RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
Encompass
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Battlemap - The Marble Sanctum
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2014 23:00:04
As always, Lord Zsezse Works does not disappoint with this highly ambitious, very detailed battle map set. Antal Kéninger and Zoltán Bárány are the best at what they do and they continue to impress me with their beautiful artwork. Great job guys! Keep up the good work!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap - The Marble Sanctum
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Willow Brook Inn Paper Model
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2011 10:40:27
This is a really unique and beautiful building. As with many of Dave's models, the layering options allow you to create several different looking structures. The "build difficulty" was higher than most of his other models, but that is to be expected, considering the detail that went into the design. Great job!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Willow Brook Inn Paper Model
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Lich's Mansion
Publisher: Encompass
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2009 18:28:44
As nice as Encompass' artwork is - and it is really nice - there is very little in this mansion that makes me feel as though it is inhabited by a lich or any other malicious, undead creature. I own five Encompass products, and I have finally come to the conclusion they are stuck in "table, chair, rug and bed" mode. There are lots and lots and lots of these 4 items in the various rooms of the Lich's Mansion. So if tables, chairs and rugs are what your PC's hope to find in the rooms they explore, this is definitely the place for them. In my opinion, very little imagination or effort was utilized in creating this product. Except for the mausoleum and a couple skeletons in the cellar, this could be anyone's house. Game Master's are looking for originality, atmosphere and aesthetics when purchasing battle maps. There is nothing much creepy about this place, although I have to give a thumbs up for the mausoleum, just for the spectacular artwork. Unfortunately, even the mausoleum falls short of being even the tiniest bit spooky. Artwork: 5. Originality: 1. Attention to detail: 2. Atmosphere: 1. Wow factor:2 Overall: 2 And PLEASE . . . get rid of the RED arrows on the stairs. We can figure out which way is up and which is down. Really, we can.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lich's Mansion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
The settings purposely lean toward the generic side so that they can be used more flexibly. That way folks don't *have* to use them in the way presented in the accompanying documentation if they have another purpose in mind. We feel it is easier for GMs to add things to the setting through presentation and description than it is to try and remove them once items are graphically represented in the image that don't fit in with their current campaign. Lich's Mansion contains dilapidated, ruined old furniture--at least what's left of the furnishings--the floor is dirty, the grounds are unattended, the basement is trashed. It doesn't have to be the current residence of a Lich. It could be the home of an eccentric recluse, it could be an abandoned property or a plain old-fashioned haunted house.
0 hr: Blackwolf Manor
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2009 06:33:19
Great artwork, well thought out and a BARGAIN at $3.95. A great setting for your PCs to visit or even own. Zero Hour Fantasy settings are among the best out there - I just wish Ryan would create some adventure/dungeon battle maps. I'd buy them all!!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Blackwolf Manor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Octagon
Publisher: Encompass
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2009 06:31:53
I had my initial doubts, but I must say that I am impressed with Encompass who almost daily made changes to address the feedback provided by myself and others who purchased their products. As this product is currently offered, it is a very nice piece of work. The addition of 8x10 tiles with a white background provides an ink-saving option most companies do not . . . unless you want to print out black and white battle maps. The building itself is well drawn and would provide an adventuring party a very cool place to hang out - or a place to sneak in and take out the bad guys. No matter where your imagination takes you, this is a well-done product and well worth the investment. The only negative I can find is I feel all the 8x10 files really should be offered with and without the white background - not just for the first floor. I sure hope Encompass creates some themed dungeons to delve through. I haven't purchased the Mad Wizard's Laboratory yet but will likely do so in the near future.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Octagon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tendril's Oak Inn
Publisher: Encompass
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2009 06:30:10
This is my 2nd review of this product. Initially, I stated that the artwork was pretty good but neither the layout nor the logistics were. Now, I am happy to retract my initial negative comments and replace them with positive ones. This is a very good product. I have purchased several “inn” type battle tiles sets from various companies. The artwork and attention to detail rank right up there with some of the better inn sets available. I still dislike the fact that you can't page through and look over the entire building without opening 4 pdf files and that the stairs are labeled with giant red arrows. However, those negatives seem minor when compared with the overall quality of the newly-revised product. With the layout and ink-saving changes, I am happy to recommend Tendril’s Oak Inn to any game master who wants a nicely presented place for their PCs to hang out or just pass through on their way to some grand adventure. I will definitely purchase more Encompass products in the future. Their artwork and their willingness to listen to criticism regarding the initial release of their products have hooked me as a customer.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tendril's Oak Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tactical Maps: Tomb of the Damned
Publisher: The Forge Studios
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2009 23:16:02
This is one of my favorite tile sets ever. The self-contained dungeon is beautifully rendered with excellent attention to detail. Need a quick, well-thought-out dungeon /adventure for your PC's? This product provides a gorgeous place to kill the baddies and reap the rewards. I wish TFS would produce more of these types of settings. I would buy them all!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical Maps: Tomb of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Island Of The Ice Maggot 003: Ice Maggot Temple
Publisher: The Forge Studios
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2009 23:09:50
Beautiful artwork and a very useful product. The ruined temple makes a great battle site for any winter campaign. The tiles can be mixed and matched with the previous Ice Maggot sets - allowing for numerous combinations of wintery batle mats. Attention to detail is superb. Good job TFS.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Island Of The Ice Maggot 003: Ice Maggot Temple
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamescapes: Story Maps, Fantasy Set 1
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2008 17:54:32
This product is more of a junior high school abstract art project than it is a dungeon/adventure tile set. The "tiles" are composed of various textured symmetrical patterns, seemingly without any thought of "what", "where" or "why". Many of the tiles have bizarre light shapes that repeat over and over again at various sizes. The bulk of the tiles are very similar in appearance . . . with subtle variations to separate them from the previous tile. While interesting to look at, most of the maps appear to be nothing more than colorful Rorschach inkblot tests. Some reminded me of childhood art project where several colors of paint were slapped into the center of a piece of paper - which was then folded in half and opened back up to reveal butterflies, snowflakes and other inane symmetrical designs. There is also an entire section of these "tiles" where a carpet or rug is the only detail on the whole page. If you are expecting dungeon tiles similar to 0one Games, Zero Hour, The Forge Studios, Dark Furies Publishing or Skeleton Key Games, think again and don't waste your money. Even at $9.95, this product costs about $8.95 more than it is worth.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Story Maps, Fantasy Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello Michael, Thanks for taking the time to review our product. We really appreciate feedback from our customers and I'm sorry this set doesn't suit your tastes. We had a blast designing this one and use it for our own games and demos. I've created a quick sample dungeon using a handful of the 78 available tiles, just to show how we intended the set to be used. Please take a look, maybe it'll inspire you to create a few layouts of your own. http://aaronace.blogs.com/talisman/mysticdungeonsample.jpg
The Island Of Ice Maggot: Strange Coast
Publisher: The Forge Studios
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2008 19:11:37
I own several of the Forge Studios products and am fairly pleased with all of them. This is no exception. There are so few 'Winter' 2d map sets out there, I was elated when the Forge Studios came out with the Island of Ice Maggot tiles. Both this product and 'Ruins of Locks:Marine Eye' are beautifully rendered, with great attention to detail. The snow, ice and water look almost photographically real.

This set has a lot of versatile tiles that can be used in any Winter-based campaign.
Overall, this is an excellent product. If you are running a Winter campaign or adventure, you should invest in the Island of Ice Maggot series. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Island Of Ice Maggot: Strange Coast
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Island Of Ice Maggot: Ruins Of Locks: Marine Eye
Publisher: The Forge Studios
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2008 07:05:35
I own a handful of the Forge Studios products and am fairly pleased with all of them. This is no exception. There are so few 'Winter' 2d map sets out there, I was elated when the Forge Studios came out with the Island of Ice Maggot tiles. Both this product and 'Strange Coast' are beautifully rendered with a great attention to detail. The snow, ice and water look almost photographically real.

The one negative is that most of the tiles are made to fit together in a specific way. I would like to have seen more 'generic' type tiles with trees, ice and snow - ones that could fit together in any way I choose.

Overall, this is an excellent product. If you are running a Winter campaign, you should invest in the Island of Ice Maggot series. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Island Of Ice Maggot: Ruins Of Locks: Marine Eye
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0 hr: Amber Hart Inn
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2008 07:10:56
This is definitely one of the best 2D Inn maps (if not THE best) I've seen. The artwork is fabulous, with wonderfully rendered details. The NPC backgrounds are fairly general, without any stats. This has little effect on the overall quality of the product, however, since most everyone will purchase the Amber Hart Inn specifically for the beautiful maps. This is a perfect 'hangout' or a great 'just-passing-through' spot for your PCs. A must have for any GM . . . and at $3.95 this is one of the very best bargains out there!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Amber Hart Inn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Forgotten Tomb of Felgar the Goblin King
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2008 20:31:38
Overall, this is a fairly decent product. The adventure is simple and presented in a way that is useful for multiple game systems at various character levels. I like the fact that all the "villains" are provided as miniature cutout standees, in case you don't have actual figs.

The main "positive" of the product is that it provides pretty much everything you need to run the adventure (sans dice and rulebooks).

The main negative is the red stars on the battle maps. I am not sure why Mr. Roy decided these were necessary, but they definitely detract from the aesthetics of the product. The maps are also not of the same quality you would receive if you purchased a Zero Hour or 0one battlemap product.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Forgotten Tomb of Felgar the Goblin King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

0 hr: Temple of the Moon
Publisher: 0 hr: art & technology
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2008 00:16:55
The Temple of the Moon was well designed and well executed in its presentation. The artwork is stunning. Overall, one of the best 2D "tile sets" I have purchased. Definitely a bargain at $3.95! Works well for either an adventure setting or a safe haven for your PCs.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0 hr: Temple of the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG