RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Grandpappy Cromdar's Whizbang Zoo!
Publisher: David Lewis Johnson
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2014 13:36:51
Terrific art and the most imaginative bunch of critters you'll find for whatever style of D&D or clone thereof you play. Brilliant. You will not regret the teensy price tag for this gem. Buy it now!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grandpappy Cromdar's Whizbang Zoo!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2011 13:46:05
So, last night we played our first session of Cosmic Patrol, which promises to deliver old-timey rocket and raygun type science fiction fun. And it does, in spades.

Cosmic Patrol is significantly different from other RPGs in a couple of ways. First, it is set up for immediate, no prep play. All we did was print out a few of the pre-gen character sheets, pick a scenario from the back of the book , and we were off to the space races. Easy peasy.

Secondly, it is designed for the role of Gamemaster (or Narrator in CP speak) to be rotated around the table during play. Each adventure scenario is split up into multiple scenes. One player takes the role of Lead Narrator and sets the scene for the rest of the players. Then, play goes around the table, with everyone taking an action, including the Narrator who has a PC of his own. When the scene is resolved to everyone's satisfaction, the role of Narrator passes to the next player, who sets the scene and runs that until it is also resolved, and so on. I was skeptical about this way of playing at first, but seeing it in action, it really makes for a fun session of gaming.

Characters are defined by a handful of attributes, which are represnted by a die type (d4, d6, d8, d10 or d12) To do something, roll a d12+your die type vs. a d20 rolled by someone else, which can have mods applied to it by the Narrator. Beat the number and you succeed! Combat is even simpler with the player rolling his Combat die vs the NPC's Combat die, beating the NPC's roll to do damage. Every character has pips of armor and health, and you lose these as you take damage. The more damage you take, you start to take penalties to your die rolls.

Characters are also defined by a number of tags and descriptors that help define the character and what his or her attitudes and personality are like. There is no game mechanic attached to these and they are there merely to help the player get into character.

And finally we get Plot Points, which are tokens each player has to let him change elements of a scene. These can be used to regain health or armor, as well as change the scene around the characters. Say you're facing down a dread space crocolisk. You might spend a plot point to say there is an open hatch above the beast that you could try to leap to to escape it. Or another player might spend one to say that not only is there a Crocolisk, but now the walls are closing in on you! Either way will definitely add to the fun of the session. Plus, for every point a player spends, the Narrator gets a point to spend on the scene as well!

In closing, Cosmic Patrol is a hoot to play. The rules are very barebones and easy to use, and the play is smooth and very creative and fun! An excellent game for when you have no time to prep and don't want to have to resort to busting out a boardgame instead. Plus the mechanics of the game really could lend themselves to any genre of roleplay you like, if you were so inclined. Go buy this, strap on your Atomo-Lift Pack, and blast off for adventure!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Woodland Warriors Rpg
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2011 10:41:17
Being a big Redwall/Mouseguard fan, as well as a fan of old-school games like Swords & Wizardry, this seemed like a sure buy for me. And I was not dissapointed. The writing is good, the ruleset is concise and clear, and the maps and art are charming. I really like the all d6 approach to OD&D that is in here, and am tempted to use it for regular fantasy games as well.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Woodland Warriors Rpg
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ICONS: Hero Pack 1
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2011 21:41:45
All I can say is "Wow!". Between the great art and really clever characters, I cannot believe this was less than 2 dollars. If you own ICONS, there is no reason not to pick this up. A fantastic value, plus All-American Girl!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Hero Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SUPERS! Comic Book Role Playing Game
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2010 17:08:22
Supers! presents itself as easy to use and quick to play and does not dissapoint. The game's engine is a simple d6 based die roll vs a target #. The character creation system is very easy and your first character can be created without a hitch in 20 minutes after starting to read the very clear and short rulebook. The spread of powers is very standard for the supers genre and easily expandable by the inventive player/Judge who can't find just the right power or aptitude. Combat is quick and intuitive and will have even a neophyte roleplayer throwing trucks and mind blasting master villians with the best of them right out of the gate.

Art and layout is so-so but does nothing to detract from the game. The advancement system seems to encourage quick advancement of powers and skills which I find a little out of genre, but this can easily be sidestepped if it does not meet the players/Judges tastes.

All in all a very good little supers game that I look forward to playing soon!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SUPERS! Comic Book Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Turntracker (Labyrinth Lord™)
Publisher: Faster Monkey Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2010 17:31:30
The Turntracker is a brilliant little contraption that I wish I had thought up! Turn tracking has always been a chore and my players tend to get away with having a single torch for weeks and weeks. A great little product that will be indispensable at my table!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Turntracker (Labyrinth Lord™)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for your review, Steve! You've won a $6 "Leprechaun's Gold" credit from Faster Monkey Games™. You can use it now, or wait for new product to come out. When you know what you want, let us know, and we will get your free product to you using your unique customer number. Any questions, just let us know: info@fastermonkeygames.com. Thanks for playing!
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2009 10:17:24
Brilliantly done!

BASH Ulitmate is a very well done game that is just packed with meaty goodness. The system is very light, with everything rolled with two ordinary six-siders, but has enough heft to it that gamers who have played more rules-dense systems will still be happy with it.

If you own the previous version of BASH, you really need to pick the new version up. The sections on the different supers genres and how BASH can reflect them are immensely useful, and there are tons of generic character writeups at different power levels (from 1920's Mystery men to Ultra-Cosmic heroes) that will be useful as NPCs or as PCs for those who just want to pick up and play.

And with the new layout and wonderful art direction, this book is a sure fire must have for every supers fan.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2009 11:17:05
At last, MARS with the combined with the ruleset that really will let the setting shine! The book is well laid out and well illustrated, as well as being very printer friendly. MARS is a world packed with monsters and villians to vanquish, and really presents the sword and planet genre well. An incredible product! Well done!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scribe of Orcus, Vol. 1 Issue 3
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2008 05:16:48
A great issue! The Mutant Future content is great, but my favorite is "Breaking Up is Hard to Do"! A very nice treatment of separating race from class in LL and great rules for multiclassing. Good job!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scribe of Orcus, Vol. 1 Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

~delete
Publisher: One Monk Miniatures
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2008 15:59:13
I've seen the OneMonk figures before, but they just get better and better as the sets come out! A beautiful set of paper figures and at an incredible price. Definitely a lot of value for your dollar!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
~delete
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Zorcerer of Zo
Publisher: Atomic Sock Monkey Press
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2007 00:00:00
This is an absolutely wonderful game! The treatment of the genre is smack-dab on target, the game system lends itself perfectly to this type of play, and the narrative of the first Zo campaign is entertaining and gives a very good example of how a roleplaying campaign plays out. If you enjoy having a good time playing an RPG, then buy this game!


LIKED: Very well presented. Chad really knows his subject matter and has a passion for it that draws you in and gets you excited about it. Very cool!

DISLIKED: Not a big fan of the page layout of the PDF, but it doesn't detract from the overall goodness of it! I wish the map of Zo had a touch better resolution, but again, not a giant problem.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Zorcerer of Zo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BASH! Fantasy Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2006 00:00:00
A very good fantasy game that will give you a lot of play for your money. Very light and easy rules and generic enough that it can be used for nearly any style of fantasy game you want to run. I'm impressed.


LIKED: The simplicity yet comphrehensiveness of the game. Plus, notes for the old west!

DISLIKED: I don't like that how far a character can normally move is stuck in with the Movement powers rather than in an easier to find section. A small quibble.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Fantasy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Always glad when a customer is happy. Check out the BASH! Fantasy supplement: Island of the Forgotten Tomb if you want to run a swashbuckling campaign! Also, BASH! Sci-Fi is in the works. It is on the same Heroic (as opposed to super-heroic) scale as BASH! Fantasy.
E-Z DUNGEONS: Basic Set
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2005 00:00:00
A nice little dungeon set for under $10. I like the 1" scale, the modularity of it and the variety of stairs available in the set. The easy and more complex door sections are a nice touch as well. A good buy for the money.

LIKED: The models have good sized glue tabs that are easy to work with. The three varieties of textures on the models is also a plus.

DISLIKED: The textures are okay, but I've seen better in comparably priced products. More props would have been nice too, but they can always be included in an expansion set (hint hint)

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
E-Z DUNGEONS: Basic Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! Your hint has been noted (keep an eye out later this year for our Dungeon Item Pack #1). As for the textures, unlike similar products that use painted artwork, all of our textures are photos taken from real world sites and objects for maximum realism.
Talislanta Cardstock Minis
Publisher: Morrigan Press
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2005 18:09:53
A nice set of cardstock minis for the Talislanta player or Gm! With a game as singular as Talislanta, having a set of minis that can help the players visualize not only their characters, but the unique foes of Talislanta is a big asset! Now to get my paper windship built!
The only thing I wish were in this set that isn't is some of the monsters of Tal. But a very small matter, that.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Talislanta Cardstock Minis
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Living Legends
Publisher: Monkey House Games
by Steve Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2005 00:00:00
I bought Living Legends out of nostalgia, I suppose. I had a lot of fun in the past playing Villians & Vigilantes, so when I saw a new superhero game by Jeff Dee, I happily plunked down my cash. However, upon giving it a good peruse, I doubt it will see much use in actual sessions. The rules don't seem very clear to me and I'm kind of suprised by the Jeff Dee art inside. I'm used to seeing much better work from him than some of these illustrations. Though I love Jeff Dee's work in V&V and still like that game a lot, LL seems to have very little for me to praise for other super-hero gamers.

LIKED: Very well organized. I like the cover art a lot.

DISLIKED: Too many charts and what not. This feels like a more complicated version of Villains & Vigilantes, which did not need more complexity.

QUALITY: Disappointing

VALUE: Disappointed


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Living Legends
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG