RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
Publisher: Total Party Kill Games
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2016 06:38:33

I have to agree with most of the previous reviewers, this product is somewhat frustrating. On the one hand, it shows great potential with an interesting and extensive lineup of feats. On the other hand, it appears to have been lazily edited and the feats' adherence to the 5E rules is often spotty. It should also be noted, that the feats found within are implicitly not meant to be used in addition with the Player's Handbook's list but rather to replace it.

Still, the underlying content is good enough to have prompted me to polish this gem in the rough before introducing it in our game. Although I should not have had to put in so much work revising the product, the fact that I will actually be using it still warrants giving it 3 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fifth Edition Feats (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AlanVenic Tome of the Warlock
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2016 09:01:06

This collection of archetypes makes for a welcome addition to the Warlock's core options even though they are not as lacking as those of the Sorcerer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AlanVenic Tome of the Warlock
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

AlanVenic Tome of the Sorcerer
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2016 08:57:27

This collection of archetypes is a most welcome addition to the Sorcerer's core options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AlanVenic Tome of the Sorcerer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

5MWD Presents: Maneuvers & Commander
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2016 22:18:00

This review has been edited to reflect the rebalancing efforts of the author for the Commander archetype.

I enjoyed the new maneuvers. They add interesting options and look fairly balanced at first glance. I intend to offer them to the Battle Master in my campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5MWD Presents: Maneuvers & Commander
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Race Compendium - Volume One
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2016 23:54:39

The races and subraces contained within are complementary to those published by WotC so far. I particularly appreciate the fact that the author took care of offering a racial feat for the new races and all of the official races as well. This product is well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Race Compendium - Volume One
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bestiary of Faerûn - Monsters of the Forgotten Realms
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2016 10:50:55

A very thorough and well laid out compilation of Faerûnian creatures at a reasonable price. The only way this bestiary could get any better would be by adding new art pieces for every entry.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bestiary of Faerûn - Monsters of the Forgotten Realms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GKF Presents: 7 Class Archetypes and 1 Class Variant
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2016 17:45:17

Although I did not care for many of the archetypes found within, I thoroughly enjoyed the Primordial Sorcerer and Warlock. They are among the most well-designed elemental-themed archetypes on DM Guild so far and they will make a most welcome addition into my games. Such archetypes could have appeared in the Player's Handbook or should at least have been introduced in the Elemental Evil Player's Companion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GKF Presents: 7 Class Archetypes and 1 Class Variant
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

GKF Presents: 8 Prestige Classes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2016 21:49:09

Interesting ideas although the classes appear to be way overpowered, almost like 20 levels worth of abilities crammed in 5 levels. As a result end-game abilities become accessible as soon as levels 10 to 12. Prestige classes might be more satisfying as a concept than in actual play. As much as I would like to adopt them, I am still not convinced that they are well-suited to 5E.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
GKF Presents: 8 Prestige Classes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Feats Volume 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2016 07:14:48

Definitely the most well-designed pack of new feats on DM Guild so far.

EDIT: Added a star to reflect the PWYW nature of this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feats Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Deities and Domains: Specialty Priests of the Forgotten Realms (39 Feats for 5E)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 21:02:52

This is an edited review to reflect the changes of the revised product.

This product offers a feat (two in a couple of cases) for every Forgotten Realms deity listed in Appendix B of the Player's Handbook. As a prerequisite, they can only be selected by clerics with one of the deity's suggested Divine Domains (including SCAG's Arcana Domain), which sounds appropriate for a Specialty Priest.

The feats have been completely revised and now include a much welcome short description of the clergy's dogma and attire. The benefits they provide are inspired by the 2E Faiths & Avatars supplement. Most feats grant up to a couple cantrips and domain spells as well as additional benefits such as resistance to a certain type of damage, advantage to some saving throws, proficiency in a weapon, skill or tool, an extra wrinkle to the cleric's Channel Divinity, and other flavorful abilities.

I would have a hard time pointing out any balance issues but, at first glance, the feats appear to be more potent although less flexible than the PHB's Magic Initiate. More importantly, I find appeal in nearly all of the entries.

This revision is much improved in comparison to the original version and it will likely see some use in my games. I would award it 4.5 stars out of 5 but I will have to round the score down to 4 stars as per rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Deities and Domains: Specialty Priests of the Forgotten Realms (39 Feats for 5E)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Additional Archetypes
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 09:14:23

Definitely the most well-designed pack of new archetypes on DM Guild so far. Worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Additional Archetypes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (13th Age Compatible)
Publisher: Rite Publishing
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2014 12:06:41

This product provides a wide variety of templates which can be easily applied to13th Age creatures to add flavour to the game and keep players on their toes. Some of the templates, such as Stealthy, are more mundane in nature while others, such as Winterwight, veer toward the fantastic. Some of them add or subtract to the creature's effective level. For example, the Cowardly template reduces the creature's level by 1.

The pdf is well laid out with a piece of quality color artwork on most every page. I appreciate the fact that the creature illustrations showcase some of the templates described within. For those concerned with the artwork's offensiveness, the cover's picture of a pixie might be considered the "worst" of the product, although I personally don't find it out of place to illustrate the subject. I did not bother to count but, cover aside, the gender representation also appears to be fair at first glance.

All in all, although a bit pricey for the page count, it offers useful content to help GMs balance-out encounters and get more mileage out of their creature roster. I would award it 3.5 stars if I could but will round my score up to 4 stars because I can't get enough 13th Age goodness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
101 Not So Simple Monster Templates (13th Age Compatible)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our product. Steven D. Russell Rite Publishing
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2014 11:40:01

Incredible amount of quality content for the price. Great overall value!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2014 07:52:54

This is a textbook example on how to write a new RPG edition; improving the game on every front while maintaining a high level of compatibility with the previous product line.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Bluffside City on the Edge
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Sylvain B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2014 10:10:22

I was very disappointed in getting a map-less PDF when I purchased this product months ago. I patiently waited before posting this review, hoping for a swift(er) update as the product's description clearly states that "eight city districts and maps" should be included in the book. The said three pages of maps are also sold separately for a whopping $11 and its own product description also states that "these are in the book". Whether the missing maps is the result of an oversight (I might be one of the few purchaser to have reported it) or a cheap ploy to get 56% more off the book remains to be seen.

In the meantime, this makes for an overpriced product of limited use. To be fair, I am still giving it two stars as it might contain some useful material but I was too turned off to actually read it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Bluffside City on the Edge
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG