RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Cowboys II Set $3.00
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 8
0 5
0 0
0 0
1 0
Cowboys II Set
Click to view
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by DALE T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2013 19:49:02
Excellent set of cowboys. A really nice selection of figures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2012 18:51:27
I really like this series and am gradually collecting them all. Many of these pictures can crossover. For example some of these gunfighters can be used with the Serenity RPG.

An amusing typo was labelling the stagecoach and chuck wagon side views as Imperial speedbikes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Christopher K. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/25/2011 18:45:59
I can't say enough good things about the Arion paper figures. The artwork is glorious, and the inclusion of bi-fold and tri-old figures is a great plus. I wish I could give them more than 5 stars. A stellar effort, which is all I'd ever expect from Arion Games.

***I realize I post the same comments for each of the sets I've reviewed, but I really do mean it. These sets are amazing! Try one; you won't be disappointed***

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Rich M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2011 20:45:51
This is one of several Arion sets that I purchased. Great detail and variety. A great value!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Chip D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2010 10:39:26
It is just as good of a value as the first set. You get A, T, and Triangle frames figures. I have used the T frame since they are easy to store and stand really well. I print them on 120 card stock and they hold up very well.

A very good value product and dead simple to transport.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by larry s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2009 00:37:44
Excellent value for you money. Arion Games is a great source for inexpensive, light weight and hard-to-find props. Their historical, medieval, pulp, modern and scifi paper minis look good and add an extra element to gaming. I use both plastic/metal minis and paper minis. The option of flat or tri-fold is great- the tri-fold fit better with the 3D minis i have, but the option for flat is nice to have.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2008 13:22:58
A solid product, with good artwork and varible deployment. Well worth the price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2008 15:17:04
A pretty good set of Western minis. I wish the figures were a bit larger (they only stand 25 mm tall) and there were more of them. Aside from that I like the set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Frank G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2007 00:00:00
What should I say, that's not already said?

This collection is simply great stuff.

Beautifull minis that I would love to print in a larger scale than 30 mm. It's almost a waste.
Great Variety in the poses, clothes and characters.

Of course there sure will be the one (or two, or three) minis that you miss in any given set. But Graham tends to listen to his customers and frequently publishes add-on stuff on his web site for free.

If you want to play your wild west games completely with Arion miniatures, you should consider buying Cowboys, Native Americans and Victorians, too.

If you're using these together with classic 3d minis you should enlarge the print by about 10 %.


LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2006 00:00:00
These are another excellent set of paper figures :)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2006 00:00:00
This is another great set from Arion. It features another fistful of cowboys, plus some other more unusual old west types. The artwork is up to their high standard.


LIKED: This set filled in some of the blanks that were left over from Cowboys I.

DISLIKED: I'd still like to see another 5-10 figures per set.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Andrew B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/31/2006 00:00:00
I'm not generally a fan of computer generated graphics. Even the best of them look too artificial for my tastes. I was surprised, then, to see how good the printable minis look in Cowboys II.

The key, is the scale of the pictures. When I zoomed my Acrobat in as far as it would go, it was easy to see that these minis are very detailed computer-generated images. Zoom back out (or print the minis for use), and you could almost swear these are photographs. Honestly, the realism is that beautiful.

The set doesn't contain a lot of minis, but what it has is certainly a good start. There's a wide selection of old west staples, including a handful of cowboys (and a cowgirl), a mountain man, bounty hunter, and a preacher. Two of the minis probably aren't politically correct: a slave and a whore, but they certain fit the genre.

Perhaps most impressive are the large vehicle minis, featuring a chuck wagon and a stagecoach. All of the minis look nice, and assembling them is as simple as printing to cardstock, cutting, and gluing the two parts of the base together. There are two styles of each mini, giving you the choice between a triangular two-sided mini or a more pyramid-shaped three sided version.


LIKED: This is a nice collection of attractive, easy to use paper minis for any game set in the old west. The final product looks very professional, and the three dimensional stand-up style minis have some advantages over traditional counters. Were I running a western game, I'd definitely seek out the first Cowboys set after seeing this one.


DISLIKED: While there is a nice starting selection of minis here, it would have been nice to see just a few more. I'm not sure how these are created, but I wonder if the designers could have made a few small alterations (such as clothing color) to help increase the usability of each mini. That way, three cowboy minis could become nine, or twelve, or whatever.

I also would have liked at least a link to some instruction for assembling the minis. It isn't hard to figure out, but some tips and explanation would have been welcome all the same.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cowboys II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2006 00:00:00
Excellent artwork, I do wish the art would be slightly bigger and thus take up more of the alloted space for each one but overall excellent paper mini set especially since they aren't all in fighting poses.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your comments. The reason they have a bit of extra white space is so that figures in fighting poses, with spears etc remain in scale whilst keeping the actual miniature the same size. This also keeps all of the sets consistent.
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG