RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info
NPC Details Generator
NPC Details Generator
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Savage Kingdoms core rulebook
Publisher: Savage Kingdoms (Fire In The Head Produc
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2015 13:30:21
I thought I would be the first to do a review on this little gem of a roleplaying game. For the longest time I have been trying to make my own along the lines of what this game does. So first and foremost i really love the system introduced in here. It has your classic d20 skill resolution system. Abilities and Skills rank from 1 to 10, and beyond. With 5 , I would say is a high average, while a 4 would be a low average.

I am still reading this book, but I've gotten pretty far. The health and stamina damage system, seems well designed as well. And keeps the tone of the setting, very gritty , so you don't have a ton of these points. Damage is based on a weapon value, plus the difference you beat the targets defense by. So a well rolled attack, really brings home the impact of how severe things can get.

The spell system is well thought out and designed (and relatively easy), and is just absolutely wonderful in its application. Everything feels more down to earth, than your typical D&D game, which is something I love. Broken up into 6 schools of effects, which only a few dozen spells which have multiple applications. And the fact you only need 1 book, makes this even better. If you do like D&D or d20 styled games, you should give this a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Kingdoms core rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Saga of the Splintered Realm Book 1: Core Rules
Publisher: Splintered Realms Publishing
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2015 23:20:59
Now I may have not been apart of the Kick Starter for this little gem. But I do appreciate the effort given towards this product. So I thought I would leave a little review about this product. So lets start this out by saying, its a blend of both old school D&D and an attempting at blending some elements from 5th edition and other variants of the sort. There is no all or nothing method, and offers different variations of the themes. Ability scores range from 2 to 12 but still keeps the same standard modifers.

Task resolution uses the d20 like most systems of this sort but are called a "Feat Roll" , but offers a mix of a bonus equal to half your level plus modifiers for other factors such as class , or ability score (or ability modifier). There are no saving throws, and no skills, everything has been condensed into the 'Feat Roll " mentioned. I would have liked to ahve seen some effort on adding at least background skills, to help flesh out a character beyond just class abilities and raw ability scores.

Damage, have been simplified and condensed into an easy dice range. (either d4,d6,d8, or d10). Hitpoints are the same regardless of class, so everyone has the same chances of survival.

What really makes this game shine for me, is the Talents system that was created for its use. Talents are special abilities, that players can add when they have reached an appropriate level. Which varies from class to class. But this lets you create characters far more unique then they would be with just a class. Now you can have a warrior that can cast a spell , or a wizard that can wear armor and cast spells!! or a cleric, that can sneak like a thief. or a thief that can turn undead!! The options are pretty open ended here.

Magic doesn't need much touching on, other than that it is split between arcane and divine. And ranges in power from 1 to 6.

The default monetary system is in Silver, thank you! I've always personally hated gold being the standard.

And in the back of the book, you will find callings. Which are like prestidge classes that you can add on to your character (but is more like a package of abilities, instead of an entire new class that you ahve worry levels about). Instead you pay a premium of experience to keep the benefits, making it far slower for you to level up.Such callings include, Druid, bard, palading, etc.. Just meet the requirements for the calling, and you can add it to gain the abilities.

Over all this is a easy game system, that has enough options that allow you to still come up with a character you wish. Sage of the Splintered Realm is a far superior game to the original basic Dungeons & Dragons I grew up with and 3.5 D&D In my opinion (which has grown too complicated and rules heavy with options). And I would definetly play this game, even though there is room for some improvements. Which can usually be hand waved with optional rules by a clever GM.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Splintered Realm Book 1: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Brian! I appreciate the feedback. I\'m absolutely \'standing on the shoulders of giants\' here, and have had 40 years of good ideas to pick and choose from, as well as a group of great players who provided invaluable feedback throughout the process. I\'m proud of the way the game uniquely solves problems I had with B/X, and I\'m glad you like the Talent system. I agree that it adds a great deal of flavor to a character with almost no mechanical bloat, which was a big deal for me from a design standpoint. I really appreciate it that you took the time to read through the game and post a thoughtful review! Mike
TVRPS Superheroes
Publisher: Priebe Press
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2015 13:50:35
I will tie in my review on the base game, you can find the link here: http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/product_reviews.php?products_i-
d=104501

This expansion to the TVRPS gives a little more detail on the skills part, which was a nice addition. So i think getting this game and the other, should go hand in hand. This book gave me ideas on how to make non-human races in the normal TVRPS game book. This book definetly brings the scale into perspective, which the main book left out. And obvious 5 ranks in something is considered peak ability or skill in something.

It might even make a nice way to simulate spells, in the normal TVRPS system. So its something to think about. I'd like to see both of these combined personally into one big document. But the fact that these are so cheap makes them worth while.

I have seen alot of free or cheap RPG games out there. But there is just enough detail to this game, that makes it much more worth than some of the others. Because i like an easy game, which allows for a bit of detail and depth in it at the same time.

I would have liked to see a few more powers explained in this document, but i give it a 3.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TVRPS Superheroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tiny, Versatile Role Playing System
Publisher: Priebe Press
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2015 13:42:07
Well first off these little RPGs assume you know quite a bit about RPGs to get into it. So let's start off with our review.
Over all I like the simplicity of the system. And its not that hard to understand. Total your ability and skill ranks together, to find out how many d6's you roll. However this game uses half dice as well (or d3). The scores are nebulous, and their is no scale other than that you have to meet certain requirements for some weapons and armor.

You create your character's with points. You choose your abilities, skills, and perks and put it all together. However this game could use a lot more detail to it, even though its a two page document. It be nice to have an expanded list of the skills, that are essentially important to the game. Such as the fact, the game gives reference to a dodge skill and a shield skill. And that you probably need a skill to hit with spells, ontop of a spell casting skill. And then you can probably have a resist magic skill as well. A list of a few magic spells for example sake would have been nice. Though I might expand on this myself at some point in the future.

There are no rules for non-human races, so i imagine this would be hand waved. And there is no actual monetary/resource rules either besides a perk that you can purchase. And letting the GM decide if thats enough to get what you want.

Over all this is a nicely thought out game, the system seems solid, and would like to see more support for this. And some more expansion work . Suffice to say, a GM will ahve to do a bit of work, to expand on the skills and perks that the players can use, and how to use them.

I give this game a rating of 3. Its great when you want to get together and make some quick characters, and go dungeon delving or what ever.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny, Versatile Role Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Marvels 2.0
Publisher: Tom Doolan
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2015 21:04:13
I have always been a fan of the old MSHRPG roleplaying game. And still to this day, is perhaps one of my favorites. Now, Tom Doolan has come along to introduce to us, his variation, using the d20 rules. Which is something I have wanted to do for a while myself. This game comes in at only 45 pages.

(1) Character creation is simple, and based on "Ranks" instead of Dice. Applying those ranks between your Abilities and Powers. This game takes as much care to keep it looking very much like MSHRPG as much as possible.
(2) The use of "Talents or Skills" is primarly what you might expect from MSHRPG, but only a few skills are listed that bare importance to being a super hero. And Skill resolution, is kept fast and loose so you can enjoy the action.
(3) Damage in Mutants & Marvels , uses a Damage Tracker instead of a pool of points. And a damage save, to see if you do take damage.
(4) Perhaps one of the best "gems" of the system, is the amount of options for using Experience to enhanced your character. There are at least 3 different systems, so each person can use what they prefer. Plus it comes with a lightly detailed campaign setting, and a starting adventure to help get things started.
(5) Now the powers list is very small, not as expanded as I would wish. But it does handle the most important, and I think many can just make up their own powers quite easily. Since it keeps the old MSHRPG feel.
(6) Still no Charisma ability. But, the changes made to Popularity are a much needed change I think.

The cover is not too bad, the product's print is clean and large so your not squinting or having to enlarge the pages to read them. Everything is kept concise and short, and assumes you already know a bit about the RPG games, such as MSHRPG, and D&D.. But i think a new comer, could wrap his head around these concepts with a few reads. Cause lets face it, even I prefer simple over complex. There's Not a lot of Art in the book. Ranks only go up to Unearthly, but it would probably be easy to expand this if GM's wanted to.

The best part, is it lives up to his statement. Taking an old game I love, and making it d20 compatible without being complex. So Thank you Tom Doolan, for coming along, and giving us this fine product. . This was the best $5 dollars I ever spent for a game. And this is sure to give me plenty of enjoyable hours to come!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Marvels 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Awaken - Quickstart Guide
Publisher: The Games Collective
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2014 22:17:00
Well I was Intrigued the moment I read the product description.. So I thus sat down to read what rules were given. Now there's no character creation, but from what I ahve gathered. This is a variant of the old Vampire: The masquerade system. but using D6's. And very simplified. However thats not a bad thing, because it also uses a dynamic system of resolution. The more description the player puts into his actions, the more likely he or she gets a bonus to his dice pool. I would very much like to actually play a session of this game if I ever get the chance. I look forward to seeing more about this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Awaken - Quickstart Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
Publisher: Dilly Green Bean Games
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2014 14:01:28
If you love the Old MSHRPG system, you will love this system. Its very reminiscent of the system, though with quite a few changes. The Rank system seems to be a little more borrowed towards the modern d20 range. You still have ranks and numbers, but now they are referred by the number instead of the rank. The skill system was adjusted to work off a single d10 multiplied by 10 to give a base number, which you add your Rank too, with any skill focus shifts.

THE PROS:
IN-DEPTH ORIGIN & BACKGROUNDS: I do enjoy the expanded origins, and background system, and included skill focus system. Which brings elements which I always wanted to change about the old MSHRPG myself. Many of the origins, make sure you have some starting powers before you even have to roll to see how many powers you get. And lets you , create characters on vastly different levels from the very beginning.

HEROIC STATS! This system is very forgiving on poor stat rolls, and gives many options to make sure you have a decent set of scores. So in almost every instance, you will never be too sorry to get a low roll. This makes sure you have at least a majority of above average Stats.



THE CONS:
STILL CLUNKY with RESOURCES: Though not a fan of the "Resource" point system with the original version of MSHRPG, I can live with it. Being rather easy going.

STILL MISSING SOCIAL STATS: Never really liked Popularity works great when you need to use your fame to your situations, but never really accounted for personal magnetism. And I always thought the game lacked a "social" stat, and that remains the same in this version.

SKILL LIGHT: This game is very skill light, which can be nice (just like the original system). But I prefer a little depth in this area, to help me create my characters. There is almost no help what so ever with this, so you have to use your imagination when assigning your skill focuses.


Over all I gave this 4 stars, because I have always loved the MSHRPG. Though I personally would have hoped for a slightly more divergent from the usual Rank & No.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
(G-Core) G-Core PRIME
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Brian, Thank you VERY much for your review! If you have any requests (other than the Social stat ;) ), please let us know! ~Jay Libby
The blue book of dangers & dweomers
Publisher: Artikid Arts
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2014 07:57:34
This is a nice little gem. And I was happily surprised by what I found inside. It was like some-one decided to throw many 3.5 Ideas into an Old-School D&D system. Each race is more unique , the classes have abilities you would only find in later editions. A silver piece based Monetary system instead of gold pieces! There are enough goodies in this system, that would make me want to definetly play and give it a try.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The blue book of dangers & dweomers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2010 18:57:23
Well first off this isn't a bad system, i rather like the set up. Especially the Attributes and Derived Attributes, this alone gets a thumbs up because i am so tired of the usual d20 OGL rip off. And this introduces a albeitly simular scores, the ability range can vary from 1-6 for a more mundane game, to 1-10 in a more extraordinary game. But there is no limit to the actual score itself. Perhaps the biggest bog down was when you had to develope your skills, i tried using the detailed skill system and found myself going way over in points. Im sure this system works alot better if you use the broad grouped skills variation of the system. Now i love playing Super Heroes, and i always try to test the system when it comes to this. And this is where i was let down. It looks like they borrowed the power/trait system from the Tri-Stat system. And the values of some of the powers and traits were simply borrowd over without taking them into account with the points the game gives you. I tried using a Very High Level game setting, to recreate an important character from my own super hero setting. And found myself 99 points over before i even got to determining drawbacks.

I give this game 3 stars over all, it has a great retake on the attribute system and skill levels. But i found the powers section, less than desirable and perhaps not thought well enough through when pricing them.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Open Core Role Playing System Classic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG