RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game Pay What You Want
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 6
1 3
2 0
1 0
3 0
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Click to view
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Simon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2011 07:03:51
Ok, first of all, ignore the cheesy title. I think it's designed to get your attention more than anything else (it certainly got mine, except in a head shaking way.) But it quickly intrigued and soon after enthralled me.

This is a great game that you can easily get into without being overloaded with a new system to learn. It's easy to learn and adapts to all situations well. It has everything you need to help tell your stories and make them just like over the top blockbuster movies with martial arts, super powers, cybernetics, psionics, guns, explosions and diamond encrusted, gold plated space station inhabiting, endless wave of minion commanding, bad guys.

The premise of the game has been explained in other reviews so I won't go into that other to say I was hooked on it from the start.

I very much recommend it. It's great fun which is really what you want in a RPG experience.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2010 13:09:57
A bit like Macho Women with Guns, only using computer-based Poser models. Actually getting past the cheesecake art and soft-core there is a really cool game here. Easy to learn and use it can be used for a variety of genres, not just the post-modern one listed here.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by James P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2010 10:12:26
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game is a more serious and dark version (although one can make the game comical with relative ease) of Macho Women with Guns. The setting is a few years in the future. So it like modern with a bit of a futuristic feel. The campaigns created could easily be an Urban Fantasy, Sci-Fi, or Horror genre.

The Game System and Mechanics are innovating and simple. This makes it great for inexperienced Game Master and Players. The System is Inverted 20 where you roll a twenty sided dice and try to get a low number. The mechanic makes it easy for those cinematic actions we have all imagine our characters doing.

The Character Creation is really great for those tired of being constrained into set character types. There is very little limitation in the process. Your characters are human that can be cyborgs, superhuman, mages, psionics, martial artists, or a combination. Perhaps you just want an average Joe (or Jane) in a harsh world where danger is everywhere. All this is possible you just have to imagine what you what. There is also not shortage of equipment in this game. You can either buy the equipment or beat bad guys up for it.

The Artwork is exceptional. It is a great collection of Cool Dudes and Hot Chicks with most in tight fitting and reveling outfits. The illustration does not get too mature.

Sample Characters and Antagonists are provided with Character Sheets Stats. There is even information about several organizations that exist in the HOT CHICKS Campaign World Setting.

This is not a game for everybody. If you are easily offended or not a mature adult I suggest you don’t buy this product. It goes without saying, but keep out of hands of children.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2010 19:39:20
Macho Woman with Guns GOLD Edition. Lots of eye candy. Good character creation system with numerous options. The game is well supported with modules and supplemental material. If you need a break from your reguler game session give it a try.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by George C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2009 22:14:20
Alright, chances are you've read the description of the concept, so you can already imagine how marvelous and horrific, steamy and brutal the world of 'Hot Chicks' is. So let's put that aside and review the rulebook:

One of the first things that strike you is an impressive, almost scary, 'realism' in every aspect of the rule system. The characters are human and vulnerable, which increases the sense of danger and excitement, yet at the same time the rules allow for crazy cinematic stunts and all sorts of mindless action! If your friends are movie buffs like me, they're in for a surprise: Uzis, infra-red sights, witchcraft, corporate conspiracies, undersea bases, sports cars, super powers, vampire demons, speed boats, jet fighters, wire-fu, combat suits, wall-running, fancy lingerie, psionic psychos, if you saw it in a movie, rest assured, you'll find it here.

The physical action is raw! Grapples, knees, bites, chokes, headbuts; if you can think of it you can do it. The rule system's intuitive and very exciting. Just grab some dice and test it, and you'll see what I mean.

What is really amazing is the flexibility of this game world, and its diverse potential for storytelling. Are you a fan of actioners full of car chases and gunfights? Conspiracy thrillers? Slashers maybe? Superhero movies? Twisted stories full of sex and horror? Anything goes! (By the way, it was a relief to notice that this game world embraces 'mature', dark erotic themes without inhibitions. Oh yeah, these Chicks are Hot! Just check the "Inner Darkness" installment) I also like the fact that even in the darkest stories, players and GMs don't have to make the game's atmosphere all serious and dramatic, if they don't want to. Instead, the game's tone can be funny, outrageous and lighthearted!

I liked the book; the illustrations are just lovely and mesmerizing. But no 'mature' stuff, just a collection of female (and male) hotties in super-cool tight outfits. Let's hope there'll be images of gruesome violence and suggestive themes in other installments! One negative aspect though was the somewhat frequent typos. You'd think such a fine product would enjoy a better quality of proofreading.

What can I say, HC isn't for everyone. If you're a company of busy adults (kids stay away, I mean it) who want to chill and have some intelligent and irreverent fun, you're in for a real treat. But if you're someone who searches for the meaning of life in RPGs, then you're better off looking somewhere else. (Our Lord's Bible would be a good start.)

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by David K T. J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2008 09:28:02
Great game. Placing the artwork behind and just looking at the material. The game was easy to understand, and enough to warrant me introducing it to my regular group. What I like the most about this game is the character creation. This game allows you to create the character you want and not be locked into a set definition of what someone should be.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/31/2008 15:30:33
There’s always been a wish-fulfillment aspect to role-playing games. Whether it’s playing a character that’s as strong as we wish we were, or amassing an ungodly amount of wealth, it can’t be helped that sometimes we bend our favorite RPGs to fantasize about getting what we want. Of course, sometimes the game in question unabashedly tries to appeal to those desires. Enter Hot Chicks: The Role-Playing Game. Guess which desire this RPG appeals to.

The PDF of Hot Chicks the RPG is moderately-sized, being not quite a dozen megabytes. This is very compact considering that the book is over four hundred-fifty pages long. There’s a full table of contents, which does not have hyperlinks, but the bookmarks are extremely thorough in what they cover.

It almost goes without saying that Hot Chicks the RPG is pretty heavy on illustrations. The majority of these are fully-rendered 3-D CGI pictures, which are of course in full color. Similarly, there are also a number of illustrations in black and white that aren’t CGI, rounding things out. Pages are surrounded on each side with a blue line that acts as a border, broken only by pages numbers at the bottom. There’s no printer-friendly option here, which is discouraging. For a book this long, with as much illustrations as it has, it really needs some method to make printing it out more viable.

The Hot Chicks RPG uses the new Inverted 20 system. Just to be clear, while there’s obvious a d20 System influence here, the Inverted 20 rules are their own, and not a variant of that more ubiquitous set of mechanics. As you may have guessed, the Inverted 20 rules are based around the idea that on a d20 roll, a 1 is the best result you can achieve, and a 20 is the worst. Built around that, the rest of the game’s mechanics are actually fairly simple. Characters have six stats, whose numerical ranges run from 1 to 10, with several derived statistics based on that. Characters also have merits, flaws, and skills (including special skills, which are what let your character do fantastic things). Later in the book, there are myriad chapters and appendices for all sorts of things characters can have and do, from huge equipment lists to magic, psionics, and super powers (among others). There are even rules to modify existing things, or even create your own. Over the course of four hundred-fifty pages, the RPG takes care to cover almost everything you could think of for a character.

So what’s the story for this game? Well, in the very near future, the Earth is pretty well screwed. Corruption is everywhere. And space aliens are stepping up their covert attacks on our planet. And demons are working to open massive gates to Hell. And in a lot of instances, the corrupt humans, aliens, and demons are working together. Humanity is about to get seriously @#$%ed, and for different reasons the hot chicks of the world are going to get the first and the worst of it. Hence, this is a world that needs heroes, and needs them pretty badly. This isn’t all of the story of course, and the book presents quite a bit of backstory, as well as related fluff elements (such as various organizations that are major players in the world today), but that summarizes the basics of where PCs will find themselves.

The tone of the Hot Chicks RPG book is one that fluctuates as you read through it. In some places, the book doesn’t seem to take itself too seriously, like describing the rules for just how dead you can be if things don’t go your way in combat (complete with jokes for characters that end up Dead as Hell). In other places, it takes itself and the world it presents very seriously, such as with the opening fiction that’s present in several chapters, which borders on being quite dark. Moreover, the game doesn’t seem to be quite certain of how much it wants to play-up the “sexy” aspect of itself; there’s no real erotic content to the mechanics of the game, but several parts of it seem to be leaning that way (the first merit listed, for example, is called “A Whore in the Bedroom”), and the writing flirts with a sexual undertone in several places, never quite coming out and saying how important sex is or isn’t in a Hot Chicks game (presumably to leave it up to the players). In fact, there’s little here (illustrations notwithstanding) that’d prevent you from simply throwing out the “hot chicks” theme altogether, and just using this RPG to run a “super-modern” game if you wanted.

Altogether, the Hot Chicks RPG presents itself very well. The book is substantive, yet stylish, presenting a wealth of options, a relatively thin-but-functional story, and a very generous amount of artwork. However, the book’s theme feels a tad bit wishy-washy; it wants to be an action/adventure RPG with sex appeal, but isn’t sure how much. Moreover, between that and the lack of a printer-friendly version (which I consider to be significant in a product this long with this much art), and the book is imperfect. Of course, it hits much more than it misses, with a set of mechanics that are simple but still solid. If you’re looking for something new, but feels familiar, check out the Hot Chicks RPG.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Francis G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 18:07:55
This PDF was a very unexpected pleasure, I'm not sure what I was expecting from a game entitled "Hot Chicks" but the saying "don't judge a book by its cover" has never been more applicable than here. Despite the title, this is not necessarily a game about hot chicks (although you can play them), instead the setting is quite dark where humanity is mere cattle for demons, aliens and corporations and it your job to try and stem the flow of darkness.

The book is a hefty tome at 454 pages with lavish artwork running through it. The book is complete with background, character generation, magic, psionics, cyberware, super powers, vehicle rules, equipment, and a lot lot more. Everything you need is there, and then some. The authors have obviously thought about what might be needed and then covered their backs by including a lot more. Extensive appendices round out the book giving references, tables and more.

The game system itself is the Inverted Twenty System which despite the name is not another d20 clone - there are no levels here! Instead the idea is to roll low on the d20 to succeed, usually using your characteristic + skill as the base target number to roll under. Combat is based on "shrugs", not hit points; if you're hit you make a Damage Resistance roll using the damage of the weapon as a modifier, and if that fails (as it invariably will) you take "shrugs" as damage, the amount based on the damage of the weapon and the characters damage resistance. As an average NPC has 3 shrugs, combat can be over quickly. The system itself is also quick and simple to run, something ideally suited for an action-horror game such as this.

If you're looking for a modern/future game then this game stands up well in the crowd covering the genre very completely. The fact that it has hot chicks as well is just a bonus!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2008 13:31:46
I guess I'm glad I bought this. I have all the miniature products from Dakkar and I seem to be a faithful purchaser of suggestive titles. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this game is considerably more than a MWWG rip. The designers have put a lot of thought and work into the product and it actually stands up well in the modern fantasy/techno/horror genre. I look forward to creating my first character and trying out a small scenario.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG