RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Day Room
Publisher: DramaScape
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2013 16:15:59
Good: It's free. The Bad: The pages are blank after page 6.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Day Room
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I've just tested it, you must have had a bad download, if you re download it you will see all the pages.
Cartooner rpg - play your favorite toon
Publisher: Vas Quas Editrice
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2013 11:36:34
I downloaded this because I am a huge fan of Toon: The Cartoon RPG (I have two of every book Steve Jackson came out for the system), and that the description said Cartooner is a "modern" retelling of the system.

It is no where near the same system as Toon, other than it uses d6s and based on cartoons. It runs like a playset for Fiasco, where everyone gets a chance to run as the director (player currently narrating), producer (directly opposes the director and in control of secondary characters) or audience (all the other players/pcs who are not the director or the producer. AKA main characters. In fact, why didn't they just call it main characters? Audience makes it sound confusing, like they are watching a cartoon, not directly involved. Maybe it's lost in translation?).

They want you to go out and buy an actual carrot or something resembling the carrot. Which gets passed around when setting up who is directing/producing/different scenes/etc.

The system is not all that bad, but they should update their description to say that it's more like Fiasco than Toon: The Cartoon RPG.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cartooner rpg - play your favorite toon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bulwark
Publisher: Chthonic Games
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2013 10:27:28
The free PDF is good, I guess. I just got cards, no rules. If its suppose to be a QuickStart version, then I need rules to play.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Bulwark
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for purchasing BULWARK and for visiting DriveThruCards. I did want to let you know that rules for publishers' printed card games are typically available as a PDF from the product pages. (Sometimes the rules, if they fit on a couple of cards, will be included in the deck. More often than not, though, the rules can be viewed/downloaded by clicking the link under the product's cover image.) For BULWARK, here's a direct link for you: http://www.drivethrucards.com/download_preview.php?pid=112729 I hope that helps. And thanks again for visiting DriveThruCards.
Delta Green: PX Poker Night
Publisher: Pagan Publishing
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2013 20:56:58
I downloaded this not specifically for BRP, or CoC but for a Cthulhu themed game that could be inserted into another rpg system.

On my home computer the maps look really fuzzy/distorted, but on my tablet they look ok.

I ran this today at a gaming meetup and there were some thoughts as I was prepping this module as a coc game. Another thought for the map is an infirmary (if there are pregens with the Medical/first aid skill and on a military base it would make sense for one to be somewhere). I also made one of the vacant hangars a make shift gym.

There are a lot of typos, and blank entries for the pregens (one of the women had nothing in her damage bonus, for example). Also another problem I ran into was I was trying to print out the pregens (the last 10-15 pages of the pdf) and all I would get is words overlapping each other, rendering them useless.

Afterwards, play of the module went really well. I really liked that there were sidebars with the Timeline of events and the Sanity of the SONNET device. I had 3 players who played Frank Long, Bob Price and Michael O'Shea. They had a lot of fun with the sanity-at one point Michael went into indefinite insanity mode-and was on morphine at the same time, Frank was actively trying to burn down the base with the fuel tankers, and Bob at the end was babbling (somehow Frank 'understood' what Bob was saying by body language). They all ended up going AWOL and living in Mexico.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: PX Poker Night
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Gauntlet
Publisher: Alderac Entertainment Group
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2012 14:22:26
My players enjoyed this module, which was played the session immediately following the Honor Among Thieves Module. The party was made up of four level 6 players and one level 5 player; a mercenary group with good & neutral tendencies. They were trying to infiltrate the thieves guild and one of the fighters had dreams about it. They were also highly sympathetic to Sebastian, since they just helped him out.

Cons: It says that it is a sequel of Honor Among Thieves, or can be played as a standalone. However, it does not reference any NPCs from Honor Among Thieves (I worked Swift, the Minutemen, and Sebastian back in, however I did not use Desburg for the city in the 1st module and didn't use Desburg in this one). Again, the Module is laid out like a "pamphlet," which is a nuisance to assemble. I also switched the cleric's and the noble's house, it seemed like the cleric would have a more modest house than the noble.

Pros: I liked the fact that the DM can choose the last task (worked really well in my case), but perhaps 12 hours is too long for the PCs to get all the tasks done; using the Diplomat and some bluff/diplomacy skills (and one magic pipe performance, which made people dazed at the statue), they were able to get all or most of the tasks done within 4 1/2 hours.

I really enjoyed the how the players got around some of the tasks, for instance, since they were supposed to leave a bloody dagger in the noble's house (ie Sebastian), they weren't told how to do it or where to get the bloody dagger, so they drew one and left an apology note.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Gauntlet
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Stealthy Thief
Publisher: Bards and Sages
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2012 11:04:14
This adventure is a bit too micro. I find it hard to believe there will be a party out there that will take an hour to run through the adventure, as the cover states "Hour or less Micro adventure." My current party would be done with it in 15 minutes, and that's on a bad day.

The plot is a bit too obvious (ie, well there are no foot prints, so either magic is involved or something large is coming in and taking off with the cattle). Speaking with animals is a moot point and doesn't *really* help the party, and it's a waste of a spell.

I also noticed there were a few typos (writing"it" instead of "he" in the dm text, and typing he instead of the).

The NPC background being already fleshed out is great, but too bad most of it is not being adequately used during this particular adventure (most of the backgrounds assume that the party will visit the NPCs more often and will get to see more of their quirks, etc).

In the end a creative DM would have to flesh out the adventure some, to make it fulfilling to the party.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A Stealthy Thief
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Honor Among Thieves
Publisher: Alderac Entertainment Group
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2011 13:06:48
I ran this over 2 sessions for my current Black Company game. The only differences I made that it was set in Beryl, the group got arms and armor instead of the Desburg magic item and I switched the shapeshifter's type from Terror fiend to Forvalka (wereleopard). In the tunnel section I switched out the water based monsters to alligators, although my party managed to avoid all of the alligators.

spoiler (some):

My group went the fastest route to Sebastian's house, and made a stop at the TTESSFFTT__ trap; it stumped them for a good 10 minutes or so, but I gave them several hints (ie "There are 10 spaces, 9 are filled and the last space is blank"). My suggestion to other DMs is to let the group roleplay it out, instead of using a Decipher Script roll. One of my players loved this trap so much, she is going to use the trap and part of the module in her home game.

I did up the HP of the terror fiend/forvalka some. My group was 5th level while playing this module, and are heavy hitters, so they would destroy a 50 hp creature within 2 player's turns. (However, I used the Terror Fiend's AC instead of the Forvalka's AC, and it took them a while to be able to hit it, before they dazed it and brought the AC down).


My top complaint is the layout of the module, where you had to assemble into a packet before you were able to read it completely through. The map was also very hard to read in the shades of grey (to see where the ledges where in relation to the rest of the tunnel was hard for the party), so I'd suggest at least making the map in color. If the DM's map is not possible to make in color (I copied the map included in the module and gave it as a hand out to the party), maybe make a Player's Map that is in color, as the party kept saying "oh, we're going towards room 10 or avoiding room 8" etc comments.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Honor Among Thieves
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Never Ask Directions (D&D 4th Edition)
Publisher: John Ross Rossomangno
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2011 22:44:48
I ran this game for my Black Company Game, which is using the 3.5 d20 srd. I just swapped out some of the NPCs for Humans of their equivalent level, and one or two gained another level. (The party that showed up tonight were 4 PCs of 4th level).

They blew through the adventure within an hour, although they don't know everything about Half-hand (yet).

Side note. I noticed in the bio for the author that he lives in PA. I wonder if he's in the NEPA D&D group I'm in...hmm..

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Never Ask Directions (D&D 4th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Distressed Damsel
Publisher: Bards and Sages
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2011 16:47:47
I used this recently for my Black Company Game, which had a group of 6, all level 2. I changed out the werewolves for the wereleopards in the Black Company setting (which were all between level 4 and 5).

One of the fighters and the thief/ranger was immediately suspicious of the Mother, however they didn't question her too much, and left her to talk to the Academician.

The party and I came to the conclusion that the module was fun, needed a bit more substance to it (although they do tell you that it's a micro adventure that lasts about 30 minutes), and a little railroady.

Besides that, the party had fun with it anyways.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Distressed Damsel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

(Aid) Firebeetle's Quick Sheets
Publisher: Creative Mountain Games
by Jazmin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2010 13:24:33
It is ok, but could have been reread for typos and wacky sentences (such as in the Barbarian sheet that says "You no read"). There is one in the Alignments chart that seems to be missing the rest of the sentence, in the True Neutral box ("Act Naturally Without"). Act naturally without what? (The complete sentence should be "Act naturally, without prejudice or compulsion".)

Great in a pinch and if you can overlook the typos and the wacky sentences.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
(Aid) Firebeetle's Quick Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG