RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 
     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
 Follow Your Favorites!
NotificationsLog in or create an account and you can choose to get email notices whenever your favorite publishers or topics get new items!

 What's New?
Square Dungeon Rooms
Square Dungeon Rooms
$1.80









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Karma Deck – 4th Edition
Publisher: Creation's Edge Games
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/20/2010 19:42:21
I found this product to be AWESOME! It's not often I give a glowing review with no problems, but this product does exactly what it's supposed to do, does it well, and looks good doing it.

In my game I use the Karma deck to show the favor of the gods. If the PCs do something that the gods might reward then I give them a card to use at a time that they choose. It gives them a bit of a boost and solidifies the importance of the influence of the gods in my current campaign.

The cards give the PC a bit of a boost, some extra damage, an extra little ability or defense. Not enough to completely unbalance the game or encounter, but just enough to tip the scales in a single combat just enough.

If I had only one critique is that it does seem a bit pricey for what is essentially a medium sized set of cards.

This will be an integral part of the rest of my campaign.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karma Deck – 4th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 3: Undead
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/14/2010 18:52:25
This set IS my undead army. It's perfect for building a cheap army of minions, skeletons, zombies, etc.

If you need a lot of something this is ideal. Easy to assemble, quick to use, and even easily numbered so your players can tell you, I attack zombie 3, 12, and 74.

I can't think of anything that I would add to this set. It gives you exactly what it promises and does it at an extremely reasonable price.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 3: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 6: Monsters
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/14/2010 18:48:31
This set of paper minis is one that I like to call "Big Critters". It fills a need that the previous Fantasy sets leave behind, creatures bigger than those of medium size. Dragons, trolls, ogres, and more.

These paper minis sheets come with a variety of options. Trifold, two-fold for use with plastic bases, and tokens. Color or not. You also get many creatures on a page so that you can print an army of hydra or a single gelatinous cube.

The downside of this product is that for me the least desirable option is the 2-D token that sits flat on your battle map is the only one that accurately displays the size in two dimensions on the map. I want my minis (even paper ones) to stand up and be easily seen all around the table. If I use the trifold method you get pretty close to filling the four squares that a large creature should fill. If you use the two-fold method with the plastic bases (my preferred system) then you fill two squares at best.My suggested fix is to print a token of the monster and place it under the two-fold stand up mini. It's not a perfect solution, but it's functional and cheaper by far than your metal or plastic minis.

All in all, easily worth $5 for cheap minis. I use these all the time whenever I need a legion of baddies or to fill in for minions in my 4e D&D game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Disposable Heroes Fantasy Statix 6: Monsters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WorldWorksGames / Deadly Encounters Combo
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/14/2010 18:14:50
This set is just about the simplest, most straight forward product in 3-D terrain cardstock models I have ever seen or constructed.

That is both the boon and bane of the product. It's the boon of the product because it's simple, it looks good, and it can add some seriously cool atmosphere to your encounter. That portal is going to make a great broken gate into the feywild in my 4e D&D game.

It's also the boon of the product because it's so simple, and there's just not that much to it. Sure they give me options on grid size or no grid...but all those extra options add zero value to me since I won't be using them. And you essentially walk away with three very small terrain features, one of which is just a grid overlaid on a flat field of grass with a rock in it (which means only two of the features actually has 3-D features).

All in all I would say this is GREAT for what it is, but considering what it is and the added cost of color printing on cardstock, the value is less than great. For $4 this would be fair. For anything less it would be a great bargain.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / Deadly Encounters Combo
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DRAGONSHIRE: Guard Post & Armory
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/14/2010 17:59:28
This tower is a great starting project if you're looking to get into 3-d cardstock terrain. It's price is good and it is not horribly hard to put together while still getting you the practice with some of the less simple processes to see if it's something you want to do more of.

It's useful in many situations. They've listed it as a guard post, but it can work for any small tower. Personally I'm using it for the ruins of a long abandoned wizard tower and it will suit those needs nicely.

The only problems I had putting it together is getting the first level to fit into the sleeve created on the second level. It just doesn't fit. But it sits on top in a stable way that still looks decent. Also the small roof on top of the tower didn't come out as a great fit for me.

But the rest of it worked better than I would have expected from my previous experience doing these things. Braces for holding on the roof work perfectly. Other areas where there is some risk of showing mistakes or white spaces are well filled.

I have fun working on it. It makes a great addition to my collection. All in all, good set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DRAGONSHIRE: Guard Post & Armory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Alluria Campaign Setting Guide
Publisher: Alluria Publishing
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/12/2009 18:52:43
This book is an interesting concept. It may not be for everyone, but if you want to take all of your books, pdfs, options, settings, and crazy ideas and make them all possible this setting is all about making that happen. If you are a DM who wants to tell your players "yes" when they have a crazy idea that they're excited about this is a setting to consider. It's all about allowing for these things without breaking the setting.

That said, you don't get a setting with a clear direction, focus, and theme like you do with more detailed, and thus more directed settings. But for the low price offered and 23 pages of mostly fluff you do get a lot of inspiration.

The only real crunchy mechanics to the whole product is a group of time-based monsters at the end.

All in all, this might be a good pick for you and at the very least it might provide inspiration for your own setting. Production quality is good. Artwork and layout are top notch and the writing meets any D&D product standard you are used to.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Alluria Campaign Setting Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Huxtropy
Publisher: Silent7Seven Games
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 09/15/2009 17:53:25
This is an interesting concept that with this implementation I would definitely allow into my game for players, but not something I'm likely to highlight as a key point in my game setting.

The mechanics seem balanced, but don't expect a new class with a slew of new powers. What you do get is a bunch of new items, a reskinned Ranger that is a little bit awkward of a solution, but a workable one, and a new warlock pact.

All in all, a good product that is easily worth the price if you're interested in tossing elementally charged cards around your game.

Of note: This was a Pick of the Episode on The Tome Show and you can hear more about it here http://thetome.podbean.com/2009/09/13/the-tome-ep-115-halfli-
ng-cleric-and-pacing/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Huxtropy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Ultimate GM Screen 2
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by Jeff G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/13/2009 16:03:16
This product, if the detailed instructions are followed carefully, will give you a good quality gaming screen. The shelves in the back side for the GM to store minis and the like have me the most excited, although the general look can add a lot of a gaming experience.

The towers double as dice rollers, which is not something that particularly excites me and does take the most work to accomplish, but it is one of the fun features of the product.

There are some downsides to consider, some of the instructions and markings are incorrect. It doesn't take much to figure out how to assemble things correctly, but it can still be a bit frustrating. More frustrating is that when it was all said and done not all of the seams were flush and there was some bending/warping of the castle walls.

Beyond that, if you're willing to print what must have been around 100 sheets or cardstock in color and put in the hours of work to get it together it is a fun project. It probably would have been good for me to do something simpler as my first project of this sort, but it was fun all along the way.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Ultimate GM Screen 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the review! Just to clarify, the number of sheets needed to print the screen itself (i.e. not including the instructions) is about half that.
e-Adventure Tiles: High Seas Dragon Ship
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Jeff G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2009 09:44:16
Fantastic layout for a mid-sized sailing vessel. This was well worth the price in saving me hours and hours of creating a decent ship map that would have been of much lower quality. While well worth the price, it would have been better at a $5 or less price tag. Worked especially well printed on card stock!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: High Seas Dragon Ship
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
 Cart
0 items
 Publisher Info
Silent7Seven Games
Silent7Seven Games
Publisher Average Rating

See All Reviews
Publisher Homepage
Other products (8)
 Gift Certificates
Get Your Favorite Gamers What They REALLY Want...
$10 Gift Certificate
Powered by DrivethruRPG