RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
Publisher: Crafty Games
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2014 13:05:02
As I've mentioned already, this booklet is hurt by a lack of illustrations and with some surprising gaps in coverage. However, it is a good supplement for players who already own a guide to weapons in the D20 system.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This Is My Rifle
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bag Full of Guns: This is my Gun
Publisher: Crafty Games
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2014 13:01:01
I agree with everything JD S said -- not enough illustrations hurt the product.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: This is my Gun
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
Publisher: Crafty Games
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2014 12:56:56
A good supplement if you already have a D20 compatible guide to modern firearms. My main complaint is that some obvious weapons are missing (the AN-94 comes to mind). The booklet is also a bit sparse on illustrations, which help to make weapons I've never seen myself more concrete. Still, this is a good product and well worth the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bag Full of Guns: Red Heat
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

At Close Quarters
Publisher: BITS
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2014 23:19:58
Basically, At Close Quarters (ACQ) delivers alot less than it promises. While the rules are intended to streamline the combat system in Traveller and make the effort more "realistic," it seems to me that the original system (which I have never played, but which I have read carefully) is easy enough to work with and needs no streamlining.

In terms of accuracy, I am willing to allow that I may have missed something, but ACQ didn't do anything for me. What Traveller (and most of the other reconstituted and updated GDW titles as well) needs is a clearer explanation of when, where, and how combat would be conducted in the future. Once the basic premises are filled in -- as they would be in any military RPG (such as T2K), almost everything else falls into place.

I have seen worse and I'm not sorry to have purchased the product. It just didn't provide what I was looking for.

Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
At Close Quarters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I\'m sorry ACQ didn\'t provide as much value as you might have hoped for. Please remember that it was produced for \"T4\" or \"Marc Miller\'s Traveller\" which - at the time - we at BITS felt could benefit from some clarification and integration of combat concepts from previous Traveller combat systems and games. ACQ was also intended to support standalone miniatures skirmishes (e.g. using Traveller deckplans) and have proved very popular for demonstration games that we have run at many UK conventions over the years.
The Regiment: Rolling Thunder: Compatible with Stargrunt and Dirtside II
Publisher: Art of War Games
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2013 22:19:43
This is a booklet with some positive and some negative elements.

On the positive side: The campaign system takes into account many of the issues that would really face units in a large and intense combat operation. Second, the background and general geographic descriptions are fairly useful and can easily be adapted to any set of SciFi tactical rules. Third, I like the idea of a campaign setting. Unlike single scenarios (even if they are linked), a campaign forces the players to consider how they are going to use their assets. Players can't just blitz accross the battlefield without considering the long-term results of any particular action. This is a big plus, since it requires a level of operational thought not usually found in this type of game.

On the negative side: First, Maps. Except for the overall situation map, the scenarios needed illustration. It is not enough to describe the battlefield, unless the author is willing to do so in great detail. Second, TO&Es. For such a sophisticated campaign, information about the composition of most OPFOR (to The Regiment) is scant. Indeed, even the Regiment TO&Es are somewhat lacking in detail. Finally, the descriptions of equipment are also paltry. I realize that this was done to allow a generic feel so that players could use whatever they have, but at least general guidelines would be helpful. Other than the Regiment's vehicles, we aren't given any details of OPFOR equipment: does the other side have equal equipment? Old Kit? Wheeled, tracked, or GEV vehicles?.

Taking everything into consideration, I would say that this is definately a product for serious gamers who have a clear idea of what kind of units they will field and how these will be used. It is definately not for "cherries."

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Regiment: Rolling Thunder: Compatible with Stargrunt and Dirtside II
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Future Clipart 1 - Soldier A
Publisher: Infinite Dreamers
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2009 10:49:31
There's a saying: "You get what you pay for." that definately applies here. This pack contains four views of a single soldier in action and (mostly) in-action positions. It can be useful for some types of RPGs and if used as clip-art (I have no clue what the copyright situation is, however).

That said, however, I was disappointed in the general lack of combat poses with standard weaponry.

On the good side, this is a cheap way to build a two-dimensional paper army.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Future Clipart 1 - Soldier A
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamescapes: Battlemat Terrain: Desert Steppes
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2009 10:44:28
This is a superior map set for RPGs and miniature games in almost any scale. Although the tiles are supposed to lay out in a specific order, I have found that the maps are really geomorphic and can thus be laid out in almost any fashion.

I have been using the maps for skirmish wargaming in 20MM (1/72 scale), with only minor adjustments.

I have actually bought all the map packs and am heartily satisfied!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamescapes: Battlemat Terrain: Desert Steppes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T2000 v1 Small Arms Guide
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2009 07:48:54
I came to T2K relatively late in the game's history and have been playing catch up ever since. This book is a very useful component in any campaign, even if it is a bit long in the tooth.

Weapons are listed in alphabetical order by category and all T2K stats are included.

Well worth the investment!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Small Arms Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Scudbusters II: Back to Iraq
Publisher: Wessex Games
by abraham e. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2008 15:10:32
Excellenet, if somewhat limited ultramodern skirmish game. The limitations come from the included army lists (only US and UK special forces) and the locality -- despite a short mention of North Korea, the game is limited to the Persian Gulf Wars of 1991 and 2003.

On the positive side are the intuitive game system, the ease with which the rules can be converted to solitaire play and the adaptability of the game to RPG like campaigns.

Overall the positives far outweigh the negatives.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scudbusters II: Back to Iraq
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Future Clipart 2 - Soldier B
Publisher: Infinite Dreamers
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2008 10:58:05
Liked: Price; multiple poses of same basic character; camoflage and weapons useful in near future or sci fi settings.

Disliked: Only four poses, with no kneeeling or prone positions and no alternate weapons; shows only front of figure , not back; prints are too large for most boards or maps and require multiple printings to obtain enough characters for larger games.

On balance the positives outweigh the negatives, but I would have liked alot more.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Future Clipart 2 - Soldier B
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Objective Interim Modern Combat System
Publisher: SPQR Studios
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2008 21:08:15
This is a not to bad RPG that can also be used for miniature battles. The language is a bit overwrought, but the rules are fairly intuitive and easy to pick up. I don't do much RPG playing, but have found some very useful ideas for miniature battles in the modern and near future eras.

I would really like to see some kind of Army Lists and perhaps other supplements for this rules set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Objective Interim Modern Combat System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hanukkah Havoc
Publisher: Crafty Games
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2008 21:04:23
Without a doubt, this was the most unfortunate purchase I've evr made (to date). The plot line is reed thin and would insult a six year old's intelligence (ask my children!), the characters are right out of some smarmy c-level (or worse) wnnabe James Bond flick, and the setting bears no relationship to reality.

The only good thing about this game is the price, though it troubles me that I used paper and toner for the loser.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Hanukkah Havoc
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Infinite Ordnance Yearly Subscription
Publisher: Infinite Realities
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2007 07:27:40
Quite possibly the best item I have purchased through RPGNow, the subscription provides considerable real world information AND OCL rules for a range of military equipment that can be used in most role playing situations. To be sure, this is a work in progress. However, once completed the database will include everything from uniforms to aircraft carriers -- and literally everything in between!

If you play military RPGs or ar just interested in military history -- YOU MUST SUBSCRIBE!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Ordnance Yearly Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T2000 v1 DTRPG Guide to Twilight: 2000 version 1.0
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2007 22:01:04
This is pretty much a repetition of my review of the guide to TW2K v.2, so I'll summarize: if you are interested in near future gaming -- either as an RPG or as a miniatures game, THIS BOOK IS A MUST PURCHASE.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1  DTRPG Guide to Twilight: 2000 version 1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

T2000 v2 DTRPG Guide to Twilight: 2000 version 2.0
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Abraham E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2007 21:58:28
This is a broad overview of the materials available for the Twilight 2000 RPG and a guide to the game's background as well. It should be a standard piece of literature for anyone interested in TW2K or for any near future RPG/wargaming.

My only complaint is that there are actually two guides -- one for TW2K version 1 and another (this one) for TW2K version 2. It probably would have been better to integrate both into one master document, since not all the books from v.1 were reformatted for v.2.

Nonetheless, I find myself referring to this guide constatntly and am using not only it to build my TW2K collection but as a guide to near future gaming in general.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v2  DTRPG Guide to Twilight: 2000 version 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG