RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 03/22/2005 23:18:52

Really, really fun. For those of us who love dragons and who love RPGs (and, really, how often do those two interests overlap? Honestly?) this is a great product.

Have to second the previous reviewer's feelings on the organization of the book, though. As I read his review, I found myself going "Yeah...so I see it wasn't just me..."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 15:37:18

A good, solid change. I haven't had a chance to test the systems yet, but they look simple enough and yet comprehensive. The setting is great! Mix old WoD and Unknown Armies and you'll get this new book (which is really, really cool!).

PLUG FOR MY FAVORITE GAME If you like the ghost story aspect of this book, check out Wraith: The Oblivion, too!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Doomslayers: Into the Labyrinth
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 15:06:49

One word: Pasiphae. They're in here, and they're about the most sinister thing in any WoD game. Wonderful, dark, and sickly beautiful. Even if your characters aren't psychotic enough to EVER set foot in the Labyrinth, this book is wonderfully useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doomslayers: Into the Labyrinth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 15:01:58

Wonderful game, but DON'T BUY THIS BOOK. Get the 2nd edition!

Incidentally, the coolest thing about the hard copy is the Glow-in-the-Dark stuff on the front cover; totally creeped me out the first time I saw it in the dark. If you can find the hard copy, get that!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wraith the Oblivion (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Frostburn (3.5)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:52:46

I can't comment on the PDF, since I don't own it and haven't seen it, but I can comment on the book itself (which I HAVE read). On that subject, I have only to say that it's barely worth the paper it's printed on (so I guess the PDF IS an improvement...). If you want to run an all-cold-environs game, I can see where it could be useful, but overall, the book feels slapped-together and shoddy.

Look at the races and prestige classes; MAYBE half of them feel genuine. The others feel like they were created because the book lacked enough material to fill it out. There's a clear attempt to make it seem like, if you have ONE room in your dungeon that's magically cold (or even brisk!) you NEED this book; that's blatantly untrue.

Don't get me wrong. I LOVE D20 and D&D, but if this is telling of WotC's environmental line, then I would've liked to see one, singular, environmental BOOK comprising only the good stuff from this new line. Splitting them up is a blatant attempt to get more money. All told, there's about 30% useful material and 70% fluff.

My players can tell when I try to pull Deus Ex Machina on them; that's why I stopped. I can sense the old God-Machine cranking up at WotC now. And no amount of keyword searching and now small file-size can fix that. I've found no reason to buy this book, and WotC failed at their attempt to create one.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Frostburn (3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Combat
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:36:12

Of EXTREMELY limited utility. If all you ever want your players to do is kick butt and take names, buy this book. Otherwise it's a novelty at best.

Adapted, by and large, from the systems for the (now disavowed) Street Fighter RPG White Wolf put out in the early- to mid-ninties.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Combat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War in Concordia: The Shattered Dream
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:33:34

WELL worth the money. If you run Changeling, this is the crisis you'll want to throw at your PCs. Why they threw half the stuff in here out the window when they wrote "Time of Judgement," I'll never know.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
War in Concordia: The Shattered Dream
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

World of Darkness: Time of Judgment
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:31:05

PERTAINS ONLY TO CHANGELING A half-butt attempt at an end-of-the-world scenario for the Fae. Useful, but only just. I don't run the other games covered here, so their content is up for grabs.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Time of Judgment
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silver Record
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:26:05

VERY useful for the serious W:tA player or ST. The stories are good, useful for performing at moots and such, but the glossary of glyphs in the back is a GODSEND.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Silver Record
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rite of Passage
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:24:16

Ugh. Unless you LOVE totally pre-written adventures, don't bother. This book doesn't do what it claims to do; that is to say, it gives you no real insight on what a Rite of Passage ought to incorporate. This is one awful adventure and not much more. Wasn't worth the $10 then, isn't worth $5 now. You can come up with a better adventure. Seriously.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Rite of Passage
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Project Twilight
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:21:21

Hard to add to that descriptor; it's fairly accurate. This book can be used with any of White Wolf's WoD games, though. It's your basic handbook for gov't agents in the WoD. Worth the money!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Project Twilight
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Nagah
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:19:23

Lots of fun. Without discarding most of the Nagahs' own rules, it's nigh-impossible to run them in a "Werewolf" game, but, on their own, they can be great. Play can involve lots of investigation. If you like forensics and shows like "Cold Case," "The New Detectives," "Law & Order," or "CSI," this book is for you.

Or you can throw all of that out the window and just have the snakes kill targets. Whatever. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Nagah
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kinfolk: Unsung Heroes
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:13:52

Useful, but ultimately only just so. Great for NPCs and the odd PC Kinfolk. I (personally) have never even heard of an All-Kinfolk game actually being run.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Kinfolk: Unsung Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Axis Mundi: The Book of Spirits
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:11:42

If you run or play Werewolf: The Apocalypse, you NEED this book. Axis Mundi gives you a look into the Spirit World that is unparallelled in print. Also useful for Mage: the Ascension. Ridiculously hard to find in hard copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Axis Mundi: The Book of Spirits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Daniel S.
Date Added: 10/26/2004 14:09:42

Visceral, entertaining, and (if well-run) intelligent. Emphasize the animistic spirituality and the mystery. If you're going to give your players a hard target, make them work to find it; it makes ripping something to shreds with your claws all the more satisfying.

Before running W:tA, read up on horror (and the varying degrees thereof) and make use of that knowledge. Hit the depths of horror when you can, but don't be afraid to go for the occaisonal gross-out (it gets an emotional reaction, which is, after all, the point). Strategic use of a hidden can of silly string (ONCE) can bring suspension of disbelief to a whole new level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse (Revised Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG