RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Druid - A Dungeon World Playbook
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2015 10:34:23
A very good playbook. I find this version of the druid more playable than the original one in the Dungeon World core book. I like the shapechanging move (with the various advanced moves, and the optiona ones you'll find in the Director's Cut part), that give more guidance compared to the eccessive (imho) full narrative original version.
Also, there is some maigc, and moves for foraging, for getting help from animals etc. Just a note about the Races: there are no races described, but you have "Origins": so by default isn't important if you are a human, an elf, an halfling or whatever, it's more important how you lived your life, and how you got the "druid powers".
Finally, as you can expect from a David work, you'll find not only the "standard" playbook, but a whole mini-book that gives more descriptions, more themed weapons, some magical equip, and a ton of insight on what was the class creation process.
A great playbook + booklet, and a really fair price. I really loved the possibiilty to build a druid without the shapechanging ability, you can read more in the specific part of the booklet.

Disclaimer: I helped David with suggestions and some proofreading, so I received a free copy of the final product from him. I'd like to thanks him, but my point of view is neutral and very critic, as I proved during past collaborations and reviews.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Druid - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Oni - A Dungeon World Playbook
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2015 21:36:25
In short: another good additional playbook for Dungeon World.
The class is nice, full of useful moves that encompass all the interesting features of this kind of oriental demon. You are a force of nature, you can turn invisible, be a hulking giant, change form, etc. In the additional "printbook" (27 pages, while almost a third of those pages contain the playbook in a book format) you'll find additional informations about the Oni, a "director's cut" with alternative take of some move, other moves removed from the final playbook etc.
Minor personal complains about the Oni are: almost all the moves are fairly mechanical, and very fighting / action related, and the new Character's sheet is quite different from the standard DW ones. Better organized? Maybe, still I don't like it so much.
As additional cool gift (a standard for David Guyll's playbooks), you'll find a nice selection of themed weapons, armors, curious items and magical items, very useful to spice the things up in your oriental flavored campaign. I LOVED the Bundle of Scrolls object, very DW style.
I hope to see other oriental themed playbook in the future.

DISCLAIMER: As happened before, I helped David to refine the playbook while in the Alpha phase. I brought numerous feedback, and I was gifted with a free download of this final version.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Oni - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Andrea, I\'m interested in hearing specifically what you (or anyone, really) don\'t like about the new character sheet layout! If it\'ll make more people happy, I can always just add in the classic sheet to the oni and/or include both styles in the future.
Class Warfare
Publisher: Red Box Vancouver
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2015 06:23:56
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the PDF, 'cause I helped the author in the Beta stage of his work, with feedback, humble advices, typos searching etc.

Now I have the final product in my hands, and I have to say that it's impressive. If you need to create custom playbooks for your Dungeon World campaign, search no more. Here you'll find tons of moves, options, even additional spells. You can just twist a class you already like, or you can build a brand-new one, combining "specialties" (sort of class chunks) like Pilgrim + Crusader + Shadowmancer: now I easily obtained a custom class like a wandering templar with shadow based powers! :D A thick book with 500+ pages, and more than 60 combinable specialties, the only "problem" is that you'll need LOT of time to read all those options.
Final note: Inside you'll find almost no pictures, no nice illustrations. It's a huge wall of text. In this kind of books I don't care a lot about the graphic part, but if you search a beautifully illustrated manual, then remove a star from the final vote. Of course, a book like that with more than 60 inspirational pictures for every specialty should be some kind of wet dream for any D.W. fan, but I understand it's an unthinkable thing to finance... Well, I hope Johnstone will become rich enough to propose a eye-caching super illustrated version, in the future!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Class Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Witch - A Dungeon World Playbook
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2014 15:33:04
A very good playbook. Nice moves, and a lot of extra pages with magic items, potions etc. This take of the Witch is quite grim, very useful for a dark campaign. You have divination / hex / storm control / thaumaturgy powers. Also, a little bit of blood magic and necromancy. Companions, flying brooms, wands etc. have less importance in this playbook, while present. Moves are quite narrative, GM and players have to agree on the boundaries of the witch powers, this can be good or bad for you, depending on your usual style of play. For example, thaumaturgy is a variant of wizard's Ritual move.
Finally, I loved the usual cool "Mignola style" cover.
Sidenote: if you already possess the PDFs with the collections of magical objects, still by Awful Good Games, remove a star from my rating, 'cause you already have the magical items you'll find in this playbook.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Whoohoo, another 5 star! To be accurate, the only magic items from the first volume of 10+ Treasures are the potions, because we figured witches would be making lots of potions. The other items in the Witch--the beastward pentacle, crawling chest, dancing hut, devil\'s claw, doppelganger draught, dryad\'s blood, fishliver oil, flesh poppet, flying broom, ghost lantern, lakeleap vial, spellguard pentacle, strangling stole, stormtouched staff, and walking eye--are not, AND aren\'t featured in other books. This is kind of why we bundled The Witch with 10+ Treasures: the witch is likely going to make a lot of magic items, and there is a BIT of overlap (I think 3-4 potions).
Dungeon World GM Resources Volume 1
Publisher: Diceless Hero Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2014 13:34:40
Well, it's worth a buck. 12 pages with moves, ideas, magical objects, monsters etc. Not 100% fresh and original, still well done, following all the Dungeon World rules (ie. the steadings have all their tags etc.).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon World GM Resources Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

10+ Treasures: Magic Items for Dungeon World
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2014 07:14:24
Ok, first of all, the bad news: ehi "Awful Good Games", you chose a very bad name :D Come on, I think it's a happy coincidence I bought this one, 'cause I had leftover money. I'd usually skip a title that give me "10+ Treasures". Please, change the name in "MAGIC ITEMS ENCYCLOPEDIA 1" or something like that :D
Seriously, here you can find about 20 - 30 useful treasures (weapons, utility tools etc.) for your adventures. Also, every item has variations and hints for make an item more "yours". With some item you could build a Compendium Class - for example, the Bloom bow: you can entangle, you can generate rations, you can produce ammos, poisoned arrows, use it for save you ass when falling, throw ziplines to climb...
Want to make this a better product? Give us an UPDATED version with:
- a couple of extra treasures (we never have enough...)
- an useful index: I don't mind to have those items alphabetically ordered, I'd prefer a custom built index with categories:
> Weapons
...
...
> Armors and Shields
...
...
> Potions and Scrolls
...
...
> Utility Stuff
...
...
etc.

However, it's well worth a couple of bucks.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
10+ Treasures: Magic Items for Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Baron of Blood: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
Publisher: PG Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/22/2014 09:05:09
In shorts: it's well worth a couple of bucks!
Nice mini-campaign front, ready to use. Well written, it stays with the Dungeon World canon. Places have their tags, main NPCs have good stats and moves, and you get some custom moves to correctly play the final boss battle and eventually to keep the big danger WITH you.
It correctly follows the "Play to find out" philosophy.
Final note, I don't like cheap pictures, and sadly this module has plenty of them. I'd prefer a clean, pictureless version instead. Also, it's not difficult to find some good free font: I think the author should work on it, 'cause good looking titles and main names in cool fonts can make the difference from a so-so product and a freaking good one. Almost the whole text is in a plain, anonymous, arial like font.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Baron of Blood: A Dungeon World Campaign Front
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Something Stirs in the Blackscale Brakes - Print Edition
Publisher: Awful Good Games
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2014 20:54:48
I loved this one. About 60 pages, with ready to use settlements, dungeons, monsters. It's plenty of moves (standard and custom ones), and there are lot of factions the players could associate with. Also, you'll find stakes, so you as GM can really "play to find what happens".
Of course, dungeons are not described room by room, but a good Dungeon World's GM should have no problems to bring all those descriptions, notes, impressions to life.
Nice plus: monsters and settlements was actually built with the standard D.W. rules! :D Cool enough for me!
Finally, you get the new Lizardfolks race (apply that to standard playbooks), and a new Compedium Class. About the latter - ok, english is not my mother tongue, but why to write things like:
• You do not hit someone or something you did not want to.
• You do not take -1 ongoing until you have a chance to rest for a while.
Maybe all that can be simpler if you reduce it to:
• Hit someone or something you did not want to.
• Take -1 ongoing until you have a chance to rest for a while.
(it's the player's choice, so this way he choose what negative things he has to suffer, not the one he doesn't want).

Long story short: good work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Stirs in the Blackscale Brakes - Print Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar Character Pack 1
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2009 13:07:35
This is a cool, free addition that helps you to start your campaign in the Shaintar world. Did I say it's free?

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar Character Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar: Immortal Legends
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2009 13:05:24
Great book. Maybe one of the finest fantasy "companion" for the Savage Worlds Explorer Edition ruleset. A lot of useful material: new edges, new equipment, new magics, a very inspired "adveture generator" and a lot of nice appendix for build magic items and so on.
The author made this work with love, giving his personal point of view, thru "side boxes text", about background and rules.
Very raccomanded.

Just a final note: the PDF is quite "heavy", even if you use the printer friendly version, on a small PC like an EEE PC.
We miss a lighter edition, maybe with layers to "turn off" every graphic detail.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Immortal Legends
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG