they come out, you'll have a solid product before too long.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2010 00:23:23
I rate Eugenics Brigade with 4 stars because it is merely a chapter of a serialized whole. It is not a stand-alone supplement. The write-ups are good, and I'm enjoying this series because it's a little grittier than Adamant's ICONverse so far.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS: Jailbreak!
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2010 11:05:05
The third star here is for the art and layout alone, top-notch as always. As for the adventure, though it does read like an episode from the Bruce Timm Animated DCverse, it doesn't read like a particularly memorable one. This adventure consists on enough cliche to make a Risus fan, which I am, blush. As a $2 product this would have been OK; as a $5 product it's lacking. On the heals of "Sins of the Past," it's a huge let-down. What would make it better? ...a couple of pages of background on SHARD and it's agents and maybe full writeups on the ICONSverse heroes pictured in the art: All American Girl, Atomic Roach and Hang-man.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Jailbreak!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knights of the Falling Stars
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 19:31:12
This installment of Resolute 2E reflects the late Joseph Campbell's favorite late 70s sci-fi franchise with the serial numbers filed off, complete with an all-powerful "source" and an evil empire. In terms of game mechanics, "ripping" technology and star ship rules are the most useful of this pdf. There is enough here to provide a useful diversion from your usual campaign, or to provide an alternate origin for a character or a villain: a void master falls through a slip in the space-time continuum to wreak havoc on the PCs' city streets.... The anthropomorphic aliens are a bit cheesy, but so is the dialogue of Mr. Lucas's films.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of the Falling Stars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Interface Zero (Savage Worlds Edition)
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2010 12:28:23
I've followed Interface Zero through several editions, and the SW version is the most thorough. The book contains just about everything most people would want to run a cyberpunk genre game reflecting the seeds of the future in today's headlines, except of course the Explorer's Edition itself. My only complaint is that I like a bit more Bubblegum Crisis with my cyberpunk. I would have liked to have seen rules for creating golem mechs,

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knights of the Falling Stars: Interstellar Adventure for Resolute
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2010 12:20:26
This installment of Resolute makes no illusions about what it is: an emulation of the Spaghetti-Western Samurai Pulp inspired sci-fi franchise from the late 70s those of us frequenting this site all know and love. There's enough here to make an interesting diversion from your usual supers game. The anthropomorphic aliens are a bit cheesy, but so is the dialogue of the Star Wars films.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of the Falling Stars: Interstellar Adventure for Resolute
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Beasts I for Resolute the RPG
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2010 17:03:01
I agree with the previous reviewer that most of these creatures are generic, but 60 creatures for a dollar..... Bravo.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts I for Resolute the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero's Handbook for Resolute: Towers of Arvandoria
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2010 16:57:57
I'm amazed with how much useful material the author packs into these little pdfs. The high points of this one are the new races [I'd like to see more of these], the magic rules expansion [I particularly like the option to spend a hero point to cast a spell on the fly], the new abilities [useful, and not so many that they begin to feel like the dreaded "feat" glut of d20], and the new weapons and armor. While I like the concept of the Hero Archetypes, I like my Archetype concepts a bit more Joseph Campbell and a little less Monte Cook; that being said, the "prestige class" feel to the Archetypes may attract more "broken glass Popsicle" crunch players to the game. I definitely like Towers of Arvandoria more since it's been made more compatible with Resolute 2E. Since I know the author reads and responds to these reviews, here's what I would like to see next in the Resolute 2E series: a sci-fi expansion; a "mecha" expansion; more races for Arvandoria; an "Asian-themed" or Wuxia expansion and more hero origins and powers for Resolute 2E.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hero's Handbook for Resolute: Towers of Arvandoria
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! I'd better get busy! Those suggestions are great ideas, and many of them are things that are already in process in some way, shape or form. I'm glad that you like the game. Mike
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Publisher: Stargazer Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2010 15:39:14
This game is evidence that increasingly the most innovative pen and paper RPGs are free, or nearly so. WR&M is elegant. It reminds me of first and second edition Big Eyes Small Mouth, but with even fewer "clothes on."

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Peryton Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2010 22:57:29
Two aspects of this retro-d20 game I like:

1. the knacks system--Castles & Crusades could take a page from Peryton here;

2. the write-ups of the Mystic, a class less like the Monk of standard d20 and more like an archetypal guru [Jedi, minus the light saber]; and the Templar, a cross between the d20 Cleric and Paladin;

Aspects of the game I don't like:

1. too few classes;

2. the magical class it retains is the Gygaxian Wizard; the OD&D convention I like the least is the guy lugging the spell book into the dungeon.

Basically, this is a solid game, but is it better than free retro-d20 fixes, namely Basic Fantasy? No.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Peryton Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 145 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Troll Lord Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (169)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG