RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Shadowrun: Unwired
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/14/2011 21:28:52

Very useful, if you use the Matrix in your games. Excellent for Technomancers.

Lots of programs and program options, and the Technomancer section is kinda like Street Magic; alternate traditions, Submersion Ordeals and additional Echoes. It also talks more about weird Matrix phenomena, though, again, much has to do with Technomancers and Resonance.

There's not too many things for non-hackers.

Bottom line, must have if you use the Matrix in your games, not very useful if you don't.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Unwired
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Augmentation
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2011 11:36:36

Fun to read, full of nifty bits of gear and a few new rules. This is a good book for non-Awakened characters; Street Samurai, of course, but also Hackers and more ordinary runners. I think the biggest problem might be that a lot of the new stuff, like nano or gene 'ware is too rare and expensive to see much use, although the affordable items are rather useful (but still expensive). Cyberzombies, cyborgs, and bioroids suffer from a similar problem, though the GM has no such restrictions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Augmentation
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Runner's Companion
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2011 11:19:12

An optional book. It's full of various alternate rules, most notably for character creation; new races, new qualities, karma gen and priority character creation. I think a few of the qualities might have ended up in the Anniversary edition.

I happen to like the more detailed Lifestyle rules, they appeal to the obsessive interior decorator in me.

It's been my experience that GMs tend to not use a lot of this book.

Overall, it's not bad, but it's not great, and it's probably better to get one of the other supplements.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Runner's Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Blue Planet v2 Player's Guide
Publisher: Biohazard Games
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2011 22:47:34

Fascinating setting with lots of opportunity and conflict. Not necessarily as narrowly aquatically focused as you might have thought, though the sea slays plays a big role in the setting.

Somewhat like Shadowrun is cyberpunk/fantasy, Blue Planet is WildWest/cyberpunk, depending upon how you play it.

The system itself seemed fairly streamlined, and efficient.

For me, the big draw was the imaginative setting in an enjoyably written book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Planet v2 Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Street Magic
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2011 22:31:21

I didn't find it particularly useful, though as usual, it was still a decent read.

The main things I got from it were the Magical Groups and advanced Metamagic, and some of the magical security and countersecurity tactics. I didn't really find the grimoire to be that relevant; there's a few useful spells, and most of them are kinda interesting to read, but a lot of them seem "Fancy, but more expensive and less useful than a standard mana/stun/power bolt.".



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Street Magic
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

TEKUMEL®: Empire of the Petal Throne (TSR)
Publisher: M.A.R Barker's World of Tekumel
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2011 22:15:37

I purchased this RPG because it was a very early RPG (an antique), but I find the Mesoamerican style setting to be very interesting.

The system seems fairly straightforward, but the power curve seems different than I'm used to; Priests and Magic Users seem to be exceedingly limited in their abilities, both in quantity and power of spells. A lot of spells are once per day, ten minutes tops, and you don't seem to get very many spells, even at higher levels.

The scales (from its wargaming roots, I assume) can get confusing sometimes, especially for the spells, when they switch between dungeon and and actual measurements; it took me a while to figure out the three inch light spell had a thirty foot range.

It's definitely very combat focused, and full of random encounter/treasure/event tables, which seems to have been common back then. Not necessarily a bad thing, but it does seem to make it fairly focused on dungeon crawling. I find the descriptions for some of the random events and artifacts to be rather interesting, but perhaps that's just me.

The foreward by Gary Gygax, and the TSR catalog (Dungeons & Dragons Basic Set; $10!) in the back made me very nostalgic for a time that before I was born.

Overall, I don't know that I have much opportunity to play this, but it's an interesting setting and it was an interesting read. I'm happy I bought it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TEKUMEL®:  Empire of the Petal Throne (TSR)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: Arsenal
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2011 21:00:29

I found it to be useful, if not as wowing as the other splatbooks.

For me, the best parts were the accessories and gadgets and chems, the vehicles and drones, and the customization rules. The weapons, and to some degree the armor, are mostly flavor and variety, though there are a few cool new items.

Spy gear, manatech, and drugs are very useful. A lot of detection gear, for example, or concealed equipment. The outdoor equipment is cool, but I haven't really come across a situation calling for it. There's a better selection of vehicles than in the core book; finally something besides a Bulldog Step Van to ride around in. Things from the very small personal mobility vehicles, to RVs and up. Similarly, there's a larger selection of drones to fill some additional roles, from minidrone killers to small blimps. The customization rules are cool, and let you get a lot more functionality out of your vehicles and weapons.

And hey, I think the new cover is kickin' rad.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Arsenal
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Brook C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2011 18:23:20

This latest version of Shadowrun is fairly streamlined, and as always, I love the setting. The rules for each activity (magic, tech, combat) work under fairly similar logic, which makes playing faster and easier. I like how the Matrix has become even more pervasive and integrated into daily life.

The point buy is very flexible, and creates reasonably competent characters, though it is very tempting to minmax.

The illustrations are color and very pretty, and I like the short stories before each chapter.

This may be a problem with PDFs in general, but I find that the pages lag terribly when trying to flip through the book. Not too bad once you can remember where everything is, but still annoying. As part of the revision from 4th Edition, a lot of the page references have changed, and several of them are off by a page or two.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: 4th Ed. 20th Anniversary Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG