RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Ancient 8 (G-Core)
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2011 10:11:52
Ancient eight is essentially an amalgamation of avatar the last Airbender and the New Mutants. Read more about it on the Dilly Green Bean Games design blog. As always, Jay's art looks fantastic on the iPad.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ancient 8 (G-Core)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G-Core GRIT
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2011 12:55:33
for $.75, you can take your G-Core campaign to the "street level". This PDF eliminates fixed point pools and allows for stat ratings other than multiples of 10.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
G-Core GRIT
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mecha G-Core
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2011 12:41:19
Mecha G-Core is essentially what it says: a mecha add-on for the G-Core system. There are some good ideas here, but it isn't as complete as it could be. Not all of the ideas discussed are given examples.This is, more accurately, the framework, a solid framework, but a framework.That being said, in characteristic "Jay" fashion, Billy Green Bean Games is posting a series of free PDFs to its website addressing some of the lack of examples and explanation. Beyond that, this PDF is only a dollar. I shouldn't say "only a dollar", but most of us don't even get our morning coffee for that little. With a little creativity, some of the concepts within this framework can easily be adapted to Icons or the old tried-and-true Marvel Superheroes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mecha G-Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Zenith Comics Presents: Supervillains! (BASH)
Publisher: Zenith Comics
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2011 08:54:38
A fine offering for a great rules-lite system. Can't beat the "app pricing" model. ...will be purchasing the ICONS version as well when it becomes available.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zenith Comics Presents: Supervillains! (BASH)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Our thanks for the kind words and happy to hear you are happy with your purchase! Cheers!
Moreau Files 2 (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2011 13:30:58
if you're nostalgic for the days of the Marvel universe when Hydra was not the instigator of World War II, then you'll like this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Moreau Files 2 (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

USHER Dossiers (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2011 13:24:33
The GM of my current icons campaign, someone who like myself has been gaming for over 20 years, says of the Usher Dossiers that it's one of the best written RPG supplements he's read in years. The art by Dan Houser doesn't hurt either. There's a lot of useful stuff in here for your house campaigns as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
USHER Dossiers (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 2 (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2011 16:33:59
Another great release from a promising product line, Field Guide to Superheroes Volume 2 adds the next 10 heroes of the 40 total. Of note here is the Super Vehicle power. Mr. Kenson chose to leave out vehicle rules from the main icons book even though the 4C Creative Commons system included them. The Field Guide team has spent some Determination points and "retconed" them back in [yes I realize how nerdy that statement is :)]. Icons fans won't be disappointed with Dan Houser's art either. His art does as much for the icons brand as any write up. It is a key element to Icons' characterization. Any publisher wanting to release Icons products should strongly consider retaining his services.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Field Guide to Superheroes Vol. 2 (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2010 13:35:09
Caveat: I bought these pdfs on sale for $1.34, so my opinion is influenced somewhat by that price.

LotFP is to 0e what Castles & Crusades is to 1e, and arguably better written. The "Weird" aspect of the game isn't so much "strange" as it is an indication that as much as it draws from OD&D and retro clones for inspiration, it looks to the source material that inspired the original game in the first place. Magic-Users and Clerics can use any weapon or type of armor, but only Fighters gain attack bonuses with level advancement. The Specialist concept is a good one. It comes right out of Tunnels & Trolls 7th edition, though Ken St Andre isn't credited.

This set could be equally inspiring and off-putting for new players. The Tutorial Book is as good a how-to of OD&D as I've seen, but the game almost demands an experienced game master. There are no monster stat blocks included. The rationale for this is that there are literally hundreds of 0e and 1e monster stats available on the net for free. The Referee Book is well written and no-nonsense. There are no treasure or magical item tables, but a discussion of the concepts. The author talks his readers through a number of RPG pitfalls the problems with historical campaigns.

If I get the chance to run 0e, I'll probably use this. The ascending armor class makes combat easy, and as cool as Dark Dungeons is, it is not a rules-lite game. This is.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Galactic Guardians [G-Core]
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2010 23:31:26
Galactic Guardians is my favorite of the G-Core $1.00 add-on so far. It features a Green Lantern Corps analog. Rather than rings, the Galactic Guardians are entrusted with disks allowing them access to a pocket dimension full of weapons and gadgets. It's an analog, but it's not a carbon copy; for one, most of the Guardians profiled have powers in their own rights. The pdf also profiles a special mission force of the Galactic Legion, an interstellar military arm associated with the Guardians.

As with the previous pdfs in the series, the writeups here could be useful for any GM running an MSH inspired system, like ICONS.

I'll say too that the production values of Dilly Green Bean Games keep going up with each release. The pdf is crisp; the art, dynamic.

$1.00 is the regular price folks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Galactic Guardians [G-Core]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MAJOR Issue #1
Publisher: WardCo.
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2010 21:23:55
Wait. Aren't these supposed to be free? WardCo. has decided to charge for the MAJOR issues to support James M Ward's medical fund. When I read this online, I purchased the majority of WardCo's products. James M Ward's work has brought this community virtually unfathomable creative inspiration, not to mention years of fun! The man wrote the original Gamma World. We didn't have an opportunity to directly say "Thank you" to either Gygax or Arneson. Let's do it for Ward. Please purchase WardCo pdfs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MAJOR Issue #1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Curt, Thanks very much for picking this up and taking the time to comment and rate it. Yes, these were originally free, but we canvassed the folks who contributed articles, and after no objections, started charging for these to help Jim Ward out. Again, thanks for your support, Craig J. Brain WardCo.
GodTech Technical Manual
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2010 23:46:47
This pdf is, in a word, fun--an android trained by Tibetan monks; another with magma blood; not to mention a mecha straight out of 70s Japanese action-fare, piloted by a couple of Gatchaman analogs. Even if you never plan on running G-Core, there's a lot of potential inspiration for your ICONS and MSH campaigns here.

The only downside for some might be the references to the Guardian Universe, but that background isn't needed to enjoy this read.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GodTech Technical Manual <G-Core>
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eclipse Phase: Sunward: The Inner System
Publisher: Posthuman Studios LLC
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2010 09:11:25
After reading Michael Wolf's blog post "An Experiment in Philanthropy" and following the embedded links provided, I have purchased "Sunward" and "NPC Files 1" in support of the "Eclipse Phase" authors' business and distribution models. Way to go guys! Thanks for charting a new paradigm for the RPG industry, in favor of fans and of "viral," word of mouth, "click of mouse," unhampered distributing.

As for the pdf itself... not much bad to say. Top notch, industry standard, even virtual-ground breaking, all the way.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Sunward: The Inner System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

G-Core
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2010 10:06:49
Caveat: I consider Jay Libby a friend, and I have been commenting on his work over the past decade, but I am also abreast of most of the super hero genre RPGs here on RPGNow and am a 23 year fan of the Marvel Super Heroes game upon which G-Core is based.

First: ICONS, this isn't--if you like your random-roll MSH blended with FATE, stick with that, but if you're looking to revive an MSH style campaign and want to introduce new players quickly, G-Core might be the game for you.

G-Core is "off the grid," using a Stat+ "Special Focus" + d10 vs. opposing roll resolution rather than the classic table. Saves are used to handle situations like Stun, which is a far less cumbersome mechanic than in MSH. G-Core uses character builds with point allocations based on career, origin, etc, basically a nicely pared-down version of Fuzion Blocks. No random roll options here, unfortunately. Powers are purchased similarly.

G-Core packs a lot into 24 pages: a gadget creation system, vehicle rules [which even ICONS doesn't have] and the Scaling System from The Basic System, which potentially allows for the creation of anything from mecha to a Death Star.

Other Selling Points:

The Price: If Jay keeps the price at $2.50 per pdf, the G-Core line can certainly compete with Resolute 2E and other similarly priced game lines.

Cross-compatibility: Your MSH, and ICONS, material should work with G-Core with little change, which is ideal if you're playing with a group who may not be warm to the non-linear aspects of FATE.

The Inconsistencies and Missing "Stuff": As mentioned above, characters are built on a point buy, that is every aspect but Resources, which is randomly rolled.

The list of character types is fairly standard, except there's no pure "robot" type. What if I want to build Optimus Prime's cousin?

Lastly, and this isn't an inconsistency, more of a personal preference: I am a huge fan of lifepaths, and one would think that with Jay's experience with Fuzion that he'd include one here.

I say, if you're a fan of retro-Super Heroes gaming, and of MSH in particular, you probably won't be sorry to have spent $2.50 on G-Core.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
G-Core
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Just posted on the G-Core page a new FREE PDF with Sentient Robots and some powers to go along with them! Hope you enjoy! http://www.dillygreenbeangames.com/GCore.html
DWB Pakistan Flood Relief - RPGs [BUNDLE]
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2010 22:46:07
This partnership between OBS and Doctors without Borders is great. DwB is one of the best organizations of its kind, with an APR of 13%, and the generosity of OBS and its publishers is humbling. Frankly, I was tempted not to participate in this relief fund because I already have nearly half of the pdfs in the bundle, but therein is revealed one of the more selfish aspects of my personality. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that this isn't about the pdfs. Those are a free gift from generous publishers who are willing to put their potential profits where their mouths are. OBS and DwB have given us an opportunity at being more compassionate human beings. I say "Thank You" to both organizations. I hope to see a Thanksgiving bundle, a Christmas bundle, etc. I can think of far more frivolous expenses than DwB.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DWB Pakistan Flood Relief - RPGs [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2010 00:43:52
This series is really hitting its stride. I really like the background pieces with each character. Rather than generic third person origins, the backgrounds tend to be from the perspective of other characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crown Guard: Heroes of WWII (ICONS)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 158 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG