RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
BASH! Fantasy Edition $24.00 $7.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 10
4 4
1 0
0 0
0 0
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to view
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Guy D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2012 19:22:26
After years of searching and testing I have found this to be the best starting RPG for kids. Curiously this is what it was designed for. Kids needs to be able to read and do basic arithmetic. After that the rules are easy to follow, characters are quick to build. My 7yo and 9yo are totally into this game.

It would also work for adults and experienced RPGers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2012 13:31:30
Wow. This is an elegant, simple, yet deep and HIGHLY flexible game. As an older gamer, a husband, and father who does some solo-gaming (using Mythic GM Emulator and house rules) I wanted a system that was easy to learn and play without being too 'fluffy'. BASH Fantasy fit all my criteria. You can create any character you can think of, add powers, add new races, add whatever you want, it's so easy to customize. Want a Sky-Rim style adventure where anyone can wield swords and magic or strict class system where mages can't use swords? Okay, fine. This system can handle whatever you want. Quick combat with enough tactics to satisfy most, a great magic and enchanting section, and tons of great settings ideas round out a great rules set.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Ron M. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/10/2009 11:54:54
BASH! Fantasy Edition
From: Basic Action Games
Reviewed by:  Ron McClung
BASH! Fantasy Edition is a new RPG Core Rulebook (PDF format) from Basic Action Games.

Like the Hero System, BASH! is a system that started out as a Super Hero system and has grown into a multi-genre system. I have not had a chance to actually look at the BASH! super hero version so I can not compare and contrast. 

From page #2: 
“The BASH! system was a product of my attempt to invent a role-playing game that would appeal to kids.”

Content: The full PDF (non-printer friendly) is 79 pages. It contains the basic rules of character generation, an advantages & disadvantages system, rules on powers and magic, a complete skill system, and chapters with equipment, weapons, armor, and adventuring gear. There is also a chapter on minions and monsters. All that you would expect from a RPG core rule book is included. The character in the game lies in the system and the details. 

The game has some very specialized terms, being that the general idea is that you are role-playing a graphic novel/comic book. For instance, in combat you have pages and panels (combat round and turns). The introduction includes a short glossary for these terms.  
There are more than 10 pages of creatures available to the GM, from basilisk to zombie. All are more or less the standard creatures from fantasy. The PDF ends with a sample adventure, sample characters, and an appendix that guides the GM in creating his own fantasy world.


System: Character generation is simple and straight forward. It is a class-less point-spend system with suggested race packages if a player wants to be something other than a human. There are three ability scores - brawn, agility and mind - and they range in value from 1 to 5. They act as multipliers to the 2d6 dice roll that is core to the system. The races given include your standard elf, dwarf and halfling, but also include birdmen, catfolk and wolfkin. Races are basically lists of suggested advantages and disadvantages for that particular race and can be customized as the player (with GM approval) sees fit.  

All characters have a Energy Pool, which feeds certain abilities and all magic. It is a fixed number of points at character generation, but the system provides a variety of ways to get more points, to recover points and to push for more points during play.

There is only a short list of advantages and disadvantages. There is a lot of room for expansion and customization here. Supernatural powers start out with a list of mundane powers, which are basically those powers applicable to the fantasy setting carried over from the super hero genre.  Most are reminiscent of feats from d20. Like everything else, these are bought with points. Following this is the magic powers list. Tied into the superpower system, the key difference is all spells cost energy, where only certain powers cost energy. Magical powers are defined in different categories: Movement Powers, Perception Powers, Mental Powers, Combat Powers, and Bio-Manipulation Powers.  

In BASH!, one can have pretty much any kind of magic you can imagine. From low magic worlds to magic-is-as-common-as-water worlds. There are some ways to customize one's world for the type of magic he wants. One way that is suggested is the use of colleges of magic. Under each college are spells. Each spell is basically defined in terms of Magical Powers. For example, Wall of Wind is defined as the magical power force field. The Magic Colleges include Air College, Earth College, Fire College, Water College, and a few others. It is a fairly simple system with lots of room to be flexible and customize.

Skills are straight forward and simple. Of the three ability scores the character has, only two apply to skills - Agility and Mind. There are no levels to skills and there are no combat skills. One either uses the skill by rolling the associated ability score, or tries untrained at a penalty. There are also specialty skill options which allow re-rolls on attempts at that particular specialty.  

Combat is handled by straight opposed agility or brawn rolls and sometimes supernatural abilities apply. Brawn determines the number of wounds and hits are the damage system, which are calculated after armor values "soak" what damage it can.

The Game system comes across initially like a version of d6. But as I read further and got an understanding of the nuances and the subtle elegance of it, I realized it was a little more than that. It is truly not a bad system. I am surprised that this is not a hard-covered book somewhere. It has some influences from d6 as well as Hero System and GURPs.  A friend who looked at it for me said it reminded him of Fusion somewhat. The core dice for task resolution in and out of combat is two six-sided dice. As said above, ability scores act as multipliers to those 2d6. However, the Rule of Doubles say that if you roll doubles of any kind, you get to add another die. If that die comes up with the same number as the doubles, you keep adding another die - kind of like the d6 wild die.

One gem that seems to be influenced from d20 is the Danger Level of Monsters, like the challenge rating in d20. What? Challenge rating in a non-level based game. It can be done, and with the simple system like BASH! it can be done fairly easily. Because we are basically dealing with low numbers in stats, powers and abilities, a danger level can be calculated pretty quickly. The system provides the numbers for all the published creatures and gives you a simple formula for figuring it out for others that you create.
The PDF also includes rules to convert characters from the Super Hero version of BASH! to this one, and it is a simple matter of multiplying and dividing. There is a certain level of scaling between the two.

From page #2:
“What I found, however, was that it really worked well as a super heroes RPG for gamers of all ages.”


Layout: The file downloaded includes a printable version as well as a full version. In the full version, the layout is well-done - not too busy, but not too boring either. The art is very good.  The cover art could be a little better but it could be worse also. The layout of the text is as one would expect from a core rulebook, and everything is there that you need to get started.

In conclusion, I can easily see this as a fun system to play. It is not perfect, but what system is? There are several influences from good systems and it brings it together into a system that is simple and very fast to play. There is not a lot of number crunching, although the math is a little more advanced than just adding numbers (but only slightly). Instead of knowing your addition and subtraction, you need to know your multiplication and division. Like I said, I am surprised this is just in PDF format. I have seen a lot worse systems in print - a LOT worse. I take off points for lack of a supporting web site, at least as far as I could find.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
But we do have a website! http://www.bashrpg.com I'll have to make sure that info gets included in the next printing (which hopefully WILL be in hardcopy)!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2009 16:28:31
THe BASH! system is great for allowing quick on the fly games when prep time is a the minimum. Do not overlook this product. It works especially well for younger gamers.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2007 15:26:37
This is the BASH! equivalent of purchasing the first 3 AD&D hard backs plus Oriental Adventures! [Remember pre-'89 AD&D? This book captures that spirit.] The only drawback is that some knowledge of the genre is presupposed. The typical monsters covered in the OGL are statted here but not given descriptions, so new players and GMs could be thrown off a bit. Don't look for fancy art here either, but then again first generation rpgs didn't have much of it, and Basic Action Games doesn't need to pass the cost of commissioned art on to the consumer. A well-formatted printer-friendly version is included.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2006 00:00:00
A really neat, elegant system - ideal for short campaigns where you have a brilliant idea but not the time to develop it for a more complex system (Hero system, for instance). Everything is covered - magic, combat, skills etc. Everything is resolved using 2D6 multiplied by the influencing stat.


LIKED: Everything except its quirky layout.

DISLIKED: Quirky layout and odd references to 1 square radius (for example).

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Glad you like it, but you know it is good for playing campaigns as well!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Christopher B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00
Bash - Fantasy Edition This game uses the same system as Bash - Supers. Right down to the font and formatting which is one of my two issues with it, but let me talk about the contents first and then I will explain my issues

Character creation is the same simple procedure as stated in Bash - Supers. New races are added including, but not limited to, Dwarves (my favorite race), Elves, Humans, Bird and Cat men and a few others. Then there are a listing of Advantages and Disadvantages. Powers are seperated into Mundane and Magical. Mundane powers are like skills (or feats for D&D3.5 fans) and
Magical Powers are, well, magic. Doh! :-)

Combat is pretty much the same but now there are different levels of soak to accomodate different types of armour.

The Monster section has several monsters listed/stated including all your fantasy favorites like Minotaurs, Manticores, Goblins and a gaggle of different oozes. They also add a Danger Level into the monster section which allows the Gamemaster to gauge the danger level to the characters.

Some traps are also listed and they helped me greatly when attempting to design my own character mashing, bashing, slicing, slashing and all around pulverizing of players... yummy! ;-)

A sample story arc is given as well as some sample characters. There is also several alternate fantasy settings listed, some with new advantages and equipment as well.

There is alot packed into this 79 page book. Well worth the money I spent on it.

As for the issues I have with this game. There are two

1) The font and formatting should be changed to more fantasy and less comic book looking. The author may have intended the game have a consistent feel with the Supers game, but I think, though it uses the same system it should have it's own look.

2)Campaigning with this system seems suspect as I think this system is better suited to one shot sessions. With both of those issues this is still quite a good game and did not detract from the quality or more importantly the fun of this game.




LIKED: A fun, simple and quick Fantasy game.

DISLIKED: The comic themed font. Would be better to use a more fantasy themed font.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
We are glad this product pleased you!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2006 00:00:00
A very good fantasy game that will give you a lot of play for your money. Very light and easy rules and generic enough that it can be used for nearly any style of fantasy game you want to run. I'm impressed.


LIKED: The simplicity yet comphrehensiveness of the game. Plus, notes for the old west!

DISLIKED: I don't like that how far a character can normally move is stuck in with the Movement powers rather than in an easier to find section. A small quibble.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Always glad when a customer is happy. Check out the BASH! Fantasy supplement: Island of the Forgotten Tomb if you want to run a swashbuckling campaign! Also, BASH! Sci-Fi is in the works. It is on the same Heroic (as opposed to super-heroic) scale as BASH! Fantasy.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2006 00:00:00
I was looking for a simple yet versatile fantasy RPG, and surprisingly I found it here, with BASH! Fantasy. The core book is to-the-point and if it has any flaws at all it might be a dearth of flavor text (a common trait of modern games), but I did not miss it. The writer's prose is well-written, chatty and easily explains the simple but flexy mechanics. The core mechanic is simple: roll 2d6, doubles add and roll over, and multiply by the relevant trait/attribute (there are three core attributes btw, Brawn, Agility and Mind). Opposing rolls are compared and the higher total wins....very simple. As an old fan of Tunnels & Trolls, I find BASH to be very comfortable.
This product is also very complete, providing spells, skills, advantages and disadvantages, monsters, and an overview of all the key fantasy settings from steampunk to dark fantasy and asian. Not bad for a book that takes up about as much space as the original basic and expert D&D sets.
In terms of presentation, the cover is workable (not ugly, not great, you won't be ashamed of it) and the interior is a clean printer-friendly format. The art is decent, but a little scarce. The font is easy to read for old gamer eyes like mine.


LIKED: Simple yet complete
Plenty of detail and useful content
Basic but workable mechanic
Easy to pick up and go with
Author has a friendly, chatty writing style that works extremely well.

DISLIKED: Could have used some more art
Tends to favor lists when charts might be easier to access
Light on flavor text (but not necessarily a bad thing)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well, thank you, Nicholas. Always glad when a customer appreciates our work! Look for our ezine, Basic Action Magazine (or BAM!) soon for updates!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by John P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
This is Fantasy Role playing at its fineset. Simple machanics and fast play. Combats are in and out and back to the role playing. Or you can hack and slash to your hearts content.
Grab a copy. Make the designer rich and maybe he'll give us a POD!


LIKED: Simple mechanics and fast play. Very customizeable to your style of role play.

DISLIKED: Nothing at all

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks a lot!
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Alan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2006 00:00:00
Great system that is completely customizable to suit your needs. Fast and fun to play!


LIKED: Fast easy rules that at first glance seem to simple but that have their own elegance about them

DISLIKED: Could have some better explanations of a few rules, but not even close to being a game breaker.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Ah, thanks for the review. If you have any rules questions, please see our message boards or visit our Yahoo! group. That way, I can assure that they are addressed in future products.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2006 00:00:00
A nice little simple fantasy RPG, but really the generic and flexible rules could work for any game genre - which is not surprising, given that it started life as a superhero game. It's almost but not quite a match for BESM, or another fast fun furious game. With some work, you could tweak it for any heroic genre (I suspect it wouldn't work all that well for the grim and gritty style), and indeed there are some short but well thought out sections on other settings (such as Conan-esque dark fantasy, swashbuckling (expanded in Island of the Forgotten Tomb), Roman empire, steampunk, and Oriental adventures). Really, BASH has learned a great deal from other successful games (such as BESM, 7th Sea, Dungeons and Zombies/Unisystem, and of course D&D) and incorporated what it's learned well. And that's no small accomplishment.



QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well thank you. I don't think I have ever played half of those games before, but I wouldn't be surprised if BASH had things in common with them. As for the gritty style, don't knock it yet. When we make a BASH modern product, there will be a horror section as well as pulp, and there will be plenty of grit to it! Of course, right now, Megapolis is our #1 priority, after that, We may see Modern or Sci-Fi.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2005 00:00:00
BASH uses a simple and common sense approach Role-playing. I got this on the strength of the Super Hero Rules and I have not been disappointed. In fact I would say its better than the original. It is better set out, no type/formatting errors (that I have seen so far), and separate PDF file for the printer friendly version. At first when reading through, it started to look like just a rehash of the original but in a fantasy setting with the powers just becoming magical powers. But the next section puts the powers into colleges of magic based on elements and renamed to fit the genre. The Colleges of Magic I really like and will be using in my games. The Rulebook has a very good selection of common fantasy monsters, a sample adventure and sample characters. What really sets this rule book apart form others is the Attentive Fantasy setting section at the back. It gives scope of a lot of games beyond the normal fantasy genre. I think I will be using this rulebook a lot and for some time.

Again some minor faults that is in the original Super Heroes Rules:
One illustration is in color which is not in keeping with the rest of the illustrations. I do like the grayscale illustrations.

Still, I would have liked to have seen some rules for using miniatures and battle maps as I have known from my own kids they do like to use them. But it should be easy to include these in your game.


LIKED: The whole lot and would like to give it 6 stars.

DISLIKED: None really

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Well Steve, glad you liked the book. We will be coming out with a Science Fiction book as well in the future, which will likewise deal with the varying sub-genres, hopefully pleasing fans of everthing from space opera to cyberpunk to Jules Verne! I am currently also writing a story-arc for BASH Fantasy set in the Swashbuckling setting and another set in the feudal Japan setting, both of which will be in commercial release in the near future.
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by DAN E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2005 00:00:00
I liked BASH Super heroes so much that BASH Fantasy was a must.
Once again Basic Action Games has come through.
The system is easy, fun and complete.
No cross-referencing charts to find out what it takes to hit.
Just roll vs. your opponent and done.
Plenty of options for the expert and simple enough for the beginner.
I cant wait until BASH Sci-fi is out?hint, hint..



LIKED: Fast and easy system that plays great.

DISLIKED: Not a thing

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Dan, Thanks for the kind words. Bash Sci Fi is in the works, and you can get updates on its development on www.bashrpg.com, our website.
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG