RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
 
$1.65
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 7
1 3
0 0
0 0
0 0
0one\'s Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Click to view
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Tim G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2013 04:52:28

Excellent map, I am very pleased. All you need to add as DM is where there are guards and other creatures. This saved me much time, instead of having to make a castle map myself. And so the function that allows you to remove furniture and such, awsome. Priceworthy indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Dustin G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2012 15:13:44

Exactly what it says it is. Well done, printable in black or blue. It is extremely useful and I would almost say under priced compared to similar items I have bought for my current campaign. The only issue I see it is, it is a good fortress, and my player will have a wait till at least level 12 (D&D 3.5) before the will be able to storm something so massive. If you are thinking you might use this, buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Steve J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2008 00:57:09

0one's products are universally good. For less than two dollars you get a nice professional image, usually able to be opened in Photoshop for modification to fit your own adventures, and which projects and prints nicely. One major advantage is that they deliver what they promise at a small price and download footprint.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2008 22:45:34

A great old School map for less then two bucks. You simply cannot beat the quality at any price, and the price is unbeatable. Buy them all-that's what I'm going to do!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00

Awesome. Just like all the other maps in the series.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/19/2006 11:19:57

About as spiky and pleasant as your average orc, this fortress squats high amidst the mountains - and looks pretty chilly! As always, you need to supply the story and anything over and above the bare bones of contents, but if you have ideas but no time or talent for mapping this will come in useful. Look through the fortress and ideas will come.

Of course, you might decide not to let orcs live there at all, or not any more. Someone else, someone nastier, may have taken over. The choice is yours. This product is a good half-way house between having to do everything for yourself and having a fully-detailed scenario - ideal for the creative person looking for a setting to spawn ideas, or who wants a nice mountain lair for his villain...

The entire fortress is mapped out in both blue and black, with the usual customisable features: you can have the furniature provided or not, show room numbers, display the scale grid and decide whether you want the main walls filled in solid colour or displayed in outline. A handy numbered list page is provided for you to jot down notes linked to locations on the map - maybe you want a numbered version for yourself and a blank one showing just the outline for the players to look at - maybe a sketch provided for them by a rather artistic spy!

0one Games continues to fill the niche they have carved for themselves with imaginative tools that inspire DMs to start coming up with their own ideas. (I think it may have been a mistake to write this review just before going to bed!)

You can read information & reviews about product from 0one Games and many other publishers at http://www.rpg-resource.org.uk/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00

Another in the Blueprints line, the Orc Fortress is a very pleasing product. I will not go into the fan-boy slavering like I typically do (see my other reviews) about how 0One is awesome, but let me say this: the Orc Fortress was extremely well done. One of the things I judge any map by for gaming is how aesthetically pleasing it is. In being judgemental I tend to walk a fairly razor thin line of what passes and what doesn't. For instance - I personally cannot stand to see another castle, fortress, whatever shaped like an animal (Drow temples shaped like spiders not withstanding). Orc Fortress has a nice "spikey" feeling to it and as always - it will work quite well with many other racial types within your game. Personally for me it is to come a Border fort for the Militant Hobgoblins currently testing their borders.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: All the features that I have come to love, respect, dare I say demand, of this product line are all here and accounted for. This is well worth the money - AS LONG AS YOU HAVE A PRINTER. To be truly appreciated these things need printed out. If you don't own a printer - remember, your local Kinkos can print from .pdf files with great ease.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There is really nothing about this product that I don't like. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by lior s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2005 00:00:00

I've bought this product during hasty session preparation, hours before my players were due to arrive. I was looking for floorplans for a decades abandoned orc fortress. Much to my delight I quickly found this product and downloaded it. The product contains complete blueprints in blue (and black) of a fortress, 3 floors above ground, 2 floors below. There is a map legend detailing the various symbols used. Moreover, using PDF layers, you are able to hide/show the grid, room numbers and control the amount of ink you'll spend printing these maps. Each level takes one A4/letter page. In addition you get pages detailing the function of each room which also leave space for the DM to fill in more information<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The fortress is well designed, it has a non-traditional shape and yet each room in it has a purpose. The fortress can be used as an active garisson for an orc army, or as I use it, the decades abandoned ruin, filled with outsiders and other nasty things :-)<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked at least a black and white sketch of the fortress, I think specificaly for this blueprint a 3d view to show to the players would have been of tremendous value.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2005 00:00:00

Everyone likes battling orcs! However, I will be using this fortress to house a large hobgoblin army in my campaign. Very well drawn, and quite original. The quality is typical of all the maps made by Theta One, and you can't find a better deal for the money.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The original layout and customability.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing to complain about.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: Orc Fortress
Publisher: 0one Games
by Mark G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/24/2005 00:00:00

?0one?s Blueprints ? Orc Fortress? is a 20 page map supplement from 0one Games for $1.65. This particular product is centred, obviously, on an Orc Fortress. Unlike many of the products in the blueprints line this one does not seem to target a nostalgic audience aside from the blue maps. Many of the blueprints series have focused on locations that are eerily familiar to people who have played D&D for more than 15 years, but I can?t say that I have ever played an adventure in an Orc Fortress so I didn?t have any expectations going in to this product.

As usual the product begins with an introduction page (including brief background on the Fortress, suggested placement in your campaign world, and four adventure ideas for using with the Orc fortress.) The brief background describes this site as a fortress built over a conquered dwarven nation, which explains the incongruent nature of one of the maps (see below). The adventure ideas are not ground breaking but they are usable and may present you with one or two ideas you haven?t tried before. Personally, I like the option to have the fortress cursed so that on stormy nights it shifts into a demiplane filled with the spirits of those slain in the fortress?s fall.

Next in the product is the default Map Legend page that covers all the potential symbols that 0one Games has used in the 0one Blueprint lines. Checking it out carefully, I notice that a few symbols like catapult and toilet are not on the Legend, but the room descriptions at the end of product and the introduction survey of levels, reveal clues to what these objects are meant to be.

Starting on p.4 we get into the map heart of the product. This product contains 5 levels of the orc fortress (Ground level [basic defenses and barracks], Level +1 [barracks and catapults], Level +2 [warlord?s apartment area], Level ?1 [temple of the eye], and Level ?2 [former dwarven crypt, now co-opted by the orc.]) Each map appears in both a blue version (for us old gamers) and a black version for the younger set.

Each map is constructed using layers so that there are a number of option for the configuration of map for printing, though not as extensive as the ?Rule My Dungeon? feature in the ?Dungeon Under the Mountain? Line it does allow you to toggle on/off four features (fill [coloured in empty non-map parts], grid [whether you want the squares for maps or not], furniture [do you want the dungeon prefilled with stuff or not] and numbers [do you want the rooms numbered]).

The structure of the Orc Fortress is very skull-like in its representation. Looking at the map of Level ?1 (temple) its clear that it?s shaped purposely to be the horizontal cross section of a skull. The ground level and higher have sharp corners making the map above ground to have the appearance of a spiked helmet. The crypt (Level ?2) is nothing like the head shaped levels above with a very rigid, square, some might even say lawful design that one would associate with dwarves in D&D. Which makes sense because dwarves built that level. The lower levels are only accessible through secret doors. The maps are very ?lived in? with quite a bit of furniture that add depth to the maps. The maps also have a ?eye? motif, say if perhaps you where playing a fantasy roleplaying game which had orc worshiping a one-eyed god, though it would be just as easy to say each square = 10 ft. and load the place with Cyclopsi. [What is the plural of Cyclops?] In the temple level there are two passages that lead ?nowhere? or ?somewhere else? as determined by you the GM much like many of the old school TSR maps used to do.

The product ends with 6 sheets of forms to write in the details for the rooms in the map. I say write in because even though they used layers throughout the product they didn?t do up the last pages in forms, which would have made it nice for those using Acrobat instead of just Reader or for those that want to type instead of write. The product does not say they do this so I couldn?t hold it as a negative to the product, but wish to leave it here as a suggestion or wish for future blueprints, so I don?t have to do the forming myself. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Customizable. Thematically consistant. Clean maps that are easy to use. Cheap, cheap, cheap. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Some legend items missing, but easy enough to figure out. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG