RPGNow.com
Browse
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
3D Printable Chests [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 21:52:26

Ohhh! Just going through these files to do reviews on the STL files I've printed and found that I got free updates, Nice service, but I was not notified... hmmm. Still a pleasant surprise. I printed up a handful of these chest, but not all of them, and was impressed by the excellent detail. The only problem with the original file for one of these chests was the flimsiness of the hinge when it was ham-fisted together by one of my ever helpful kids. I am assuming, ahead of a future print job, that this design flaw has been corrected, as the publisher indicated it would. Regardless, did I mention the detail? Excellent! Again, like my other reviews, used a Robo 3D R1+ and Simplify 3D, no supports. These are also worth the effort of using better grade PLA to print. Looking forward to painting these some day.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
3D Printable Chests [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BSG Miniatures - Crabs
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 21:42:00

These look more cute than scary, but printed at scale I'd hate to have a run in with a few of them in some drak and wet corridor or shipwreck. These printed beautifully at several scales up and down from the packaged file size. I used supports, but probably did not have to do so. The supports where a challenge to remove because of all the legs in the way, so you might want to be less liberal with supports than I was. I gave a few away to someone of the female persuasion (there's an in joke in there). She now has pet crabs. Used a Robo 3D R1+ and Simplify3D to produce my copies and they look pretty much as advertised. Again, bought these as a package deal on sale and feel it was well worth the few bucks handed over as I don't think you'll find anything like these at any FREE sites that provide game related STLs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BSG Miniatures - Crabs
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BSG Miniatures - Carnivorous Plants
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 21:32:38

Not the scariest looking carnivourous plants, but they certainly do a fine job representing the threat, which I could see being easily used across multiple genres of gaming. These are nice and beefy and printed up with no supports (and are well designed to do so). Easily scaleable and turned out nicely with quality PLA, pretty much as product pictured. I used a Robo 3D R1+ and Simplify 3D to produce excellent quality prints of each of these files. I've paid more for less. I feel these are a good value for your spare coffee coin if you're gaming and have access to a 3D printer. Also makes nice gifts for fellow GMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BSG Miniatures - Carnivorous Plants
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BSG Miniatures - Leeches
Publisher: Black Scrolls Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2017 21:24:06

Out of the gate, provides an excellent bunch of prints, readily scaleable and I got my money's worth (during the last sale here), theses are pretty creepy even when not painted up. I'm used a Robo-3D R1+ and Simplify 3D (with supports just to be sure), but I'm pretty sure some or most of these slugs will print up just fine without supports if you're using a decent printer and software. Also did not hurt to use the more expensive and contrasty architect white PLA from my local supplier, these figures are worth it better PLA. I use the cheaper stuff for dungeon tiles. Too bad DTRPG does not allow at least one photo upload for 3D reviews... Made an extra set of these to donate as a convention door prize and they were very well received.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BSG Miniatures - Leeches
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Template Pack #16 Vikings
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2016 19:48:36

Again, absolutely AWESOME! and still pretty close to the best money I've spent on product at DTRPG! See my review for the Space Package. Lots of flexibility on use and licensing. I use these as a portfolio material for the Viking-based D&D game I play in. Only one negative comment. Contrary to popular belief, Viking helms, as the one depicted on the 3rd cover in the set of 4, do not have horns on them. Otherwise still extremely attractive if you don't care or are not a historical purist. Definitely looking forward to using these as covers for future personal projects and possible other uses. Professional looking and sized in Letter and A4.

  • Don F


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Pack #16 Vikings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Template Pack #15 Space
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2016 19:41:47

AWESOME! Pretty close to the best money I've spent on product at DTRPG! Lots of flexibility on use and licensing. First thing I did was select one of the images to use as a banner for my web page. Will definitely look forward to using these as covers for future personal projects and possible other uses. Very attractive, professional looking and sized in Letter and A4.

  • Don F


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Template Pack #15 Space
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Celestial Wisdom
Publisher: Ryan Chaddock Games
by Donald F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2015 08:16:53

While not as flashy as MCG products, Mr. Chaddock, as a one man publisher, puts out a pretty darn good and crunchy product. Very much enjoyed the tour of a small portion of the Ninth World's digital landscape. The supplement weights in at ~48pp. and has four sections: Data Gods, Lost Power, Dritty Tools and Azure Steel Seeds.

Data Gods has a collection of wildly differing sentient programs or AIs hovering in the data-sphere, entombed or trying to find their way into the Ninth World all waiting to manipulate the world or gather followers. Each entity consumes a page and gives you lots of things to think about. If you don't find something that doesn't tweak your interest (I doubt it) you can always use these as a template for your own. Particular favorites of mine where the Archivist, the Life Force and the Old Ones (why would take to long in this venue). This section alone gets you creative juices flowing.

Next up Lost Power, includes an assortment of several new powers to add to Nano, Jack and Glaive tiers as well as additional descriptors and foci. Ryan suggests that these are for characters closer to the data-sphere, I suggest that you as the GM could also use same to bring the data-sphere element closer to the characters. There's enough to chew on here to make some pretty nifty NPCs at the very least if the PCs are not taking this route. You can design a range of NPCs to help or confound your players from really savvy cyber-nanos to psychotic data-cult shaman. I'm particularly fond of Blessed and Ghostly Descriptors. I see having a lot of fun with those! There are a half-dozen foci which all take different directions to engage your PCs or NPCs, I can read into these the feel of everything from religious (good to bad), Mad-Max to Mad-Science and over to Matrix-style or cyber-punk play and a few others. Again, I have a few favorites near and dear to my heart, but I'll let you figure out your own.

In Dritty Tools you are provided a randomized list of a hundred additional oddities, always a handy thing to have to dish stuff out of provide even more inspiration to GMs. To be honest, I found a fair number of these to be more like small unlimited use Cyphers or Artifacts when you consider what some of these oddities allow a PC or NPC to do when relating to data, AIs, robots, etc. I mean really, there's one device here, if I read it and interpret it here at it's most basic level, that could "conceivable" get a Dread Destroyer to turn tail and run away from you for an hour. Regardless, there is a lot of fun reading and inspiration in the oddities list. A small few seem too overlap (by chance) with devices from Sir Arthour's Guide and another small few would seem like mundane technology to you and I, but would add extra depth to characters in how they use them or to a scenario or your overall campaign. Pretty nifty all in all. You as GM should decide where you wish to balance the oddities, leaving them as such, developing cyphers or even artifacts from them. For the more powerful oddities, if you leave them as oddities that PCs regularly use, but they have far reaching affects in play, maybe you can add a GMI for every time they are used? Your call, mileage may vary. Ryan has also provided a hockey-sock full of Cyphers and Artifacts directly related to accessing, manipulating or protecting one's self from all the prior mentioned techno or digital entities. You can never have enough of these. Again, lots of inspiration and mileage to be mined for ideas, scenarios, quests, etc., if not outright used and abused. I'll only add that I like the added touch of the three part artifact quest. Epic!

The seeds section titled "Azure Steel Seeds" provides four short narratives of differing events that PCs may stumble across in your Numenera setting, should you decide to use them. Personally, I already had a dozen or more percolating in my mind from the prior sections by the time I got to this section of the book. One or two are near and dear to my heart due to related interests. That aside they should give you, as a GM, some notion how to write a short synopsis for events, scenarios when they come to mind or when you steel them from an element of your favorite SF novel, short story, TV show or movie. Think of freezing a scene, at a frame of time in one of those, transposing it, making it your own, setting it loose and letting the PCs run with it. That's what you have here.

Being published as PDF's and printing them out, I have found that format handy for marginalia. You might want to have a pen in hand when reading through this product, just to jot down little notes or inspiration. Which brings the only negative I have to give to Mr. Chaddock - the graphic borders in the margins of this product are too wide/dark, making margin marking difficult and are needlessly heavy on printer ink. Lighten these up, based on MCG or other industry product standards and you'll have a better but already "winning" product.

My money was well spent purchasing this product and I look forward to reviewing his other products that I have already purchased, as I get the opportunity.

Don Fougere @CircaGIS



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celestial Wisdom
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alien Planets
Publisher: Wydraz
by Don F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2010 06:35:11

A better bargain when compared with my review against the Art of War products for Living and Barren planets, due to cost and resolution of images provided. Nice full page high resolution images for each planet. As I mentioned in opposing reviews, a crunchy 15MB collection of imagery for ready use in a SF setting. The planetary readouts are enough to set you to thinking, they could be mixed and matched but generally follow the obvious planetary characteristics. My key issues are that the copyright for use is not defined; can I post these on my webpage for my campaign and how do I attribute? I dunno! Also, graphically speaking, the planets themselves are a little more colourful than I would expect, so are in my opinion more geared toward a space opera as opposed to a hard-SF campaign, either that or keep them in reserve as really exotic planets. It is also very evident that they are computer or fractal generated, they could be softened up a bit (unsharp masking), have an atmospheric shell added or can possibly be remapped through colour palettes. Nothing that can be fixed with a little GIMP or Photoshop work.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Alien Planets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art Series Living Worlds
Publisher: Art of War Games
by Don F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2010 06:18:02

In my search for planet graphics to add to my website for my online SF campaign I turned to this collection of promising graphics. What is good, is the copyright for use is very clear. What is less pleasing is the quality of the full page renditions of each planet, which are very pixellated, though the thumbnail shots come out nicely. At $3.00 I should not complain... but considering I paid out $1.69 for a copy of the competitions 10 planets "Wydraz Alien Planets 01", which came in a crunchy 15MB file vice 300-500k for the living and barren worlds files, it would be nice to see some competitive quality by improving the resolution of the full page shots. Coming from a remote sensing/geography background, added finite details with better quallity full page images would get the imaginative juices flowing when using these planet images to flesh out planetside adventures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Series Living Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stock Art Series Barren Worlds
Publisher: Art of War Games
by Don F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2010 06:16:40

In my search for planet graphics to add to my website for my online SF campaign I turned to this collection of promising graphics. What is good, is the copyright for use is very clear. What is less pleasing is the quality of the full page renditions of each planet, which are very pixellated, though the thumbnail shots come out nicely. At $3.00 I should not complain... but considering I paid out $1.69 for a copy of the competitions 10 planets "Wydraz Alien Planets 01", which came in a crunchy 15MB file vice 300-500k for the living and barren worlds files, it would be nice to see some competitive quality by improving the resolution of the full page shots. Coming from a remote sensing/geography background, added finite details with better quallity full page images would get the imaginative juices flowing when using these planet images to flesh out planetside adventures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art Series Barren Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG