RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!
The Irresponsible Hero
The Irresponsible Hero
Pay What You Want









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Deus Vult
Publisher: Mongoose
by Todd F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2012 02:43:27
It is put together very well. However, the core conceit of "by any means", doesn't really work through anything but modern sensibilities. If you can accept playing heretics who don't think they're heretics hunting heretics, or if you have a rather (modern 'sensibilities' again) view of the Church, perhaps in a rather Cthulhuesque caricature, then go for it. Most will probably love this product. If you are Catholic of the CCC para 915 variety i.e. a real one, then you will likely find this sadly comical.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Deus Vult
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

When Worlds Collide - Into The Green Inferno
Publisher: When Worlds Collide
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2012 20:32:38
Looks really great. Well organized and thought out. The rules, from what I can infer from this, look like they are likewise well thought and (shock?) play-tested. Again, this is all very inferential. I hope the download of the rules gets a bit less ridiculous. 40$ for a digital download? I don't care if the game runs itself... that is CRAZY.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
When Worlds Collide - Into The Green Inferno
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Todd, We have reset the princing on the product, we had a few issues initially but Chuck from RPGNOW has helped fix that hopefully you will find the product price something more agreeable. Best Regards Alistair
Parsec
Publisher: Jolly Roger Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2012 08:29:42
I don't like not getting any download for a product that I paid for.

That said, If you read around, the designers sound very savvy, and I admire the intent. It looks like a very clean product ala "Youtube" and it sounds like a very integrated game without needless and pointless redundancies or sub-systems. Hoping this get fixed. Looking forward. Don't blame the game, at least not yet.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Parsec
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Situations For Tabletop Roleplaying
Publisher: Levi Kornelsen
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/24/2012 04:45:02
This is the type of product that I wish everyone would emulate. Pure function, no frills. Vastly superior to most PAID products anywhere, and this is FREE? The point is to use the imagination and creativity that one has. This product does what these products should; kick start these faculties. Kudos to you Sir. This is very concise, coherent and useful.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Situations For Tabletop Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T.W.E.R.P.S. Basic Rules (2nd Edition)
Publisher: Zocchi's Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2011 18:13:23
Scanned I can live with. This is a very bare bones barely rules system with which I see no way to that which is indicated. Five bucks for the entire set which WOULD feasibly allow one to play just about anything, would be more reasonable. These are just a few pages, with a very misleading cover, and almost the entirety of the product is an adventure.

In short, rip off.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
T.W.E.R.P.S. Basic Rules (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul -- Quickstart Preview
Publisher: Spectrum Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2011 14:37:25
Intriguing and very promising. Spectrum is very personal and generally quick to respond.

That said, this is yet another example of a game that has been 'coming soon' for a loooooong time.

I hope it hasn't suffered the same fate as.... what was that supers sampler game using the Witchcraft (unisystem?) 'engine'?

I forget. Pretty much everyone else did too.

It really does look like it does what it says. Emulate comics, in a comparatively simple fashion. Looks to be a bit more complex version of another spectrum game, "Cartoon Action Hour." I'm still debating just tweaking that and being done with it. Really good, really flexible, and simple game.

Play the odds, support spectrum, invest in CAH instead.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Capes, Cowls and Villains Foul -- Quickstart Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nobilis: The Essentials, Volume 1
Publisher: Eos Press
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2011 16:59:05
"I make meaningless random girly statements while cutesy anime people pickpocket 20$ from the margins".

WTF? Pretentious nonsense. What is this. Wait, lemme guess. "Some people just don't 'get it'."

Far left end of the spectrum from other EOS products. Wow. Clothespin.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Nobilis: The Essentials, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cipher (Dystopia Cover)
Publisher: Broken Meme gamedesignstudio
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2010 19:00:23
Sounds interesting. Too bad after the intro the text is dark grey on a black background. May revise depending on whether or not a legible copy can be had.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cipher (Dystopia Cover)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

De Profundis Second Edition
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/30/2010 20:18:13
Uhhh. Ok.
I write. Alot. Don't really see a game here. Didn't really get anything out of this at all. Perhaps a recommend to the pseudo-neveu, look down the nose at those who 'just don't get it.' crowd. Otherwise steer clear. (you know who you are, and you don't have to tell.)

The 'good'. Very attractive product overall. Would have been angry vs. irritated if I had spent more than 9$. You got me. Good one. Past performance earns a pass.
The bad. Just write a book. Let us know it is a book. Let us choose to buy it or not as such. Get to the point. Reading through 100+ pages to find out this is 'pen pals and pentagrams' is 'displeasing'

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
De Profundis Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

d20Pro (Mac)
Publisher: MindGene LLC
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2010 20:24:26
Context: When it comes to tech, I'm like a monkey humping a football.

1. Very intuitive. One or two attempts for all but the drawing functions and it was doing what I wanted it to do. Typical MAC/multitouch. Change the fingers, hit keys and see what happens. The main developer gave me some pointers, was about as responsive as the program itself, and about as user friendly. I suppose since he is the main dev and this is his 'offspring' this makes some sense, and is quite interesting.
2. Even if you are not using one of the fully supported Hero Lab games, it is very easy add to the pallet of filled with your basic jpeg etc type file extensions, making this product, if nothing else, a virtual battle map on crack. Did I mention the range finder, elevation settings etc? I hate collectible crap, but I could very easily see using this for hero clix and the like. I doubt they could get the license, but some more technically evolved creature than myself I'm sure could backdoor this one without too much fuss.

3. Support. Unsurpassed. No question. Biggest selling, and buying point, bar none.

Bullet point assessment. Some people like 'real' product, real markers, real minis, books etc. I would try the FREE TRIAL.

If you aren't that attached to mass, metal, mats, and markers, or the 3D stuff, buy it. Portable, just as functional. Done deal.

If you already play one of the HL supported games, going by the chatter, not by play, you need to have your head examined if you don't pick this up.

The main developer stated a 'by gamers, for gamers' It shows.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d20Pro (Mac)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS Character Folio
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 08:13:01
Kudos for the new rating/review system.

Context: I am, regrettably, a MAC user. Please bear this in mind, as many of my improves are based upon this, and perhaps there are ways to accomplish these things (not intuitive for these areas)

1. Fixed screen size, near as I can tell. Normally I can use two fingers to zoom. Multiple screens not very functional.
2. I haven't really seen a way to fine tune specific ability entries in a clean way. The product seems set to exactly what is in the book.

Good points.

1. Install and open very easy.
2. It is very easy to customize characters from either the random or designated mode. The lines are usefully 'blurry' here.
3. Name generator: A bit too four color for my taste, but hey, that is the base product. You will likely have to click a few times to get something a little more bleak. Also any name generator, and random character generator is also (suitably) a crayon and finger paint idea/scenario generator.
4. Finally, I see this platform being very easy to mod/improve so, providing Adamant isn't slack, or with user support, I could see this becoming a five star product very quickly.

Honestly, unless the game is buck simple, I won't even consider using it without basic software support. (Always check out the character sheet. Too complex = skip it. Ahem, certain d10 games I could mention)

I don't regret the purchase.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS Character Folio
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for your suggestions -- we are constantly updating the application in order to make it better. If you'd like to make suggestions directly to the programer, he's set up dedicated forums here: http://gallantknightenterprises.com/forum/index.php
Mortal Coil Revised
Publisher: Galileo Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2010 03:56:04
LOL. Just goes to show that you can't please everybody. Even if the game were mediocre, which it very much isn't, I would be tempted to give the company five stars for reducing fluff. I wish more companies would make bare bones versions. (no, this isn't lacking in fluff, I wish it were but bonus anyway) Save the fluff for actual examples. Remove the illustrations, cut the cost as a result.

Thank you. Bravo, and less is more. I plan on using this in a text/wave game. I can get illos anywhere, sadly thru dtrpg but hey, mea culpa, I am a minority in this regard.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Coil Revised
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lone Wolf Multiplayer Gamebook
Publisher: Mongoose
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2010 18:37:57
Overall very cool.

'Bad' news: the closest approximation to perception/awareness is either some type of house rule, or defaulting to a Kai discipline.

The setting smacks of cartoon just a bit. In all fairness, I don't go for 'Ring Sword of the Dragon Scroll Stone Rune Amulet" Gathaldiel of Bustador type language or settings. Many do.

System, while almost dirt simple, is still needlessly charty complex in some areas. They could have gone farther.

I don't give a toss about illustrations or 'art'. I'd prefer nothing but mechanism and a setting book as a separate option.

The good: Is very good. "Make things a simple as possible, but no simpler." Einstein paraphrase.
If they went any farther, except regarding the aforementioned, you may as well flip a coin. I would call the system more 'chewy' on the laffy taffy end that crunchy, which suits me just fine.

I hope they don't put out an endless supply of class/race books. This is another area where they could go classless, still have a type of slot/pt build and not have things take hours. Another up side, and this is a strong suit of simple games, you could do this very easily yourself because of the 'chewy/stretchy/abstraction' factor.

Conflict is, for the most part very quick except for the charty bits. I'm trying to dumb that down even further.

Outside of the needless complexity/charty bits, which is a speed bump, not a problem, this is an excellent game for all levels of player experience. The writing seems address to a minimum education level which may come off as Mongoose speaking to a dog, but this is good commo. If you can read it, you should be able to understand it. If not, re-prioritize.

All in all, buy it. 5 stars if they stripped out the art, and separated the meat from the bones. I'd pay MORE, for search compression.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lone Wolf Multiplayer Gamebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hearts & Souls
Publisher: Better Mousetrap Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2010 21:28:29
Art: don't care. I'd give any product more stars if it didn't have any.
This is a very character driven, rules medium rare game. Does what it claims, no more, no less. Bonus for honesty.

At the moment it is five bucks. For an honest, low maintenance, low buy in game there is really nothing to gripe about. The 'no art' thing really is a vast minority request.

Good job.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hearts & Souls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spiritual Warfare the RPG 4th Edition
Publisher: Golgotha Games
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2010 02:32:42
Warning: To Catholics. I suppose we 'still' aren't Christians.

System is okay. Not too hard to bypass the questionable use of scripture. If you want an almost four color approach to fantasy and morality then this is pretty appropriate.

The given setting withstands superficial scrutiny. To be entirely fair, it is very difficult considering the sources and subject matter.

You will possibly like this game if you don't think too hard about it, and are a more fundamentalist type who doesn't think rpgs all reek of the pit, which is unlikely since, well read the big banner thingy.

0 stars for the predicable, perpetually recycled anti-Catholic (under?)tones.
2 stars for the game itself.
5 for what I believe is the authorial intent.
1 for the execution of same

Overall. 'Eh'.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Spiritual Warfare the RPG 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG