RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
40 Alchemical Items
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2005 00:00:00

Playing with characters who quite enjoy crafting mundane items this book was extremely useful. Most items are simple and well balanced. The list of ingredients adds a bit of flavour to the manufacturing process and could be used I suppose as the hooks for a few low level adventures with the Players in the employ of a great alchemist <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The variety of alchemical items presented<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Only that there wasn't more<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
40 Alchemical Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Lair of Vermithraxus
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2005 00:00:00

There are 25 tiles and 3 extra tiles that allow you to link these with the alchemists lab (dungeon details Vol 3), the dungeons of the dead and the ice caves sets.

If you have never bought an e-adventure set then buy this for the large lair - a 80' x 90'arear with multiple levels, water and lava like hazards -sure to be a memorable stage for an epic battle. As for the rest of the set... well as always the art is brilliant but you will need other tile sets to really make use of this beyond its' intended use (with the Grim tales adventure -which I don't actually own) or as a lair for a large creature such as a dragon.

The 15 tiles not dedicated to the lair itself form:

  1. a small section of winding passages (2 tiles)
  2. A larger chasm area with a path round the outside (4 tiles)
  3. A 60' stretch of coridor with several lava pattches in it (2 tiles)
  4. A 24' chasm into which paths lead to and from - you'll just have to figure out how to get across (4 tiles) <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I'm really a new commer to the e-tiles but since getting the first few I've become addicted. My group love using them and I intend to but the lot eventually. To me this one represented a ready made Dragons Lair - a beautifully presented piece that will see use in most DnD games in that ubiquitous evil dragon encounter<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Like all of the e-tiles the cost to print can be high and some sets offer a limited range of uses. But if you stick them to foam core board you have a dynamic set of gaming aids that you'll find will inspire some great adventures<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Lair of Vermithraxus
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Details Vol. 3
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2005 00:00:00

I now have several volumes of e-adventure tiles and this rates as another magnificent resource for any gamer. The level of detail in this set is fantastic. Stick them to foam core board and you have an invaluable game aid - my players love these tile maps.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The quality and detail of the tiles<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The cost for printing can be high and this set poses a limited use as a result of content (torture chamber, laboratory, evil "shrine")and design (limited ways of placing tiles)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Details Vol. 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition 3.5
Publisher: Silverthorne Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2005 00:00:00

First off I fel templates are one of the best things to come out of d20 "monster..." lines. They offer limitless variety but adding to what you already have at hand. With this volume you get plenty of original ideas that will inspire creativity and adventure. Some of my personal favorites are:

Hiveling - a gestalt organism that thrives in numbers and possesses a terrifying hive mind.

Legion - an enlarged monster that can give "birth" to smaller members of its own race.

Apocalyptic - an ideal end of campaign/epic level beast taht can easilly form the focus of many adventures by itself.

The only criticism I could offer is that the sheer number of templates mean that some do lack creativity - for example the Nettlecloud vermin - this template turns an ordinary spider into a bird eating spider(capable send a cloud of irritating hairs at a foe.

If you are a DM in need of monsters don't go out and get the pesky and expensive monster manuals buy this instead! You will not be dissapointed.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The sheer number and variety of templates offered, all hyperlinked in the contents and given an example creature The starting section on monster/template construction and use. The ideas it inspires!!!<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: If anything this book needs ART. Its always good to have a picture to illustrate the ideas presented in a monster tome, and while less necessary in a book of templates it still adds to the "feel".<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition 3.5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Agility & Athleticism (SkillCraft Book One)
Publisher: Eldersygn Press
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2005 00:00:00

LOved it. A lot of the material is simple collated from other sources as its says but having ti one handy book is great. The main benefit of this book is that it encourages characters and DM's to really make use of skills in as many different ways as possible. The ideas machine will run overtime when you read this. Players will be eager to try different things and DM's will be inspored to presesnt more skill based challenges for their games. The only down side I felt was the complete adventure - it's OK just not really all that inspirational, but you're not buying the book for the adventure anyway.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Almost everything.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The adventure didn't really do much for me at all.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Agility & Athleticism (SkillCraft Book One)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aasimar & Tiefing: A Guidebook to the Planetouched
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2005 00:00:00

I really liked this one. The presentation is fantastic (and for those concerned reasonably printer friendly) and the content is great. You get rules for creating your own plane-touched races as well as a lot of new ready to play races, most of which are very intersting although I would tend not to see them as PC races simply because most are +2 to +3 ECL. The book also touches of half races (half-fiend, half-celestial) but in much less detail. The feats section, obligatory in any publication these days, presents a wide variety of feat - some good, some bad, some silly. The prestige classes are hit and miss, most are variations of core classes tailored, obviously, toward the various planes.

The magic and magic item sections present some great ideas and seem on the whole interesting enough though some spells and items seem very close to ones already present in the game.

Like all Green ronin material the last section on creatures is excellent. You get a good variety of challenges (CR4 - 19) with most tending toward CR 10 (excluding the various plane-touched who are little more than 1HD NPC's of the new races presented earlier in the book)

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Excellent presentation and great ideas<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I can't say I disliked anything. The book has some weak spots but they certainly don't detract from the book in any real way.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aasimar & Tiefing: A Guidebook to the Planetouched
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Advanced Gamemaster's Guide (d20 3.5)
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2005 00:00:00

This is a hard one to review since it's so large. Well worth a look. Most of the content is focused on the skills and areas that make a good DM and make for an intersting read (planting some great ideas into a creative mind). The new treasures, magic items, hazards etc are quite well thought out will interest most players . Like all Green Ronin books its of a great quality and reads very easily. You will, however, find this book far more intersting than the new DMG II<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Variety. Theres a little bit of everything a DM looks for in here. Beefy yet mostly printer friendly (except the page count of course)<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Theres some things in here that many people will have seen in one form or another in similar resources, if you don't mind some of the repetition then you'll have no problems with this.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Gamemaster's Guide (d20 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #17: Legacy of the Savage Kings
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2005 00:00:00

While the other dungeon crawl classic have been quite good (with, I feel, the 1 exception) this seemed to lack that vital something. There are a number of great encounters and some very interesting ideas. Having grown up with dnd for 22 years now I appreciate the dungeon crawl classics for what they are don't get me wrong. If your are looking for a couple of nights of hack and slash mayhem then this is great but if you more then you'll need to put in the leg work. The ideas and encounters presented however will certainly privide a DM with some grist for the old ideas mill<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Easy to use and integrate into an established game. Clearly presented for the most part. Some interesting ideas that could be developed.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Came acroos as a string of encounters one after the other with very little problem solving or roleplaying - although this could be added with only a little work.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #17: Legacy of the Savage Kings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lords of the Night: Zombies
Publisher: Bottled Imp Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2005 00:00:00

Bottles Imp has produced the goods again. This is a magnificent piece of work. Like their previous two books this presents a real variety of views to the zombie and is sure to make the appearance of zombies in a game a memorable session.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Entertaining read. Well though out rules, brilliant ideas<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lords of the Night: Zombies
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Poisoncraft: The Dark Art
Publisher: Blue Devil Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2004 00:00:00

Now this is excellent. This could rate as one of the best PDF's I've had the pleasure to read. The rules are well constructed and shed a new light on the whole concept of a poison in D&D. Add to this the professionalism of the production itself and I think a new benchmark in the PDF market has been set. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Poisoncraft: The Dark Art
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Masters and Minions Horde Book 1: A Swarm of Stirges
Publisher: Behemoth3, Inc.
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2004 00:00:00

I'll really enjoyed this one. Stirges are rarely handled in a fashion that makes them a serious threat, often leaving them as little more than a "I need to fill this room" monster. This book presents some really interesting variations on a theme that will elevate the stirge to a fearsome and deadly foe! <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Masters and Minions Horde Book 1: A Swarm of Stirges
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #10: The Sunless Garden
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2004 00:00:00

Excellent! The villian in this one is set to be quite memorable if played right while the "side encounters" are lively enough to give players a difficult and deadly challenge. Like most of these dungeon crawls you'll need to liven it up with a little background development to make it really shine but I think most groups would quite enjoy this one.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #10: The Sunless Garden
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #12: The Blackguard's Revenge
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2004 00:00:00

I'll see if i can get through this without my usual list of endless typos. This was disapointing, if you want a night of endless combat then this is for you, although it won't be a very long night since you face energy draining undead. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #12: The Blackguard's Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Combat Options: Initiative
Publisher: Broken Ruler Games
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2004 00:00:00

Nice idea. I'd like to see the series expanded. This booklet offers several really good takes on D20 combat - you certainly won't use all of ideas, in fact you probably couldn't since some are almost contradictory, but there are a few winnners in here. The best part is the fact that the ideas promote lateral thinking in combat and allow for some real innovation in battle. On the down side it could become very cumbersome with thte wrong group. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Combat Options: Initiative
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
We're currently working on the sequel, Combat Options: Attack, as we speak (or type). Some of the optional/variant rules provided will include combining ability scores to create a new attack bonus, branching out your attack bonus, total attacks, basic combat fatigue, fixed weapon damage, called shots, impaling, weapon breakdown ratings, and new non-proficiency penalties. It is currently slated to release in November. And thanks for the kind words.
Artifacts of the Ages: Legendary Weapons
Publisher: The Game Mechanics
by Jason S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2004 00:00:00

Love the idea and the execution. Don't know how many players would devote up to 10 levels of their character to a single magic item (albeit indestructible) but the concept is great. The best part about this book is the potential it has for further development - th list of items and the variety could be endless. I recommend the series to anyone at this price<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts of the Ages: Legendary Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG