RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
GodTech Technical Manual
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2010 23:46:47
This pdf is, in a word, fun--an android trained by Tibetan monks; another with magma blood; not to mention a mecha straight out of 70s Japanese action-fare, piloted by a couple of Gatchaman analogs. Even if you never plan on running G-Core, there's a lot of potential inspiration for your ICONS and MSH campaigns here.

The only downside for some might be the references to the Guardian Universe, but that background isn't needed to enjoy this read.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GodTech Technical Manual <G-Core>
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Sunward: The Inner System
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2010 09:11:25
After reading Michael Wolf's blog post "An Experiment in Philanthropy" and following the embedded links provided, I have purchased "Sunward" and "NPC Files 1" in support of the "Eclipse Phase" authors' business and distribution models. Way to go guys! Thanks for charting a new paradigm for the RPG industry, in favor of fans and of "viral," word of mouth, "click of mouse," unhampered distributing.

As for the pdf itself... not much bad to say. Top notch, industry standard, even virtual-ground breaking, all the way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Sunward: The Inner System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G-Core
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2010 10:06:49
Caveat: I consider Jay Libby a friend, and I have been commenting on his work over the past decade, but I am also abreast of most of the super hero genre RPGs here on RPGNow and am a 23 year fan of the Marvel Super Heroes game upon which G-Core is based.

First: ICONS, this isn't--if you like your random-roll MSH blended with FATE, stick with that, but if you're looking to revive an MSH style campaign and want to introduce new players quickly, G-Core might be the game for you.

G-Core is "off the grid," using a Stat+ "Special Focus" + d10 vs. opposing roll resolution rather than the classic table. Saves are used to handle situations like Stun, which is a far less cumbersome mechanic than in MSH. G-Core uses character builds with point allocations based on career, origin, etc, basically a nicely pared-down version of Fuzion Blocks. No random roll options here, unfortunately. Powers are purchased similarly.

G-Core packs a lot into 24 pages: a gadget creation system, vehicle rules [which even ICONS doesn't have] and the Scaling System from The Basic System, which potentially allows for the creation of anything from mecha to a Death Star.

Other Selling Points:

The Price: If Jay keeps the price at $2.50 per pdf, the G-Core line can certainly compete with Resolute 2E and other similarly priced game lines.

Cross-compatibility: Your MSH, and ICONS, material should work with G-Core with little change, which is ideal if you're playing with a group who may not be warm to the non-linear aspects of FATE.

The Inconsistencies and Missing "Stuff": As mentioned above, characters are built on a point buy, that is every aspect but Resources, which is randomly rolled.

The list of character types is fairly standard, except there's no pure "robot" type. What if I want to build Optimus Prime's cousin?

Lastly, and this isn't an inconsistency, more of a personal preference: I am a huge fan of lifepaths, and one would think that with Jay's experience with Fuzion that he'd include one here.

I say, if you're a fan of retro-Super Heroes gaming, and of MSH in particular, you probably won't be sorry to have spent $2.50 on G-Core.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
G-Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Just posted on the G-Core page a new FREE PDF with Sentient Robots and some powers to go along with them! Hope you enjoy! http://www.dillygreenbeangames.com/GCore.html
DWB Pakistan Flood Relief - RPGs [BUNDLE]
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2010 22:46:07
This partnership between OBS and Doctors without Borders is great. DwB is one of the best organizations of its kind, with an APR of 13%, and the generosity of OBS and its publishers is humbling. Frankly, I was tempted not to participate in this relief fund because I already have nearly half of the pdfs in the bundle, but therein is revealed one of the more selfish aspects of my personality. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that this isn't about the pdfs. Those are a free gift from generous publishers who are willing to put their potential profits where their mouths are. OBS and DwB have given us an opportunity at being more compassionate human beings. I say "Thank You" to both organizations. I hope to see a Thanksgiving bundle, a Christmas bundle, etc. I can think of far more frivolous expenses than DwB.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DWB Pakistan Flood Relief - RPGs [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2010 00:43:52
This series is really hitting its stride. I really like the background pieces with each character. Rather than generic third person origins, the backgrounds tend to be from the perspective of other characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS: Sins of the Past
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 13:37:31
I like this. You get an adventure, plus a glimpse into the Golden Age of the ICONSverse with fully statted heroes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Sins of the Past
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Publisher: White Wolf
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 13:34:08
I do have a physical copy of the fabled third edition, and while it's a beautiful book, I prefer the 2nd edition rules because they are less crunchy. BESM2 was the pennacle of Tri-Stat development because it provides a lot of options with little number crunching, while still running like a "traditional" RPG. The third editon is more like a "roll-over" version of Silver Aged Sentinels. The one "stock-genre" of anime the BESM2 doesn't run well out of the box is pet monster, but there is a supplement here on rpgnow for that. If you buy this pdf, I suggest geting the Fantasy Beastiary, Cold Hands, Dark Hearts, and maybe Space Fantasy, but really, with the core book, you should be able to run what you want.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Eyes, Small Mouth Revised Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Iron Dynasty: Way of the Ronin
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 06:36:23
I've waited since the release of the SW Explorer's Edition for someone to come out with a setting like this, and the guys who brought us Realms of Cthulhu have done it. Asian tropes are handled in a FFF way worthy of Savage Worlds. Some of it, like weapon finesse, is clearly derived from d20, but since this is a Savage Worlds setting, gamers won't be stuck on number crunching. The setting itself appears, at least at first gloss, to be standard, chiche, "fantastic-Japan-that-never-was" analog, but the adventure generation tables, loads of NPCs and creatures and new Edges, etc. make up for it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Dynasty: Way of the Ronin
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2010 00:31:46
It's worth mentioning that Vigilance Force is the first in a series of pdfs. On it's own, it's probably a 2 star product because, while it provides standard Golden Age heroic fare, the writeups reference villains and other heroes not given herein. But, if you're willing to invest the $2.00 a week to buy the chapters of "Amazing Adventures of World War II" as they come out, you'll have a solid product before too long.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilance Force: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2010 00:23:23
I rate Eugenics Brigade with 4 stars because it is merely a chapter of a serialized whole. It is not a stand-alone supplement. The write-ups are good, and I'm enjoying this series because it's a little grittier than Adamant's ICONverse so far.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS: Jailbreak!
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2010 11:05:05
The third star here is for the art and layout alone, top-notch as always. As for the adventure, though it does read like an episode from the Bruce Timm Animated DCverse, it doesn't read like a particularly memorable one. This adventure consists on enough cliche to make a Risus fan, which I am, blush. As a $2 product this would have been OK; as a $5 product it's lacking. On the heals of "Sins of the Past," it's a huge let-down. What would make it better? ...a couple of pages of background on SHARD and it's agents and maybe full writeups on the ICONSverse heroes pictured in the art: All American Girl, Atomic Roach and Hang-man.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Jailbreak!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knights of the Falling Stars
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2010 19:31:12
This installment of Resolute 2E reflects the late Joseph Campbell's favorite late 70s sci-fi franchise with the serial numbers filed off, complete with an all-powerful "source" and an evil empire. In terms of game mechanics, "ripping" technology and star ship rules are the most useful of this pdf. There is enough here to provide a useful diversion from your usual campaign, or to provide an alternate origin for a character or a villain: a void master falls through a slip in the space-time continuum to wreak havoc on the PCs' city streets.... The anthropomorphic aliens are a bit cheesy, but so is the dialogue of Mr. Lucas's films.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of the Falling Stars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Interface Zero (Savage Worlds Edition)
Publisher: Gun Metal Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2010 12:28:23
I've followed Interface Zero through several editions, and the SW version is the most thorough. The book contains just about everything most people would want to run a cyberpunk genre game reflecting the seeds of the future in today's headlines, except of course the Explorer's Edition itself. My only complaint is that I like a bit more Bubblegum Crisis with my cyberpunk. I would have liked to have seen rules for creating golem mechs,

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Interface Zero (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Knights of the Falling Stars: Interstellar Adventure for Resolute
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2010 12:20:26
This installment of Resolute makes no illusions about what it is: an emulation of the Spaghetti-Western Samurai Pulp inspired sci-fi franchise from the late 70s those of us frequenting this site all know and love. There's enough here to make an interesting diversion from your usual supers game. The anthropomorphic aliens are a bit cheesy, but so is the dialogue of the Star Wars films.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of the Falling Stars: Interstellar Adventure for Resolute
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Beasts I for Resolute the RPG
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2010 17:03:01
I agree with the previous reviewer that most of these creatures are generic, but 60 creatures for a dollar..... Bravo.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Beasts I for Resolute the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 148 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG