RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Fractal Mapper v8.0 $34.95 $26.21
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 11
6 1
4 2
2 0
0 1
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Click to view
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Michael L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2013 11:51:27
I purchased Fractal Mapper to help me visualize the setting for my novel. I've only scratched the surface of what the program is capable of, but even the small number of features I used enabled me to produce a fantastic map. My characters have a nice, detailed sandbox to play in thanks to Fractal Mapper. I intend to use it often in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2013 03:15:44
This is an excellent mapping tool for fantasy campaigns. The tool has a few minor shortcomings that could potentially be addressed with a future patch (such as the ability to zoom in/out via a mouse wheel), but overall it works exactly as advertised. The learning curve is a touch steep for beginners, but if you stick with it and consult the documentation, it becomes a VERY handy mapping package. And for the price, it is definitely recommended for any DM/GM who is looking to develop custom maps.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Benjamin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2012 12:48:49
When I first purchased this program I was apprehensive on whether I could use it for anything other than basic generic maping, however after getting used to its capabilities I am now able to use it to make maps that very close to the world I already had established. The main advantage is I can make the maps a detailed as I want and print only the items I wish the characters to have when the purchase an in-game map. Another advantage is I can use it with The Keep program so while I'm running a session, I can easily pull up a map where the characters are and even modify it on the spot if something notworthy is discovered while they trek through the wilderness not fully mapped yet.
All in all, I highly recommend this program especially if you like making maps for your game so world info stays consistent.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2012 10:32:48
I was a bit intimidated by this program, at first. I really could not just 'figure it out' on my own. Finally, I opened up the tutorial, and followed it, step by step... The tutorial does not cover every aspect of the program -- after finishing the tutorial, there are still a great many elements left to be figured out on your own, but you will be able to put together some beautiful maps, nonetheless.

I have had my campaign world maps since I created them, back in 1983. I have expanded them in the past 29 years, and I have fleshed out many areas of my world maps, as players have ventured into different areas. I had hoped that I could control the overall shape of the continents within this program so that I could make digital versions of my hand-drawn, and crude computer drawn maps of old. Unfortunately, this program only allows limited control of the overall shapes it generates. This means that I will have to alter the shapes of some of the continents which the PC's are already quite familiar with, but the program delivers so much more professional results, it is sooo much faster to use compared to the old programs and methods, that I really do not mind at all.

This program does, in fact, allow you to create a world map, which can be rendered into a spinning, turnable, globe! Now that is one very fun thing to do! I will be expanding my world design, as a result of using this program, plus I can finally see it all, as a spinning globe. I can even rotate the globe, so that I can see the polar regions, while it is spinning. This may seem like so much wasted programming, but in reality, it allows the world designer to see spatial relations between continents which would otherwise be impossible. It really is a hoot, as well as being useful.

To make detailed maps of continents, islands, countries, or even counties, the GM simply creates a 'continent', and stretches it off the edges of the map, or leave one, or more, edges showing, to create a coastline. Add in land features, such as rivers, and lakes, mountains, hills, swamps, etc. Multiple layers can be created, to allow for GM maps showing everything, and PC maps, showing only what the GM wants them to know.

Dungeon maps can also be created, with the same ease, and speed (there is a tutorial for dungeons, as well, which is highly recommended to get you up to speed quickly! The layering feature could be quite useful here. This program would work superbly for projecting the dungeon onto a tabletop, for miniature use. I've seen such video projectors available for less than $200 retail, new, around Christmas time. This would allow the GM to project the map onto the tabletop, without need of pens, or tiles, or 3D dungeon props; it would be completely fluid in design, with minimal set-up time (depending upon the number of layers used...).

Overall, this is a highly useful, and amazing program to use. If you produce a nice map, and you would like to have it produced professionally, check out this company for transferring your map to vinyl: http://www.bannersonthecheap.com/rpg-maps-and-banners Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2012 18:59:58
I had a few problems with this product, probably my own ignorance. I could manage the large world maps with the help of the instructions but everything else turned to custard. I couldn't get a small local map of a village or town to form properly and the spaceship was a disaster. There weren't any other instructions to help.

Obviously you need to be more techno savvy than me to work this.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Dominic M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/14/2010 02:22:07
I found this product to be extremely useful in my effort to make my world maps. Fractal Mapper provides me with an infinite number of land ideas, worlds, dungeons and story ideas whenever I use it. This purchase has been completely worth it and I would recommended to anyone in the need of new ideas or some map making tool.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Russell R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2009 07:32:28
This a kick-ass mapping program, i can do just about anything i want. i use this for my D&D mapping at Total Confusion Gaming Convention, the players & the GMs love the maps.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Sigur?ur J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2009 06:57:09
An excellent map making program. Easy to use and gives good looking results. Multitudes of extra graphic packs make it really versatile.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Ryan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2008 08:01:34
A great piece of software and a lot of fun. Very easy to use after reading through the tutorial and help files and playing around for an hour or so. The included symbols/icons are more than enough and if you need something very specific it's not difficult to add your own. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a tool to help them visualize their own settings or to just map out specific locations for any campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Samuel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2008 01:28:49
I think that this program is an excellent tool for any RPG fan. Very easy to use, and it can add a whole new dimension to any role playing game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2008 04:49:17
I find Fractal Mapper 8 to be an excellent tool for creating my 1" = 5' maps for nearly all of my needs. It is quite easy to start creating maps right away, but after you get a chance to read through everything that you can do with it, you are now unlocked to let your imagination take you away. You can create your own fills, icons, etc., in your favorite image editing software or from within Fractal Mapper itself.
If you want to be able to print out professional-looking battlegrounds for your players' minis, this software does a great job of it!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by rod d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2008 02:06:01
Mediocre. The interface is reasonably simple but the tools are limited. Walls don't have textures--only black lines. And the "snap to grid" feature only works for rooms, not objects or icons; they snap to the Center of a grid, so you can never align them with your rooms except free-hand. The Fractal drawing is directly connected to the speed at which you draw the line or object -- a quickly-drawn straight line will be highly altered, but a carefully drawn line will hardly change at all. Also, some features are a little Too easy to use--like scaling. When trying to rapidly place a mountain range, most of the mountain icons will be distorted when you drag the mouse. This product is generally okay, but a bit finicky.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Charles R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2008 13:37:14
I had owned Fractal Mapper 7 and found it much easier and more intuitive than other mapping programs.

Fractal Mapper 8 has the same ease of use as well as updated graphics and other nice touches.

I have used this product both for quick maps for my homebrew game, and for maps for products I publish here on RPGNow.

I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a map program.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2008 09:14:40
Not sure what the previous reviewer was reviewing, but I cannot see that it was this product.

I also bought this along with AstroSynthesis2 and I simply love them both. A quick 15min walk through of the tutorial and I was off creating continents, rivers, buildings - whatever I might need for my game. The interface is easy to use, and if you get stuck a quick look at the help file will probably answer your question - it did all mine. I love the fact that you can export your map to an html page with the notes you added, also you can do a version with just player notes. Some people might complain that there should be more symbols included, but if you need more than the fantasy (and sf) symbols included, it is really easy to make your own using this tool - I did and I am no artist.

I am VERY satisfied with this purchase

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fractal Mapper v8.0
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Roderick D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2008 04:13:52
What an expensive mistake. The "Global View" and "Continent Example" are the only ones that are true. The others must be from paying even more for plugins. Dont waste your money.
From the examples offered, it looked so good I purchased the Astro Fractal with this as a bundle. Boy! Was that stupid. At $26 each, I wasted $52. It's going to be a long while before I trust this company with any big orders again.
Don't get ripped off. If a product doesn't have a review from a satisfied customer, don't trust the examples or descriptions of what a product is like. At least not from this company.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG