RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition) $5.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
33 27
10 6
5 0
0 0
0 0
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Click to view
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/30/2013 02:06:49
Jedes Spielsystem muss sich auch daran messen lassen, wie schnell Spieler es auf- und annehmen. Barbarians of Lemuria hatte mir bereits beim ersten Durchlesen gleich imponiert. Die Regeln waren einfach und versprachen viel Spaß. Kurzentschlossen habe ich es am frühen Nachmittag für meine erste Spielrunde am Abend des selben Tages auf den Plan gesetzt. Konnte das gutgehen?

Regeln

Da wir Barbarians of Lemuria (im Weiteren: BoL) noch nicht vorgestellt haben, hier ein kurzer Abriss der Regeln:

Gewürfelt wird mit 2W6 auf die Zielzahl 9. Alle positive Grade (+1 bis +5) eines passenden Attributs, sowie entweder der Grad eines passenden Berufs (occupation) oder einer passenden Kampffähigkeit (combat ability) darf man auf den Wurf addieren. Abzüge gibt es auch – zum Beispiel die Verteidigung (defence) eines Gegners. Zwei Einsen sind der automatische Fehlschlag, zwei Sechsen der automatische Erfolg. Zusatzregeln gibt es für Patzer (calamitous failure) sowie mächtige und legendäre Erfolge (mighty success und legendary success).

[box]Krongar der Barbar versucht eine Wache mit seinem Schwert zu erschlagen. Krongars Spieler würfelt eine 7. Er addiert seine Nahkampffähigkeit (2) und seine Agilität (2) und zieht die Abwehrfähigkeit der Wache (1) ab – sein Ergebnis ist 7 + 2 + 2 – 1 = 10. Er hat getroffen.[/box]

Die Charaktererschaffung ist schnell und unkompliziert: Man darf vier bis fünf Punkte auf vier Eigenschaften (strength, agility, mind, appeal) verteilen. Weitere vier Punkte auf vier (der vielen) Berufe, die den Werdegang der Figur beschreiben: Ob er mal Söldner oder Sklave war, sein Geld als Dieb verdient hat oder als Bettler erflehen musste, usw. Die Berufe gelten als Anhaltspunkt dafür, was der Charakter an Nichtkampffähigkeiten mitbringt. Und vier Punkte kommen auf die vier Kampffertigkeiten (brawl, melee, ranged, defence). Außer bei Berufen ist einmalig -1 als Wert erlaubt (ein Abzug). Der Wert 0 ist generell erlaubt.

Nur bei der Wahl der Herkunft des Charakters dauert es ein bisschen länger. Hier gibt es Tabellen mit Vor- und Nachteilen (boons, flaws). Einen Vorteil gibt es gratis, einen zweiten kann man durch einen Nachteil erkaufen. Hier gibt es viel zu lesen, also dauert es ein bisschen. Die meisten Vor- und Nachteile werden aber durch 3W6 abgebildet – man darf dann entweder die besten zwei oder muss die schlechtesten zwei Ergebnisse behalten.

Trifft jemand im Kampf, so wird der Schaden ausgewürfelt, der Rüstungsschutz aber auch! Eine Armschiene schützt halt nur manchmal, und nicht jeder Stich ist gleich gut gesetzt. So circa 7 bis 14 Lebenspunkte (lifeblood) kann ein unerfahrener Held an Schaden ertragen bevor er ohnmächtig wird. Sinken die Lebenspunkte unter 0, wird es lebensgefährlich.

Jeder Held kriegt 1 bis 6 Heldenpunkte (hero points) pro Abenteuer zur freien Verfügung. Mit diesen können Würfe erneut durchgeführt oder verbessert werden, oder auch mal Schaden abgeschüttelt. Man kann auch langfristig bessere Startwerte gegen weniger Heldenpunkte tauschen.

Auch schnell abgehandelt ist die Magie, die sich in vier generische Schwierigkeitsgrade (cantrip, first, second, third grade) teilt. Über die Mächtigkeit des gewünschten Effekts wird der Grad und somit die Schwierigkeit einer magischen Handlung bestimmt. Die reicht von einer kleinen magischen Kerzenflamme (cantrip) bis zu katastrophalen Verwüstungen (third grade). Wer günstige Umstände für Zauber höherer Grade schafft (ein Opfer, viel Zeit, eine offensichtliche Geste), kann billiger zaubern und spart sich Zauberpunkte (arcane power).

Priester können Segen verteilen und andere verfluchen. Alchemisten können Tränke (potions) brauen oder mächtige Maschinen (devices) basteln. Die Regeln für Alchemie sind etwas aufwändiger und verschlingen vier Seiten.

Die erste Session

Die netto verfügbare Spielzeit waren drei Stunden und außer mir hatte keiner vorher was von BoL gehört. Charaktere hatte ich selbst vorbereitet und das im Buch enthaltene Abenteuer Die Ebenen des Todes (The Plains of Death) vorbereitet. Mir tat es regelrecht leid, dass ich den Spielern den Spaß nahm, die Charaktere selbst zu generieren. Denn die Erschaffung, speziell die Berufswahl, ist ein echtes Highlight von BoL.

Als Handouts gab es die Charakterbögen, eine Karte von Lemuria, einen Ausdruck der Magieregeln für den Magier, sowie die zwei Seiten zum Thema Heldenpunkte für jeden Spieler.

Die Grundmechaniken des Spiels waren anhand der Charakterbögen schnell erklärt. Für vier Spieler gab es zur Auswahl: einen Jäger aus dem Dschungel, einen Barbaren aus der Eiswüste, einen Magier von der Insel Thule, einen Dieb aus Malakut und einen Gladiator aus Oomis. Durch die Berufe konnte ich jedem eine kurze Vita erzählen, die der Spielfigur Farbe gab. Eine schnelle Einführung in die Spielwelt mit Hilfe der ausgedruckten Karte rundete das Ganze ab.

Bereits durch die einleitenden Szenen konnten die Spieler sich mit den Grundlagen der Proben vertraut machen. Die Spielwelt nahm schnell Gestalt an. Mit einem von mir in das Abenteuer eingeflochtenen Kampf mit einem jungen Drakk (Flugsaurier) brachte ich etwas Leben in die Reise über die Ebene. Die Basiswerte der Bestie waren schnell modifiziert und so konnte es losgehen. Die Abwicklung war flott und unproblematisch.

Natürlich vergisst man bei jeder ersten Anwendung eines Regelwerks irgendetwas. Mir geht es jedenfalls so. So auch diesmal – ich vergaß die Angriffswürfe um den Abwehrwert (defence) zu erschweren. Das fiel mir allerdings wenigstens bis zum Ende des Abenteuers auf. Es fiel mir sehr leicht, anzusagen, welche Modifikatoren auf die Würfe anzuwenden waren. Die Tabelle für Proben-Modifikatoren hätte ich trotzdem wohl besser ausgedruckt, weil sie ja auch die Reichweiten für Fernwaffen beinhaltet. Die Spieler waren sehr gut dabei, ihre eigenen Vorteile bei Zauber- und Kampfproben im Hinterkopf zu behalten. Die Spielabwicklung war flüssig.

Besondere Erwähnung verdient das Magiesystem. Durch den Verzicht auf vorgefertigte Sprüche und Kräfte werden die Magiekundigen sehr stark aufgewertet. Der Fokus geht wieder hin zu der Intention des Spielers und weg vom Wälzen von Zauberlisten und Ähnlichem. Die Liste möglicher Spruchkomponenten (casting requirements) ermöglicht es, spontan jedem Zauber Leben einzuhauchen.

[box]Der Magier entschied, selbst einen großen Drakk zu beschwören, um ihn gegen einen Stamm Blauer Nomaden einzusetzen. Den Schwierigkeitsgrad befand ich als dem zweiten Spruchkreis (second magnitude) angemessen. Als Spruchkomponenten legte er die Seltene Zutat (rare ingredient, vom bereits erlegten Drakk), das Rituelle Opfer (ritual sacrifice, durch den Jäger der Gruppe bei einem schnellen Jagdausflug gefangen) und die Passende Mondphase (lunar, durch einen Heldenpunkt als Fakt im Spiel etabliert) fest. Basiskosten für Sprüche des zweiten Grades sind 10 Punkte Arcane Power. Eine Spruchkomponente ist Minimalvorraussetzung, jede weitere senkt die Kosten um 1. Er bezahlte letztendlich 8 seiner 15 Zauberpunkte und würfelte eine erschwerte Zauberprobe (hard, Erschwernis von -2).[/box]

Die Anwendung von Magie kann eine kurze Verhandlung über die Details mit dem Spieler erfordern. Kreativität wird hier klar belohnt. Keiner muss mühsam existierende Zauber hin- und hermodifizieren, bis sich der gewünschte Effekt mit den Regeln abbilden lässt. Das fand ich einfach nur clever und stimmig!

Die im Basisbuch skizzierten Abenteuer sind etwas kurz geraten und müssen vom Spielleiter noch ausgearbeitet werden – wie auch bei mir durch den Drakk-Angriff. Für drei Stunden inklusive kleiner Regelkunde war das Material allerdings hinreichend. Es sind nur drei Abenteuervorschläge enthalten (die anderen: The Gladiator und The Island of Doom). Weitere lassen sich in den beiden bereits erschienenen Magazinausgaben der Dicey Tales (Klick, Klick) finden.

Auch nur unvollständige Inspiration kann die enthaltene Aufstellung der Monster sein. Hier gibt es von vielem etwas, aber keine Variationen des gleichen Themas (zum Beispiel verschiedenartige Flugsaurier). Es ist jedoch nicht schwer, eine Kreatur selbst zu erstellen. Hierzu gibt es auch ein paar Tipps. Die Bestiarien anderer Systeme sind da sicherlich nützlich als Inspiration. Man sollte die vorhandenen Monstren kennen, wenn man etwas schnell aus dem Ärmel zaubern will. Einen Eventgenerator gibt es jedenfalls nicht.

Während des Spiels fiel mir unangenehm auf, dass die Bookmarks des PDFs nicht auf meinem Tablet funktionierten. Auf dem PC hingegen arbeiteten sie einwandfrei. Zwar hat BoL nur 110 Seiten, aber das Gesuche nervte schon.

Die zweite Session

Diese Runde hatte ich spontan im Verein angeboten. Basis war das Abenteuer Ghosts in the Moon-Tower aus Dicey Tales #2 (Klick). Ich hatte fünf Charaktere vorbereitet, sechs Leute nahmen teil. Zwei Leute beschlossen spontan, Barbarenzwillinge zu spielen, und schon waren Maru und Mura mit identischen Werten geboren.

Im Vergleich zum Abenteuer aus dem Basisbuch selbst bot Ghosts mehr an Ausarbeitung, blieb aber auch eine Skizze. Man merkte aber bald, dass was mit den Anreizen im Abenteuer nicht stimmt. Ein mysteriöser Torbogen alleine reichte als Motivation nicht, stattdessen erging sich die Gruppe in allerlei barbarischen Mätzchen. Den Erwartungen des Abenteuerautors schlossen sich die Spieler jedenfalls während der gesamten Handlung nicht an, und ich musste sehr viel improvisieren. Aufgrund der Rumeierei der Protagonisten zog es sich dann auch auf über vier Stunden hin.

[box]"Du bist ein Jäger mit Spezialisierung Gebirge." - "Also ein Gebirgsjäger." - "Ähm, ja." - "Gut, dann will ich eine Lederhose." - "Das sind hier nicht die Bavarians of Lemuria!"[/box]

Eine Erwähnung verdient die Rolle des Pöbels (rabble) in diesem Abenteuer. Rabble sind NSCs, die mit nur sehr wenigen Lebenspunkten aufwarten können – für gewöhnlich Wachen, Stammesmitglieder und andere anonyme Kandidaten für den Fleischwolf. Würfelt der Spieler mehr Schaden, als eine solche Kreatur aushält, verteilt er sich auf die nächste, usw. Erzielt oder erkauft sich der Spieler einen mächtigen Erfolg, dann hauchen gleich so viele dieser Spielzeitfüller ihr Leben aus, wie Schadenspunkte erwürfelt wurden.

Zwar kann Pöbel durchaus lästig fallen, zumal sie normalen Schaden verursachen. Da sie aber schwache Trefferwahrscheinlichkeiten aufweisen und oft spät in der Initiativereihenfolge auftauchen, waren bereits zwanzig von ihnen tot, bevor die Spieler mit der ersten Runde durch waren. Und ich war froh, dass ich nicht zwanzig Attacken hatte auswürfeln müssen.

Besonders bei dieser zweiten Session war das abschließende gemeinsame Weben von epischen Sagen ein Highlight. Die Spieler überboten sich dabei mit dem Protzen über ihre Taten. In BoL wird nämlich die Anzahl der zu vergebenen Abenteuerpunkte an die Güte der Erzählung am Schluss gebunden. Das benachteiligt weniger wortgewaltige Spieler etwas, ist aber ein Heidenspaß!

Fazit

BoL hat einfach Spaß gemacht. Das Leiten war einfach und recht flüssig. Beide Session waren ja kurzfristig anberaumt und vorbereitet worden. Ich hatte es vor der ersten Session noch nie gespielt. Positives Feedback kam auch gleich von den Spielern. Das Setting selbst würde sicherlich einiges hergeben, auch für eine Kampagne.

Das Spiel selbst kann man mit mehr oder weniger ernst angehen. Von etwas Auflockerung bis zum völligen Klamauk war bei uns jedenfalls alles drin. Während die erste Gruppe das Thema Swords & Sorcery durchaus ernstnahm, war mir die zweite Gruppe beinahe zu barbarisch. Mit BoL lässt sich jedenfalls Conan genauso nachspielen wie Erik der Wikinger. Und wem das noch nicht reicht, für den gibt es Pulp (Klick), Postapokalypse (Klick), Mantel und Degen (Klick) und reine Action im Stile der 70er und 80er (Klick). Ein Westernsetting nach den Pulpregeln ist wohl auch in Vorbereitung.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by adam p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2013 10:20:09
The older I get the less interested I am in referencing tables/charts/what-have-you in my gaming experience. I have been a fan of the swords and sorcery genre since I was ten. This game really suits what I want from the genre. Fast and uncomplicated play is a necessity in the storytelling department and BoL offers that. If you are looking for a deep in-depth combat system then you will probably be disappointed. If you are looking for an endless talent table to perfect your dual weapon fighter, you will be disappointed. If you want a game that is fun and feels accurate to its source material you will enjoy this.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Cornelius H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2013 09:51:44
Awesome engine for any kind of heroic game, easily adaptable yet solid as written. Perfect for those nights when you just want to tell a tall tale without bogging down in rules. Setting is OK, though a bit superficial.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/28/2013 22:03:44
I had the chance to pick up Barbarians of Lemuria: Legendary Edition recently and I have to admit I was quite pleased. The game was not at all what I expected it to be. Well...the setting and the tone was, the mechanics were not. This is the best combination really.

Ok, so tone. Barbarians of Lemuria is what I expected in that it is a fantasy game of mighty barbarians, evil warlocks, sly thieves and semi-naked women. Very much the stereotype of the Pulp Age of fantasy I expected it to be. Except it plays it with an honesty and earnestness that I really want to play a big, dumb barbarian with might thews and a giant axe.

The game is full of sorts of great background that I could adapt it to any old-school fantasy game with no issues and run with it. I mean honestly look at the cover. Barbarian standing in a pit surrounded by vaguely eldritch horrors as a tribal shaman gorilla prepares to sacrifice a slave girl. If you think the next scene is the girl's spilled blood and horrors unleashed over the land, then go play a horror game. If you think the next scene is that sword cleaving through the bodies of the horrors and the barbarian killing the shaman and saving the girl. Then this is the game you want.

The system I have to admit took me aback, in a good way.
I was expecting another OGL-based or D&D-clone, but instead we get a very nice, very simple system. Character creation is all point-buy, and not dozens of points, but 4. The real joy here is being able to create a character is minutes and get going.

The underlying mechanic is a simple 2d6+mods vs target number of 9. This makes it very, very similar to Unisystem and also to Spellcraft & Swordplay. I suppose that if you wanted a more flat game then you could use a d12. But d6s are great and they give us boons and flaws. Boons and Flaws are a neat mechanic. In either case you roll 3d6 instead of 2d6. If you have a boon, drop the lowest d6. If you have a flaw, drop the highest. Each character gets a boon or two boons and a flaw.

There is plenty for everyone to do in combat since fighting style can vary. I like that the emphasis here is that everyone has a chance to be the hero. Sure you might be a lowly thief or slave, but you still have something to contribute.

The careers are nice touch and helps give your character some background on what they were or did, or what they can do now. Frankly I enjoy how it is all put together.

The art is good, not up to the level one expects from say Pathfinder, but perfect for the tone and the feel of this game. And I liked it, so that is great for me.

The magic system is very open and reminds me a lot of magic from the time period. These are sorcerers that gained their power through evil pacts or forbidden knowledge. There are no Hogwarts grads here.

It really is a lot of fun and the rules-lightness of it is a huge benefit.
Even if I didn't like the rules I could use this for my own fantasy games since the background information is so great.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by nathaniel h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2012 13:04:23
This system is a fantastic engine for skipping past dry mechanics right into the meat of the story. In fact, I only got this game as the baseline for Barbarians of the Aftermath, a book which hits exactly the right crunch level for my upcoming After the Bomb campaign (TMNT crossed with Fallout). Even so, reading it made me excited to run a Conan-esque story.

The resolution mechanic is simple, unified for combat or skill checks, and incredibly easy to tinker with. Roll 2d6 + attribute + (relevant career or offensive skill) + situational modifiers. Meet or beat a 9. A roll of 2 or 12 means either calamitous failure or mighty/legendary success. Hero points allow players to flex narrative muscle over dice rolls.

Character creation in a nutshell:
*You have four attributes: Spread 4 points between Strength, Agility, Mind, and Appeal.
*Next you have combat points: Spread 4 points between Brawl, Melee, Ranged, or Defense (the latter subtracts from your opponent's hit roll). This is an excellent way to ensure everyone can be relevant in a fight.
*Next, you spread 4 points into 4 careers, such as thief, barbarian, merchant, alchemist, assassin, etc. Instead of a skill system, players negotiate with the GM when their careers are relevant to a challenge. If they are, add your career rank to the given challenge. This is either a weak or strong point of the system, depending on your players. If everyone is congenial and familiar with the tropes of the genre, it should flow smoothly.
*Pick Boons and Flaws for your character. The first boon is free, and the rest require an equal number of flaws. Roll an extra die under relevant circumstances, and take the 2 highest dice for Boons or the 2 lowest for Flaws. Boons and Flaws change success chance by about 10%.
And that's it for character creation! It's fast, easy, and newbie-friendly.

Combat also flows rather well. Damage is rolled separately from hits, with the defender rolling armor to soak damage. 2-handed weapons do slightly more damage, heavier armor protects better at the expense of agility, and a handful of other fiddly bits keep things interesting. Hit points are rather low in this game: it's a baseline 10, with swords doing 1d6 damage before accounting for armor (d6-1 for medium armor). Health also only increases with Strength, so even a big bad barbarian has a chance of going down from a well-placed blow. I like this--experienced characters are big heroes but not invulnerable.

I won't spend much time on the magic system; suffice to say it's very free-form, with a handful of rules and examples to guide players. I would have liked a bit more detail on what's possible, but that wouldn't be much in keeping with the crunch level of the rest of the game. It gets the job done, though, with probably the same amount of handwavium as careers.

A couple of quibbles, though: Epic tales of heroism demand challenging encounters, and BoL provides no advice for balancing combats with heroes. A few concise pointers toward adjusting NPC stats would have been helpful.

Also, some very common combat tactics are completely missing. Perhaps this was intentional, in keeping with the rules-lite theme, but feinting, disarming and grappling are perennial maneuvers that deserve a little attention. This is particularly important given the combat-heavy nature of stereotypical sword-and-sorcery games. I can see combat getting a bit stale without meaningful mechanical options beyond I-swing-you-swing-I-swing-...But again, the system is simple enough that house rules would be easy.

Lastly, it becomes impossible for characters to lose once they hit +7 in modifiers (unless they roll a 2, which is auto failure without using hero points). A relevant skill check or to-hit roll with min-maxing players is already +6 with a starting character, so players quickly become demigods in their realm of expertise. Perhaps intentional, and perhaps a GM just needs to scale up situational modifiers or enemy defenses to compensate, but I like a default rate of failure to be a little higher than 3% (about the chance of rolling 2). This is countered rather well by changing the dice mechanic to 2d8 (meet or beat 12), or 2d6 (meet or beat 14).\

Overall an excellent product. Great work.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by JERRY M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2012 16:00:22
Wow.

This has become on of my favorite game systems of all times.

The simple game mechanics combined with a flexible role playing system and a fun game world make this a game that is quick to learn and a riot to play.

The mechanic also makes it easy to improvise situations. Characters are fairly balanced, and the gmae captures the feel of low-magic swords and sorcery.

(And for high fantasy, modern, or even sci-fi, there are some great supplements too.)

Get this now and start playing in minutes.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by collin s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2011 21:37:04
I'd say that Barbarians of Lemuria is a great PDF value for $7.50. If you want a rules light game that works well for Swords and Sorcery this is it. There is a free version out there, but a few things are missing and hey, for under $10 I'll support the author of the game through a purchase.

The PDF layout and style is a solid 3 stars, it is very...indie. But it does the job. As far as they system goes, as a rules light system it would appear to work very well, though to be honest I haven't gotten a campaign going yet. I can easily see expanding this system out to cover more genres, like Barbarians of the Aftermath does very well. If you look on the Lords of Lemuria site there are a lot of simple but interesting suggestions by other players and GM's on how to tweak or add to the rules which are well worth a look though. I can see myself running several Barbarians of Lemuria campaigns in the future and tweaking the rules a bit here and there each time to expand out the game a little bit more. Other reviewers have already gone into how the BoL works in depth so I'll just hit the highlights.

* No skill list, you have careers instead (kind of like Warhammer but much simpler). Skills that would go along with a career are assumed to be had.

* Innovative four tiered magic system that with a little creativity would be very interesting and enjoyable for players.

* Combat is quick and abstract, no real need for figures or maps but you can use them obviously if you wish.

* Generally skill test are 2D6 + attribute + skill (sometimes) - difficulty trying to beat a 9. 12 and 2 are special.

* There is a simple boon/flaw system, hero points are used, and though level-less there are rules for character advancement.

* Armor is an after thought, no rules of magical weapons per se, but there are semi-fleshed out rules for making special items through alchemy. My take is that too much majic might skew probability curve a bit much if too many pluses are thrown into the mix.

All-in-all I really like the system. Some old school players, especially consummate D&D fans might find the BoL rules system a little too light. Also high fantasy folks might not like the fact that wizards in Lemuria are very powerful but spell use is less common. A wizard might throw just a few spells per game session. Also magic items aren't laying around everywhere. Advancement is through stats, not items so much, but GM's can teak to suit.

I'd like to jump on the Lemurian band wagon and give it a five. I give the rules light system a five. But after getting the PDF and hard bound copies of Barbarians of the Aftermath and Barbarians of Lemuria on the same week, comparing the too is like night and day. Barbarians of Lemuria's manuscript could use some layout enhancement.

So I'll initially give BoL four stars. the game system is innovative, looks to be very fun to play, will move fast with rules generally staying out of the way, and BoL has most if not all of the rules you need to run a Conan-ish swords and sorcery game. I give the BoL system a 4.5 or a 5.

So my combined score would be four stars.

But...since I'm a rookie and this is one of my first reviews I'm going to mark it as five. I don't want to diss any Barbarians out there...and for $7.50, or the price of a taco bell run, it is five stars for the value.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Keith S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2011 12:46:06
This is a fun rules-lite system for pulp style Sword & Sorcery adventures, aimed more at the story-telling style of the RPG spectrum (as opposed to detailed tactical miniature battles like D&D 4e). The idea of using careers in place of a skill list is brilliant. The boons & flaws rules also add even more ways to personalize your character with one simple mechanic - roll an extra die and take the best two for a related boon, or the worst two if invoking a flaw. Simple and easy to remember.

I recently ran one of the scenarios for a group of people which included complete novices, and they had no problems picking up the system and getting into the game. Most importantly, everyone had a blast and wanted to play again. Highly recommended.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Brendan F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2011 06:39:21
Quite possibly the finest swords and sorcery role-playing game out there. With a simple, intuitive system, a focus on bold adventures and sagas, BoL tosses out anything that doesn't belong in a world of savage bloodshed, thievery and dark magic. Recommended without hesitation.

I have a more in-depth review of this game at http://knightsoftheblackbanner.blogspot.com/2011/08/barbaria-
ns-of-lemuria-review-part-i.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2011 11:46:28
"Crom laughs at yuh 4th Edition!"

Barbarians of Lemuria - a game that comes from an age undreamed of between the snking of Atlantis and the rise of the sons of Aryas! A game of man-sized fantasy where elves, orcs and dwarves dare not tread.

BoL characters are defined by their chequered pasts - thief, pirate, gladiator, etc. - if you can convince the GM that some previous career is relevant to your roll to perform a task then you get to add those points to your roll. Simple and it encourages character based play and avoids the munchkinism of feats. Combat and tests against attributes work in the same way. Achieve a Legendary Success and see your enemies driven before you/cut down in bloody swathes.

One clever genre innovation is that experience is awarded only after the player narates how his character blew all his loot and it once more down to his last few coins, trusty blade and thirst for adventure. BoL encrouages you to play a sullen northern barbarian, a savage jungle tribesman or cunning desert nomad and play it to the hilt. There's no place here for treehuggers like elven rangers. BoL characters trust only their wits and cold steel.

BoL splits the skulls of all other fantasy games to the teeth with a single, savage blow. A simple system that effortless recreates a specific genre leading to swift, exciting play.

Substance - 5 - Finally a system that does sword and sorcery properly. Comes with a default setting based on Lin Carter's Thongor books but easily transposed to Hyboria or Valusia.

Style - 3 - Some art, like the cover, is nice. Some isn't. Simple, but readable, interior shows its amateur origins a bit too clearly.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by William L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2010 07:37:00
At it's core, BoL is perhaps one of the best RPGs I have ever played. Simple and intuitive, the rules blend into the background and let you get on with the adventure. It includes just the right amount of background and setting information -- enough to get you started and get the creative juices flowing; but not enough detail to bog you down and overwhelm the senses (i.e., the Forgotten Realms Syndrome). No overreaching metaplot (a good thing). No fiddly skill system (thank goodness for "careers"). Elegant magic system that allows the players to create their own spells while at the same time maintaining the flavor of S&S magic. What's not to like?

The only changes I've made are to convert the 2d6 resolution system to 3d6 and to change the default setting to the Hyborian Age.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Marcelo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2010 07:34:56
There are few RPGs one would call a gem. Some are called that due to nostalgic reasons, others due to overdo hype... Barbarians of Lemuria is neither. It's not an old game we played when we started in the hobby back in 74, 80's or 90's (your milleage may vary). Yet, this 110-page PDF feels like an old school title and it's very welcomed in my gaming table.

I won't dare to compare Barbarians of Lemuria to that old science-fiction game where you could die when rolling your character. Each one has its own strengths and are completely different systems, but somehow when reading Simon W.'s book my mind drifted away to that old RPG...

((Let's see... We have careers, we roll 2d6 and must reach 9 or more after adding some modifiers...
Yes, I was mistaken. In that old sci-fi game we needed to reach 8 or more. It's completely different. ;-) ))

Okay, jokes aside, I really like Barbarians of Lemuria. Let me tell you what you'll find in the book.

It's a 110-page PDF with a 2-collumn layout and line drawing artwork. It has a clean design and my printer didn't screamed "Ink!" when printing. The artwork is simple and evocative, but I didn't like the style so much--and a word of warning to the puritans: there are a few bare breasts, but this in any way detracts the book (it's my humble opinion the artist followed the sword & sorcery genre art to the letter, as many S&S tales depict partially nude women ready to saved from eldritch horrors or ready to be sacrificed).

I am not too qualified to review the setting background as I've never read Carter's Lemuria, so I won't dabble in those areas. However, having played a mini-campaign using Barbarians of Lemuria rules and Howard's Hyborean Age background where a barbarian becomes king, I'm apt to say the game instills the creating of great characters and even--dare I say that in a S&S setting?--heroes.

Speaking of characters, a group of four players who had never played Barbarians of Lemuria before was able to create their chars in less than 10 minutes. And that's a plus in my GMing book.

But how a character is created in these rules? It's a point buy system with few attributes and few abilities. Once you've made that choice, you almost finished your character creation. What is missing? The careers.

And here is one of the points where the rules shine.

From a roll of 24 (give or take a few as I don't have the book in my hands now) careers, you'll be able to pick 4. Then, using a few points (remember this is a point buy system!) you'll select which careers your character has more aptitude or has spent more time as. This choice almost determines a kind of character background, as you'll be able to see how your character started as a Farmer and became a Pirate (for instance). Instant character background is always another plus in my book. Add the equipment rules (simply give whatever the players want--if it's too much make them lose it somehow; if it's less than you think they need, give something to them during the adventure) and you're set.

And how the system works?

In combat, you'll roll 2d6, add the appropriate attribute, add the appropriate combat ability, add/subtract any modifiers. If the result is 9 or more you succeed.

Outside combat, you'll roll 2d6, add the appropriate attirbute, add any appropriate careers, add/subtract any modifiers. If the result is 9 or more you succeed.

There are a few more details, like using Hero Points (meta-gaming abilities, auto critical results and such) and using magic (true to the genre, it's dangerous, time consuming, and corrupting), but they are equally simple and fun to use.

What about the fun factor?

High. Extremely high. One of the first adventures I've GMed to the group was a variation on Howard's The Tower of the Elephant, and the group instantly was drawn into action. There was no downtime looking for rules (hey, the main rules of the game were described ahead, so believe me when I tell you this is a rules light system!) and the fights were interesting: rabble monsters fell like the cannon-fodder they were and the main villains fought well in a epic combat.

This is a masterpiece. I can't deny it. Or, better yet, like I've said at first, this is a gem. Grab it. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Sc N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2010 21:49:33
Awesome, awesome, awesome! what can i say, have played several games with this already as I have both the PDF & the printed copy from lulu. This game just ooozes S&S, my group just loves the simplistic skill system (which there are none, just career levels that kinda group several skills and abilities under one core roll). You can't go wrong here if you like real freeform roleplaying, if you like more detailed systems, then go grab any d20 OGL or 4e system out there as they gag the market already. This simple d6 system reminds me of Classic Traveller at times but only in a S&S setting with sorcerer's.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by David K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2010 13:09:02
As fans of the sword and sorcery genre, my fantasy role-playing group thouroughly enjoyed Simon Washbourne’s Barbarians of Lemuria game. Currently, I am the game master for two distinct Barbarians of Lemuria play-by-post games. This review sets to accomplish critical critiques of the Revised Edition layout and substance.

The Revised Edition offers significantly more artwork throughout the book. Except for the cover, all artwork is done in black-and-white, making both editions printer-friendly. By comparison, the previous edition offered about 46 images (including a profession map by Gil Pearse) over 103 pages, while the Revised Edition boasts a whopping 80 non-repeating images over 100 pages, and includes the same high-quality map. In fairness, some graphics are used more than once, but I did not see any image used more than twice. An exception of this art was the image of a ram’s skull that precedes the bottom page number. While this graphic seems like a nice touch, I fear the repeatative nature may at least cost a page of ink over 100 pages. Hopefully, this issue can be resolved before final editing and printing. Some favorite artwork is used again. John Grumph, Keith Vaughn and Matthew Vasey do the interior artwork.

Each of the twenty+ possible character profession gets a bust-style portrait, and the NPC/Example characters found near the end of the book have each received new full-body images. Because the art is very similar throughout the book, the same intense feel can be maintained. In describing geographical areas, some characters receive “boons” (formerly named “traits,”) and possibly some “flaws.” I also liked how each career received some special attention as to its possible play in combat. For example, while an executioner might do well with a two-handed axe, such a character should only gain a bonus to combat rolls if their target is prone.

As a player and a game master, I am exceptionally excited about the new design! The addition of the new caricatures adds a great flavor of the gaming world. I am thankful Washbourne kept the map, because the work was exceptional and has become engrained in many players’ memories. While I hoped for more artwork about the “flora and fauna” (and even the inclusion of the “bloodless” creatures), I am satisfied with what has been provided because artwork can be expensive.

New players to Barbarians of Lemuria will enjoy the rules-lite systems and freedoms this system supports. The artwork helps pace new information, and inspire the imagination. Fans of the game will enjoy the same sword-and-sorcery fun, high quality artwork, and have satisfaction that the author accepts feedback and is actively pushing the game to new heights in Europe and America!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of Lemuria (Legendary Edition)
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Anthony H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2010 08:27:41
Barbarians of Lemuria. . .
I have encountered this product somewhat out of order. I purchased Dogs of War a few weeks ago and rather enjoyed it, and received Barbarians of Lemuria this morning. I printed it out (I'm fortunate enough to have a rather old, but functional laser printer in my study that will output double sided content, albeit SLOWLY :) ) and started reading over it.

If you own any of Mr. Washbournes other products, such as Dogs of War, or the Barbarians of the Aftermath by Nathaniel Torsen, which uses BoL rules, and enjoy them, then you won't be in for any surprises here.

For those who aren't familiar with these products, allow me to summarize, because it is a terribly hard system to catch on to.

To perform an action Roll 2d6
Add the Attribute that applies
Add any appropriate combat abilities
OR Add any appropriate careers (if not in combat)
Add or subtract modifiers as the GM sees fit.

If your result is higher than a 9, you succeed

(For those of you that haven't figured it out by now, I was being facetious about the system being hard ;) )

You get 110 pages of nice, clean 2 column text with system and setting appropriate artwork, most of it simple line drawings, for which your printer will thank you when you go to print this out.

The writing is clear and concise, and after a quick read-through of about 25 minutes, I was ready to start making the characters that I will use for major bad-guys with my group when I run this game.

I don't anticipate any problems with character creation, a couple of weeks ago, I sat four guys down who had never heard of this system (using Dogs of War) and they had eight characters created out in less than half an hour (and that was with interruptions from outside sources), and within 5 minutes of play, everyone was in the swing of things as far as dice mechanics went.

The pdf includes a decent bestiary, sample characters, a pantheon of gods, a nice setting (Lemuria, of course), and three short adventure hooks to get you started. There is also a beautifully rendered map (In color) of Lemuria by Gill Pearce, whose galleries I went and looked over on her website (do a google search for her name, you'll find it).

The ONLY minus to my review is a very minor one.

On the character sheet, in order to hide the page number and header text (I assume this was the reason, at least), whoever did the layout placed a 'watermark' style image behind the character sheet.

When printing out on a black and white laser printer, this looks horrible, and makes a good portion of the sheet difficult to read.
This is not a big deal to me, since I often create my own sheet (Although I like the sheet in this one, except for the watermark), but I own the software that will allow me to make adjustments to this, or rebuild it myself, which I will probably do.

My overall rating is 4.875 out of 5. Well done, well worth buying, as are the other products by Mr. Washbourne.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 33 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG