RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Pangenre RPG Magic (1st Edition)
Publisher: Pangenre, LLC
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2011 15:13:24
I loved this book. I particularly liked the low magic section but I would have liked a little more detail on this. However the book was big enough that maybe this could be a future supplement. I was looking for something to use for a post apocalyptic/urban fantasy type game where magic is still returning to the world and this was the best I found. It even shows how to develop a werewolf without the cinematic strength. Keep it up and I'll be watching for more in this line.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pangenre RPG Magic (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for the kind review. We are currently working on an expanded and polished second edition (probably in 2013) that expands everything, including the low magic side of the system. Feel free to drop us a line at pgrulequestion@pangenre.com or visit us on Facebook to let us know what you like best and dislike most so we can further improve the product line in our next iteration!
Pangenre RPG Core Rules (1st Edition)
Publisher: Pangenre, LLC
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2011 15:04:38
I liked this idea that lets you use different systems in one game. I especially liked the low magic rules which would be good in an apocalyptic or urban fantasy game. I'll probably use the Magic book more often but this still has some good ideas.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pangenre RPG Core Rules (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Afterpeak Systemless Setting
Publisher: Point of Insanity Game Studio
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2011 18:54:58
I love this concept. It is very broad and open to interpretation which is exactly what I was looking for. Like another reviewer stated, this concept does not include nuclear holocaust but does have magic. I have several characters who all want to play together: a GURPS Wiccan lone practitioner, a HarnWorld borderlord, a D&D scout and a Curse of the Moon werewolf! With this concept I can use the Veil (as the revenge of Gaia)coming through on the Mayan 2012 date, set it on a Y2K abandoned farm, make the werewolf afflicted, put everybody back to novice level and watch the fur fly (on and off the table)! Wonderful!

I would have liked a few more pictures of the beastiary but, since I won't be using most of them, it won't really matter.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Afterpeak Systemless Setting
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 1
Publisher: Fantasy Games Unlimited
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2009 01:08:28
Space Opera was the very first RPG that I bought and it fell apart a long time ago. I love the psionic rules in this game and prefer to use them over other rules - they slot in very nicely. The spaceships in these books are not as nicely drawn as those nowadays but you can see where recent RPGs got their designs from. The Banner is the basic outline in every other game I've seen and the Nike is not far behind. When Space Opera reached New Zealand all those years ago RPG was in its infancy here and the only competition was D&D. Space Opera provided the necessary basics for the ignorant (me) about life in space that wasn't covered in Star Wars. And that is what this game is all about - a rolicking space adventure set in any universe you want. I loved it and still do. It may be old but it has great backbone that you can update with other books or use as is. As for clarity in download and print - they seem to be better than the original books but could still use some refining.

I only gave 4 stars as these books are old but they were worth 5 in the old days, if not more.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Races
Publisher: GameVein
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2009 01:35:30
I really loved looking through this book. The artwork is amazing! However I found the content a bit spotty. The Tarsion seem to be monkey version of Yoda but I had problems visualising these beings as tall as a human. They seem to be based on the miniature monkeys and I can't imagine them growing so big. Maybe Halfling size. Another race was the Kitsune. I love these mischievous characters in fiction but they only meritted 2 pages here. These can be powerful beings! They deserve at least another page for spells or something, surely!

Overall, a good start but I would want way more information on these races before I would use some of them. And they could be lots of fun to play!

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Races
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
Publisher: Betabunny Publishing
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2009 01:17:54
I was looking for some rules for Familiars since a number of classes can have them. This book is full of rules. Some are restrictive - only one Familiar at a time and only of a certain size. Others are very empowering - Familiars' powers increase along with their masters'. There are more rules here than I dreamt possible. Some I'll use and some I'll ignore. But if you want to use your Familiar as more than a prop then you'll get some good ideas from this package.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Betabunny's Guide To Familiars
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Babylon's Burning
Publisher: Dieselmonkey Designs
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2009 01:10:09
I got this for ideas of a post apocalyptic world. It is great for this. However the game itself is a little too on the combat side and not enough on the development side. Unless you are a fighter, of course. It is unashamedly war in the big bad cities. For those who want this format - knock yourself out. It's here.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Babylon's Burning
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Advanced Class: Sorcerer — Aberrant Blood
Publisher: Silent7Seven Games
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2009 01:04:52
This is not something that I would play myself. A sorceror who is so abnormal that you aren't even human in semblance? No thanks! However it would make a great villain or NPC. One for the Masters not the Players.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Class: Sorcerer — Aberrant Blood
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Advanced Class: Druid - Favored Forms
Publisher: Silent7Seven Games
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2009 01:00:12
I don't think there is anything in here that I couldn't have figured it out for myself. That's if I wanted to restrict myself to a preferred form. Having said that, if I wanted to be lazy or create a NPC then this is a great way to go.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Class: Druid - Favored Forms
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Publisher: The Le Games
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2009 19:41:51
A fun take on something familiar. I probably won't use it as is but it has given me some great ideas. Maybe a gymnast.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unorthodox Modern Cheerleaders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

True20 Fantasy Paths
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2009 19:39:21
This is the d20 characters in true20 format. No more, no less.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Fantasy Paths
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

True20 Adventure Roleplaying, Revised Edition
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2009 19:35:55
I like the simplicity of the rules in this version. The only problem I had was that the scoring for abilities isn't really explained well. They tell you to convert to d20 for an idea of how to gauge the different levels of say strength, etc. If I didn't already have that core book then I would have been really annoyed.

LIKED: the simplicity with only 3 roles and suggestions on how to play them in different scenes from fantasy, future, horror or modern.

DISLIKED: it isn't a stand alone core book. There is no grading of the different levels of ability which could have been done as a sidebar. You can go up to 5 as a level 1 character but it doesn't say if that makes you superman or an olympic weightlifter. I would also like to have seen more non fighting skills in the general list.

Overall I liked the ideas in this book but I'm going to have to use d20 to flesh them out a bit.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
True20 Adventure Roleplaying, Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Classes: Shamus Playtest for D and D 4th Edition
Publisher: GameVein
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2009 11:47:11
I like this character. Excellent for urban games of D&D or straight out mysteries in an exotic setting. The private eye in urban arcana is a common subject in books so there are heaps of ideas out there.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Classes: Shamus Playtest for D and D 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book of Classes: Acrobat Playtest for D and D 4th Edition
Publisher: GameVein
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2009 18:15:58
I think that I like this but I would like a bit more explanation about the chalk. The character would be good for urban arcana or maybe a failed monk who got the physical training right but not the spiritual in a D&D game. Also what is the purpose of an acrobat? To be the best? Then why are they adventuring? And the chalk confuses me. What happens if you have some of a previous chalk on your hands when you use the next one? Do they combine in action or negate each other? If it becomes a weapon instead of an implement, does that mean that the acrobat no longer needs ki? Or more ki? As a weapon does that mean anyone can use it if the acrobat shares it around?

I could like this character a lot but I think it needs a little more tweaking.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Book of Classes: Acrobat Playtest for D and D 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for checking out our classes, we hope you enjoy them. We shall be doing another round of polishing on the Acrobat, primarily with regards to its chalk use. Chalk is a balance design mechanism to ensure that unarmed fighters are not at a penalty compared to those who might use magical weapons. Chalk fits well with the Acrobat theme. Only the latest application of chalk is effective, so if you have some left over on your hands and apply a different chalk, then only the latest shall take effect. Once per day you can share chalk with an ally, provided they are able to make use of the chalk. Hopefully we shall have everything in shipshape by release. If you have additional feedback on the playtests, we would love to hear them. You can reach us at: Feedback@GameVein.com
Player Options: Flaws and Merits
Publisher: Alea Publishing Group
by Naomi B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2009 16:45:45
Anyone familiar with the GURP system will recognise this idea but I think that it is a better format here. In GURPS you get enough disadvantages to buy the advantages you want. Not with this format. Pick a flaw and then you can have a merit that affects your attitude or behaviour. The lists are arranged in controller, defender, striker, leader or general order. At the end are suggested lists in character order. The suggested scenarios show how these can make the game more interesting and characters more fun to play. Or use it as a jump start to making up your own flaws or merits. Either way you can add so much more depth to the game and your character.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player Options: Flaws and Merits
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG