RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Future Armada: Drake $5.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
28 13
4 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Future Armada: Drake
Click to view
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Lee W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2009 19:37:54
UPDATED REVIEW:

I've since discovered that the oversized print images are located in the "Art" folder included in the file package. It is nice to know that these oversized print images were actually included with the product. However, I think the publisher should include a note somewhere saying they are not with the map pdf, but rather with the art (?) images.

With these files "discovered", I give this product a 4.5* out of 5 (rounded to 5).

*Needs clearer instructions on where the oversized prints are.
--------------------------------------
ORIGNIAL REVIEW:

I purchased "Future Armada: Drake" specifically to use the composite 24" x 60" image of the Drake for a game session. I had the image printed out on an oversized printer, even after the employee at the print shop told me that printing the 24" x 60" image on corresponding paper would distort the image (stretch it top to bottom).

The employee was correct: the 24" x 60" print was distorted and unusable. I tried a 22" x 36" print out of desperation, trying to salvage something for my game, but of course the image was too small to retain the 1" = 5 feet scale.

Unlike other products that advertise oversized print possibilities, this product seemed to simply have an 8.5" x 11" composite image be intended for printing at 24" x 60".

Also unlike other products, print "options" and "suggestions" are virtually non-existent. It would have been nice to have some "cues" for printing (much like those included in "12 to Midnight/Fabled Environments" products). I would not be surprised if the publisher responded to my criticism by saying that the composite image was not intended to be printed oversized- even though it is supposedly in oversized scale! Inf act, now that I type this review away from my copy of the file, I'm wondering if I could have possibly printed the "wrong" image. A printing guide should be included for those willing to print oversized.

Regardless of being out cash for useless prints, the actual 8.5" x 11" pages of color _tiles_ are beautiful. I guess I'll blow a color ink cartridge (or two) and print these at home...

3.5 (rounded to 4) out of 5

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Kenneth K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2009 22:58:14
Excellent Product that I will use in my games. Ki Ryn's future Armada series has uniformly turned out to be excellent. I encourage anyone reading this review to give them a try.

Ki Ryn if you're listening, keep up the great work!

-K

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Patrick J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2008 15:08:10
Nice Artwork and very functional. Printing, cutting and posting the design on cardboard was a quick task. The pages lined up very well. We have played on this layout twice already and both experiences were enhanced by the artwork. The background and information I used, but the stats I tossed as I was playing a different RPG. Great value for the price. I plan on getting the rest of the Future Armada series.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2008 12:06:32
The best ship deck plans ever, and for five bucks you get a very nice escort or 'pocket' carrier. Very, very nice.

I do wish they could include the hangers empty, as there are other uses for a ship like this, but that's just a suggestion.

You simply cannot go wrong with Future Armada-I'm bought all but twoof the line (and will get those soon), not because i needed them all, but because the quality and low price cannot be beaten.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Louis P. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2008 08:19:07
The entire Uture Armada series is the best looking tile set currently available on the market today. Evenrythign is virtually perfect, the full color 3-D art work, the information on the starship, the highly detailed tiles. If you are looking to for a sci-fi space/star ship based tiles set, t hen you HAVE to get Future Armada!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Shawn G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2008 17:28:18
The Future Armada series is awesome! Each set includes a detailed write-up of one or two ships, including diagrams, deck plans, and d20 stats. The deck plans are provided in a small-scale image so that you can see the whole layout of the ship on a single page, as well as miniature-scale tactical maps in both black-and-white and color versions. In addition, each set includes a handful of very attractive CG images, showing in action (in space, flying through the atmosphere, in a hangar, etc.).

Even if you're not a d20 player, the images and deck plans make these sets well worth the cost.

(Some of the ships reminded me a lot of a Firefly, so these ships would work really well in a campaign set in the Firefly / Serenity universe.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Colin D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2007 00:00:00
As usual, this material is fantastic. Though this ship is less immediately useful to me that some of the others, it is still a very good design, and I would love to find a use for it.


LIKED: Excellent artwork, and a good, solid design with excellent rationale for the design choices.

DISLIKED: Umm, nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2007 00:00:00
I own every set of Future Armada now. The Drake is just as good as the others. The write up is brief, but I am an old school DM/GM where I modify stuff heavily to fit my campaigns.

I really liked the layout of the ship and the quality of the textures that are included.

The History of the ship is included in the write up and even allows for the original purpose of the ship. The ship had been a warship but was turned into a science exploration ship, but there are items in the write up to change the ship back into a warship.

This will fit any game where 1" scale is used (1" == 5'). I plan on using this not only for d20 Future, but also for Traveller, both Classic and the latest release with Virus.




LIKED: Textures and the design of the ship. Well laid out.

DISLIKED: History is brief (too brief), crew needs to be fully flushed out which would be good for pregenerated characters if someone needed them for using the ship in an adventure.

Also the history makes no sense, I am unable to locate any campaign setting that fits what is written up. Hopefully Black Wrm will come up with one. (My apologies to Black Wrym Games if they do have such an animal and I am too stupid to locate it)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Mark A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2007 00:00:00
Another perfect, immensely useful product from Ryan Wolfe.


LIKED: Everything.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Imre A. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2006 00:00:00
This line of starship deckplans are the best out there. I just wish that there were a lot more of them.


LIKED: The is a good design of medium size vessel for an RPG crew. The right up is sold. The graphics set the standard for all other companies to match.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by John S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2006 00:00:00
Finding quality starship deck plans used to be a real chore, fortunately Ryan Wolfe came along. I am thoroughly impressed with his line of Future Armada vessels, the attention to detail, quality of the artwork, and the extras that come with it. What you get are three PDFs, one contains a 16 page document that gives you the flavor text, hard numbers, and an overview of the deck plans. PDF number two has the Drake deck plans in black and white. The third PDF has the deck plans in full color, both the b&w and color deck plans are designed for 25-30mm miniatures, with 1-inch squares. These two PDFs are set up to print out the deck plans in 8 ?? x 11? sheets and then tape/glue them together. The bonus, an art file that contains some very nice looking pictures (6) of the Drake in space and for those who want to print out a full sized (for use with 25-30mm miniatures) poster map of the deck plans there.

I try to be very judicious in the giving out 5 stars...but this product earned it from me.


LIKED: Great artwork!
Attention to detail!


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Patrick P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2006 00:00:00
I've bought every one of the Future Armada Designs and this is another great product! These guys turn out quality like nobody else. If you're going to buy starship plans save yourself some time and just go with guys. They're twice as good as the next company doing the same thing.


LIKED: Everthing. The art, the realistic look, the price. Could not ask for more, but I will. You guys need to make more ships. You keep making them and I'll keep buying them.

DISLIKED: Not a thing. I've been messing around with this silly hobby longer than I haven't and I have to say that over all, this line of products is the most satisfying I've ever purchased.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Drake
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2006 00:00:00
Future Armada is the best series of deckplans in the industry. The Drake is a great little ship, too. With a crew of 18 and an expansive cargo deck, it can serve as a fast transport for anything. It's also armed with six fighter craft, which add to it's versatility. So, in addition to the beautiful deckplans, you get a functional ship which can be inserted into almost any existing campaign.




QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG