RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info











Back
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
 
$12.95
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 26
4 8
1 2
0 0
0 0
Darwin\'s World 2: Survivor\'s Handbook
Click to view
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2015 09:32:31

While the book is well written, is is missing a significant amount of material in the 2.5 edition. All of the referenced tables and appendixes are missing. Now, to run a Darwin's World 2 game the four core books are needed the D20 Modern book is required and an exhaustive search on the internet for these missing tables is required. Now, these tables are impossible to find complete online and they are NOT included in the DW2.5 version of the PDF's. Wit the inclusion of those charts & tables I would recommend this, but without those charts & tables I would NOT recommend this product as in increased the frustration on the GM and the players when attempting to prepare for a campaign.


Good material, but it appears the presentation/publication to PDF is/was lacking.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by matthew c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2013 14:25:03

great system. Have gm'd it once in the vanilla setting and enjoyed running it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Mathew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2009 15:27:29

Great game. I really enjoyed it. The book was well written.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by William S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2006 00:00:00

This review refers to the PDF/POD combo.

The DW2:SH is a beautifully designed upgrade to the original DW game. The PDFs come in two versions, one designed for on-screen viewing and the other designed for printout.


The game world probably is the closest match to the one encountered in the computer games "Fallout" and "Fallout 2" that I've seen for P&P RPGs.


The mutation system is rich, powerful and more "archetypal" than the one found in the new D20 Gamma World from Sword & Sorcery.


I still haven't received my POD printout of this book after 3 months, so I can't recommend the PDF/POD combo, but really think the PDF by itself is a superb purchase for any post-apocolypse game.


My VALUE rating is only referencing the fact that I still don't have the paper POD version after a quarter of a year.<br><br>
<b>LIKED</b>: Character Types, Mutations and general setting atmosphere<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: 1) Didn't care for the cause of the world's current situation, but that is easily remedied by GM fiat.


2) Didn't like that after 3 months I still haven't received the POD book - and would recommend people not order the PDF/POD combo - but HIGHLY recommend the PDF version by itself.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jose L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2005 00:00:00

For those wondering, this is the 1st section of a 4-part set that makes the complete Darwin's World Book. Section 2 is the Campaign Guide, section 3 is Terrors of the Twisted Earth, and section 4 is the free Gazetteer. You'll also want to DL the Charts and Tables. You put them all together and print them, and its a complete book, right down to the table of contents and index. I printed the cover twice (for the front and back of the book) and took the whole thing to Kinko's for lamination of the covers and spiral (or coil) binding. Cost me $8.50 and its AWESOME. The coil binding is strong and the book can sit flat open or fold over to the specific page...highly recommended.


Anyways, I bought Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook because I was looking for a good post-apocalyptic setting. The new d20 Gamma World setting didn't get a good reception from gamers, and I didn't like that it strayed from its nuclear roots...bah. I found DW2 to be an excellent setting.


The Survivor's Handbook is chock full of material for players and DM's. There are 11 backgrounds, 16 occupations, a new basic class, 15 advanced class and even 8 EPIC classes. There's also plenty of new and revised skills and feats. The mutation system for DW2 is excellent, with tons of of options; the choices are creative and make playing a mutant fun and challenging. The list of equipment, especially the weapons, is very extensive, and the monetary system is great as well.


Overall, this is an excellent product and in my opinion the best post-apocalyptic setting currently on the market. Buyers will not be disappointed. I recommend the entire line of DW2 stuff.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: High production values; print and screen pdf's for each product; very original, extensive game materials inside.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There should be an option to buy all the pdf's for DW2 in one set, like the Metropolis Rho eBox set.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Thorn D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/06/2005 00:00:00

I purchased DW2e for the mutation rules & am very pleased with the other sections as well. The weapons are nice as they can be imported into any D20 Sci-Fi genre. Very nicely put together. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The New Mutation rules & the technology section.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Allen H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2005 00:00:00

Much better than Gamma World d20. More old school and it didn't take a beloved game setting and destroy it. The entire Darwin's World Corebook, of which this is but one portion of 3 or 4 portions, allows a gamemaster to create their own apocalyptic setting. Good stuff. Range from road warrior to the earth of the terminator war scenes.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Pretty much everything<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The "portion" aspect of the book. I would have purchased the individual portions as one download if it were available that way.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Peter M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2005 00:00:00

This is an excellent book for anyone running a post-apocalyptic game using the d20 modern systemwhether they use the setting or not. Things like raiders, road warriors, and various types of people who make their life off of scavenging the ruins of the pre-apocalypse society are detailed here. Well worth the price and then some.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jeff A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2005 00:00:00

An excellent post-apocalyptic game setting, providing rich history and character generation.


I felt the items and weapons sections were seriously under-populated, however. And the firearms suffer from the same problems as other d20 modern firearms, poor damage ans critical hit thresholds as compared to archaic weapons. Why would a high-powered rifle or an energy weapon have a lower crit range than a crossbow or a sword??<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Good artwork and layout. Very in-depth history and infrastructure.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b&g-
t;: Not enough items. Underpowered weapons for a cinematic setting. Illogical weapon damage and crit ranges (air rifle does almost as much damage as a gauss pistol??)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Matt W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2005 00:00:00

Very well done book, both in terms of content and production quality. This is the best option I've seen for running any sort of post-apoc game. It didn't take long for me to opt for the hardback upgrade.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: There are some innovative applications of the d20 rules set without straying too far into "what the" territory. Interesting and clever class features, for example, and a nice system for mutations. Above-average artwork in most cases. Nice, evocative but nonintrusive layout.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: A bit too much in the "guns guns guns" department, which I think is a common blunder in many d20 books, but I may be the minority there. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Brett D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2005 00:00:00

Excellent option. A great way to get the player-friendly bits of the setting without getting all the bits I don't need like the setting and background.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Easy access to useful tables. Prinitng a copy of these has been extremely helpful.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I prefer bound works over PDFS, but that's minor, and being able to print the various tables has been useful.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Kim P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2004 00:00:00

Good D20 Post-apocalyptic game, with lots of possibilities for
making your own twist on the setting.


The add-on material is generally good. <br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I like the setting, the Material is thorough without being constrictive <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2004 00:00:00

A great game, if only it wasnt d20! Great genre bits though!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Kese C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2004 00:00:00

This is what I imagined the OGL would turn out in the best cases. As others have stated, DW gets everything right about the genre without trying to do too much at once. I originally bought the PDF as a precursor to buying the print version, but after a few days I am really starting to enjoy having the book in electronic form.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Darwin's World 2: Survivor's Handbook
Publisher: RPG Objects
by William R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2004 00:00:00

Tons of information, everything I needed to flesh out a post-apocolyptic world I had started, and I was running out of ideas, not to mention time to design it all myself.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG