RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Goblin Markets $6.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
20 5
6 3
0 0
0 0
0 1
Goblin Markets
Click to view
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2012 23:19:16
The core rulebook mentions Goblin Markets briefly. I was always very intrigued but also very confused how they worked. This PDF only supplement fills in the blanks of not only how to create your own Goblin Market, it also gives explicit instructions on how to run a stall. It also has some example markets that can be dropped down into any running story. This is a must have for anyone intending on creating a story that spends any significant amount of time in a Goblin Market.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Adam I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 02:35:17
While the content is excellent, this product fails to render properly in Apple Preview, to the point of illegibility (seriously, it ends up as dark grey on black). This, for me, is a major failing, necessitating a work-around to simply read. Not good enough for a commercially distributed PDF.

Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Niklas F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2011 03:26:37
Exactly what I needed for my campain right now. A good book with lost of stuff to turn your own.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 01/14/2011 03:25:54
'Goblin Markets' continues the reputation for high quality that White Wolf has begun in their PDF range. Whilst this is too small to be a sourcebook (but perhaps act as a chapter or two in a book) this suits PDF publishing perfectly.
The Goblin Markets are places where illicit materials of all types are available, and the gamut of Court reactions to attending and trading at the markets are well presented. Furthermore, the markets are well developed micro-communities which share a set of Laws covering both vendor and buyer (but with the usual 'caveat emptor' one would expect when dealing with faeries). It expands the idea that each market is a unique location with its own thematic elements, style and mood - and the book does offer a range of examples to kickstart your imagination. These examples are all very different in feel, and it is obvious that the writers have worked hard to convey a level of depth and individuality to each setting.
The next section deals primarily with the types of goods able to be purchased or bartered for, and the warehouse of material transcends the purely physical. The section on indulging in Vices was particularly innovative, and can set the scene for some excellent role-playing moments (especially if temptation is a theme for the night's play).
Lastly, there is the expected Storyteller section which is good value. There are some sample 'ready-to-run' scenes and some example NPCs that can be dropped into any chronicle. There are also rules for those wishing to run a chronicle with PCs as Market Folk.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this to any Changeling Storyteller (Dreaming or Lost alike) and eagerly look forward to more product support for this limited line.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Scott R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2010 12:42:54
Goblin Markets brings some needed detail to an important setting of Changeling: the Lost. In previous Changeling books goblin markets were described in a handful of pages, enough for a Storyteller to wing it with a little imagination; but here they are given their due diligence and come to the forefront of interesting spaces to visit in the Hedge.

Finally we have rules on becoming market merchant, typical standards of behavior, how (and what) to buy and sell and a host of plot hooks. There are enough colorful market examples that you will find at least two or three you will want to adapt for your chronicle. If there in one quibble it would be that only two sample scenarios are provided, but being preceded with a short chapter on how to run market stories and a few sample storyteller characters it is something I can forgive. Perhaps someday there will be a SAS companion product. It was also very nice to see so much original artwork in such a short ebook-only publication.

The writing and production quality lives up to Changeling's high benchmark.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/12/2010 09:41:39
A Flames Rising Review:

In Unknown Armies, something called the Swap Meet exists. It was one of those mystical places where you buy the memory of the date you never had in exchange for the memory of watching your first child being born. While Goblin Markets doesn’t come across quite as harshly as the former example, the theme of the book is caveat emptor. The reason why I’m bringing up both games is to illustrate how wickedly cool and troublesome such a place can become. These places are hard to get into and so much more difficult to escape. Oh, you may leave the market easily enough. It’s just the choices made while midst the vendors that will haunt you. These places allow for once-in-a-lifetime meetings between characters, a look at what the characters really want, and enough subplots to seed an entire campaign.

This book comes in at just under fifty pages; nevertheless, I found myself extremely impressed with the attention to layout and artwork. White Wolf appears to be taking a great deal of pride in their PDF releases. With attractive offerings like this, I believe their gamble will pay out for them.

I won’t go into layout much because I’ve covered the ground many times. Each line at White Wolf has its own dedicated fonts, borders, and such. As a reader and avid collector, I am totally one of their targets for doing this. The Changeling line, while not necessarily my favorite, does appeal to me artistically.

So, what exactly appeals to me? The artwork is in a mix of greens, blacks, and whites, which lends well towards the Fae. None of the pieces in this release doubled me over, but the talented cover art by Justin Norman is riddled with details. It’s a bit dark (the reds and blacks mesh a little too much at the center of the cover). It carries the atmosphere of the market well (as do the pieces within the book). The artwork shows a few of the vendors, of which I found the spider coolest.

This book is broken into five sections:

1. Prologue: Bought and Broken
2. Introduction
3. Chapter One: To Market We Will Go
4. Chapter Two: Buying and Selling
5. Chapter Three: Market Stories

All in all, I’d say the only harm with this book is that it perhaps is too specific. A book devoted to strange shopping isn’t going to pull in many impulse buys. I think this is a shame considering the well-written end result. This book can take a night’s game down intriguing new avenues. For me, that’s a selling point.

While this is a White Wolf release, the materials inside can mostly be mined for other settings. I’d be inclined to say fantasy settings work best, but games like Shadowrun could also benefit from a little marketplace action.

Read the full review at FlamesRising.com:

http://www.flamesrising.com/goblin-markets-review/

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Phil B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2009 21:44:53
As a long time fan of Changeling: The Dreaming I have been waiting for Changeling: The Lost for some time and I am delighted with what they have done with the game.

Goblin Markets is my first download RPG source book for any White Wolf game from the new World of Darkness, so I had no expectations what to expect from such a downloaded book. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this book, as well as with DriveThruRPG's seamless service.

There is a wealth of material in here for the Storyteller to use, far to much to list here, but the material presented was clear, concise, and very useful indeed. The artwork fitted in with the rest of the Changeling Books - this was not just done as a second thought, but is integral to the rest of the series of Changeling source books, and the quality of the PDF reflects this.

The review I have given of it on my web site is fuller in detail, but in short I would recommend this source book to all who play and run Changeling: The Lost.

Phil Brennan.

www.philipbrennan.net

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Vic C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2009 21:46:17
By far, one of the best source books White Wolf has released. A must-have for anyone even entertaining the idea of running or playing CtL!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Goblin Markets
Publisher: White Wolf
by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2009 00:31:41
This looks great white wolf thank you for this :) ...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG