RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
My first Engle Matrix Game Cartoon
Publisher: Hamster Press
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2010 13:12:51
The Engle Matrix game itself is absolutely brilliant.

I'm not 100% sure that a comic actually WAS the best way to convey this. I ended up having a lot of questions that were resolved after 2-3 more readthroughs ... an example of a complete play session, rather than just vignettes, would have answered them much more quickly.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
My first Engle Matrix Game Cartoon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

CAPITAL CITY: McDooms Restaurant
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2010 13:11:13
A fast-food restaurant is almost a must for modern gaming, and this is a great one. All the little details you need are there. This is more likely to be the scene of a fight between street-level characters, not big-time superheroes, and it's nice to see that catered to.

As much as I love the McDoom's artwork, I'd still definitely be choosing to use the less-jokey alternate art.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CAPITAL CITY: McDooms Restaurant
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

NPC Character Cards- Women
Publisher: WeeWarriors
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2010 13:08:46
Some decent CGI-style artwork for a variety of different personalities. Useful to clip to the corner of your character sheet to indicate what your character looks like.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
NPC Character Cards- Women
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Portrait Pack 1
Publisher: Sade
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2010 13:07:26
Some very nice artwork here, but I'd expect no less from Sade at this point.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Portrait Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cthentacle Art Preview
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 21:17:54
High-res, full-sized versions of selected art from Call of Cthentacle.

Even now that the game is actually out, this may be a worthwhile buy if one of the included pieces (you can check what's in there on the preview) is something you'd like to hang on a wall. They print out pretty well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cthentacle Art Preview
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Warrioress Kara
Publisher: WeeWarriors
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 21:15:30
The character's face is SO well done. I wish her outfit was something even approaching sensible ... she's the next best thing to naked, something that's especially not typical of 1st level fighters who need all the protection they can get.

I'd have been willing to pay considerably more for this art pack if there'd been a selection of outfits or a more reasonable base outfit. As it is, it's nice for art but actually USING the pics requires me to crop to the head-and-shoulders.

There also should be a (watermarked) preview so that customers can buy with confidence. That's more of a marketing issue, though.

I hope WeeWarriors produces more of these -- their skill with facial features is very obvious -- but more fully dressed, or in 2 or 3 different outfits, for maximum versatility.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warrioress Kara
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Power Pics Heroes 10 -Strong-Lass
Publisher: Mesozoic Press
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 21:07:43
I got exactly what I wanted at a remarkably low price-point: a single good piece of superhero artwork suitable for a decent variety of characters (most of them of the She-Hulk mode).

You also get a standup paper miniature, which is a nice touch.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Pics Heroes 10 -Strong-Lass
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Witch Hunter Stock Pack 2
Publisher: Sade
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 21:02:34
Just absolutely beautiful and very, very useful. Realistic features and cool outfit -- Sade does it again.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Hunter Stock Pack 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cover Template: Butterfly
Publisher: Sade
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 21:01:09
This is a great piece of art, though it's not quite as good as it looks in the mini picture -- the character's face is subtly wrong in a way I can't describe. The exposed breasts also make this less useful as cover art than I'd like.

Overall though this is a good piece of cyberpunk art.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cover Template: Butterfly
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Anitangel Miniatures: Fantasy Creatures: Angels
Publisher: Jabbro Jones Miniatures
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 20:59:13
Gorgeous, gorgeous artwork, and a good variety of a creature type that's underrepresented in miniatures in general (and vastly so in paper minis).

One of my favorite sets.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anitangel Miniatures: Fantasy Creatures: Angels
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition
Publisher: Vajra Enterprises
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 20:58:10
Fates Worse Than Death is an absolutely fascinating concept: a realistic version of a cyberpunk style society without all the things that make cyberpunk silly (like, for one, the flashy loud cyberware). There's also more of an emphasis on the varied nature of human existence; the character class system is unbelievably flexible.

The conscious choice was made to keep the mechanics complex so that players would have a precise idea of what their characters can do. I can respect that, but I'm still likely to use this as a sourcebook with my own homebrew system (or, given the emphasis on character, a LARP).

This edition only provides the information for playing the homeless, not the middle-class or voluntary social outcasts. Still enough for a HUGE variety of characters.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hoom Adventurers: Free Set
Publisher: The Paper Warrior
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 20:53:39
Really nice artwork, interesting characters. The kind of art that can suggest character concepts just looking at it.

Kind of annoying to have just 3 characters smack in the middle of a page with a ton of wasted white space. I think I might have preferred paying a small amount to have a full page.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hoom Adventurers: Free Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Leverage: The Quickstart Job
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 20:51:59
I'm ... a little put off by having to pay money for a quickstart, but then this IS a licensed product and the final price is pretty darn low.

Essentially this is a potential script for the show with character sheets and game stats. There's a BIT more railroading than I'd really like, but then I suppose the alternative (leaving it up to the players to figure out how to solve the problem) wouldn't have the fast-moving Leverage feel. (And I know from experience players are rarely as clever as ... well, any of the characters.)

I'm not 100% sure that Leverage requires its own roleplaying game -- any modern game should be able to handle the concept. d20 Modern, Top Secret, probably even BESM. I'd rather have had a single Cortex System Rulebook and then a Leverage sourcebook for it. But such are the vagaries of licensed IPs.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leverage: The Quickstart Job
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Anitangel Miniatures: Fantasy Creatures: Free Mutant Turtles
Publisher: Jabbro Jones Miniatures
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 20:46:48
I'm not sure I actually had any reason for a selection of "monsterized" turtles, but it's free! Plus the art is great, nice and sharp, and I've always liked Anitangel's drawing style.

At worst I can use them as a wildlife encounter or as local fantastic wildlife to spruce up a battlefield.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Anitangel Miniatures: Fantasy Creatures: Free Mutant Turtles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Silvering Stock Pack
Publisher: Sade
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2010 20:44:42
I can't actually imagine what this art is intended to represent, but I like it. I'm also very happy to see stockart of women with curvier proportions.

Just wish she had a normal skintone and clothes so I'd have a direct and immediate use for the piece. Of course, I knew that before I bought it and I bought it anyway 'cause I liked the art.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Silvering Stock Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG