RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Paladins of Porphyra
Paladins of Porphyra
$1.99









Back
Guild Adventurer #1 $8.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 7
1 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
Guild Adventurer #1
Click to view
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by VP401533 K. H. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2014 03:55:43
I was astounded, jaw hanging. I heard about rolemaster and HARP (but never played it) but never the guild adventurer magazine.

So, one fateful day, I was scouring around in DTRPG for a new game system to sink my "eyes" into and I chanced upon rolemaster. So I asked myself, why not?

I wanted to have a feel of the writing style, gaming perspective, theme and mechanics so what better place to start this exploration than through their own in-house magazine?

A few clicks later (and lightening of my wallet), I bought this magazine.

Cover art is well...meh - mundane and to be honestly, quite amateur work but a fine reminiscence of old school RPG (e.g. D&D BECMI, 1e/2e) so it is ok with me.

Length of the magazine is fine - not the cheapest in terms of ratio for pages per dollar spent but its ok. Articles - there are six. There are two supplementary articles fleshing out a tavern and a coach inn and four adventures (varying from RMC to HARP to Spacemaster).

What can I say to these articles? Wow! The detailing on the tavern and coach-inn are simply fantastics. Everything in it are fully usable whether on the intended campaign or to be used elsewhere (and the articles even advise how it can be done).

As for the adventures, at a read through only (without actually using it in play), there are simply terrific. Old-school, fine writing styles, thematic and flavorful.

This magazine (unlike some other magazines I bought and reviewed) gives me worth in every page and articles.

This magazine has convinced me. I'm going to embark on RMC - made an order for all the basic core books and definitely going to purchase the rest (and future) of the guild adventurer magazines.

Kudos to the everyone who worked on this. I have never been WOWed for a long time

PS: PF was mundane but still enjoyable and D&D 4e was yucks. So this gives you a gauge of what I meant by my appraisal of their (guild companion publication) work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by Bruce M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2013 13:15:13
The Guild Adventurer magazines are awesome. They provide some great gaming supplements that are extremely helpful in in or out of a pinch. You can't beat the low cost of these PDF's for the quality and amount of what you get in each ezine. They are more than worth the cost!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by Per-Anders S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2011 04:35:36
I find this to be an excellent product. Not every part of it will be usable in every gaming group, but you can use it for your own adventures. There are some minor issues with the production, like the title of the PDF file being "Layout 1", but besides that the quality is excellent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by Andre B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2007 00:00:00
I like the Guild Adventurer Issue One very much.

Nice locations and very good adventures. I?'ve already used "The Vampire's Barrow" and it was really good.

I hope that there will be an Issue Two soon. :)


LIKED: All of the content.

DISLIKED: nothing

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by STUART M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2007 00:00:00
I thought this was great. Cant wait for the next one.


LIKED: Shadow world afventure

DISLIKED: nothing

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by eric m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2006 00:00:00
Finally some short ready to run adventures for RM & HARP.

The articles on two different inns are also nice as putting the GM on the spot coming up with the name of a tavern is a running joke in our group.

While we don't play Spacemaster, the concept behind Paranoia could easily be adapted to a fantasy or even modern setting.


LIKED: Overall well written. Nice to see some short non-world encompassing adventures you could just pull out & play. The inns are nice to have too and parties always end up at one at some point.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by Marian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2006 00:00:00
A really awesome piece of work. The adventures are play- and enjoyable, the inn is really well done and got my players' interest right away as did the adventure hooks for the presented places.


LIKED: I was impressed by the authors they got but even more by what they wrote and put together. Excellent piece of work!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2006 00:00:00
I should start by saying that I wanted to see this product succeed and I am one of the patrons listed inside the cover. However, patrons receive no monetary compensation from the sales; we simply pledged to buy it. I am very impressed with the product and it has exceeded my expectations.

With that said, this is a great product for GMs who don?t have the time and/or talent to develop there own adventures and locations. The articles are well written and the art work is good. I recommend this product to anyone who plays I.C.E games (Rolemaster, Spacemaster, HARP). For those who don?t play I.C.E. games, most of the contents are written such that it could be used in any fantasy setting so it is worth a look.

The art (maps excluded) in the book is mostly pencil drawings and is done well across the board. The artist seems to have paid particular attention to facial details and shadow.

The book contains 2 locations and 4 adventures as follows:

?The Red Hooded Traveler?: This is well-developed inn and tavern setting that can easily be dropped into any campaign. Detailed maps of the tavern are included as well as descriptions of the staff. The only game-specific mechanics in the article are HARP stats for the tavern owner.

?Vampire?s Barrow?: This is a quick ?help out the commoners? adventure. It centers around the characters being asked to eradicate some undead. Included stats are for HARP and the monster levels range from 3rd to 10th level. It isn?t tied to any particular world so this adventure is easily adaptable to any campaign by just replacing the monsters stats for HARP with monster stats for another game system.

?The Flying Toadstool?: This is a inn location. It includes maps and building descriptions for the tavern and the buildings surrounding it. There are complete descriptions for the staff and the regular patrons and complete HARP stats for those NPCs. There is a developed backstory for the inn and a short encounter if the GM wants to include that during the PC?s stay at the inn.

?Web of the Kobolds?: This is a basic low-level adventure for PCs to help a temple recover some stolen items. There are statistics for both HARP and Rolemaster. The monsters range from 1st to 3rd level. Included is a complete map of the Kobolds? lair.

?Temple of the Three?: This is a well-written adventure set in Shadow World (the ?official? Rolemaster world). Included in it is a short background and history of the area involved. Though this adventure is a little more world specific than the others it can be adapted for non-Shadow World players. The monsters range from 1-15th level so it is geared for a little higher level players than the other adventures. There are also several traps and tricks that must be navigated.

?The Paranoia Game?: This is no relation to the Paranoia RPG. This is a Spacemaster adventure, though it is written such that it could be used for any sci-fi setting. I don?t want to give too much away but this adventure is based much more on role-playing and story-telling finesse than blast-anything-that-moves tactics. The only creature in the game is 10th level.



LIKED: The simple, clean page layout and the quality of the writing.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guild Adventurer #1
Publisher: Guild Companion Publications
by Joe M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2006 00:00:00
The first of (hopefully) a long line of periodical releases by the Guild Companion, this is The Guild Adventurer Issue One. At first glance, it looks a lot like the old sci-fi periodicals from days of yore. The layout is friendly and easy to read, the art is consistent, and the content is top-notch. There are some well-known ICE authors who contributed to this issue, and the quality shows. I highly recommend this product to those who have use for a quick location or a detailed adventure. It's not crunchy-intensive, so the contents can easily be converted to just about any campaign of the appropriate genre (there is both fantasy and sci-fi content). For those who use ICE systems to play, the contents are ready-to-go, and should fit nicely into any campaign.


LIKED: The layout. The art. The content.

DISLIKED: The fact that it's the only one of its kind, which will hopefully be remedied in time.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Guild Companion Publications
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Other products (119)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG