RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Kids, Castles & Caves
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by Nick W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2009 00:44:48
This is a great game for both youngsters and the not so youngsters. The rules are very simple to learn and should be no problem to explain to a little one. The game does seem to expect that the reader at least has some gaming experiance already. Though I do believe that that is the target market, "Gamer Parents".

About the only thing I didn't like was that characters max out at 3rd level, and with the way level bonuses work I can't really see any way around that. Once a group of 3 or 4 characters reach 3rd level they can take on just about anything.

Oh and one thing I can't work out, a dwarf has protection 6, a Giant is -3 to hit a dwarf, so even with the Giants attack of D6+1 it still can't roll enough to hit the dwarf.
This I believe is the only time this is a problem, until Magic Armor is found, then there are lots of the monsters that could not longer hit either the Dwarf or Knight. But these can be house ruled easy enough, just thought I would point out where problems still exsisted in the rules.

Any how, I do hope that this game gets another book or two with more monsters and maybe some sort of system for added levels.

I bought this as the bundle with the Arion stand-ups, which I also thought were great, but had a issue or two with as well. I do hope that if there is another book that it will also have stand-ups to go with it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kids, Castles & Caves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Kids, Castles & Caves Bonus Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Nick W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2009 00:24:46
These are great for my youngster to get her interested in 'daddy's silly games'. I can let her just play with a few sets of these printed out as toys until she decides to learn to play with rules.

My only complant is with a few of the map tiles. A couple lack the square grid, making them rather hard to use along with the other gridded tiles. Also one of the tiles (a cave entrance maybe?) seems to have very strange coloring to it. Not entirely sure what to make of it.

I have a few dozen of other sets by Arion Games and get lots of use from them all.
I like this one more so due to the cartoon like coloring. I hope that Arion Games and BHP can work together on another book with more monsters and stand-ups.

Would have given a 5 if it wasn't for those problem tiles.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kids, Castles & Caves Bonus Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Apologies for the problems you have had with the Cave Tiles. I will look into this, fix the problem and get the set updated ASAP. Graham Arion Games
Quick20 Modern Adventures
Publisher: Mob United Media
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2007 00:00:00
Great game that takes very little time to read. That way you can get right into the gaming.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick20 Modern Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Humanoids II Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2007 00:00:00
More villains for my minis games. The War Elephant is great.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Humanoids II Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hot Chicks 3: Dangerous Curves
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2007 00:00:00
A nice set of armed females. The cover gives you good idea of what to expect in this set.


LIKED: Lots of minis on a single page.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hot Chicks 3: Dangerous Curves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slagtown: Salvage
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
More bits and pieces to add to your Slagtown creations. This set even has bits made just to build a mini fort, of course the mini fort and really be as big as you want to make it!(mines three stories high and just about 3'x3'.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slagtown: Salvage
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Slagtown: Eden
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
I bought this set as soon as I could. I wish I could have got it even sooner. This is an awesome set of modular terrain. You can build huge towers like the one in the free set. You can build massive forts and even a cool hauler truck. I have built enough of this stuff to cover my gaming table a couple of times over.


LIKED: Great graphics. Very simple builds. Modular so you can build whatever you like.

DISLIKED: I liked it all!!!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slagtown: Eden
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stuff To Beat Up 4: The Axis Pack
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
Hordes of ancient mystic assassins and squads of nazi goons... whats not to like?

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stuff To Beat Up 4: The Axis Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Dungeon, Lair Builder, Mini-Game #36
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
Okay now they gone and done it.... Nearly unlimited adventuring in a new dungeon whenever I want? You must want to ruin my life and keep me gaming for the rest of my days.... Thank you, thank you very much. :)

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeon, Lair Builder, Mini-Game #36
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We might have to send you to a 12 step program... Just to wet you taste, we are in the process of turning Dark Dungeon into a full blow, printed version, for sell in your local game store. More on this as it gets closer to being eady for production. As always, you can look for information on new games for Bad baby on our Forum, located here at RPGNow.
Dark Dungeon #5, Character Builder, Mini-Game #33
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
My own characters to create and hire?!?! YESSSS!!!!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeon #5, Character Builder, Mini-Game #33
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Glad you are happy with the system. Lets see what sort of characters you can come up with. if you or anyone else wants to, you can post you characters for everyone else to use on our forum board, here at RPGNow. Lets see what everyone can come up with.
Dark Dungeon #4, Tower of Magic, Mini-Game #30
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2007 00:00:00
Wonderful! More time sucking goodness :) I love this game keep em coming!

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeon #4, Tower of Magic, Mini-Game #30
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We aim to please. As to more advenuters, we should have some more out this summer, and we are also starting work on a modern horror version of the system and then a super hero solo game system. So there should be lots to play with in the months and years to come.
Science Fiction Villains Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2007 00:00:00
Wonderful. So many bad guys! This has to be one of the best sets yet.


LIKED: A page of just bad guy/gal foot soldiers.
A wicked looking gangster boss.
A Dark Lord to rule the universe.
Whats not to like?

DISLIKED: When I printed these out they seemed to come out a bit smaller then the rest of the sets. Not really a problem, just changed the print scale, but unexpected.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Science Fiction Villains Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pulp Miniatures - World of Men - Vangard Platoon
Publisher: Forever People Digital Press
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2007 00:00:00
Most excellent 3-d paper model. Finally have something to battle my Orc Horde. This model was alot easier to build and yet retains alot of depth to the model. I can't wait for more from these guys.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pulp Miniatures - World of Men - Vangard Platoon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Arabian Nights Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2007 00:00:00
Awesome set of Middle Eastern fantasy stand-ups. I love this guys stuff.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arabian Nights Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Dwellers' Fantasy Boardgame
Publisher: Dungeon Dwellers' Guild Games
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2007 00:00:00
A fun looking board game. I am not sure how often I will play it though since I mainly play solo nowadays. I would love to have seen a way to create random games so I could play it solo.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Dwellers' Fantasy Boardgame
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
We hope you enjoy it when you do get a chance to play it and we're glad you're satisfied. I would like to mention that we don't claim the game is suitable for solo play, though that could be an interesting idea for future expansions.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG