RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook $0.00
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 13
12 5
8 3
2 2
2 0
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Click to view
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Christian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2015 05:54:20
T&T is an easy fast to play P&P. And this is the condensed version of the complete rule set.
The Rules are simple and kept very clean. In T&T character creation takes 5 Minutes. You only need a minimal set of paper to document your character. Fights are fast paced and simple. It's intended to be used in Solo-Adventures and Group-Play.

However in my perception the design of the rule set puts T&T clearly in the Hack&Slay corner. Of course it is possible to make deep roleplaying with each ruleset but T&T does not support or encourage such play. For a Solo-Adventure this is no problem - since solo-adventures are told differently - but for a group T&T might not be enough to keep them in the game with this rules for a long time, like a complex campaign.

This condensed ruleset comes with a free small Solo-Adventure. However all illustrations are missing from the PDF. But it's free, so who is complaining? :)

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Michael E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2015 15:50:46
T&T is a classic old school RPG it's rules light approach was a breath of fresh air and if you ever wondered what all the fuss is about here is your chance to try them out for free.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Joseph N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2015 17:15:06
a nice quick easy read for all players... get the full thing if you are a DM tho

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Scot H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2014 16:11:30
T&T is already a simple game, so to "dummy it up" to even a MORE simple game seems redundant.

That being said its hard to complain about a FREE distribution even in this simple format.

I downloaded it out of curiosity (I already own a full edition of the game) and was neither impressed or disappointed.

So if you are looking for a DEMO of the full edition..... this should do the trick!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Richard H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2013 16:31:12
I remember how the Dragon Magazine and TSR guys were so upset about Tunnels & Trolls back in the day. I always thought it was a blatant copy that was a parody based on their negative remarks, but the modern era positive reviews made me finally download this.

This particular file is a bare-bone free preview. All in all it feels like a stripped down version of Original DnD. It also turns out I was sorely disappointed by the "Choose Your Own Adventure" solitaire mode.This little rulebook failed to make me sold on T&T, although the publisher's site and players swear by this game. For a free product, I wanted a hard sell. It felt like a 1970s/1980s Steve Jackson fighting fantasy gamebook- without his superb writing style.

Not sure why T&T is a good alternative to DnD at this time. Perhaps the simplified rules?

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2013 20:28:44
Some folks will probably discount this game entirely due to the formatting and layout, but what's hidden in here is a classic game that's very easy to pick up. T&T definitely has a sillier, more tongue-in-cheek feel than Dungeons & Dragons, but a loyal following online will tell you there's still plenty here to like.

There are two adventures included. The rules aren't what you'd get with Tunnels & Trolls 7th edition, but they'll work for solitaire products or just trying it out for beer n' pretzels gaming.

This is a good, quick intro of a product many gamers have likely heard of, but have never played.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Patrik . [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2013 14:15:31
Plain great nostalgis fun! I bought My first copy of TnT back in '77 or '78. Now, I am introducing My kids to gaming. We are having a great time. "Goblin Lake" is fun but very deadly.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by James H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2012 13:14:00
Really good fun, and as other reviewers have mentioned, interesting from a 'history of RPGs' point of view. I love the fact that the game doesn't take itself too seriously, with spells like "Take that, you fiend!" and "Poor baby". The solo adventure is equally irreverent and excellent fun (and/but) completely deadly!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by steve s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2012 14:55:17
A great rules system, classic fantasy roleplaying at its best. Simple easy to use, and whats more its free.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Jeff T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2011 12:35:15
I had to snort when I saw the rules described as 'untested.'

T&T is venerable ... the second fantasy RPG published (after D&D) in the US, and, in fact, the first in many European nations. It was the first system to introduce solitaire playing, the first to introduce armor that absorbed damage rather than modify a hit %, the first to introduce saving throws against stats .... the game system is almost 40 years old. And once upon a time, it was big news, second only to TSR's offering, with its own stable of published modules in the game stores, its own high-quality game magazine (with fiction from top fantasy authors of the day), good representation in conventions, and son on. And since D&D has been modified to be unrecognizable to its origins, I would now feel it is fair declare that T&T is the oldest living RPG extant, as each successive version just honed an already well-functioning framework of rules.

For someone expecting detailed combat simulation with attacks of opportunity and combat turns that take 30 minutes to resolve, look elsewhere. For a game where one can roll up a character in 5 minutes and have a blast, this is a good game to introduce to your gaming group. If they respect a game with simple elegant rules, you will have a blast.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Jackson S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2010 09:58:34
What a blast from the past! Tunnels and Trolls was the game that got me started in FRP gaming back in 1982 at the tender age of ten; it was a birthday gift from an aunt. I didn't stay with T&T for long then, but the rule set is brilliant in its simplicity. I have had the 5th edition rulebook for a couple of years since re-acquiring it, and I recently obtained a copy of the 7.5 edition boxed set; I plan to run the complete Dungeon of the Bear with my D&D group when our current campaign winds down at the end of the year; it'll give our current GM a bit of a break, and I have no doubt that I will win some additional converts to the Path of Ruleset Elegance. If you're new to RPGs, or if you're an experienced gamer who misses the good old days of five-minute character creation (and comparably brief character lifespan; T&T is nothing if not high-mortality) then do yourself a favour and check this game out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2009 12:19:58
If you have never tried Tunnels & Trolls you should download this and give it a shot. There's a quick version of the rules and a solo adventure to play through. T&T is completely old school and a tad brutal so don't feel bad if your character dies, because they probably will. It's like travelling back to the early days of gaming. And it's free!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2009 12:17:01
Tis product led to me purchasing the boxed edition of the 7th edition rules. I never was able to find these rules at my local hobby shop back in the 80's.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Armand B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2008 11:04:43
In all respects, T&T is an old-timer RPG, with a strong rule system. It is not however a simulation system close to reality. It is simpler than D&D (or so have I been said) and give a nostalgic feeling to your gaming experience, especially if you remember the model kits that were sold with some scenarii.

Clearly a must for collections, nostalgy or even history of the hobbit!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tunnels & Trolls Free Rulebook
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2008 10:49:10
Need a quick and easy fantasy RPG to teach your kids, non-gamer relatives, or just for a fun beer-and-pretzels night that doesn't require hour-long character generation? This is it! This version of T&T is derived from the 5th edition of the game, not the 7th edition from Fiery Dragon, which is equally cool and easy to grasp. But for the price, you can't go wrong. Plus, T&T has a lot of solitaire support, in PDF and across the web, making this even cooler.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG