RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
GKF Presents: 8 Prestige Classes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2016 21:49:09

Interesting ideas although the classes appear to be way overpowered, almost like 20 levels worth of abilities crammed in 5 levels. As a result end-game abilities become accessible as soon as levels 10 to 12. Prestige classes might be more satisfying as a concept than in actual play. As much as I would like to adopt them, I am still not convinced that they are well-suited to 5E.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
GKF Presents: 8 Prestige Classes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Feats Volume 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2016 07:14:48

Definitely the most well-designed pack of new feats on DM Guild so far.


EDIT: Added a star to reflect the PWYW nature of this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feats Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deities and Domains: Specialty Priests of the Forgotten Realms (39 Feats for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 21:02:52

This is an edited review to reflect the changes of the revised product.


This product offers a feat (two in a couple of cases) for every Forgotten Realms deity listed in Appendix B of the Player's Handbook. As a prerequisite, they can only be selected by clerics with one of the deity's suggested Divine Domains (including SCAG's Arcana Domain), which sounds appropriate for a Specialty Priest.


The feats have been completely revised and now include a much welcome short description of the clergy's dogma and attire. The benefits they provide are inspired by the 2E Faiths & Avatars supplement. Most feats grant up to a couple cantrips and domain spells as well as additional benefits such as resistance to a certain type of damage, advantage to some saving throws, proficiency in a weapon, skill or tool, an extra wrinkle to the cleric's Channel Divinity, and other flavorful abilities.


I would have a hard time pointing out any balance issues but, at first glance, the feats appear to be more potent although less flexible than the PHB's Magic Initiate. More importantly, I find appeal in nearly all of the entries.


This revision is much improved in comparison to the original version and it will likely see some use in my games. I would award it 4.5 stars out of 5 but I will have to round the score down to 4 stars as per rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deities and Domains: Specialty Priests of the Forgotten Realms (39 Feats for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Additional Archetypes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 09:14:23

Definitely the most well-designed pack of new archetypes on DM Guild so far. Worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Additional Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (13th Age Compatible)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2014 12:06:41

This product provides a wide variety of templates which can be easily applied to13th Age creatures to add flavour to the game and keep players on their toes. Some of the templates, such as Stealthy, are more mundane in nature while others, such as Winterwight, veer toward the fantastic. Some of them add or subtract to the creature's effective level. For example, the Cowardly template reduces the creature's level by 1.


The pdf is well laid out with a piece of quality color artwork on most every page. I appreciate the fact that the creature illustrations showcase some of the templates described within. For those concerned with the artwork's offensiveness, the cover's picture of a pixie might be considered the "worst" of the product, although I personally don't find it out of place to illustrate the subject. I did not bother to count but, cover aside, the gender representation also appears to be fair at first glance.


All in all, although a bit pricey for the page count, it offers useful content to help GMs balance-out encounters and get more mileage out of their creature roster. I would award it 3.5 stars if I could but will round my score up to 4 stars because I can't get enough 13th Age goodness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our product. Steven D. Russell Rite Publishing
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 11:40:01

Incredible amount of quality content for the price. Great overall value!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2014 07:52:54

This is a textbook example on how to write a new RPG edition; improving the game on every front while maintaining a high level of compatibility with the previous product line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Bluffside City on the Edge
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2014 10:10:22

I was very disappointed in getting a map-less PDF when I purchased this product months ago. I patiently waited before posting this review, hoping for a swift(er) update as the product's description clearly states that "eight city districts and maps" should be included in the book. The said three pages of maps are also sold separately for a whopping $11 and its own product description also states that "these are in the book". Whether the missing maps is the result of an oversight (I might be one of the few purchaser to have reported it) or a cheap ploy to get 56% more off the book remains to be seen.


In the meantime, this makes for an overpriced product of limited use. To be fair, I am still giving it two stars as it might contain some useful material but I was too turned off to actually read it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Bluffside City on the Edge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Midgard Bestiary (13th Age Compatible)
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2014 00:10:27

I have received this pdf by purchasing the print + pdf bundle for an extra $10 from Kobold Press' website. Here are my first impressions of the pdf as I await my printed copy.


This 110 pages file (104 of which are actual content) is packed full of flavorful creatures statted for the 13th Age RPG. Most entries contain a handful of variants, at least one of which is well-illustrated. Lists of carried items and adventure hooks are also provided along with the usual background and description. The association of some new magic items with many of the creatures is an interesting approach. Additional PC races are also offered although the treatment given to some of them is somewhat brief. The book then closes with Icons linked to the Midgard campaign setting and proposed as substitutes to those in the core book.


All in all, the new creatures, magic items, PC races, and Icons contained within can be ported to any game and make for a worthwhile supplement to the 13th Age line even if Midgard is not used as a campaign setting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Midgard Bestiary (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
Publisher: Jon Brazer Enterprises
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2014 20:41:25

I was fairly disappointed with this product which essentially lists 100 mundane medieval professions. The four character backgrounds given as a sample are among the most interesting. The two pages of content are duplicates except that one of them is borderless.


I was expecting to see more inspiring entries to help spark the imagination when creating characters. Stamping it as 13th Age Compatible feels like a lazy attempt to profit from the interest generated by the game. You will likely get more mileage out of this free list : http://arcana.wikidot.com/list-of-medieval-europe-
an-professions



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Ideas: Character Backgrounds (13th Age/Archmage)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Old School Dungeons - Crypt of the Dread Lord
Publisher: Crypt Thing Press
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2014 22:52:23

You get a decent-looking but somewhat generic old-school dungeon map. Can't complain, it's free! I especially like the layering feature and wish that it would show up in more products.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Old School Dungeons - Crypt of the Dread Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

VTT Campaign Maps Volume I
Publisher: Stoneworker Cartography
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2013 21:57:25

This pack contains an interesting and varied selection of attractive color maps. For some reason, I prefer buying collections over individual maps. Providing keyed & unkeyed, night & day, grid & gridless versions of those maps is a nice touch. Lighting and shadows are adequately done.


This product's main downside is that some of the maps (at first glance, about 4 out of the 22 maps) show features such as blood spatters and fire which might limit their use to specific circumstances. Such features are better left to be added at the GM's discretion.


All in all, good value for my money. Some of the maps will soon see action in my own game. Keep them coming!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
VTT Campaign Maps Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your review, Sylvain! You make a great point about the spatters and fire. I will certainly keep this feedback in mind as I begin work on the next map pack, and unless the mood of the map requires such things, I'll just leave them out. Thanks again! - Lanndon
Ultimate GMing Toolkit: Improv, Campaigns, Prep, Tools [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Engine Publishing
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2012 23:37:41

In all honesty, $35 is more than I'm usually willing to spend for PDFs but I have to say that, in this case, it was well worth the money. This Ultimate GM Toolkit lives up to its title and it really is an invaluable resource aimed at busy game masters such as myself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ultimate GMing Toolkit: Improv, Campaigns, Prep, Tools [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2011 14:37:32

As a GM, I personally find the creation of any settlement larger than a village to be a daunting task and published city settings to be often overwhelming with details. I appreciate the author's approach to fleshing out an urban setting on the fly. About half of this product offers information on the city of Vornheim which, although interesting, will not be of much use in my own games. On the other hand, the remainder of the book will serve as a very useful city creation tool kit. I would have granted an extra star if not for the pdf's hefty price tag.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Vornheim: The Complete City Kit
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

EMG Mapper
Publisher: Emerald Giant
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2011 14:01:11

Probably one of the best random dungeon map generator I have ever seen even though there are some free alternatives out there.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EMG Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG