RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
 
$0.00
Average Rating:3.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 8
6 2
10 2
3 1
1 0
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to view
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Barry S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2014 15:47:49
Felt the system needed a little bit more support for conflict resolution, but, the spirit and direction of the system was good.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Rob H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2014 12:57:26
Personally, I love randomiser-free role-playing, but such games need to focus on the storytelling rather than the simulation. Much of this system appears to be an attempt to emulate dice-play through resource management, and that leaves me wondering if the dicelessness is just a gimmick. How does this comprehensive rules set move the game away from the tactical towards the imaginative? It doesn't. All it does is substitute a different mechanic.

For a freebie, it's well-produced, nice and clear, quite adaptable, but only innovative in the way that eating cornflakes out of a cup is innovative. At no point does it ask "why don't we do without cornflakes?".

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2013 15:45:19
5 stars! The system actually can cover a multitude of genre and settings, and retains an element of chance without dice, via the different levels of Effort used. The rules are unified well, no matter the actions, and this doesn't feel forced!
And then there are the setting and genre books for it. I'm quite fond of some of them, and since they have to devote little space to system - the text is already a system - they're quite packed with information!

(As an advice, though, the GM should probably scribble the difficulty of the task down after determining it, and reveal it after the player has decided the Effort used. It only takes a sheet of paper that you can also use to scribble notes on).
Besides, it's free! Try it, you've got nothing to lose even if you don't like it - but if you do, you have found a very sleek, very adaptive system that's to your liking!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/28/2012 12:03:06
I am not a fan of diceless systems. I like the random element and the joy of rolling dice. For me diceless systems remove something that I consider to be part of the joy of RPGs.

That being said I am sold on Active Exploits. It is diceless and it weighs in at a whole 72 pages, it is a great game.
Any style, genre or scope of gaming can be covered in these very simple rules. It reminds me a bit of Fate.

What I like about this game is it truly seems to be universal. While the focus seems to be action, I could not think of anything you couldn't do with it. There is a assumption of modern games, doing fantasy or sci-fi might take a bit more work.

The mechanic is rather simple and would work great with the right players.

If you and your group are more into "Role" playing than "Roll" playing then you certainly can't go wrong with this.
I would also grab this as helpful guide on how to resolve action without always going to the dice. In this respect it is a great read for any gamer or game master.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Gregory D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2012 12:59:56
I actually kind of liked this system. I am not that big of a fan of diceless rpgs, but it is so simple and fun that I cant help but like it in some ways.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Chadd D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2010 09:08:05
Ok, but I felt like it lack a good system of support, and like all diceless system it requires a good group of Role players

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 15:07:47
This excellent work is one of many "base system for free" PDFs that you'll find on the market, but you won't find one as thoroughly documented, well-laid-out, clearly written or downright useful as Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying. The basic systems are quite simple, and the additional systems (for magic, psychic powers, and so on) are solid. As with all "generic" games, you are going to have to set up your own color and requirements in the setting, but the system is easily balanced. In addition, the PDF is very well-organized and a joy to use either on the computer or at the table. It is easy to find what you need relatively quickly. If you are considering putting together a game and want to try out a diceless system for it, give Active Exploits a look.

It also helps that the work is compatible with a lot of other excellent Precis Intermedia work, making this a good investment to improve the value of those games and supplements as well.

This game is everything it says it is, gets the job done solidly, and it's absolutely free. Since I can't think of a way to improve it significantly, I give it five stars.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2008 10:11:26
Great product with plenty of potential for some fun gaming. If you are looking for a diceless game that is easy to learn and useful for both tabletop and LARP games, this is the book to get. It offers up some great elements of play and the price can't be beat.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2005 00:00:00
the perfect tool to play by mail, chat or forum. PIG offer you a very good core rules book. Many setting are possible, many options.

So go on, it s free.

LIKED: - versatile and generic
- Live action rule
- trully diceless
- vehicule rules
- Free

DISLIKED: - rule about magic, martial, ESP and True Faith... too messy, you have to set anything by yourself without exemple or scale.


QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2005 11:11:57
The perfect tool to play by mail on a forum. AE is pretty versatile enough to play anything herroic fantasy, super heroe or SiFi, anything is almost possible.
The PIG site give some conversion to other game system as EABA, D20 and many others.
such a good book.
So go on, download AE ^_^.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Levi K.
Date Added: 07/16/2005 03:45:23
An innovative system from front to back, from a small press company with it's own open-style licensing. Active Exploits is more a system of "blind resource mangement" than anything else. Randomness is purely optional; risk assessment is key.

It's good enough that I wanted to write a book for it. And I can.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2004 00:00:00
A very playable diceless system, with a lot of goog ideas and valuable options. Really generic and easy to personalize.

Character creation is simple and fast.

There is no dice, but the effort system allow the players to make choices that replace the tension of dice throwing. And this his a very good finding for a diceless system. My players did like it.


LIKED: Playable and fun diceless system
Generic
Free
Modular

DISLIKED: A little bit messy
Not enough examples

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Patrick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2004 00:00:00
Probably hands down one of the best diceless systems on the market. Excellent support for any questions you may have about the game. Tons of good content, excellent layout (as always). I would recommend Active Exploits for anyone who is curious about running a diceless game but yet still wants some sort of rules for keeping balance and control in the game. A must have for everyone's desktop.

LIKED: it's ability to adapt, layout, tons of ideas, makes diceless less boring, ability to create your own supplements with it.

DISLIKED: Has no artwork but its acceptable its a free product.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks again for taking the time to review a free item.
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG