RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Green World
Publisher: GRAmel
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2012 05:36:19
Here’s the third full-length adventure from GRAmel for Beasts & Barbarians. It’s a 58 page PDF, part adventure and part setting expansion.

The adventure is in four parts; as ever, I’ll try to minimise spoilers, but it’s not giving much away to tell you that the PCs wake up in a strange place with no memory of how they got there, and their objectives are to figure out what happened to them and find their way home. My experience so far is that each part in one of these adventures takes about four hours for my group to get through, give or take, and since that’s how long our weekly session lasts, I’ll get about a month’s worth of adventuring out of Green World.

The adventure takes up about 30 pages, after which we get expansions to the Beasts & Barbarians setting. There are a dozen or so new beasts and NPCs, and a 14 page section on demons, those who worship them, and those who fight them. Amongst other things, this explains what the enigmatic Stylites are actually doing.

As ever with Umberto Pignatelli’s adventures, Green World makes full and clever use of classic Swords & Sorcery tropes; Conan would be right at home here. In this case, we have damsels in distress, vile creatures bent on consuming same, demon-worshipping savages, and a lost world.

Some foreshadowing is useful in running the adventure; I’d recommend doing that several sessions in advance.

It’s also worth noting that the B&B adventures played in sequence show a natural progression northwards and eastwards through the game setting, and that some of the smaller adventures fit into it. So far, I’d say the logical progression is: Death of a Tyrant, Citadel of the Winged Gods, The Skinner of Syranthia, Green World, The Carnival at Nal Sagath, Wolves in the Borderlands, and The Cliff Queen’s Court. Vengeance of the Branded Devils could come at the end of that arc, at a stretch, although it’s intended as the introductory scenario. If you start the heroes at Seasoned, as recommended, and award the usual two experience per session, they’d be well into Heroic by that point.

Rating: 5 out of 5. I was really started to feel jaded, and this series of adventures has perked me up nicely.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Green World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legends & Lairs: Traps & Treachery
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2007 00:00:00
I bought this as I was looking for inspiration for new and interesting traps to spring on my players, and it delivered.


LIKED: Numerous new traps, with plausible mechanisms, well-illustrated.

DISLIKED: Nothing.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legends & Lairs: Traps & Treachery
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quest
Publisher: Forever People Digital Press
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2007 00:00:00
Exactly as described, a system for running PBEM campaigns.


LIKED: Matched product description exactly; some interesting ideas.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Quest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
If there's one thing I can't stand it's a review packed with endless waffle! ;)
True20 Companion
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2007 00:00:00
Useful guide for the True20 Narrator setting up a campaign. Contains rules for creating your own Roles for the game, with new core abilities, plus detailed guidelines and rules for four different genres of game.


LIKED: Situational and character archetypes in the Fantasy section; equipment construction rules in the SF section; insight into how Roles are created and balanced.

DISLIKED: Nothing!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Guide to the Galaxy
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2007 00:00:00
If you've got this far, you probably know that Dragonstar is a science-fantasy d20 setting mixing starships and lasers with pegasi and orcs, where dragons rule the galaxy and the other races are subservient to them. Imagine a cross between D&D, Star Wars, and Warhammer 40,000, and you'll get the gist of it.

Where the Starfarer's Handbook focusses mostly on PCs, the Guide to the Galaxy is more for the Dragonstar GM. It includes the history of the galaxy in brief, an overview map showing key worlds, essays on the laws, royal houses, trade, organisations and politics of the Dragon Empire, religion and the gods, and so on. Scattered throughout as sidebars are statblocks for stock (or interesting) NPCs. Next the book details two locations (a star system and a space station) where the PCs can begin their adventures. Then there are chapters on magic items and monsters, and an extensive section on adapting the d20 core fantasy rules for hazards like radiation and explosive decompression.

Finally, we have star system generation rules, a discussion of the various types of Dragonstar campaigns, and a sample adventure.


LIKED: The sheer audacity of the base premise - a star empire run by dragons and populated by D&D races - and the way that this has been logically extrapolated into a rich, detailed setting.

DISLIKED: Heavy reliance on the D&D core rulebooks. However, the designers are completely open and upfront about that, so no complaints.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Guide to the Galaxy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Quick20
Publisher: Mob United Media
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2007 00:00:00
Quick20 promises a d20 fantasy RPG in under 10 pages, and delivers on that - in fact, if you lose the cover and OGL, it does so in 7 pages. In so short a space, there is no room for monsters (they are in a separate PDF, Monsters and Fantasy Races, in the same download) or guidance for the Game Master, so I feel this game is better suited for someone already familiar with other RPGs. The monster expansion includes 10 standard monsters, rules for generating more, and the usual PC races - dwarf, elf, etc.

In some ways it is similar to, though simpler than, True20 (I don't imply plagiarism here, both are simplifying OGL d20 and there are only so many ways to do that). Damage saves replace hit points, ability die modifiers replace the abilities themselves, and magic is 'collapsed' into a smaller number of spells, each with broader powers and more options - I like that very much in both.

Quick20 differs in replacing feats and skills with point pools based on the character's role (class) and level. It also provides some guidance on when to advance characters.

This will be an ideal game to stuff in the travel bag and play in a hotel or airport.


LIKED: Does exactly what it promises. Good for gaming while travelling (but would need an experienced GM).

DISLIKED: Structure relies on numbered paragraphs. Character hook refers to table on p. 2, couldn't find table.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City, Temple Ward
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Zooms in on the Temple Ward of 0One's Great City map, giving building plans for five of the temples there, each with its own distinct architectural style.

I didn't like the idea of a god called the Shiny Lord, but that's just a nitpick.


LIKED: Nice building plans.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City, Temple Ward
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terran Installations: Data Sector Map
Publisher: PJT
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Good skirmish map for Star Wars Minis or roleplaying generally. Same style and colour scheme as their installation tiles.


LIKED: Good skirmish map. Nice colour scheme.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terran Installations: Data Sector Map
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Terran Installations - Starter Tileset
Publisher: PJT
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
While fantasy tiles are easy to find, this is the first SF tileset I've found that I liked. They're good for mapping installations, or portions of very large ships; I hope that some future set will include a bridge tile of some sort.


LIKED: Colourful, nicely-drawn tiles.

DISLIKED: Would like a small ship bridge tile as well.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Terran Installations - Starter Tileset
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
A stock fantasy city, nicely laid out and drawn. Poring over the maps themselves and the keys gave me lots of ideas for games I could run. I liked being able to print out the keys, section maps and overview map separately, and the blank section for adding/changing locations.

The only quibble I have is that I couldn't see a ground scale; however, once I had Tower of Janazar as well, a ruler and some simple arithmetic fixed that. I suppose the ground scale might vary depending on how big the population of your city is.


LIKED: Nice map. Gave me lots of ideas for scenarios. Generic setting not tied to any specific game world.

DISLIKED: Found it hard to figure out the ground scale.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rooms & Encounters: The Crypt of the Plague-Bringers
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
A single room from one level of the Dungeon Under the Mountain, with inhabitants and backstory. The inhabitants are detailed with stats for several different encounter levels.

I like the idea of having "drop-in" modules for the DUTM like this, that I can buy or not. This one didn't really gel for me, but that probably won't stop me getting some of the others.


LIKED: The idea of treating DUTM rooms this way.

DISLIKED: Encounter didn't suit my group.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Rooms & Encounters: The Crypt of the Plague-Bringers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Dungeon Under the Mountain, Level 1
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Exactly what I expected: A big dungeon level, ready to stock with monsters and treasure. Good use of PDF features, especially printer-friendly background options. It's also nice to be able to print off various parts of the dungeon at several different scales, to give an overview and detailed area sheets for the DM. Looks like you can print at 1" = 5' scale too, but haven't tried that.


LIKED: "Rule the Dungeon" feature.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon Under the Mountain, Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Tile Designer
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Nice tile maker. Highly portable as only Acrobat is needed to use it - no need to install something like Gridsmith or Dundjinni. Good for creating "fill-in" tiles between other purchased tiles, or for creating new ones.


LIKED: Eliminates need to have a dungeon drawing programme on my office PC :-)

DISLIKED: Would be nice to have some way of saving tiles.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Tile Designer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Skirmish Tiles: Dungeon Rooms Set 2
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Another selection of well-presented 8x5" dungeon tiles from 0One Games.


LIKED: Good illustrations, easy to use

DISLIKED: Large amount of white space around each tile - is it possible to get two on one page of the PDF to reduce wastage?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skirmish Tiles: Dungeon Rooms Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0one's Blueprints Backdrops: The Tower of Janazar
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
Floorplans and backstory for a wizard's tower, including biographies for the inhabitants, stats for them at several different levels, and plot hooks.

I particularly liked the potential for recurring encounters, with new twists and revelations each time the PCs meet these guys.


LIKED: Backstory for characters; plot hooks.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints Backdrops: The Tower of Janazar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG