RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Guide to Toolcards: Fantasy
Publisher: post world games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2013 19:54:06
I also was part of the Kickstarter, and specifically came here to get this product just so I could give a review.

Every now and then a product will come along that is so useful you cannot imagine how you ever went without it: Gamer Paper, Plot Twist Cards, 16-sided die, the internet, pre-painted miniatures, etc. Toolcards are one of the most innovative, useful, and essential products to come along in several years. I have NO complaints whatsoever. Now, I should have known well ahead of time this product would be fantastic. I have never been disappointed with any product attached to Mr. Jim Pinto. He is a breath of fresh air in the gaming community.

I have only had mine for two game sessions. More times than not, I am a run-from-the-hip DM. One of my biggest fears is "What's that dudes name?" That situation arose numerous times during my last two sessions. There was NO lag while I paused to think up a good name.

I drew two cards and voila: STOCKWELL THE MINER from BLINDMAN'S HEATH was able to relate to the PCs how he was recently PROTECTED from a group of MENACING THUGS by the Sentry, REECE (known for his STUBBORNess as well as his favorite weapon, DARKFLAME - a COLD-IRON GLADIUS). Later, when I felt the urge to plant a Red Herring it was easy to do. The suspect was allegedly seen heading towards COSGROVE SWAMP at the foot of BLACK SORCERER MOUNTAIN.

I'm serious, thee things have no end of uses and make nearly every aspect of running or preparing for a game easier by an order of magnitude. Earlier today when prepping for this weeks game I decided to deal myself a hand of 4 randomly dealt cards and see if I couldn't use them as the basis for the entire session. Needless to say, I am already looking forward to this weeks session where the PCs will exploring the ruins of BARON'S CROSS at the heart of the CINDERFLAME FOREST. Once they battle a few MARSH BATS they will discover the tomb of RICHMOND TIMMEROL, the KNIGHT ARCANIST. Along with his remains, they will find a HICKORY SCROLLCASE containing a worn (but valuable) copy of the GREYMAIDEN DIARIES, an ARMOR OF FADING RADIANCE, and a MOTHMAN ROBE. Before they can enjoy their spoils a SHRILL CATERWAUL from a WAILING SHADOW will fill the room as they are attacked. And that is just the beginning.

Look, these things are crazy cool and super useful. Stop wasting your time and buy them today.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to Toolcards: Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Animal Archives 3: Fantasy Animals
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
Now this is a product that I had no idea I wanted, much less needed, but boy am I glad I got it. Now I will be straight up - this is not for everyone. If your games primarily focus on dungeons and monsters waiting for adventurers in the rooms; if your PCs base of operations is merely called "Town" - then you should probably pass this up. Though if you are looking for some VERY interesting fluff and window dressing - somethign that GREATLY contributes to the verisimilitude of your campaign setting; establishing it as a truely a different world - then drop the cash and pick this baby up. This is a great product for those of us that spend hours on the dork channels watching nature shows and subsequently finding ourselves wondering just what creatures fill certain eco-niches in our worlds.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Animal Archives 3: Fantasy Animals
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City: Dock Ward
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
The first follow up to the Great City keeps the dream alive and delivers on the goods. The Dock Ward is just what I was wanting and works very well within the confines of what 0One is attempting to do here. As part of a greater whole I can easily see this fitting nicely with the other products yet to come - or if you already have a huge city in your game that is fairly well mapped out - the locations herein are EASILY ported over.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City: Dock Ward
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
OMG I think I have gone to gamer fan boy heaven. I am so excited about the follow ups to this product that I can barely take the time to focus on this one. This is what I have always wanted - a huge modular city with many detailed buildings. The names of the streets are pretty cool and not impossible to deal with - unless of course you have a wildly divergent campaign. And even so - thanks to the wonders of technology - I can always print these maps out without the labels!


LIKED: I really have no complaints about this product.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Hamlet of Wodfeld
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
Always on the look-out for good maps this one fits yet an entire other objective for me. A nice little village, fairly well detailed, that I can start my new campaign in! And, I don't have to draw the maps of each building 'cause 0One has done all the hard work for me! Yay!


LIKED: Everything about this product is good. Buy it. Sheesh - if you are reading reviews for this product line go back and read my other ones. Everything these guys do for this product line is gold. You won't regret it.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Hamlet of Wodfeld
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
Another in the Blueprints line, the Orc Fortress is a very pleasing product. I will not go into the fan-boy slavering like I typically do (see my other reviews) about how 0One is awesome, but let me say this: the Orc Fortress was extremely well done. One of the things I judge any map by for gaming is how aesthetically pleasing it is. In being judgemental I tend to walk a fairly razor thin line of what passes and what doesn't. For instance - I personally cannot stand to see another castle, fortress, whatever shaped like an animal (Drow temples shaped like spiders not withstanding). Orc Fortress has a nice "spikey" feeling to it and as always - it will work quite well with many other racial types within your game. Personally for me it is to come a Border fort for the Militant Hobgoblins currently testing their borders.


LIKED: All the features that I have come to love, respect, dare I say demand, of this product line are all here and accounted for. This is well worth the money - AS LONG AS YOU HAVE A PRINTER. To be truly appreciated these things need printed out. If you don't own a printer - remember, your local Kinkos can print from .pdf files with great ease.

DISLIKED: There is really nothing about this product that I don't like.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CGW: Lost Books: 5-Pack Subscription
Publisher: Clockwork Golem Workshop
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
I really enjoy this series. Slowly, tome by tome, I am really starting to flesh out all those bookshelves lining the walls of various members of the intelligentsia flourishing in my game world. It is really nice to be able to provide my players with some actual descriptions (not to mention plot hooks) of the dusty tomes they pull down off the shelves - and NOT have to default to soem lame generic description ("Uh...its a book of...Elven poetry...yeah...")!


LIKED: The bundled format is a splendid idea. I hope that if we see a grand bundle in the future (i.e. All the lost books volumes 1 through ??) that there is enough additional material to persuade those of us that have been buying since the beginning to pick that up as well.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CGW: Lost Books: 5-Pack Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Cairns
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
One of my favorite adventures from the last incarnation of our favorite fantasy game involved a certain city - the Jewel - as it were, and the hills nearby riddled with various cairns. These star cairns were a great place to run a modular adventure and 0One has provided me with enough additional map support to carry on this fine tradition. Like other products in this line the maps are fantastic. They are just generic enough to provide a tomb in a pinch for that last-minute "oops-I-got-caught-up-in-real-life-and-forgot-to-plan-m-
y-game-guess-I-will-just-run-a-dungeon-crawl" session or detailed enough to serve as an objective for any long-running, tomb-exploring, dungeon-delving campaign of old (or new).


LIKED: As always the toggles are one of my favorite features. Being able to print out gridless and numberless maps, or with the right combination nice ink-preserving versions; is a HUGE plus. 0One keeps me coming back for more.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Cairns
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
Publisher: Lion's Den Press
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
Not being a big fan of all things fey - I have to say that this was pretty well done. I bought it merely on a whim; I am not sorry I did. In fact, this product actually had me convinced (for a bit at least) to start examining the possibility of incorporating several facets into my home brew game. For any product to be able to hold my attention for any length of time is actually amazing. So there ya go.


LIKED: Well organized, has a few spins on things that have otherwise been relegated to stereotypical shlock in other products.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lion's Den Press: The Iconic Bestiary -- Classic Fey
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: Dwarven Stronghold
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
Well I am something of a FanBoy so I seriously wonder whether or not this review would be truly useful to anyone.

This product, like all others in the series has proven to be immensely useful to me and most likely will continue to be.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Dwarven Stronghold
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lost Books 8: Wayryth's Lexicon of Walls
Publisher: Clockwork Golem Workshop
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
Like other books in this series I am pleased. Short, concise, and to the point. It is a great bargain.


LIKED: My favorite thing is how easily this can be cross-ported to other games. I originally got it to b eused in DnD - but the entire series can be easily used alongside other intertesting tomes in the Cthulu system.

DISLIKED: I would be okay with less crunch - sometimes the extras seem a bit forced.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Books 8: Wayryth's Lexicon of Walls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deluxe Map Pack
Publisher: Cartography Unlimited for RPGs
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2005 00:00:00
I have no complaints about this product nor do I really have any raves. I do not regret spending the money and it pretty much delivers as promised.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Map Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Complete Guide to Wererats 3.5 edition
Publisher: Goodman Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
This product is one I bought on a whim.

It isn't bad.

I don't know what I was expecting, but this by no means let me down. It was pretty much what the publisher promised and hey, who can complain about that?

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Complete Guide to Wererats 3.5 edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Everyone Else: A Book of Innkeepers, Farmers & More
Publisher: EN Publishing
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
Well this most certainly wasn't the most exciting tome I ever flipped through but it is certainly very useful.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Everyone Else: A Book of Innkeepers, Farmers & More
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deadly Diseases
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2005 00:00:00
So yeah...this is actually a pretty damn cool product.

Although I wish that it had more feats, prestige classes, and...waitaminnit...there are already ten million other products out there with those things!

Way to go guys. It is nice to see something that is a bit of a departure AND well written AND well layed out AND designed to be of easy use for the DM.

This is a very useful product and has been easy to implement into my game.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deadly Diseases
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 62 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG