RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 16:57:30

Classic module which truly explained, and demonstrated, the legendary Drow Elves. This module maps out a large Drow city, in the Underdark realm. It is classic, old-school, in every way. Much of the city is left blank, for description, to allow the DM to develop it as they see fit. Key encounter areas are detailed, of course. It is not a place for the blundering warrior to waltz through, smashing every evil creature he sees... That would be suicidal. It is quite daunting to look at the city map, and realize just how much of it is a blank canvas for the DM to paint in their vision of the city. While the DM could fill in all of the blank areas, it is also possible to just gloss over the blank areas of the city, and only play those areas detailed by Gygax.


With regards to quallity of the scan, it is quite readable. The maps are clear. It is fully complete. The price is a bargain compared to rare copies which occasionally appear on sites like e-Bay, Amazon, and other online vendors of OOP books, and gaming materials. If you want a copy, buy it now. There is no guarantee it will be around in the future. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D3 Vault of the Drow (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Book of Encounters & Lairs
Publisher: Mongoose
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 16:46:15

Wow!!! This book lists 46 separate encounters, two of each monster type, one, "On the road," so to speak, and the other of the monster type in their lair. Note that the two encounters may feature a different type of the same creature from the, "On the road, encounter." The monsters featured are varied: Aboleth, Behir, Bugbear, Derro, Black, and White Dragons, to name just a few!


The encounters are labelled for "Encounter Level" (EL) which helps the DM make a decision, at a glance, whether a selected encounter is of the correct level. There are also guidelines for scaling the encounters to a different EL. The encounters offer tactics, maps for each encounter area, with descriptions on how the monsters will approach the PC's. Each encounter consists of two, or more, pages of description. The second, Lair encounter, features the same family of monster, though not always the same monster in particular. For example the wilderness encounter, for the two Dragon entries, concerns a (named) Black Dragon, while the Dragon Lair encounter, concerns a mated pair of White Dragons. The lair encounters are given the same level of details regading the monsters habits, how they will react, etc. The White Dragons' lair, for example, features a frozen larder, complete with subtle clues as to what the PC's will encounter when they penetrate deeper into the Pair's lair!


At the end of the book, there are Encounter Charts: "These charts will provide a Games Master with all the information needed to determine just exactly what it is the party encounter, how many of them there are and scale it all according to the level of experience the group represents." Now this, is fantastically useful to the DM!


The final chapter, "Help for the Games Masters," is quite useful, It offers direct instructions for the DM. Here is a line which captures the sense of this final chapter, "The gaming gloves are off here; this is just you and me, talking about encounters and gaming from the perspective of how to run a better, more believable game." It consists of seven tips, with lengthy discussions, on how to improve your game -- both for you, and your players. Overall, this book is quite well done, in all aspects. I look forward to using it in my own games! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Book of Encounters & Lairs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Puertas Set 2 - Doors set 2(carta)
Publisher: EnPapelArte
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2016 15:09:06

This set consists of four different, 3-dimensional doors, which are actually rather thick, compared to most of their kind. The door graphics are simple, but effective. At arm's length, the simpler graphics will work fine (minus one pip). They are affordable, and 'heavy', compared to their competitors. For their intended purposes, they will work just fine. If you want them to be quite sturdy, print on regular paper, then glue them to backboard (1-2 mm thick solid cardboard), and assemble. This will not only give then tremendous strength, but also heft. Cheers!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Puertas Set 2 - Doors set 2(carta)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Tiles - D01 - Altars
Publisher: RPG Ink
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2016 14:03:13

Numerous types of altars, of many different types, and sizes, are included in this product. The only altar design I did not care for, were the multi-colored star types, but this is a very minor nit-pick. The altars are 2-D, but with a 3-D perspective. They are also overlaid with a light-gray square grid. I printed mine on a color laser printer, using copy paper. I then applied them to the glue side of some inexpensive, peel-n-stick, vinyl floor tiles. I then cut them out, to size. The vinyl floor tiles give them heft, and make them very durable. They are easy to throw down onto my tiles which I draw my dungeons out on, as well as my printed, 2-D dungeon tiles from Fat Dragon Games.


The variety of altars provided in the set allow for many options, as well as offering many different sizes of many of the altar types. There are altars which are suitable for many different fantasy gods' temples, as well as altars you might find in a wizard's laboratory, for summoning demons. There are also different sets of water fonts, as well as incense burners. Great set, lots of variety, and sizes. Highly recommended set for 2-D usage. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Tiles - D01 - Altars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Tomes
Publisher: Inkwell Ideas
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2016 13:23:47

Nice set of tables for randomly creating book titles, not only for Wizards' magical research book titles, but you can also create book titles for religious books to be found in temples, as well as historical book titles, which you might find in a sage's library, or the library of an aristocrat, as well. I discovered very quickly, that I preferred to peruse the table lists, to create my own titles. I also discovered that the making of book titles provided inspiration for possible adventures, based on the book titles, as well as the author names I created.


Overall, this product was worth every penny I paid for it. It will serve me very well in creating library book titles for a wizard's spell research library (I have created 100+ titles, thus far, and I am still going...), but it will also allow me to make up interesting book titles for other things (noblemen libraries, as well as temple libraries), which will inspire me, and my players, I hope, with adventure ideas.


I highly recommend this product if you want a fun way to populate library book titles for your RPG's. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Tomes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Darkfast Dungeons: Advanced Set_3D Walls
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2015 23:09:29

I did not purchase this product for its intended purpose... Bear this in mind for my 3-star rating, please.


I needed a 2.5D cardstock dungeon set, to fashion walls, and doorways, attached to backboard (2.5mm thick cardboard), to be inserted into slots, cut into foam mats. I searched, but there were few options for my purposes -- I needed wrap-around wall sections, and doorways, to wrap around the backboard pieces. The variety of pieces in this set is very limited. I believe this set is designed for a slightly different game, with a different purpose from what I needed.


Still, how much variation in your dungeon walls do you really need? In my case, very little. If the dungeon wall sections had too much variation, I believe they would be a distraction, so the limited design variations in the wall section textures, will work for my purposes: a decent representation of the dungeon walls, and doorways, but not busy enough to distract from the layout of the dungeon, itself. There are very limited pieces in this set -- again, I can't say this is an issue for its intended purpose, but it is a very simple set of pieces, hence the 3-star rating. Cheers!.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Darkfast Dungeons: Advanced Set_3D Walls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

E-Z TILES: Rivers & Streams
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2013 21:49:56

This is a terrific product. I have used blue felt, strips of yarn, strips of blue construction paper, and other crude markers for rivers and streams, on my gaming tables... They all looked pathetic.


Rubber rivers and streams look nice, but they are terribly expensive -- beyond my meager gaming budget. I considered making my own, using clear caulking, and inexpensive materials as a base, but that would take a tremendous amount of time, and effort -- little money, but my time is valuable to me, so that never happened either.


Enter the "E-Z Tiles: River & Streams"! They look fantastic, they only require the time and effort to print them out, cut them to size, and, for me, to mount them to vinyl floor tile backing, with clear Contact Paper over the printed side, to protect them for years to come. I printed off 24 tiles, mounted them to vinyl floor tile backing, covered them in clear Contact Paper, and then I cut them to size, all in one afternoon! Those 24 tiles, when placed in proper formation, yielded a 9 foot 7 inch stream!


Easy, durable (when mounted, and protected with Contact Paper), easy to build, easy to use, and affordable, both in cash, and my time! Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
E-Z TILES: Rivers & Streams
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

B6 The Veiled Society (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2013 14:58:36

Written for Basic D&D, but easily adaptable to nearly any version of D&D (used it with 2nd Ed. AD&D). It features a murder mystery, which leads into a lot of role-playing with some political intrigue. It can easily be adapted to any city the GM cares to plant it in. I really enjoyed it, but as usual, the players took it in a direction not really scripted in the module -- not a complaint, just a note that this is not a particularly linear adventure. Make sure you understand the groups involved, before you start running it, as well as their intrigues. Fun adventure, glad I purchased it, really enjoyed playing it with my group. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
B6 The Veiled Society (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COPPER DRAGON: Dungeon Perils 1
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:41:16

These pieces are made to be placed on top of the other Copper Dragon sets, primarily the Dungeons Sets, rather than the Cavern Sets. The traps featured are nice, and primarily the standard types. To spring them on your hapless PC"s, just pull out the appropriate trap (fire jets, lightning bolts, slime fountains, pit traps, or...), and place them over the appropriate floor/hallway section, beneath the PC figures. A fantastic addition to the other Copper Dragon sets. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COPPER DRAGON: Dungeon Perils 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COPPER DRAGON: Caverns 2
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:37:58

Fantastic! The graphics have subtle colors in them, so if you opt to print them in black ink only, you will lose a great deal of details, and magic, in the printouts. This set is good, by itself, but it is sooo much better when combined with Dungeons 1 & 2, and Caverns 1. With these four sets, along with the Perils set, you will have all that you really need.


By the way, each set features one-inch squares drawn in rough, rocky format, to allow easy measuring for movement. The patterns vary whether it is dungeon, or cavern, it is not the same in every square, either. Quite well done, and it will speed up movement, and combat, by allowing quick measurements, no matter the rules set used.


I printed mine out on white cardstock, laminated them with clear contact paper, then I mounted them to peel-n-stick vinyl floor tiles (place the laminated cardstock pieces to the glue side of the tiles). Use a utility scissors to cut them out, and you have very durable, easily transported, 2D dungeons that you can put down on the tabletop in seconds -- no mapping on your part, no drawing required, no erasing wet/dry markers, either! With 2D dungeons, your figures won't be crowded by 3D walls, and you can get on with what is important -- the movement, and combat!


Be sure to visit the publisher's web forum, linked off of their home page, for additional support, ideas, and user generated freebies. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COPPER DRAGON: Caverns 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COPPER DRAGON: Caverns 1
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:37:15

Fantastic! The graphics have subtle colors in them, so if you opt to print them in black ink only, you will lose a great deal of details, and magic, in the printouts. This set is good, by itself, but it is sooo much better when combined with Dungeons 1 & 2, and Caverns 2. With these four sets, along with the Perils set, you will have all that you really need.


By the way, each set features one-inch squares drawn in rough, rocky format, to allow easy measuring for movement. The patterns vary whether it is dungeon, or cavern, it is not the same in every square, either. Quite well done, and it will speed up movement, and combat, by allowing quick measurements, no matter the rules set used.


I printed mine out on white cardstock, laminated them with clear contact paper, then I mounted them to peel-n-stick vinyl floor tiles (place the laminated cardstock pieces to the glue side of the tiles). Use a utility scissors to cut them out, and you have very durable, easily transported, 2D dungeons that you can put down on the tabletop in seconds -- no mapping on your part, no drawing required, no erasing wet/dry markers, either! With 2D dungeons, your figures won't be crowded by 3D walls, and you can get on with what is important -- the movement, and combat!


Be sure to visit the publisher's web forum, linked off of their home page, for additional support, ideas, and user generated freebies. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COPPER DRAGON: Caverns 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COPPER DRAGON: Basic Dungeons 2
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:36:08

Fantastic! The graphics have subtle colors in them, so if you opt to print them in black ink only, you will lose a great deal of details, and magic, in the printouts. This set is good, by itself, but it is sooo much better when combined with Dungeons 1, and Caverns 1 & 2. With these four sets, along with the Perils set, you will have all that you really need.


By the way, each set features one-inch squares drawn in rough, rocky format, to allow easy measuring for movement. The patterns vary whether it is dungeon, or cavern, it is not the same in every square, either. Quite well done, and it will speed up movement, and combat, by allowing quick measurements, no matter the rules set used.


I printed mine out on white cardstock, laminated them with clear contact paper, then I mounted them to peel-n-stick vinyl floor tiles (place the laminated cardstock pieces to the glue side of the tiles). Use a utility scissors to cut them out, and you have very durable, easily transported, 2D dungeons that you can put down on the tabletop in seconds -- no mapping on your part, no drawing required, no erasing wet/dry markers, either! With 2D dungeons, your figures won't be crowded by 3D walls, and you can get on with what is important -- the movement, and combat!


Be sure to visit the publisher's web forum, linked off of their home page, for additional support, ideas, and user generated freebies. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COPPER DRAGON: Basic Dungeons 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

COPPER DRAGON: Basic Dungeons 1
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:33:14

Fantastic! The graphics have subtle colors in them, so if you opt to print them in black ink only, you will lose a great deal of details, and magic, in the printouts. This set is good, by itself, but it is sooo much better when combined with Dungeons 2, and Caverns 1 & 2. With these four sets, along with the Perils set, you will have all that you really need.


I printed mine out on white cardstock, laminated them with clear contact paper, then I mounted them to peel-n-stick vinyl floor tiles (place the laminated cardstock pieces to the glue side of the tiles). Use a utility scissors to cut them out, and you have very durable, easily transported, 2D dungeons that you can put down on the tabletop in seconds -- no mapping on your part, no drawing required, no erasing wet/dry markers, either! With 2D dungeons, your figures won't be crowded by 3D walls, and you can get on with what is important -- the movement, and combat!


Be sure to visit the publisher's web forum, linked off of their home page, for additional support, ideas, and user generated freebies. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COPPER DRAGON: Basic Dungeons 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

City Map Folio
Publisher: Kenzer & Company
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:22:56

These remind me of the old Judges Guild products, such as the Village Books, or the Castle Books: you get maps of cities, good sized ones at that, but you have to flesh them out, and populate them. For me, these are wonderful to use for the cities on my world map: I may not know everything about a given city, but at least I've got maps for them, so I can wing it, if I need to, as to who owns what shop, where. With a map done for me, the rest is much easier. Definitely for the do-it-yourself types, but the maps are gorgeous, A very good deal, at a very good price. Highly recommended. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City Map Folio
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GM's Software Bundle [BUNDLE]
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2013 16:17:05

"The Keep" is amazing. It has allowed me to finally get myself organized as a DM. I have put my PDF files of campaign materials I created, into it, along with HTML copies of the core rulebooks, so that I can have access to them all, with just a few clicks, opening them within the program itself, no external launcher needed. My game notes are entered during the game, so they are up-to-date. The program saves everything to disk, auto-magically, so I can just close it when I am done (notes can be backed up, and exported/imported between PC's, allowing back-up's). It is truly amazing.


The "Fractal Mapper" is powerful... It is not too difficult to learn, but it has a curve, and it will take you some time. The free-hand drawing capabilities are challenging: I created hand-drawn maps, 30 years ago, which I have photographed, and Xeroxed. To convert them to the "Fractal Mapper", is challenging to get them to look the same. It would be much, much easier to let the program create new coastlines for me, but the maps are too familiar to me, and to my players, so I have to struggle with this part.


Scaling of the maps is a bit challenging. It can be used for world-sized maps, or close-in maps, of, say, a hamlet. It's all possible, but there are some subtle nuances which need to be learned. Probably the neatest thing, though, is to tell it to take your 2D map, and make it into a spinning globe graphic -- truly astounding to see your world spinning on the screen!


These programs are a home-run, completely out of the park! They have some add-on's, including a PC record sheet application which allows you to design a custom PC Record Sheet, but that is rather complex to set up a record sheet with. Tried, but it was more labor than I wanted to invest in it. It also features random name generators, and other random generators -- may prove useful to you, or not. They are, however, icing on the cake! If your budget will allow the bundle purchase, go for it. They are extremely useful, and reasonably priced for what you get. Cheers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM's Software Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 69 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG