RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
#&%!
#&%!
$0.99









Back
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers $34.95 $31.50
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 10
3 1
2 0
0 0
0 0
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Click to view
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Anthony T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2013 12:32:54
I've been using The Keep to help in the construction of a campaign setting, and so far it's functionality is pretty great. It's easy to do a lot of the word processing I need to do (bullet points, outlines, lists, tables, etc.), and keep the window relatively clutter free. The ability to include hyperlinks and images is also great. It's also very helpful to be able to organize your work into nested tabs so you can find your notes with ease. The more effort you put into it, the more time you'll save later.

On the downside, however, I'm not certain it's worth $30, however, as I feel a lot of the things I'm doing can be done in Google Docs for free. Worse, some of the functionality appears to be unsupported at this time (Inspiration Pad 3.0 doesn't integrate, and I can't get my notes to e-Pub no matter how hard I try). I own a few other NBOS Software products and always like what I get, but with the specter of RealmWorks' release looming over The Keep, I would like to hope some more steps would be taken to improve the software as fast as possible in order to remain competitive.

Once the Inspiration Pad 3.0 functionality is included and some patching to get epublishing to work, I genuinely believe The Keep can compete with any other RPG campaign tool.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Hello, there is an update here that supports IPP 3 tables: http://www.nbos.com/nox/index.php?action=1001&id=534 It has a couple ePub related updates as well.
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Brian R H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2013 21:19:26
The Keep has become an indispensable part of my gaming life. It's a great one stop shop for the PDF rulebooks of all the games I'm currently running, and all the content I'm generating. It integrates with most of NBO's other offerings (Inspiration Pad, Character Sheet Designer, Screen Monkey, and Fractal Mapper). I use it to write scenarios, track combat, reference rules, create maps, keep various lists, and house images.

While it's an off-label use, I've installed the program in my Google Drive folder (using the thumbdrive installation method -- did I mention you can install it on a thumb drive?) which allows me to access the program and all the content I've put into it from any machine linked to my Google Drive account.

It's very useful to the pbp GM. Using character sheets generated with Character Sheet Designer and loaded into the Keep, I can update PC stats, then export the lot of them as images to a public Dropbox folder. In the game thread, I've linked to those images. So, it makes record keeping much easier.

Can't say enough good things about it.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by D J N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2012 04:31:34
I haven't used all the features yet, but this is the first RPG database that I feel I can use during a game.

I do have the nits, and I'll take them up with NBOS, but the program is easy to use with minimal use of the help system. I really like how this application works well with other NBOS appllications (Inspiration Pad Pro and Character Sheet Maker and even Screen Monkey). For my upcoming Traveller campaign I'll be using this to keep track of all the things that happen. I can use my laptop as a GM's screen and the Keep to handle dice rolling and character sheets.

One *really* positive thing that this does is to allow a second screen to be used to show things to players. And I happen to have an extra LCD or two lying about.

There are a few things I think of as flaws, but maybe I just don't know how to do them:
1. Sometimes I'd like to open multiple windows, and I haven't found a way to do this.
2. I can't figure out how to make hyperlinks work within the Keep; I assume they'll work if I publish the information.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Benjamin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2012 13:37:32
At first glance the program looked like it could be of some use during gaming for organizing some of campaign's info, however once I started playing around with it, I began to realize this could be a great tool. Since I had a gaming session coming up at the end of the week after purchasing it, I loaded quick links to a number of charts/tables I had also recently purchased as well as entered general info on the campaign lands and some pricing info. When it came time to play, I decided to give it a test run by setting my 3" binder aside and see if I could avoid opening it while using the program. . . It worked great. I was able to call up charts or tables quickly without having to thumb through pages worth of info even with tabs. The time savings the program gave me was significant enough that a couple of my players commented on how much quicker I was able to find things which allowed for more gameplaying. I just wish I had something like this years ago and I plan on getting some of the add on programs later down the road to enhance my GMing behind the scenes. I definitely recommend this to any GM, organized or not.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Julia E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2011 10:40:27
I've been keeping my game files on the computer, in folders beyond folders, for over a year now. While that's better than straight paper, The Keep is better still! The database is easy to use, the GUI is clear, and The Keep runs well off Dropbox, so I have access to my game files anywhere. Good job, NBOS!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Danny M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2011 08:54:59
Although it would be nice to see more frequent updates, I am thoroughly pleased with The Keep 1.x! It does an excellent job of tracking GMing tasks. I have the entire NBOS suite and it is quite impressive. Warning: there is a bit of a learning curve with the NBOS products if you are someone without any scripting experience, although they are great at documenting and offering tutorial information through their help files. They are quick and responsive on their online forums if you have questions or difficulty.

NBOS is an AWESOME company. I have been running games for more than 30 years, and I can say with full confidence that these folks not only know their craft, but are there to enjoy your successes with you.

There are always things that a GM will desire that don't magically manifest themselves in any commercial product, but for THIS GM, that list with the NBOS suite of gaming solutions is the smallest I've ever encountered.

Thanks, NBOS!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Bruce L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2011 19:23:42
I run this on my 5-year old laptop: it works, but when I click on a PDF file in database, it takes a while to load it; otherwise, the DM note-taking, on the fly, is superb! In the past, I relied heavily upon my players to keep copious notes, and I would interpolate a lot of the game from their very good notes... That was when I had a different group of players who were superb at taking voluminous notes -- they're all gone now.

The program is remarkable in its breadth, and scope: I have both PDF, and HTML versions of the 2nd Ed. AD&D books that I use, and they all can be integrated within this program -- I no longer have to have an 8" stack of books on my table to play! The total integration of my books, my notes for the game session, and my world gazeteer notes (this, alone, is 20+ pages to sift through, if necessary), are all integrated within this program, making them all just a couple of clicks away.

I have not spent enough time with the map-maker software (purchased separately, but works seamlessly from within this program), so I can't really comment on that yet. When I do get my maps put onto the laptop, though, the integration will be complete.

Where this program truly shines, for me, personally, is the on-the-fly note-taking. When I start up a game session, I click to open a new note page for that session; it is time and date stamped automatically; I just start typing my notes, as I deem necessary, with complete control over basic formatting (bold, italics, underlining, font and point size, etc.). I don't have to remember to save my notes, as when I close the program, it automatically saves them for me. I love that I can export my entire dB to a thumb-drive, and port/copy it to another PC, so that I can take it to work with me to work on it during my lunch hour. This program has, from the first use in my game, transformed the way I DM. It was more cash than I wanted to spend, but I would do it again in a heartbeat! Cheers!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Darren M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2010 06:05:10
Hi all,

Having used my laptop at the table for a long time I was interested in seeing what this produce could do for me. I am glad I did. It is basically a data base thus allowing you to coordinate all the games data you have on the laptop. Could you do it with out it ? Yes, does it make it easer? definitely.

The learning curve is not to steep. I am using savage worlds so I set up a section for the basic savage would rules and another for our current campaign war of the dead. It should be easy to add other section for each new campaign.

Now it can take some time to set up you basic system section due to the amount of data etc but it worth it. tables that are spread throughout the book can all be together were they needed either though using print screen and paint to cut and paste then directly into the section or by using the keeps hyper link function that lets you view a PDF directly inside The Keep AND will take you right to the correct page you need to go to.

I bought the Keep on a Monday and was using it in our regular game on Saturday. Every thing went smoothly. All in all I am very happy that I bought this product and recommend it to any GM that uses a Lap top at the gaming table.

regards

Darren

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by jeff f. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2010 13:33:43
This is a great tool for organizing your campaign. Such a simple concept and yet so useful. Invaluable for DMs and players alike.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Tony K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2009 05:30:35
The Keep is a very useful tool. the fact that you can have everything in the same place while running a session, and that it integrates with other NBOS products such as Fractal Mapper, Screenmonkey, Inspiration Pad and Character sheet designer makes it worthwhile to get the whole set. viewing PDF's within the application makes it a breeze to look up rules, and you can also have links off to Internet resources as well. Where this tool shines is the creation of a concise adventure world, and then the running the adventures. One caveat - export the database regularly. I lost two hours work because I accidentally deleted and item through my own stupid fault. it also runs perfect on Vista 64.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Keep 1.0 - Personal Information Manager for Gamers
Publisher: NBOS Software
by Game M. B. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2009 17:45:31
I just spent 30 minutes writing a review for The Keep and my RPG Now Login timed out. If you write a review, write it first in a word processor then past it in. How about a Warning pop up with an "I'm Still here" button.

Anyway....

I like the keep. I was using a Journal program that uses a tree structure. However, it did NOT have gaming features. The Keep does. I use a laptop to GM. I prepare my game on it and use it for note taking, sounds, and images. The Keep gives me features that no Journal program has. If you use a PC at the game table, get The Keep.

• Dice rolled is good for quiet rolls (no sound effects are included). I will use it more now that I am becoming fond of it.
• The GM Screen is cool for showing images (maps etc…) on an external monitor.
• The ability to view PDFs inside The Keep is fantastic. Yes, you have to have Adobe Reader and its free. I have the PDF versions of many of my game books. I don’t have to alt-tab not to read them. COOL!
• Inspiration Pad is very useful and FREE. You will use this more than you think. Get it and install it into The Keep

What I didn’t like…
• I don’t like that you can’t change the icons. This is BAD. When your nodes get to be many they all start to blend and it’s gets confusing. You HAVE to make a way to add and/or change icons. I am surprised that you can’t now.

What I would like to see…
• A sound effect panel like the dice and the search. Just attack a sound (mp3 and/or wave) and name a button for it. Press the button and --- The sound of a fire ball (or whatever you want). User supplies the fireball of course.


The Keep is a good piece of gaming software and I hope that NBOS will support it by adding new features and fixing any bugs that may arise.


I am please with this purchase.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG