RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Ronin Arts
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Future: 13 Nanoaugmentors
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2006 00:00:00
This is a PDF detailing additional nano-augmentors (addition to those present in d20 Future). It is seven page file, with 2/3 of the last page devoted to the OGL.

It is well-written, with nice lay-out (common to most "Future: XX" PDFs). Some of the nano-augmentors described are a little too much over the top for me (Radar for one), and others have a little too much punch (Rhino), but most are pretty good. As a whole, this PDF is a good adition to your collection if you play d20 Future and want some more choice to offer your players when it comes to nano-augmentors.


LIKED: Good addition to already publish sources (i.e. d20 Future).

DISLIKED: A couple of the nano-augmentors are a little over the top, IMO.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Future: 13 Nanoaugmentors
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Professions: Game Enhancement
Publisher: Alea Publishing Group
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2005 00:00:00
This PDF contains rules that let you add depth to your fantasy PCs by giving them a professional background that is part of the characters' lives before they began adventuring. It is assumed that the background comes from being apprenticed to a guild master.
The background, which needs to be taken at 1st level, provides a boon that is slightly less powerful than most feats. The flip side is that it sets your character back a certain amount of XPs, so that the PC has to gather another 150 to 750 XP before reaching 2nd level.

The backgrounds available are quite a few and covers a broad spectrum, and so are the boons gained. Some backgrounds have odd XP costs and one background actually seems to be a drawback rather than a boon. There is also a new rules mechanic called "craft points" allowing a character to create an item more or less overnight using a pool of craft points gathered over time. After reading the part about crat points, I'm not entirely convinced that this is a good addition to the rules, but I will play-test it.

The art is rather scarce, but looks good. I like the borders on each page.

Overall, this is an interesting addition that allows you to provide more depth to your character. There are a few editing issues - some spelling mistakesand a background that seems like a drawback as it is worded right now.


LIKED: The possibilities for creating characters that have a more believeable background than "I have been training to be an adventuring hero since the age of 5".

DISLIKED: Could have been proofread a little better.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Professions: Game Enhancement
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Publisher: 0one Games
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2005 00:00:00
This is a collection of maps of a castle that could be used to map out the lair of a powerful vampire. The PDF starts with a cover page, a short, one-page introduction, and a page with the map legend. After this comes the actual maps. In total there is 10 different maps. but they are printed both in "blue and white" as well as ordinary B/W, so there is twenty pages of maps. The PDF ends with a page to fill in the room numbers and short descriptions of each room, and an one-page advertisment for other 0One Blueprints.

The cartography is crisp and clean, and the useage of the PDF format is well done, allowing one to show or hide room numbers and grids with a simple mouse-click.

Unfortunately, the cartography isn't that much better than what I used to do by hand back in the days I wrote my own adventures, and the simple (and clean) style doesn't allow any fancy embellishments.

My conclusion is that this is a product for those of us that doesn't have the time to draw our own maps any more and who are looking for something simpler than those fancy, colored tiles of the other RPG cartography firm.


LIKED: Crisp, clean cartography. Good useage of the PDF format.

DISLIKED: Almost too simple cartography. Use of "blueprints" is fancy, but this only doubles the number of pages while adding nothing useful.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Vampire Castle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lions Den Press: Magical Locks
Publisher: Lion's Den Press
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2005 00:00:00
This short (six pages including OGL text) PDF deals with the subject of magical locks. It's done with a crisp and clean lay-out that is easy to read (at least if printed out). I like the illustrations (1/3 of a page on the title page and another full-page one), even though the little people on the full-page iluustraion are using a flashlight!

The descriptions of the locks include a short description of how the lock looks, how it works including the challenge rating, and notes on how to make one. The variations are rather interesting, and I just can't wait to try them out on my unsuspecting players. I think this PDF will add a little extra to most D&D-campaigns that feature locks and rogues that pick locks.


LIKED: The whole concept of magical locks, and the implementation of it, i.e. the different variations presented in the PDF.

DISLIKED: Nothing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lions Den Press: Magical Locks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darwin's World: Wasteland Settlement Generator
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2005 00:00:00
This is a nice tool for a GM that is running a Darwin's World campaign and that needs to make up a settlement on the spot. It has a fairly simple step-by-step method of generating almost any kind of settlement.

My only complaint is that there are no explanations of the different kinds of backgrounds a settlement may have. As I don't own any of the core rulebooks for Darwin's World, I would have liked a short description of these backgrounds. Yes, I know, this PDF is primarily intended for Darwin's World, but if there hade been a short explanation - perhaps two or three sentences - of the different backgrounds, the utility of this PDF had increased a lot even for GMs running different post-apocalyptic campaigns.


LIKED: The sample communities, and the short fiction in the beginning of each section.

DISLIKED: Would have liked short explanations of the settlement backgrounds.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Wasteland Settlement Generator
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darwin's World: Vault Dwellers
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2005 00:00:00
This is an interesting PDF, which provides details of the so-called "Vault Dwellers", a concept that is rather common in post-apocalyptic RPGs, whether it's the pen-and-paper version or the computer version.

It describes how a typical vault could look, common features between different vaults, and the background for the whole idea. There is also a short adventure that introduces Vault Dweller characters to the harsh, new world.

All in all, a neat and useful PDF to have if you're running a post-apocalyptic campaign featuring vaults in one or another way.


LIKED: Short, but plenty of information. I particularly liked the short adventure.

DISLIKED: Not much.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Vault Dwellers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darwin's World: Scav's Swag
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2005 00:00:00
This is an excellent resource for any GM running a post-apocalyptic RPG, regardless if it's Darwin's World, Gamma World, or a home-brew based on d20 Apocalypse, for example. With a few dice rolls, you have a list of relics that your players can find in the ruins. I especially like that the lists include mundane, almost worthless items as well as high-value items.




LIKED: That it allows me to generate both less valuable relics as well as high value items.

DISLIKED: Nothing in particular.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World: Scav's Swag
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern: Character Dossier (Character Sheet)
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2005 00:00:00
This PDF is dedicated to allow you to document "everything" about your beloved d20 Modern PC. It begins with three pages giving a short background, a small text regrding the use of this PDF, and then descriptions of all the forms available, including tidbits of advice on what to do with each page.

Then comes the stuff; 23 pages of forms to flesh out your character - overview, stats, skills, talent trees, etc. There are pages for PCs with psionic powers, PCs that knows spells, forms detailing any vehicles your PC may own; it's basically everything including the kitchen sink.

After the player forms comes a section fo forms that can be used by the GM - a campaign summary, NPC, creature and organization dossiers, an adventure log, and some more stuff including a blank map for creating encounters. The PDF ends with a page with the Open Game License.

LIKED: I've said this before in regards to other products from Ronin Arts, but the sheer wealth of supporting material for PCs and GMs alike is astounding. This PDF will help you flesh out your character, and it will help you keep in control of your campaign. Very nice indeed, if you can't keep up with hand-written notes.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern: Character Dossier (Character Sheet)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Temple of Blood
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This tile set depicts a temple setting that most definitely belongs to an evil sect. Nice artwork, evocative imagery, and as usual plenty of options for printing.

LIKED: Plenty of printing opportunities; nice artwork.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Temple of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Campaign Planner 2
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This is an upgraded version of the original Campaign Planner. It further expands the information of first version.

It's basically a set of different forms to use when working with your fantasy campaign. It has more forms than I ever have the time to fill out, but the ones I do use are great. It will help you get a structure to your notes, and it will also help you in the sense that by looking through these forms you get a feeling for what you should think about in your camapign.

To me, it's been a great help in handling my current campaign.

LIKED: Everything! It's a great help for a DM with too many ideas and too little time to do anything about them.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Planner 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Future: Starship 2 -- The Foxhawk-Class
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This PDF details a military scout ship for a space opera-type d20 Future game. It begins with a short introduction listing assumptions regarding the use of this ship. It also has some information about the author, and notes about how to use this product with e-tiles from Skeleton Key Games.

This is followed by some ideas regarding how to handle Purchase DCs in a space opera-type game, and how PCs may obtain a military type space ship. There is also a side bar describing the design of the ship.

Then we get down to the meat - a background for the Foxhawk-class including possible uses, d20 Future stats for the Foxhawk-class, and several upgrade templates (describing different configurations of the class). This section ends with a description of a Foxhawk wing. This is followed by a key to the map of the ship, and some adventure hooks. Finally we get several maps and silhouttes of the different configurations of the Foxhawk class ships.

LIKED: It's loaded with information regarding the Foxhawks - I especially like the different types of configuration of the basic model. Also, to get maps and silhouttes of each configuration is great!

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future: Starship 2 -- The Foxhawk-Class
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Future: Starship 6 -- A Duo of Fighters
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This PDF details two fighter-type spaceships for a d20 Future game. It begins with a short introduction listing assumptions regarding the use of this ship, and some information about the author.

This is followed by a short text about buying things of a lower PL than you are at now. Then we get some new ship hardware (engine and weapons), followed by the two fighters. Each fighter gets a short background, after which comes the d20 Future stats for the ship. There is also suggestions for upgrading the ships using templates, and some adventure hooks.

Finally we get a silhoutte of each ship, including an extra silhoutte for the upgraded version of one of the fighters.

LIKED: A solid product. I liked the added counters - very nice.

DISLIKED: Perhaps, just a little bit more of information regarding the fighters. Compared to other PDFs in this series, this one had a little less information overall.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Future: Starship 6 -- A Duo of Fighters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Future: Installation 1 -- Asteroid Outpost
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This PDF details an asteroid base for a spacebased d20 Future game. It begins with a short introduction listing assumptions regarding what kind of campaign this base might fit in. It also has some information about the author, and notes about how to use this product with e-tiles from Skeleton Key Games.

This is followed by a lot of new rules - hardware mainly, including a new class of spaceships (including statistics and a silhoutte page). Then we're treated to information regarding the base itself, which is followed by a keyed map (very nice indeed) of the installation. We also get a "side bar" (more like an enclosed footer) regarding the protection of the base's defence systems. Finally we're given some adventure hooks.



LIKED: The wealth of information - a new class of space ship, several pieces of hardware, lots of campaign names and descriptions. Excellent stuff!
I also like the map.
All in all, this product makes me want to start a d20 Future campaign solely to get to include it.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future: Installation 1 -- Asteroid Outpost
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Dozen Dungeon Hazards
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This PDF describes 12 different hazards to an adventurer's life. It lists the according to type - fogs, fungi, molds, and slimes.

The PDF begins with a short introduction, and then we are treated to the hazards. Each hazard is described in detail, including challenge rating, type of saving throw to avoid or reduce the harm caused, what the harm is, and finally which skill (if any) will let an adventurer identify the hazard (including the needed DC). We also get two sidebars - one describing a new disease and one that gives advice on how to destroy slimes.

Short and sweet, this PDF is seven pages, including Open Game License.

LIKED: The excellent descriptions of each hazard.

The fact that the CR is included in the header for each hazard makes it easy to just browse the PDF and pick an appropriate hazard for your gaming group.

DISLIKED: Nothing really.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Dozen Dungeon Hazards
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Future: Starship 1 -- The Nova Star
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Goran B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2005 00:00:00
This PDF details a freight star ship for a space opera-type d20 Future game. It begins with a short introduction listing assumptions regarding the use of this ship. It also has some information about the author, and notes about how to use this product with e-tiles from Skeleton Key Games.

This is followed by some new rules (new hardware actually) and some ideas regarding possible cargoes, and a suggestion of how to handle Purchase DCs in a space opera-type game.

Then we get down to the meat - a background for the Nova Star (the name isn't for a class of ships but rather for a single individual), d20 Future stats for the Nova Star, a key to the map of the ship, and some adventure hooks.

Finally we get a map - very nicely done - and a silhoutte of the ship (comes in handy if your players come across the Nova Star).

LIKED: I especially like that the author has taken the time to give us his assumptions for the campaign that this ship will fit. I also like the background - gives me lot of information to use for my own campaign world. Finally I like the silhoutte - as the author points out, this is excellent to show your players if they come across the Nova Star during their travels.



DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future: Starship 1 -- The Nova Star
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 54 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG