RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results









Back
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
 
$24.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
13 6
2 2
0 0
0 0
0 0
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Click to view
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Daniel J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/18/2014 23:35:27
It's one of the most amazing game with most amazing features of career.
I hope they release more of this, into something like 2.5ed.
It's a really shame that I couldn't delve more into the world.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Sebastian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2013 16:52:05
Probably the best fantasy RPG out there. If you looking for something different from D&D get it! But remember; this is grim world where death is always near.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Brendan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 18:02:45
Impossible at this early stage to rate a game at 5 stars. I played 1st edition back in the day and loved it so I'm really anticipating something special, RPG-wise. I read the designer notes at the back and felt the reasoning for the the amendments were sound. The main attraction of the game is its low fantasy vibe. Yes the setting is fantastical but it's less Masters of the Universe and more Lord of the Rings. A completely immersive experience in a convincingly realised setting.
A note of caution on the quality of the PDF version that I bought. Sometimes it is difficult to read the text as it is blurred. Also, when the character sheet has bits of text missing. For example, the words 'name', 'age' and 'race' are almost completely missing!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Wayde Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2012 15:34:54
Very happy with the PoD version of the Core rulebook. The paper and binding are slightly thicker than the original print version making the book almost a half centimeter thicker. While the colours are slightly muted when compared to earlier print runs, this combined with a matte finish on the pages (instead of glossy) increases the readability for me. My only niggling complaint is that while the typography and interior artwork are crisply rendered, the cover art is pixelated as if they used a poorly compressed image -- a minor issue overall. Hoping Night's Dark Masters and an errata'd Career Compendium are around the corner!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Darren E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2010 14:07:06
Simply the best formed fantasy role play world in existence. While the 3rd edition has arrived, the 2nd is all you'll ever need. Every source book is available and there is a wealth of adventures and campaigns, including the exceptional Enemy Within campaign from the 1st Edition which, if you can find, you can convert easily. A wonderful upgrade to a classic system.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2010 15:43:45
Overall, an excellent set of fantasy role-playing rules. It combines detail with simplicity. You have choices in combat (which is indeed perilous), yet it flows quickly from player to player, and is fairly quick overall. You also get interesting choices in developing your character as you gain experience. And you have a limited number of Fate/Fortune points for times when the dice are against you. Always nice to have the ability to avoid one bad die roll from ruining your whole gaming session. The Warhammer Fantasy world is, in my opinion, one of the better fantasy worlds available for gaming, though you need more than the core rules to see it all. While WFRP is not my favorite rules system, it is still one of the better systems I have played, and I wish Fantasy Flight still supported this 2nd edition to some extent.

On the negative side, I am not a big fan of the career system ... though it does work well enough so long as you do not have to "roll" for your first career. Note that I have a stong bias for game systems where you design a character you _want_ to play, over coming up with a character using random rolls. To be fair, I do like the WFRP's career system better than the class/level system used in other games, however. While the insanity rules are interesting, I don't care for the fact that you gain an insanity point every time you take a critical hit ... and should you gain a malady from this, some of them could be fun, but some simply make your character unplayable.

The PDF itself is very nicely done. It would be nice if clicking on the TOC or Index entries took your to the relevant page ... especially considering how much the PDF cost. Considering that a new edition of WFRP is now out ... I have not played it as it is way to expensive to try ... the price of the 2nd edition books has now gone through the roof in response. I feel the cost of this PDF is a bit on the expensive side for an out of print, unsupported set of core rules. I was only able to justify the cost because this is one of the games our group activity plays.

Regardless,Warhammer Fantasy Role-playing 2nd ed. is system/world well worth a look.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2010 02:14:03
My favourite thing about this game remains it's peerless careers section. The way it captures a profile of a vibrant medieval society is pretty unique in gaming and really brings it's game world to life for me. The system itself is much more polished that the previous edition, and the colourful magic system a welcome addition.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Steven M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2009 20:50:58
The third edition is coming out soon. The price is way steep, $99.95, and all the dice and such. Yuck. For me this is WFRP as it should be. Gritty and dark and just nasty.

Get this while you can. FFG may not have this available after the third edition comes out. Finding the actual printed editions is hard and expensive.

Love this game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG