RPGNow.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Publisher: Flatland Games
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2015 11:41:55
I just read though the core book and the material is amazing! Ok, the system is very D&Dish (reminds me of a cross between Lamentations of the Flame Princess and Swords and Wizardry), but the idea of the playbooks and the scenario packs are brilliant. It's a wonderful and inspired way to bring in new players and offer a challenge to the old timers. The playbooks and packs alone is worth the price of admission. I'm definitely going to give this a spin at a convention in the future. I want to go back and cover more detail, but for now I will say that the game is worth it. Even if you play another OSR inspired system (or the original D&D) the materials here really add something.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cast of Cards: Boom Town (Modern)
Publisher: Warning Label
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2015 14:01:48
I just stumbled across the Cast of Cards products. This are very useful. I run Deadlands from time to time and having these in my arsenal will come in handy. I would love to see more of these! A post apocalyptic deck would rock!
Anyway, a short review on how awesome of an idea these are.

I would have given 5 stars if there was art work on the cards to help visualize the NPC, but these are great as is.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cast of Cards: Boom Town (Modern)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Storm Keep (5E)
Publisher: WanderLOST Adventures
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2015 14:08:33
I just wanted to leave a quick review on "The Storm Keep" by Daniel Laycock. First I wanted to say, Well Done! The adventure was fun, clean layout, and something that can be run in a session or two. I read the module and had the important bits highlighted in an hour or two. Prep was easy. I am doing this as a side quest for my Temple of Elemental Evil campaign and the theme of this module was the perfect fit. The naming conventions were very old school and some of the NPCs like Gearloose and Erroc add some light hearted comic relief. If I had to look for any opportunities I would suggest more art. I know this was a low cost module to produce, but for a few bucks you can get stock art here on Drive Thru RPG and flesh out the imagery. Also while you mention monsters that are in the Monster Manual, please add a page number. That's fine that you cannot use the statblocks for 5e yet, but a page number could save some frustration.

I am going to give this 5 stars and hope that Daniel continues to put out more fun adventures.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Storm Keep (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Flayed King
Publisher: GM Games
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2015 10:11:17
Not a bad little mini-mod. I love the weird fantasy theme of the game and this is something a GM could have up and running in less than 30 minutes. Great adventure for a side jaunt or a one shot.

Great Job!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Flayed King
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Flux
Publisher: John Wick Presents
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2014 09:03:34
This is an amazing game, or should I say the glue for many different games. As one of the reviewers confessed, I to have gaming ADD and I own more games than I will ever play in my lifetime. I have always wanted to have a way to play the different games and settings without having to keep starting up new campaigns. This is a brilliant concept that will allow for some really cool Eternal Champion style play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Flux
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mazes & Perils RPG
Publisher: WG Productions
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2013 17:34:04
Mazes & Perils is a nice homage to the Holmes Basic D&D set of years past. The game compliments the original Holmes set as great additional material for those who wish to take their game beyond the low level cap of the original game. Art work is a bit sparse and a bit too cartoonish for my tastes, but with a free price point I can easily over-look this. There are a lot of retro-clones on the market, but none that integrate with the Holmes set so well. I would encourage in any future revisions to possibly make the game a bit more newb friendly... I think with its simplistic mechanical approach this game could be a great gateway drug for someone trying to introduce another gamer to the OSR style of play.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mazes & Perils RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Starships & Spacemen 2e
Publisher: Goblinoid Games
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2012 18:04:30
I am a major supporter of the OSR movement and a huge fan of Goblinoid games, with that said I was thrilled to help support this game when I came across the crowd funding campaign for it. The book is beautiful, the layout and art is very reminiscent of the original book (I believe most of the art is from the original book in fact) and I am taken back to an earlier time every time I flip through it. While it is the Star Trek universe with the serial numbers filed off, it is something I plan to run as a Star Trek games. The rules are easily integrated with Mutant Futures and Labyrinth Lord so I have more options to bring my "Final Frontier" sessions to the next level... So next stop? The away team will have to investigate the Deep Space station that was invaded by Zombies!
Great Game!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starships & Spacemen 2e
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Publisher: Goodman Games
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2012 12:23:34
This is one of the better Original Edition Inspired RPGs I have seen hit the market in awhile. While I have a great love of Lamentations of the Flame Princess, Castles and Crusades, and Swords & Wizardry DCC has a vibe all its own. Some people might say the game is crunchy, but that is where the fun begins. No one session is alike, the play is very random and keeps the players and referee on his/her toes. The game is class and level based and really takes the classic Appendix N to heart. Herein you will find true classic Swords and Sorcery handed over on a unique and well crafted plate. Also the third party support on this game is amazing!

If you do not own DCC and you are a fan of classic D&D or Swords & Sorcery, you need to pick this up now!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sord Pf
Publisher: Myth Merchant Press
by J C. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2010 16:39:27
There is not much to say about this product other than "Great Formatting". It is often difficult to review an SRD since the content was penned by another.
One of the things that has made this very useful to me is the layout, the formatting, and indexing in the PDF. It has allowed me to look at rules in a heartbeat and not loose pace with the story I am telling.
It was completely worth the 4.95 I paid for it, and although an impulse buy for me it has been used more often than not.

Please pick this up if you are running a Pathfinder game, or playing it at a convention. It is even more valuable if you have an ipad.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sord Pf
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gaslight Victorian Fantasy (Savage Worlds Edition)
Publisher: Battlefield Press
by J C. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2010 16:34:18
I am a big fan of Scientific Romance, Steampunk, and Victoriana style gaming overall. I have played many games in the past (Victoriana, Age of Empire, Castle Falkenstien, etc.) and while I liked most of them I always found the systems a bit too much in one direction.
I love the fact that this game has put down some groundwork for doing this sort of gaming with the Savage Worlds system.
Gaslight gives me a great foundation to port in all my fave genre tropes and use it with SW. Years ago i wrote a LoEG scenario for SW and recently tweaked it using some of the rules from this book.

If I were to give feedback, I would ask that they focus less on races and more on meaty bits. Everyone and their grandmother's Victorian game has elves, and other mythic creatures. If anything I would have went for a more Bros. Grimm approach to creating the setting.

I hope to see more development on this game in the next year.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Gaslight Victorian Fantasy (Savage Worlds Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Venture 4th: By Skill Alone
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by J C. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2010 16:21:04
I happened on this during a Cyber-Monday sale and honestly even at full price this little diddy is well worth the price of admission.
This small 27 page PDF carries with it a nice punch as it offers some great Skill Challenges, a small section on how to make them more challenging for the player, and some new example on how to use the very "small" list of skills in the 4e game.

If you are a DM who wants to add a bit of RP flavor in your game, you should not be without this book.

If any feedback I would have to give... you could take out the rituals and add more ways in which to use skills.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venture 4th: By Skill Alone
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG