RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Bits of Darkness: Bundle $9.00 $6.30
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 5
1 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Click to view
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Keith E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2006 00:00:00
I've been running a game of D&D since the early 70's and am I ashamed. This excellent product has shown me how jaded and bland my adventures have become. I think this is the most useful and imaginative product I have yet purchased on this site. No longer will my poor players be starved for imaginative descriptions of what they see. No more goshawful nondescriptions of non-event "empty" rooms. I had forgotten the wonder that can be generated in players with a few carefully selected descriptions. My hat is off to this company. Very well done!


LIKED: Reignites the imagination so that the world can be fully realized and experienced by both players and gamemasters alike.

DISLIKED: Not a darn thing. Good job!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Mark H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2006 00:00:00
The skinny: Tabletop Adventures' Bits of Darkness Bundle contains the 'Bits of Dakrness: Caverns' and 'Bits of Darkness: Dungeons' products, both of which combined comprise about 65 pages of information and 200 'bit' cards altogether. Each page is jam-packed with imagination-spurring mini-encounters and descriptive tags (to use their terminology, "Shards" and "Bits") that give any humdrum underground setting an instant feel of "Huh!" and "What's going to happen next?" that is often missing in canned encounters.

If you're looking for a quick and easy set of monster encounters to throw at your players, you're bound to be a little disappointed; this isn't a Book of Lairs or similar item that lays everything perfectly out for a GM so that he has to do nothing but read and roll dice. These are more valuable as imagination kick-starters, with bits and descriptions specifically set up for the GM to have the freedom to expand upon them, or just give the players more description of a locale than its size in feet and the plot-imperative objects found within. The descriptions are lush, making even some of the more mundane settings seem mysterious and foreboding, even when there are no magical pools, grim creatures, or long-lost relics for the players to find.

IMHO, the Bits of Darkness books do exactly what they set out to do... they can help a GM turn a ho-hum section of cavern or dungeon into a place filled with sights, sounds, and smells that keep the players on edge and involved in the game. Very highly recommended.




LIKED: I liked the concept on the whole, actually. The descriptions are detailed and hit all the senses, and can turn a section of cavern or empty room into a sort of small adventure in themselves.



DISLIKED: The only thing about this I wasn't too fond of was the repetetive cover art, which is reprinted on other Bits books with slight backgrounding changes... that gives it a 'series' feel, I know, and in a PDF, that's a very minor issue. If I was buying it in print, however, I don't know that the cover would sell the book for me.


QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Steven R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2005 00:00:00
An excellent gaming aid, empty caverns and dungeon rooms will never be the same (and any room or location that seems a bit bland). The only thing I dislike about it is the d20 element in some of the Bits but it is still usable with any fantasy RPG with very little alteration, but I would have preferred a totally generic product. Still it is a very useful DM tool and well presented will good layout and graphics. I like the random use where you can roll d100 for a bit to fit into the adventure when things are getting dull. As a bundle this product is a great saving.


LIKED: Well presented and useful DM tool

DISLIKED: The D20 element, I would have preferred a totally generic gaming aid

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by James M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2005 00:00:00
Since I originally posted my review of this product, Tabletop Adventures has released a revised version of this product that resolves the ?cut & paste? problems. I cannot commend Tabletop Adventures highly enough for resolving these issues. It is with great pleasure I revise my review and, now without reservation, enthusiastically recommend this product. ?The good people at Tabletop Adventures? is indeed a most appropriate by-line. Kudos for listening to their customers!

This has really been one of the most "inspirational" products I have purchased from RPGNow. Even in cases were I did not use the ideas presented directly, they stimulated my imagination in a lot of different directions that have really enhanced my game. You owe it to yourself to check out their demo and see if it doesn't inspire you!


LIKED: This is a great tool for sparking the imagination of the DM AND that of the players. Too often DMs fail to make their descriptions of dungeons and caves interesting or unique from one another. The material presented here can also inspire other creative adventure ideas, or even entire plot lines for your games.

DISLIKED: With the resolution of the "copy and paste" problems, there is nothing to dislike about this product!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
We have heard the complaints of the people, and finally the problem is corrected! In our new, revised version of this product (released 10-24-05) cut and paste is enabled. (It was never our intention to prevent it, but seems to have been some sort of software glitch.) To further enhance the product we added bookmarks, plus a new cover made specifically for our "Bits of Darkness" series. Anyone who purchased this product is eligible to receive a free update to the revised version. If your mailing settings allow: "Accept mail about products you bought (Updates)?" then you should have received a notice about the revision. Otherwise, you can check your account history and you should find an opportunity for one more download of this product. If you purchased this product with the new cover, then you already have the revisions! We hope these changes will increase the satisfaction of all our customers with these products. The good people at Tabletop Adventures, and the Overlord
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Rom E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2005 00:00:00
Overall this is a very sound product that gives GMs easy access to bits of narrative to spice up any cavern or dungeon. The narrative is written in such a manner that the descriptions could be easily incorporated into any setting.


LIKED: The entries are divided into logical groups (Shards and Bits). For example the Caverns pdf has shards for Entrances, Ascents and Decents, plus Other Settings. Additional bits include Formations and Other Features.

DISLIKED: Neither pdf in the bundled 'Bits of Darkness' support the native cut/paste fucntionality of Adobe Reader. One reason I am such an avid supporter of PDF's is this ability to cut/paste blocks of text from a pdf into my campaign editor. I consider this flaw to be significant, and ultimately, I scored the product a 4/5 because of this problem.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
We have heard the complaints of the people, and finally the problem is corrected! In our new, revised version of this product (released 10-24-05) cut and paste is enabled. (It was never our intention to prevent it, but seems to have been some sort of software glitch.) To further enhance the product we added bookmarks, plus a new cover made specifically for our "Bits of Darkness" series. Anyone who purchased this product is eligible to receive a free update to the revised version. If your mailing settings allow: "Accept mail about products you bought (Updates)?" then you should have received a notice about the revision. Otherwise, you can check your account history and you should find an opportunity for one more download of this product. If you purchased this product with the new cover, then you already have the revisions! We hope these changes will increase the satisfaction of all our customers with these products. The good people at Tabletop Adventures, and the Overlord
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Nathan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00
This is the best purchase I've made on here. The descriptions are well written and offer alot of vareity. They also inspire role playing which I didn't expect from the product. During one adventure, I used a description and it sparked some plot points that I hadn't thought of.

UPDATE
They've also added the ability to cut and paste the snippets as well as they are all now bookmarked. A must have for lap top users.



LIKED: The descriptions are varied and different.

DISLIKED: ---

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied

[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
We have heard the complaints of the people, and finally the problem is corrected! In our new, revised version of this product (released 10-24-05) cut and paste is enabled. (It was never our intention to prevent it, but seems to have been some sort of software glitch.) To further enhance the product we added bookmarks, plus a new cover made specifically for our "Bits of Darkness" series. Anyone who purchased this product is eligible to receive a free update to the revised version. If your mailing settings allow: "Accept mail about products you bought (Updates)?" then you should have received a notice about the revision. Otherwise, you can check your account history and you should find an opportunity for one more download of this product. If you purchased this product with the new cover, then you already have the revisions! We hope these changes will increase the satisfaction of all our customers with these products. The good people at Tabletop Adventures, and the Overlord
Bits of Darkness: Bundle
Publisher: Tabletop Adventures, LLC
by Chris H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2005 00:00:00
These "shards" (suggestive adventure hooks) and "bits" (snippets of dressing) could really spice up dull dungeon/cavern descriptions. They add a bit of verisimilitude to the role-playing experience. The caverns segment has some real added value with short articles on cavern exploration. In these two works, the artwork is rather enjoyable (unlike the stock clip art in Bits of the Boulevard).

LIKED: d20 crunch! Both products feature a little bit of this, such as DCs to avoid stones falling from a crack in a dungeon roof.

DISLIKED: Reprinted creatures/info from the SRD. That space could better have been used for more bits!

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG