RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Centre of the Universe - Special Edition
Publisher: Better Mousetrap Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 23:07:12

The game is quite simple and not particularly well balanced, but it is chock full of idea, concepts and inspiration for any kind of SF - pulp fiction - fantasy - mash up in the core of the universe game. You can just step back, let the play happen and have fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Centre of the Universe - Special Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Into the Blue
Publisher: Bastion Press
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 23:04:29

This contains some good ideas and if you are looking to play some underwtaer adventures you'll need them. Its en environment you need to do some thinking and planning for. This is a good starting point.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Blue
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blood of the Dragon
Publisher: Monolith Graphics
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 23:03:05

This isn't the soundtrack to a Conan movie, but it may as well be. It has a great epic fantasy vibe to it and makes great background music either for a game, or just while you need something in the background.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood of the Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

5E Compatibility Logo (Free)
Publisher: Dias Ex Machina Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 21:24:33

There are a couple of alternative logos out there. I like this one and I'm using it for my publications.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5E Compatibility Logo (Free)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
Publisher: Draken Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 21:21:10

I am a big fan of this sort of guide. It isn't a polished professional product. It is a source of inspiration and ideas. This is a step by step guide showing how anyone can draw a good map. My kids both read it, followed the directions and produced their own maps that looked pretty good. Now we can build new maps anytime.


In fact, I have followed these directions to produce my own maps that I have published myself.


It is simple instructions from a hobbiest, sharing what they have learned. There should be more like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
How to Create Great Fantasy Maps (Even if You Can't Draw)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hobomancer
Publisher: Hex Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 21:16:35

Without question or doubt, this is the best RP suppliment ever written. It does what no other suppliment does: I inspires the imagination with a whole new realm to role play in. The idea of 1930s hobos secretly being magical defenders of the realm is innovative but the idea that players would want to have a hobo for a character is totally unique.
What I see in reading this, is that the author knows role players and understands them well enough to craft a world that you wouldn't even think is worth playing it.
I actually took the world ideas and played them using D20 modern, but there is nothing wrong with the system the game comes with.
When I urchase a product, I am usually looking for idea, in this book, I found them and the game that followed was fun for everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hobomancer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BASH! Sci-Fi Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 21:12:10

BASH is a great, simple system. The rules are clear. Characters are easy to build.
Essentially BASH is designed for super heroes, but the powers translate well enough into the SF realm. There is alwsys a scaling problem when a super system is used for other genres but SF fits in pretty well with the armour and weapons.
This hasn't been updated to match the latest edition of BASH, so keep that in mind.
I do recommend this. The system is simple and fun to play. Character gen is pretty quick.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Sci-Fi Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Phantoms of the High Seas
Publisher: Monolith Graphics
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 20:58:44

A great set of pirate music that draws on traditional seas shanties and classic haunted ship themes.
You get a dramatic opening monologue followed by music that sits really well in the background of a sea faring game. It can just as easily be used in any situation as simple a sound track mix. I used this at a party on "Speak like a pirate day"



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Phantoms of the High Seas
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Araclia Roleplaying Game Music
Publisher: Ace of Dice
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2016 20:56:31

There is some good quality music here. It serves well as background for a game, but just as well as background music at home or in the car.
You essentially hear a soundtrack but one that you don't know the story too and that adds to the fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Araclia Roleplaying Game Music
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2012 19:22:26

After years of searching and testing I have found this to be the best starting RPG for kids. Curiously this is what it was designed for. Kids needs to be able to read and do basic arithmetic. After that the rules are easy to follow, characters are quick to build. My 7yo and 9yo are totally into this game.


It would also work for adults and experienced RPGers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(Adventure) Into the Chasm
Publisher: Eldersygn Press
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2007 18:13:43

This is a short simple adventure which is easy to run and easy to add into an existing campaign.


The game begins with the party coming across a chasm. As they enter and explore it they discover two tribes: bugbears and wildelves. There are a couple of NPCs to understand the politics of the place and then one final encounter with a monster.


Its very good for the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(Adventure) Into the Chasm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Player's Guide to Talislanta (Talislanta 5th edition)
Publisher: Morrigan Press
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2007 18:10:26

I love Talislanta and have played almost every edition. The world is vast and complex. Some may say too complex and the assortment of races seems unending.
In 5th edition, the common races are in the players guide while the less common ones are in the GM's guide so a first time player doesn't get too much of a head ache.


What's new in 5th edition? Not much. Most of the rules are the same, but character creation has evolved. The templates used in previous editions have been replaced by paths so more flexibility is available in character creation.


The system is simple and in a good way. There has been no attempt made to keep different races and paths balanced. This is deliberate. It is acceptable and it is just part of talislanta. Combats are fast and bloody especially since you can't gain hit points after starting.


I do have a few dislikes: A lot of copy and paste from previous editions has left a few rules ambiguous. There is a mix of old and new art and with it a mix of quality that leaves a less than consistant feel. There are also a few gaps in the rules. The line "Ten years and still no elves" could have been replaced with "ten years and still no falling rules"


You have to be ready to improvise with Talislanta, but you will have fun doing it and it makes a great change from whatever you have been playing. Any system that survives twenty years is worth a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Player's Guide to Talislanta (Talislanta 5th edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ironstorm Mountain
Publisher: 12 to Midnight
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2007 17:51:47

I found this good enough to actually run and use as it is written. Most gaming suppliments I read get used as a source of ideas only, but this one was complete in its own right. The background is thorough and detailed and the current layout of Ironstorm is something that a GM can work with.


The location is set in an old dwarven mountain where the dwarves have long since perished. New, less social inhabitants now dwell there. In some ways it is like exploring Moria, but in many ways it is better. There are options for low level characters, mid level characters and high level characters which makes it a flexible setting that can be used more than once. For instance, it is designed so that players enter the mountain from the top, but I am running it with them entering from the bottom. What this means is that it is easy to introduce the place and you don't have to force an adventure hook.


I will seriously look at purchasing other products in this range.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironstorm Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG