RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Scion: Hero
 
$17.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
23 7
19 4
9 1
4 1
0 1
Scion: Hero
Click to view
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2012 09:48:48
Even the included stories alone would by themselves be worth the purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2012 17:31:57
Scion is a great game.

Unfortunately, it is a great game with a decent system that has some holes in it. At first glance most of these holes in the system are hard to notice but it will not take your troupe long to find them once you start playing. More than likely you will muscle through the rough spots because at it's core, Scion is still a great game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Marius F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2011 09:37:07
It is a good scan for the most part. You can search, except in some of the headings. What really annoys me is that on some of the pages with black background there are huge white boxes on the page covering the text. This is a particular problem on the pantheon pages about Aesir. I got around it by cut'n paste over to a text editor to read what is behind the boxes. This is a amateur mistake they never should have allowed in a sold product.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Joseph G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2010 19:16:10
Great game but the book leaves a bit to structure. During your character creation process, you have to jump around a bit before you get every thing accomplished. Also, the provided character sheet is lacking on some necessary stats. Most of the book explains things great so you shouldn't have many questions on how something works.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 12:02:58
A game with much promise and no follow through. A terrible system tacked onto a shakily supported premise. Only the art saves it from being a complete waste of your money.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2009 09:10:41
White Wolf has put out some great products over the years but SCION: Hero is even better.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2009 09:10:24
White Wolf has put out some great products over the years but SCION: Hero is even better.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2009 13:25:32
A fascinating concept in magic-flavored superhero gaming. As the children of gods (with the potential to become gods themselves) the PCs are goodly powerful to start, but not unmanageably so. Even with only a few pantheons detailed in full for player characters there is room for a huge variety of concepts.

The rule system is a little more complex than it needs to be, and more complex than previous World of Darkness games. It took me way longer than it should have to create even a simple character. I wouldn't recommend this as a first RPG to anyone, and experiecned Storytellers may want to trim down the mechanics a little. Even taking that into account, though, the game is a great value for its rich, deep background material.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Kees K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2009 23:22:00
Let's get one thing out of the way: I don't like the storyteller system. In fact, I hate the storyteller system. Scion, which uses this system is one of the single best gaming books I have ever read.

Scion meshes the ancient and the modern in a flavorful and beautiful way. It is quite possible that a reader may be looking through it in order to find a specific rule and get distracted by some interesting power or back story.

The book itself is well organized, especially considering that White Wolf made it, but most of the rules can be found easily, and the rules themselves are very simple.

Scion allows characters to exhibit the character to use cool powers from the straightforward like lifting a light pole and bashing a monster with it to the out-and-out awesome like locking eyes with someone and prohibiting him from moving until you remove your gaze or talking to the spirit of inanimate objects.

There are a few balance issues, but it plays so well that these will likely become a non-issue. The included adventure takes up a good deal of space, but seems well put together and is fun to read, if nothing else.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Don M. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 11:17:21
I love this system! I discovered this book at my local game store, and had to buy it. Then I found this wonderful site and now have all the released books, and the subscription, for this marvelous system in digital format. That is WAY awesome!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Devin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 00:44:22
I actually own the hard-copy of this book, and I'm even happier to own the pdf now as well. Despite using the Storyteller system, it is NOT the World of Darkness. However, because the game uses the ST system, it's extremely playable. The ideas behind the gods having mortal children is very original, and well worth exploring. I DO wish that more gods were listed, but since there's a Wiki with fan-submitted gods, this isn't much of a problem. A great game, all in all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Devin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 00:44:22
I actually own the hard-copy of this book, and I'm even happier to own the pdf now as well. Despite using the Storyteller system, it is NOT the World of Darkness. However, because the game uses the ST system, it's extremely playable. The ideas behind the gods having mortal children is very original, and well worth exploring. I DO wish that more gods were listed, but since there's a Wiki with fan-submitted gods, this isn't much of a problem. A great game, all in all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Devin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 00:43:55
I actually hown the hard-copy of this book, and I'm even happier to own the pdf now as well. Despite using the Storyteller system, it is NOT the World of Darkness. However, because the game uses the ST system, it's extremely playable. The ideas behind the gods having mortal children is very original, and well worth exploring. I DO wish that more gods were listed, but since there's a Wiki with fan-submitted gods, this isn't much of a problem. A great game, all in all.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Luke N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2007 15:40:26
Scion was being touted as a "Modern-Day Exalted." It is more like a mix of Aberrant and Exalted with little more to offer than an immediate gaming fix. Designed as a finite story and game line (3 books planned total), this game is a solid basis, but not much else unless you like playing pregenerated stuff.

The Good:
It's a rules-lite version of Exalted for the most part, with a little bit of Aberrant thrown in. Six pantheons provide a very global basis for characters to start with. Chunky rules are easy to understand. Comes with an adventure AND pregenerated characters so you can jump right into the game and genre, and the opening fiction additionally focuses on one of the pregens. Some good "stock" badguys and updates from mytholoogy

The Bad:
A min-maxer's dream. From the (IMO) overbalanced Mega-Attributes (called Legendary Attributes) to a gift/charm system which allows you to pick and choose whatever you watn, to two powers that force the GM to tell you what's going on and what WILL be going on, the game screams for two or three twinkie players to build unstoppable monsters. In addition, there isn't much provided beyond "regular" opponents. This doesn't just mean bigger, badder monsters, but none of the enemies (no less then the sires of the Gods, the TITANS themselves) are detailed outside of a blurb for an NPC. Where the Gods are well-thought out and given plenty of background, individual titans and their plans, desires, methods, etc. are virtually unseen in the book other than vaguely menacing references and a promise that no PC can take them on (yet.)

The Ugly:
A pregenerated adventure designed for the pregenerated characters which at least 1/3 of is directly tied to the pregenerated characters. The book's "maybe-maybe-not" approach to the game's backstory (Ex: Want more pantheons? Build them. But then the game changes because the Gods are stronger. But maybe not. But maybe yes. We don't know, and we're not going to give you more). White Wolf's total lack of proofreading for grammar and spelling. Poor layouts that seem outright wasteful in certain areas due to whitespace unused. The fact that the book is all BLACK AND WHITE when Exalted is totally in color.

In all, it's a noble effort, and one that might gain prestige and much-needed background with the release of the other two books, but the game itself takes an almost hypocritical stance on backstory (such as the aforementioned thing with the pantheons, and passages in the book which say that you, the GM should do the research for this game, seemingly because the designers decided not to - like with the lack of ANY material on the Titans).

In addition, this game is practically designed to be min-maxed, and without a strong GM control, players will surpass all but the most specific or oblique threats with relative ease. The fact that the book allows you to purchase the MAXIMUM LEVEL OF POWER OUT OF THE GATE (at the cost of all your bonus points) because it's necessary to get the amazingly-powerful Legend Attributes at their highest levels and then tells you that the next book covers the next power level (2 months in the future at least) is poorly-done planned obsolesence.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG