RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Tangible Taverns: Tuffy's Good Time Palace (PFRPG)
Publisher: Dire Rugrat Publishing
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2015 22:18:43

A Good Addition to the Wrong Side of Town

Let's see, we have 23 pages, 2 for covers, 1 for a Table of Contents, 1 for the OGL, and 1 for an in-house ad, leaving 18 pages of taverny goodness.

We begin with a description of the tavern itself (rundown), the food (bad - as a bonus eating one of the house specials may actually make you sick), and a couple of tables of rumors and events surrounding the tavern itself. You also get a criminal organization connected to the spot, for the characters to take on as either allies or foes.

The section of this book that really makes having it worthwhile is the descriptions of our proprietor, Tuffy, and the various characters who spend a majority of their time in and around the tavern. These folks are not just a collection of names and stat blocks with individual, unassociated goals; they are each a piece of a whole that is organically woven together to make this place feel like your PCs can have an effect on and be affected by what happens here, if they choose.

Next, there is a write up of a mercenary group, the Stunning Blades, that hangs around the tavern at various times. Again, you can introduce them as either allies or foes, but they have a very different flavor from the criminal group that houses at the tavern.

The book closes with an appendix that had an additional write-up of some of the major characters around the tavern at higher levels, which goes a long way toward making this place usable with a group that is beyond just starting out, or if you want the characters in the book to keep pace with the PCs.

One thing that I really liked: There are sketches of the different characters associated with the tavern. I am not very good at pulling descriptions out of thin air, so I am very appreciative of having a visual to use when trying to describe these folks, or simply to give to the players and say "This is what he/she looks like."

One thing that could have been better: I noticed a handful of typos as I was reading, including a couple that made me go "wait, what?" and read the sentence over again. They are not pervasive, and not bad enough to change my opinion of the book. It just seems that it might have benefited from one final, polishing, editorial pass.

Tuffy's Good Time Palace is very much what I expected of a "Last Chance Saloon" that this place puts itself out to be. A place where the drunkards, the undesirables, and those who want to disappear come together in a space seething with adventure possibilities. I can easily picture dropping this onto a wharf where you go when you have no where else to go. I'll be using this in my campaign, and I'm looking forward to the upcoming books in this series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tangible Taverns: Tuffy's Good Time Palace (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Behind the Spells: Magic Missile
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2005 00:00:00

Excellent work by Mr. Boyd -- well worth the $1.00 asking price.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I like my history fluff in gaming, so this product is ideal for my tastes. At the same time, the crunch is interesting enough that I will use that as well.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: It's a small point, but I noticed a couple of usage errors as I was reading the product -- not nearly enough to make a huge difference, but present.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Behind the Spells: Magic Missile
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Behind the Spells: Mirror Image
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2005 00:00:00

An excellent look into the origins of the Mirror Image spell, plus a couple of variant twists for use in gameplay.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I really like the historical bent of the fluff in the product. There is also a good mix of fluff and crunch, to appeal to both your chocolate- and peanut butter-lovers.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I ran across a couple of usage errors when reading the product (specifially, the consistent use of an apostrophe with a particular plural -s in the text), but it's not enough to ruin enjoyment of the product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Behind the Spells: Mirror Image
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Behind the Spells: Fireball
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2005 00:00:00

A good look into the origins of the Fireball spell, with a couple of suggestions for spell variants and an interesting variant rule for intercepting a fireball before it reaches its target.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Mr. Boyd lengthened this entry in the series a little bit, and moved the OGL to a separate page. When printing my PDF's, it's a little thing, but I like that.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: As with other products in this series, there were a few usage errors, but it doesn't take away from the value of the product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Behind the Spells: Fireball
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Behind the Spells: Animate Dead
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2005 00:00:00

This is a series that is getting better over time, and I hope the author plans to continue for some time. This entry is a look at the necromancer staple Animate Dead, with a backhistory, spell secrets, and related research sections that suggest additional rules, including interception of a necromancer's control of undead created with this spell.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The fluff/crunch mix for this was nearly perfect for me, with plot hooks and the rules to hang on them. I also like the developing voice of the narrator (a gold dragon).<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The few usage errors are still there, as with other parts of this series, but it does not interfere with enjoyment of the product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Behind the Spells: Animate Dead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Options: Mazes
Publisher: Emerald Press
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2004 00:00:00

This book is probably about as exhaustive a volume as one will ever want to see on mazes -- with the material in this book, you can probably stat up about any kind of maze or labyrinth you can imagine.
Because of the specialized nature of the material, the classes, feats, etc. in the book are also very specific, and won't have a broad application unless one were to run an entire campaign centered around mazes (an interesting thought exercise, at least).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Options: Mazes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lost Classes: Inferno Magus
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2004 00:00:00

As someone pointed out before, these classes each seem to be concepts taken from the comic book realm (Dark Avenger=Batman, etc.), but these are still fun pieces easily added into any campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Classes: Inferno Magus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lost Classes: Emerald Warlock
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2004 00:00:00

As someone has already pointed out, these pieces each seem to be taken from the comic book realm (emerald warlock=the green lantern), but they are still fun bits easily added into an existing campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Classes: Emerald Warlock
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lost Classes: Dreadnought
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2004 00:00:00

As someone has already pointed out, each of these classes seems to be a piece taken from the comic book realm (the dreadnought=the hulk), but they are still fun bits easily added onto an existing game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Classes: Dreadnought
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lost Classes: Dark Avenger
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2004 00:00:00

As someone has already pointed out, each of these classes seems to be a piece taken from the comic book realm (dark avenger=batman), but they are still well-done bits easily added into an existing campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Classes: Dark Avenger
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Planner
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

This is a good product, particularly if you are going to run your own homebrew campaign, or something with a number of changes from the core rules. Even if you aren't going to use every last piece of it, printing it modularly is a snap as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Planner
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MEG: Player's Archive
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

This is probably the most complete character sheet I have come across, though as the title implies, it is a bit more than that, with areas that fall under campaign history and such.
My only complaint actually comes from my players: a wish that some of the more traditional "character sheet" items had been compacted into a smaller space. They are now using two character sheets: this one for total information recording, and a more traditional (cramped) one for use during the game, so they aren't flipping through ten pages to find combat information.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MEG: Player's Archive
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forbidden Arcana: Lost Spells
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

This is a good add-on to the rules if you want a creative alternative to the idea that an interrupted arcanist spell just goes "fffffffttt" with no consequences.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Arcana: Lost Spells
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forbidden Arcana: Magical Foods
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

This will give your players a jolt, especially if they're in the habit of not paying attention to what they eat at the inn beyond blithely ordering the best meal in the house --



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Arcana: Magical Foods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Forbidden Arcana: Potion Mixology
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Alan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2004 00:00:00

This is a great add-on to a campaign, putting back some of the uncertainty of the 1st/2nd edition games when your players are brave/stupid/foolish enough to wonder just what happens if one combines two potions, or, more likely, desperate enough to down a second potion before the duration of a first has ended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forbidden Arcana: Potion Mixology
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG