RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Tephra: the Steampunk RPG
Publisher: Cracked Monocle
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2015 18:47:35
I bought this because I like Steam Punk, and as a Deal of the Day, I had to take a look at it. I wanted to compare this to some of the other ones that I have come across.

It's an interesting concept, although I'm not sure whether or not I'll be able to get either of my groups to play it -- but I'll try to do a one-off with the pre-gens that they have on their site. One group likes d20 and the other enjoys a more narrative system like FFG's. This fits somewhere in the middle, and in some ways reminds me a bit of Fate as you succeed, but how well? I like the usage of a d12 because it gives a flatter distribution than a d20, but I also wonder why not just go with a d10.

My only real gripe is that I wish there was a more printer friendly version. The PDF doesn't allow you to remove that layer, so there's a lot of grey on each page... so in some cases, I have a slight issue reading the text. In 95% of the cases though, this is not an issue.

I do like that they didn't try to force this into the typical English history. The races that you can choose from are interesting and they have some very unique abilities. Even with this, I don't see any major problems with them, but again, I haven't played it yet.

All in all, if you like Steam Punk, you may want to give this a look over.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tephra: the Steampunk RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Queen's Cavaliers Playtest Rules
Publisher: Bold Pueblo Games
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2015 18:23:16
I've read through the book a couple of times... I love the genre, so I thought I'd look at it and see if it's worth picking up. While it seems to be not bad, I don't necessarily see anything that screams "run me". I'd definitely want to play this in a con or two before picking it up and spending money on it. Again, in some ways, the mechanics are cool... but in others, seems almost a bit cumbersome. I couldn't convince my gaming group to play this system with so many other systems that have some similarities.

If I want to play this genre, I'd probably just stick with "All for One Regime Diabolique" (Savage Worlds or Ubiquity), or use the Dragon Brigade rules in the "Affair of the Orb Adventure". So in the end, I could take this or leave it. I am hoping that the finished product has a lot better examples and some really cool artwork to draw people in.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Queen's Cavaliers Playtest Rules
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Firefly Echoes of War: Thrillin' Heroics
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2015 17:16:05
Rather than purchasing the individual adventures, I bought this. For the price, this a wonderful supplement for the GM to pick up and use. My crew really loved Shooting Fish and Freedom Flyer. Wedding Planners, not so much... They were pretty neutral on the other. I loved Shooting Fish so much that I even adapted it run in my Edge of the Empire game.

If you're the GM, this is a good book and gives lots of good stories... it also gives a reprint of the characters from Serenity. I actually like the crew sheets from this more so than the ones out of the main book. Having a short section on how to play is also included, and a life saver when at the table... print it out, and have a copy or two on the table. Really helps the new players.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly Echoes of War: Thrillin' Heroics
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Firefly: Things Don't Go Smooth
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2015 17:06:58
This book is a great addition for the GMs, not so much for the players. The Players should check out Smugglers Guide to the Rim. As a GM, it contains a lot of helpful hints to challenging the players, introducing enemies as well as NPCs.

This book contains a few very interesting antagonists for the party and can introduce a mite heapin' of trouble. The advice on how to "run a crime organization" is awesome and sure to please the GM (and their players). It shows how to make some characters that your PCs are sure to love to hate. Some additional Signature Assets and Encounters are given to help you on your way.

The Rival Crews and Gangs section gives you a good bit of information on creating a crew to be your crews rivals. This helps make your players feel like they are not alone, and gives them someone to compete against. The crews that MWP details are pretty fun, and humorous. I specially love da McCoys.

Enemy Boats gives you plenty of competition and ideas for your own. It gives a number of new Ship Distinctions, Signature Assets and how to create your own, as well as triggers.

I haven't been able to run through the two adventures yet, but they really help clarify the material in the book from my reading them.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly: Things Don't Go Smooth
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2015 16:55:17
I am so glad to finally get the pdf (I ordered the dead tree version and can't wait to actually see it). I'm very selective of which books I get because money is always limited, and this is a wonderful book to add to the collection. If you can only get one PDF or book other than the Core Book, this is the one!

This has a lot of good information that any player can use, as well as the GM. More Archtypes to add to the list and an interesting new mechanic -- reputation. While I've always had a similar thing in my game, this gives a good rule-set to use and makes it easy to use and understand. More options for your ship also line the pages.

In the end, all I can say is Shiny!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Firefly: Smugglers Guide to the Rim
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dragon Brigade: The Affair of the Orb Adventure
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2015 21:33:47
I acquired the Opening Salvo book a long time ago, back well before I picked up Firefly. I was looking for a system that was different from the games like Pathfinder and Savage Worlds I was playing. I fell in love with the system even though I never managed to get a game going other than a one off. For a long time, I was hoping that MWP would come out with the Dragon Brigade RPG. Hopefully this is the next step.

This uses a similar system to Firefly, Leverage, and Smallville. It is a narrative system so it's not crunchy like Pathfinder and games like that. Instead, it's more like everyone is an actor. Because of the loose restrictions, anything is possible. I will be running a group shortly using these rules. I can tell you that it blends the old Cortex Classic System and FATE.

If you've picked up the Opening Salvo, a bit has changed. Unlike in the Opening Salvo, MWP has explained the Character Creation System very well. It doesn't take long to create a character and you can have your players in the action very quickly.

I don't remember Flourish Dice being in Opening Salvo, but they are a welcome addition to the system. If you are familiar with Firefly, these are the Banked Dice.

This book is enough information to get started. It has a little bit of background but could easily expand on it. I won't go into the adventure so I won't spoil it for someone, but I will say it's pretty good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Brigade: The Affair of the Orb Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Publisher: StoryWeaver
by Walter H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2014 19:38:51
I bought this for two reasons:

I am running a High Space campaign
I am running an Edge of the Empire campaign

I wanted something to make good quality "reports" on planets they discover or go to. This does that very well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Space Interactive Planetary Log
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Walt H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2009 08:22:01
Excellent core system especially for modern campaigns. I've tried the d20 Modern system, and think it seems a little clunky to me. I like that skill rolls don't get ridiculous like they do in some of the d20 systems. I also like the fact that there are no "levels" or "classes" and is more generic in that sense. There's no reason that you can't build packages to simulate these however.

I don't care for the core magic/psi system involved, but with the Traits/Skills system included, I've already started working on a Skill based magic/psi system for my fantasy campaign.

Overall, I give this game a very HIGH mark and recommend it to anyone wanting to try a simple to play generic system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Swashbuckling Adventures
Publisher: Alderac Entertainment Group
by Walt H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2006 18:29:02
This book is an excellent source for Swashbuckling adventures although if you're a fan of the original Roll & Keep system, you may be a little disappointed. Personally, I prefer the R&K over d20 because it emphasizes Role-Playing more so than Roll-Playing.

The ONE major thing I do dislike about this book is that it's scanned, and not an original Electronic version. Overall however, it's still pretty good.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Swashbuckling Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

7th Sea: Players' Guide
Publisher: Alderac Entertainment Group
by Walt H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/13/2006 20:48:15
This game is very good; it emphasizes role-playing over dice, although dice are used fairly often. If you prefer pure hack and slash, stay away. Unlike D&D, particularly the d20 version, this game offers players many more chances to "live" their character. While the characters tend to be more powerful than the NPCs (and they should be), the game still presents many chances for a character's downfall.

I have the paper copies of this and the Game Master's books, but wanted these for my laptop. You can't go wrong with this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Players' Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG