RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Book of Experimental Might $20.00 $9.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 5
8 2
2 0
0 0
0 0
Book of Experimental Might
Click to view
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Kenneth A. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2009 03:26:11
I'm sure I wont use any of this material ever, but it does look interesting and it's always nice to see what Monte Cook comes up with.

And why wont I use this material... well, it seem a little too complicated at least in its complete form. I will probably use a few of the rules, however, like the new hit points system. We'll see.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Simon G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2008 06:42:08
I'm a big fan of Monte's Arcana Unearthed/Evolved system, and how he manages to make a variety of small but simple tweaks to D&D3 to give a far more satisfying game.

So naturally I was interested in what he had to say here, and at the price it is well worth a look.

The specifics are covered in other reviews here, some (such as 20 spell levels) are ideas that, according to the Design Diaries on his website, Monte has been pursuing since being part of the 3rd Ed design team. Most of the elements are designed to stop the 'fight/rest/fight/rest' cycle of standard D&D by making resources more resilient. This is kind of the goal of 4th Ed., but I think Monte cocks a snook at the new edition by getting there first with a simple little inexpensive add-on that doesn't require a massive upheaval from the past ten years of gaming.

I've started using the Grace/Health system in my latest game, and it really helps remove that pathetic fragility of 1st level characters without in any way making them uber-gods. And it means as a DM you can treat them to more original opponents than dire rats and kobolds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2008 09:17:16
A little too late in 3rd Edition D&D's life? Not really...

While this would have had far more impact a year ago, Monte Cook seems to have a strong following and undoubtedly the 3.5 die-hards will be interested in what he has to say here.

Options, options, options... The book is jam-packed. Some are better than others, not all will suit every game style. But by the sheer wealth of ideas, many of which have gone pretty much untouched in WotC's official books, it's clear that Cook has a damned good handle on the system, and the many ways to use it.

I won't go point-by-point through the many options here. But the familiars and healing options are excellent, and stood out as something I'd likely use. As it is, this book gets a high rating, and is well worth the £5 asking price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Thomas E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2008 15:43:19
A very good read and definitely worth the money, but not perfect. My only real objection is that Monte seems to have this strange idea that casters are underpowered and needed a boost and that Fighters are overpowered and could stand to be toned down. I'd hope it would be obvious that the complete opposite is true, but whatever. Combining this with a few house rules of my own is producing a very good and playable ruleset, so I'm happy!

There really are a lot of excellent rules in here. The changes to Paladins, Rangers, and Druids are my favourite, and the little changes like Trip and how Poisons work are quite useful as well. It's also nice to see some of my houserules validated by knowing Monte Cook does the same thing. Definitely worth picking up, even if you don't use everything in it.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/06/2008 08:13:38
Few books have inspired me like Monte Cook’s The Book of Experimental Might has. It is as if he took a lot of the good things that designers have talked about in 4e, merged it gracefully with 3e and still retained the Role playing game feel that early playtesters of 4e say WOTC’s new system lacks.

If you are waiting to play the next version of Dungeons and Dragons, there is no need to wait until June, Cook has already created it.

Dubbed by many in the fan community as 3.75, this book feels like it should be 3.99. It is fully compatible with 3.5, making it possible to utilize to new system and its mechanics with your current game. There are three major changes in Experimental Might. The biggest overhaul is to the spell system, which is changed from a 1 to 9 to a 1 to 20. Spellcasters can spells that equal to their level. It is a much more fluid delivery for magic. The Cleric, Druid, Ranger, Paladin and Wizard are given a small revamp. Whereas saves are not covered, you can use the PHB version, their special abilities have been stripped away. Instead, players may choose disciplines every even level. Some of these disciplines replicate abilities such as wild shape and turning, whereas as some represent spells such as healing and magic missile. They are all standard actions.

Another overhaul is that players receive a feat every level. Another fascinating concept that does not really change the game much in hindsight. Considering that most feats can only be done at specific times the players feel more balanced in this system. Along with other brilliant changes to the poison and skills, there is a pretty balanced spellcasting fighter class whom uses ruins to enhance his fighting. A lot simplier than the Book of Nine Swords, though just as effective.

For the Dungeon Master
I really enjoyed making NPCs with more feat choices. It gives me the chance to round out the character without overpowering them. I also loved the changes to spells, as many of the changes eliminate save or die spells and make some of the traditional spells different than just damage dealers. My favorite spell change is the one that finally makes raise dead special. Whereas it is easy to cast, you have to put more effort into it. There is also a 10th level “quick” revive” spell that allows a player to wake up a downed player who fell in an encounter.

For the Player
The new class is the perfect antidote to those with the gimp disease. It does not lean too far one way or the other in terms of magic and fighting. The ruins feel very creative, covering defensive moves and attack options.

The Iron Word
Buy the Book of Experimental Might. It is amazing and will change the way you play 3.5. I’d even go as far as to say that this book, combined with Malhavoc Press’s Book of Iron Might, is a spectacular choice for those not interested in 4e but want a better version of 3.5.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Ian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2008 12:32:38
Monte Cook is a gaming god.

Of course, we all knew that. While it saddens me to note that He has chosen to concentrate on being a novelist these days, let us also note that He has gifted us with so much that we would be ingrates not to acknowledge His ceaseless devotion to our hobby and give Him his well earned rest.

Still, ... just when He thought He was out, we pulled Him back in.

And He is still a gaming god.

This product is brilliant, not because it is a cohesive whole, but because it is somewhere between a cohesive whole and a hodgepodge of unconnected stuff. While it is certainly possible to use all of the alternate rules as they are presented in the book (and they do all work together nicely), it is also possible to pick and choose from the offerings, selecting only what works in your game (as I have chosen to do). It gladdens me to note that I have actually used very similar ideas as these in my own games already, and although I am certainly no Monte Cook, it warms the cockles of my tiny blackened heart to see that He and I have been on the same wavelength at least once or twice before. I particularly refer to and admire the discipline rules, which are the shining gems in this beautiful piece of well crafted gaming jewelry. Well done, sir, well done. Go buy this now. Stop wasting your time with this review, which only states the obvious, and go buy this RIGHT NOW. No, no. Don't thank me, I'm just the messenger. Thank Him, and be thankful that He can be persuaded to come back to us occasionally and bestow His blessings upon us.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Experimental Might
Publisher: Malhavoc Press
by Salvador M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2008 21:39:36
You're either going to love what Monte's done in hs house rule set, or your going to hate it, I think. There's some pretty deep changes here for the magic using classes that take them into DnD 3.6 territory (the spell progression changes and introduction of disciplines warrants a .1 version increment, at least). Very much changes things up so that your spellcasters get something new and shiny every level, instead ofe very other level, all with the goal of extending the number of encounters you can go through before having to rest.

Liked it enough that I'll probably rebuy in paper form if it becomes available.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG