RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Adventurer Essentials: Rope
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2007 00:00:00
The Adventurer Essentials series is a great idea, but one that should be compiled into a larger, more comprehensive product. While the cost is low, it adds up when you purchase them separately, or even as a bundle.


LIKED: Great product idea, and attractive cover and audio preview podcast :)

DISLIKED: Really not a good value when purchased separately. Should be a larger compilation with dozens of "essential" items.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurer Essentials: Rope
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Handouts: Wanted Posters 3
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2006 00:00:00
The series of Wanted Posters by Philip Reed keeps getting better! This third installment of posters features art by legendary illustrator Larry Elmore, and the names of the villains are generic enough to insert into most fantasy campaigns.

The product features a full color version, which looks great on-screen, and also a black-and-white version, which makes it perfect for printing out on special paper.



LIKED: * Artwork by Larry Elmore
* Higher gold reward amounts

DISLIKED: * New adjustable reward amounts in #1 and #2 don't seem to be included in #3.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Handouts: Wanted Posters 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I was updating the files but now the reward values in this release can be edited, just like in the first two.
100 Marketplace Goods
Publisher: Dark Quest Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2006 00:00:00
Most DM's can probably whip up a list of 100 random items that players would find wandering through a city market. But I've tried it before, and I run out of ideas halfway through, and it takes longer than most might think. For a measly buck, this will save you at least an hour of planning, and it's all tidily placed onto one reference sheet.

This product has a wide variety of items for sale, and they are generic and vague enough that they can be molded into virtually any city or campaign setting. All items are arranged on a chart and numbered 1-100 so that the DM can simply roll percentile dice to see what each vendor is hawking.

Items can be as mundane as cloth, herbs, and eggs, or as unique as monkeys, flame roasted rats, and hookahs.


LIKED: The nice combination of everyday items and more unusual curiosities.

DISLIKED: I would like 1,000 more!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Marketplace Goods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy Handouts: Wanted Posters 2
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2006 00:00:00
Another great idea in the "Fantasy Handouts" line. I have purchased both sets of wanted posters, as well as the "menus" handouts. The quality of the handouts is just fine, and the artwork is decent.

Some of the posters are a bit campaign-specific (featuring city names, and names of NPC's) so they may not all fit into your campaign. The rewards are also a bit lower than they should be in most games. For example, the average reward for the capture of these criminals ranges between 10-100 gold coins, with most being under 50. I don't know too many bounty hunters that would risk their neck for 12 gold coins, but it may be a good start for low level adventurers looking for a hook.

The biggest problem I have with this product, as with the other "Fantasy Handouts" series is that, for a product designed to be printed off for the players, it uses up a lot of ink. Of course, you can always print in grayscale, but even so it's unavoidable to print it without the solid background. For me, I would like to print off the content and art onto my own "authentic looking" paper, rather than waste ink (grayscale at that) to make regular paper look old and gray.





LIKED: LIKED: A great idea, and one that I hope continues. Artwork is decent, but not spectacular (but again, why would wanted posters be works of art?), and reminds me of the work done over at The Forge.


DISLIKED: EDIT: The problem listed has been resolved by the publishers. Many thanks!
---------------------------------------------------------
-------------
The problem about not being able to print without the background is the biggest gripe. It doesn't matter how pretty it looks on the computer, since it will only be seen by the players as a handout.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Handouts: Wanted Posters 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your feedback. I've updated the file so that it now includes both a version with the background and a version without the background. I hope that works out for you.
Fantasy Handouts: Wanted Posters
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2006 00:00:00
Another great idea in the "Fantasy Handouts" line. I have purchased both sets of wanted posters, as well as the "menus" handouts. The quality of the handouts is just fine, and the artwork is decent.

Some of the posters are a bit campaign-specific (featuring city names, and names of NPC's) so they may not all fit into your campaign. The rewards are also a bit lower than they should be in most games. For example, the average reward for the capture of these criminals ranges between 10-100 gold coins, with most being under 50. I don't know too many bounty hunters that would risk their neck for 12 gold coins, but it may be a good start for low level adventurers looking for a hook.

EDIT: My one complaint was the lack of an option to print the posters without the ink-consuming background. The publishers almost immediately responded by adding that as a 2nd option. I'm very impressed! The portion of my review where I asked about this feature has thus been removed.



QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Handouts: Wanted Posters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your feedback. I've updated the file so that it now includes both a version with the background and a version without the background. I hope that works out for you.
Fantasy Handouts: Menus
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/15/2006 00:00:00
What a great idea, and for a buck, you can't go wrong. There are three separate menus that are presented, suitable to print out and hand to your players. The menu items are realistic, yet with a fantastic edge to them, and the prices are right in line with most fantasy milieus.

It's an item that can easily be done by individual game masters, but this saves us the time and trouble, and they have nice borders and an authentic look about them. While I would enjoy making my own menus, it would take a few hours to come up with these and make them look as nice. Since I have limited time, a buck is worth saving the trouble.

My primary concern is that this is clearly designed to be a handout to players, yet like so many e-products, it takes up a lot of ink. There is no option to simply print out the images and menu items without the background. And while we can always print in grayscale, I would prefer to save ink on the background, and simply print onto the paper of my choice (I have several "old" looking paper styles).
---------------------------------------------------------
---
EDIT: While I'm leaving the original review, I'd like to add that the immediate response to my suggestion and a personal email from the publisher was very impressive, and much appreciated!








LIKED: A very clever and useful idea! Well made menus with realistic food choices and a priced accordingly. Each menu has a distinctly different look, and the name of the establishment is purposefully left off in order to make it non-campaign specific.



DISLIKED: EDIT: My one and only suggestion for improvement was addressed by the publishers, and I'm very satisfied!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Handouts: Menus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to review the product. I've updated it to include the menus both with and without the background graphic. Let me know if that solves the problem for you.
0one's Blueprints Backdrops: The Golden Eel Inn
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2006 00:00:00
Being a big fan of all 0one's maps, I downloaded this as soon as I could. Basically, the maps are not much more than what you get if you purchased the Great City - Dock Ward set. However, this PDF contains information about the owner of the Inn and a few NPC's. There is also enough information about the inn and the people to center an adventure around, or at least make the Golden Eel a regular rest stop between adventures.

Keep in mind that the Golden Eel Inn is not traditional. Without giving much away, the owner of the Inn has his secrets, and the prices of both room and board are exhorbitant (50 gp per meal!). But while the costs can be adjusted to fit you campaign style, it's nice to have an inn as luxurious and famous as this, especially in a large city.


LIKED: The layout is quite nice, especially with the "You Rule" feature. The NPC's are detailed and also scaled to the "You Rule" settings, so they can be low, medium, or high level. The maps are well-made and laid out, and follow very rational designs.

DISLIKED: Can't complain. While having a few more NPC's would be nice, that's not the focus of this product.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints Backdrops: The Golden Eel Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Drop: Wizards 1-5
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2006 00:00:00
A very nice idea that works well. Basically features five wizards, each one representing levels 1-5. For each wizard, there are backgrounds and personalities, as well as suggestions for how to roleplay them, along with stat blocks and spell lists. Some of them are illustrated, but not all, and artwork is decent but not spectacular.

This product is NOT a must-have, but for anyone running a campaign featuring some NPC wizards here and there, you should be able to use most of these just fine.


LIKED: A great idea for a product, plenty of detail for roleplaying the NPC

DISLIKED: I like my NPC's a bit more generic, and I think the product would be better if it included levels 1-15, instead of three separate downloads.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Drop: Wizards 1-5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City, Residence Ward
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2006 00:00:00
This is one of my favorite wards in the Great City series. There are individual homes of the wealthy mapped in detail, and each one has a distinct look. I imagine any campaign with a rogue in it is going to eventually need maps like these for the wealthier residential areas.


LIKED: Awesome, crisp quality as always with this series

DISLIKED: Nothing to dislike

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City, Residence Ward
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City: Trades Ward
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2006 00:00:00
What else is there to say that hasn't already been said of 0one's Great City series? The entire set is consistently good, and well worth the money. For me, you can't have some sets without the others, and this is one of my favorites of the Great City.


LIKED: As usual, the neat lines and quality of the maps. The layout of the streets is also very good, and logical.

DISLIKED: Nothing. I hope 0one never stops making blueprints!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City: Trades Ward
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World Building Library: Fantasy Racial Foods
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2006 00:00:00
An interesting read for a few minutes. I printed this off and read it while waiting for the dentist in his office (no joke). It gives the reader a few decent ideas, but is not much more than a typical article you would find in a magazine. I'm glad it wasn't expensive


LIKED: The comparison of racial foods to modern day ethnic foods

DISLIKED: Could have used many more examples of foods and meals. I would have like charts that I could use to determine meals.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
World Building Library: Fantasy Racial Foods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City, Temple Ward
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2006 00:00:00
I have all the wards in the Great City and plan to spend quite some time developing the details. Awesome map series, the best!


LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: Nothing to complain about

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City, Temple Ward
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

17 Plants
Publisher: The Le Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2006 00:00:00
Decent product, with a homemade appearance. The idea behind the product is nice, but there are many more options out there that have more for us to use on similar topics. However, not too bad for the price.


LIKED: The print-friendly version is available.

DISLIKED: Some of the magical effects of some plants are too powerful, and should be much more valuable.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
17 Plants
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2006 00:00:00
While different from the standard E-Adventure Tiles I'm used to, this small tavern can be quite handy to throw down in the middle of nowhere, or to serve as a nice rest stop between towns. I will definitely get it laminated and find a way to use it.

Artwork is crisp and nice, and I like the option of having the tavern at a right angle or turned diagonally.


LIKED: Good, original quality artwork. Simplicity.

DISLIKED: Not much, but I would like to see SKG come out with a full set of similar tilesets so that we can have multiple taverns for use.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2006 00:00:00
Being a big fan of Skeleton Key Games maps and tiles, I was very excited about purchasing the Ptolus map. I will definitely use it in my campaign, and I'm glad the map is generic enough to let me flesh it out the way I like. The map is beautiful, and arranged very well for printing.

I wish that products like this were available in print. I would easily pay $20 for a print copy of this poster map, maybe even more. I called my neighborhood Kinko's and they said it would cost $360 dollars to print out the four "large pdf" format files that make the whole poster. Bah! Even printing it out myself on individual cardstock is costing me two ink cartridges, and it won't look as good as a published hard copy poster.






LIKED: The intuitive nature of printing the product. Very colorful and pleasing. The buildings and layout are attractive and nice, and I like that it adapts to many different campaigns.

DISLIKED: The lack of a hard copy for resale. It takes a lot of work (and money) to print out the poster-sized city map, which is clearly what it's intended to be used as.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ptolus Deluxe City Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 35 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG