RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
 
$1.65
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 12
2 7
3 0
0 0
0 0
0one\'s Blueprints: The Great City
Click to view
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Steve J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2008 00:55:45
0one's products are universally good. For less than two dollars you get a nice professional image, usually able to be opened in Photoshop for modification to fit your own adventures, and which projects and prints nicely. One major advantage is that they deliver what they promise at a small price and download footprint.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/29/2007 00:00:00
Good, expandable, starting point of an urban adventure. Generic and inexpensive enough to be used as is or to simply act as inspiration for an original city.


LIKED: It's modular nature allows seamless customization.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Andy S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2007 00:00:00
A stock fantasy city, nicely laid out and drawn. Poring over the maps themselves and the keys gave me lots of ideas for games I could run. I liked being able to print out the keys, section maps and overview map separately, and the blank section for adding/changing locations.

The only quibble I have is that I couldn't see a ground scale; however, once I had Tower of Janazar as well, a ruler and some simple arithmetic fixed that. I suppose the ground scale might vary depending on how big the population of your city is.


LIKED: Nice map. Gave me lots of ideas for scenarios. Generic setting not tied to any specific game world.

DISLIKED: Found it hard to figure out the ground scale.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Cire H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2006 00:00:00
I've been looking for a really useful, flexible city map to represent a city in my campaign. This really fits the bill. I like the street map with a few "locations of interest". It's pretty flexible since you can add wards by reproducing pages (maybe with some rotating or mirroring to avoid a pattern.)


LIKED: Flexible city layout with street map and some locations of interest.

DISLIKED: That darn round "square of the heroes" overlaps 4 map corners. I wish it was only on one map, like the one in the residential ward.

Oh, and no scale on the map is a downer.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Gregory B S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2006 00:00:00
This is a nice set of basic maps detailing a generic big city. You get many maps in this packet... one per "ward" plus an overview of the entire metropolis. If you want to map out the key buildings yourself, then this is the only one you need from this sub-series of map blueprints. If you don't, buying the rest in the series is a good idea. The other six blueprints detail the ward's prominent structures.

Now these maps are "old school" and simplistic in design. That means they look like the maps found in TSR's early 1980s modules inside covers. You can print them in black and white or in blue and white (to keep that old school flavor). You can print them out with keyed information or without.

Let's be clear about this product,... it's gonna take you lotsa work to detail the city. They come with suggestions, but not much else. No NPCs, no history, no politics or religion, and no geogrphic orientation or connectivity. If you are up to this challenge then you have a great base from which your PCs can adventure.


LIKED: If you want your own city but are stumped on how to lay it out or draw it, then this is for you. It will give you a unique city of your own in everyway except layout.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by John D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2006 00:00:00
This is a marvellous product. I have printed it onto fine cardstock, and all six sheets onto tacky back stuff . I can then write on it as it gets populated, easily calculate travel times through the city, my players instantly know where there are, everyone even has picked the little house where there charcater was born etc.

brilliant idea, and very well executed.


LIKED: EVERYTHING

DISLIKED: Has occupied way too much of my free time playing with it!!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2006 00:00:00
There are three vendors that, in my opinion, produce the best maps and artwork in the business. 0one Games is one of them. I currently own every map released in their "blueprints" series, and they are a tremendous value.

Being an old school gamer, I appreciate the "old school" look of blue tone maps. The attention to detail is great, and very realistic as well. Each map can fit into any style of fantasy campaign, which is great for me, since I run a low-magic, semi-realistic world and all too often I see maps and adventures that just won't fit in.

I have this map, as well as all the other, more specific, maps that detail each ward of the city (except for army ward which I don't think is released yet). Printed off on cardstock, these maps rock, and I have a large binder with all of them organized. One of my summer projects will be to add all the juicy details to the maps and flesh it out.

This city will certainly be a focal point of my campaign in several months.


LIKED: Consistent quality of work, blue/black options, realistic design, value.

DISLIKED: That a beautiful supermodel didn't personally deliver it to me.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2006 00:00:00
Definately a great buy-for $2 you get a printable city map. Now you can give every player his own map, and not worry about spills & scribbles. It has a clean, crip look, and a wealth of supplemnts to further define the city if you wish.


LIKED: All of it!

DISLIKED: I found it to be great-no complaints (and I'm a hard sell!)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Bill L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2006 00:00:00
Awesome. Just like all the other maps in the series.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/19/2006 11:22:21
Melding technology with tradition, this set of maps is designed to be the first in a series detailing an entire city to be placed in your fantasy world. The maps are presented in both blue and black, and with various customisation options that take PDF technology to extremes.

This mapset is the key reference, an overview of the entire city presented as both a single sheet map and as six larger, more detailed maps of the component districts or wards of the city (which will be gone into in even more detail in later products). It's all designed to be modular, so that if you don't fancy a particular district you can swap it out - future plans include alternate wards that will link in just as seamlessly into the whole as the original set.

The city comes with just about everything you might need from docks and markets through residential areas - smart and more crowded - to a temple district, a castle, a military base and even a graveyard. You have the option of adding reference numbers, so that you can cross-reference notes to buildings, or leave them off for the version you put in front of your players. Even in these 'summary' maps of the districts the detail is quite extensive with individual buildings and even trees marked, so it will be interesting to see what comes in the following works... plans of individual premises, perhaps?

Following the maps, there are some reference sheets. Names have been assigned to the numbered buildings and there is space to add your own brief notes.

Overall, yet another impressive product which ought to be of use to anyone who likes running city-based adventures... there's loads of scope here!

You can read information & reviews about product from 0one Games and many other publishers at http://www.rpg-resource.org.uk/

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2006 00:00:00
For the price, I don't know how you give this less than 5 stars. This is a $5 product for under $2.


LIKED: The maps are incredible. This is exactly what I was needing.

DISLIKED: The maps assume a standard fantasy campaign and a good aligned city. While this is usually appropriate, it doesn't fit for my campaign. Half the product, the "fluff" half, is not useful to me. But for the price, who cares?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Malcolm M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
The Great City is a product many Dungeon Masters have wished for, and needed, for years. It gives the overworked DM a generic fantasy city map that he or she can customize to their own campaign needs. Use the included locations and points-of-interest, or don't. The Great City provides a fantasy city overview, with a few buildings and building names suggested, but it's up to the DM to populate the city with NPCs and events of his or her choice.

Follow-up products to the Great City overview package -- such as the currently-available Dock Ward release -- take a "closer look" at individual sections of the Great City map, providing floorplans (complete with 5 foot grid) for generic building types in that area of the city, as well as for locations listed in the initial Great City release. The Dock Ward product, for example, contains a couple of taverns, some storage warehouses, and an (ahem) "house of relaxation".

Perhaps the cleverest feature of the Great City products thus far is that, with a click of a button on the free-to-download Adobe Acrobat 7 PDF Reader, DMs can remove the numbering, the names, the 5 foot grid, or even the floorplan furniture from all of the Great City maps before printing. Again, if DMs wants to use the locations as presented, they certainly can -- but with a few clicks, the maps become *completely* generic, and thus fully tailorable to one's own fantasy campaign world.

There are no NPC statistics in the Great City products; such things are up to the DM. The Great City's appeal lies in the fact that it provides GMs with a solid starting point from which to create and define their own fantasy city, their own way, and all at a surprisingly low price.

0one Games provides the layout; freeing the DM to provide the life. The Great City is a great set of products.



LIKED: DMs can add their favorite NPCs and concepts from hundreds of different gaming sources into the Great City, and the setting becomes the unifying force. An innkeeper from a Dungeon Magazine adventure, a temple system from the Book of the Righteous, a genericized version of the Night Elves from WarCraft d20 -- all these things -- plus thousands of the DMs own ideas -- can be imported into the Great City to create a unique campaign home players will remember, and the DM can call his or her own.

DISLIKED: Of course, one wants more -- more detail, more pages -- but at such a cheap price for these products, wanting more is simply a sign of either greed or appreciation :-)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2006 00:00:00
OMG I think I have gone to gamer fan boy heaven. I am so excited about the follow ups to this product that I can barely take the time to focus on this one. This is what I have always wanted - a huge modular city with many detailed buildings. The names of the streets are pretty cool and not impossible to deal with - unless of course you have a wildly divergent campaign. And even so - thanks to the wonders of technology - I can always print these maps out without the labels!


LIKED: I really have no complaints about this product.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Dale A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2006 00:00:00
WOW, this was just what I needed for my group tonight. Great maps!! A+


LIKED: Everything

DISLIKED: Not griping, but some more descriptive text would have been helpful.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints: The Great City
Publisher: 0one Games
by Fester M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2006 00:00:00
The Great City is an excellent resource for the DM, supplying high quality maps of a complete city, including an overview map, which is then divided into sections ('Wards'), each of which is then given greater focus.

The maps are exceptionally detailed and will get the creative juices flowing, as it offers much potential. Although the maps come with keyed buildings, there are no written descriptions of these areas, which are left for the DM to fill in. These can, along with many other functions, be turned on and off according to taste.

The maps come in old fashioned blue and also in black, so you can go with whatever suits your tastes (assuming, of course, that your taste happens to be either blue or black...)

Overall, this is an excellent product for those looking for a detailed city map that they can expand themselves and fill in all the building details. Even for those who don't have the time, it's still a damn fine map :)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG