RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Hard Boiled - City Tiles 3
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2010 02:51:55
I ran across these pulp styled adventure tiles the other day at RPGNOW.
They are a great resource for any Pulp game. Of course they could be easily used for just about any modern/supers/horror setting as well but they're gonna be used for Pulp (specifically Dicey Tales) here at the Lair!
I bought Craven Manor and The Docks set. The dock set printed up beautifully. they look like they come straight out of an old Robert Mitchum movie like Macau. The PDF's are layered for complete customization. they also include a nice set of crates and cars and furnishings. Both of these tile sets are packed with value and as your going through them your mind will just start coming up with adventures to use them with on the spot. Did I mention that the manor set has a hidden laboratory and cells for prisoners? well it does!
I have plans for both of these set and for the Rumored "Airfield" set that is supposed to see release soon- till then check out what this line has to offer.
Two thumbs up from The Evil DM!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - City Tiles 3
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hard Boiled - The Docks
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2010 02:49:52
I ran across these pulp styled adventure tiles the other day at RPGNOW.
They are a great resource for any Pulp game. Of course they could be easily used for just about any modern/supers/horror setting as well but they're gonna be used for Pulp (specifically Dicey Tales) here at the Lair!
I bought Craven Manor and The Docks set. The dock set printed up beautifully. they look like they come straight out of an old Robert Mitchum movie like Macau. The PDF's are layered for complete customization. they also include a nice set of crates and cars and furnishings. Both of these tile sets are packed with value and as your going through them your mind will just start coming up with adventures to use them with on the spot. Did I mention that the manor set has a hidden laboratory and cells for prisoners? well it does!
I have plans for both of these set and for the Rumored "Airfield" set that is supposed to see release soon- till then check out what this line has to offer.
Two thumbs up from The Evil DM!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hard Boiled - The Docks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

QAGS Second Edition
Publisher: Hex Games
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2009 02:35:35
First off, a word of warning – QAGS pulls no punches and handles some material in a very Adult manner. The rules read at PG-13. Although the system is an ideal one for children, I highly suggest that the rules information be disseminated by a responsible adult. We are not talking porn here folks but there are a few off color remarks and enough adult language that parents should be advised.

Okay, enough of that.

Right off the top, QAGS takes the unusual step of really preparing potential players by going over the fundamentals of roleplaying and the importance of character concept and archetypes before even touching the mechanics of character creation (kudos!).

I just wish they organized their presentation better. They have so much to say and all of it is good- it’s just that they present it in such an annoying way. You try to read the main text, and suddenly there is a big ass box text on the next page talking about something totally different.

It’s like all the folks at Hex games are surrounding you as you read it saying “Oo, Oo, look at this, look at this.” “No, no look at this, at this.” “Hey, hey over here, over here, look at this!”- Frankly, it was damned annoying. The good thing is that what they had to say was interesting, otherwise I would have closed the PDF right there (and don’t even get me started on the three column text).

I’m not sure if chapter 2 was any better or I just learned how to mind shield myself from the sidebars that aren’t sidebars. But it seemed to go much smoother for me. Basically it’s all about task resolution. It’s a rather nifty system with degrees of success worked in.

The Damage system in chapter 3 is very cool. It’s quick and easy to grasp and I would think makes combat in QAGS move at a very brisk pace. The mechanics are very basic and friendly. An additional touch that helps is that each chapter has a little example of play tacked on at the end.

Chapter 4 is where they explain their systems use of Hero points, Bennies, Action points etc. In QAGS they are called Yum-Yum’s and are basically pieces of candy- M&M’s, Reese’s Pieces, raisins-whatever you want. I’ll give the folks at Hex points for originality. They definitely know their audience.

Chapter 5 goes into the fine art of roleplaying. Something that all of us experienced hands SHOULD know by now. But it never hurts to be reminded. As in the chapters before there is plenty of good advice dispensed here and worth reading, even for RPG veterans.

Chapter 6-8 turn the tables to help the GM with the thankless job of running the game. One of the many wonderful quotes I took away was:

“The first thing to realize when preparing a con game is that there’s a good chance you’re not going to know most of the players. More importantly, at least 25% of con-goers are card-carrying, USDA-approved morons.
Understand going in that the odds of you having a good time are not good.”

Tell it like it is brothers!

Chapters 6-8 are fluff, but they are important and entertaining fluff. Here again stuff that most of the experienced hands should know but at times forget (campaigns, plots, themes, mood, tone, PC Death, difficult players). QAGS takes the time to go over much of it and do so in an entertaining manner.

Appendices follow with a plethora (yes, I know what a plethora is) of charts, tables, setting overviews, character write ups, equipment lists, and even an outline of Joseph Campbell’s Heroes Journey. This is a ton of stuff, most of it useful, all of it amusing.

At the end I have to say it was a fun read. It could have gone smoother at the beginning. But by the time I was done I was eager to play. I’m going to try it out on my minions (heavily edited for content of course).

Good read?
Yes.

Easy read?
No.

Good system?
Yes.

Good value?
Yes.

Would you play it?
Yes.

As an overview, on a scale of 1-10 the Evil DM gives it an 8.

Go buy it!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
QAGS Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Barbarians of the Aftermath
Publisher: Jabberwocky Media
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2009 13:13:56
Barbarians of the Aftermath – An overview
I haven’t had the opportunity to play the game but here are my observations after a thorough read through-
Right off the top I’ll admit that the Post –Apocalyptic genre isn’t one of my favorites to play in. I do however enjoy the fiction of the genre. Lucifer’s Hammer is one of my all time favorite books that I re-read every few years and I used to gobble up books from the Horseclans series just as fast as Robert Adams wrote them. So I am a fan of the genre. And now with the release of Barbarians of the Aftermath, I can honestly say that playing a survivor coming out of a bunker with a sawed off shotgun in one hand and a Geiger counter in the other, finally has appeal.
With Barbarians of the Aftermath (BotA), Nathaniel Torson has successfully taken the core rules from Simon Washbourne’s Barbarians of Lemuria (BoL) Role playing game and turned them upside down taking us from the Sword & Sorcery genre to The Post Apocalyptic.
Weighing in at 172 pages, BotA has added a lot of fluff and crunch to the sleek and simple BoL engine. But Torson has managed to do so in a modular style that is very friendly to GM’s and players who like to get under the hood of a game and make it their own. He starts off with a confidence inspiring treatment of the genre and the possible futures that destroyed the game worlds. Torson shows a solid knowledge and enjoyment of the genre. BotA doesn’t just give you one reason for the fall, it goes over several and allows you to pick and choose, and the options are all laid out there for you to pick your particular poison.
One thing I noticed is, if you are the type of gamer who loves charts and randomization, then you will have a nerdgasm reading these rules. And I don’t mean that in a bad way, it’s just that there is so much information to be covered, so many options that charts just have to be the way to go. And that’s not to say that there are pages and pages of bare dry charts- not so at all. These rules grab you and reel you in. they are well written and presented in a very attractive layout. No space is wasted but none of the book looks overcrowded.
The next chapter covered the basics of character creation, this was a quick read for me since Post Apocalyptic-is all about the world rather than the characters. In Fantasy gaming the heroes attack the world, in BotA the world attacks the players. But still I dusted off all my favorite Post Apocalyptic archetypes to see if BotA could handle them –
Genetically created creatures from World enough, and time?
Check.
Jon Shannow “The Jerusalem man”?
Check.
Horseclansmen and the Cat clans from the Horseclans series?
Check.
Juggers from Blood of heroes ?
Check.
Princess Ariel from Thundarr the Barbarian? (This one would be a deal breaker)…
Check.
Well alright then. Let’s move on.
The next section states Tools not Rules. I like it already. We go into mutations, psi abilities, firearms rules, radiation, vehicles (with a special section on “downgrading vehicles and equipment-nice) , and more. Here is where we start to see that we have left the “quick, slick and elegant” which is the hallmark of the original BoL system. But it feels right. In order to embrace this whole new genre we need to crunch it up a bit. Just a bit though. It has to be that way if you want to introduce Psi abilities, Hovertanks, and Killbots. But here again is where Torson saves himself and us- he keeps the “modular feel” going all the way through. Personally I could care less for mutations- I really won’t be using them. If you ever play in The Evil DM’s BotA game at a Con, you will never encounter an 8’ green celery stalk with furry rabbit ears carrying an M16 – it just ain’t gonna happen. And so I have no problem completely ignoring that section.
Torson wraps things up with a section on the flora, fauna, aliens and other nastiness out there to do your character death. And a 15 page Gamemasters kit that gathers all the pertinent charts in one place.
As far as the editing or grammar issues- If there were any I didn’t see them. But if so, far be it from me to point them out.
There was one piece of art that I thought inappropriate, but I learned that it will be addressed in future release. Mistakes happen and kudos to Torson for addressing it quickly.
Bottom line:
Is it still BoL? Kind of, but more and I say that in a good way.
Does it make me want to play in a genre I previously never cared for? Yes. Yes it does.
Is it worth the price? Every penny.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barbarians of the Aftermath
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delving Deeper - Skill Systems (Labyrinth Lord)
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2009 01:17:55
Very handy product that will see use in my campaign. It's a great time saver and at a great price!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delving Deeper - Skill Systems (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delving Deeper - Monk (Labyrinth Lord)
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2009 01:16:21
I'm very pleased with this treatment of the Monk for LL. It will definitely make its way into my campaign as soon as possible. Great job!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delving Deeper - Monk (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Delving Deeper - Bard (Labyrinth Lord)
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2009 01:14:28
For the price its a good deal. I wish they would have added a bit more on the Bards ability to entertain and inspire. I would willingly pay more for a larger, more comprehensive treatment. But overall a good value.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Delving Deeper - Bard (Labyrinth Lord)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DRAGON TILES: Dungeon Set 1
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2007 11:20:26
I’m a very visual person. When I game I enjoy having a tabletop full of miniatures and props. Back in my early gaming days that meant a Chessex battle map and painted lead miniatures and whatever props we could scrounge up from toy bins and such. Now in the age the Internet it’s possible to obtain high quality props to dress up your gaming table for less than you would think.
One of the newest players in the paper miniature market is Fat Dragon Games. They have an impressive line of paper miniature sets for a variety of genres from classic fantasy, four-color superhero, and golden age pulp to science fiction. They offer both printed two dimensional tiles as well as full 3 dimensional paper models, and all of their individual products are priced under $15.00 (My personal cut-off point for ANY type of PDF product). Today I’m gonna write about their latest offering: Dragon Tiles. Dragon Tiles (Dungeon set 1 & 2) combine the best of both worlds, 2D tile sets with 3D props. There are currently two sets in the line and are priced at a very reasonable $7.99
I started by printing off a few sheets from set 1 and set 2. The pages printed up very nicely and had a rich color to them. I was very pleased with their appearance. I’m very much a novice at building paper models, but I knew enough to have the proper tools at hand (X-acto knives, cutting board, metal ruler, glue stick pen, etc.) so that if my results were less than satisfactory I couldn’t be blamed for lacking the proper tools. I decided to start with a bookcase and a small crate. The crate came out okay- I blame myself, lack of experience mostly; I should have started with a larger piece and then graduated to the smaller ones as I became more skillful at the process. The bookcase however came out wonderfully. I then assembled a table, a doorway and a few chairs, and all came out rather well.

Now be advised- paper modeling is not something to be rushed. It’s a Zen kinda thing. Play some nice music, have a beverage and relax, take your time and enjoy the creative process. You can’t rush this kind of thing and expect to get optimum results.
You can’t start to build a dungeon at 4:00pm and have it ready when the guys show up to play at 6:00pm. But if you follow the instructions, use the proper tools, and take your time- you will have very impressive results. I give the Dragon Tiles sets a hearty two thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DRAGON TILES: Dungeon Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DRAGON TILES: Dungeon Set 2
Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2007 11:18:52
I’m a very visual person. When I game I enjoy having a tabletop full of miniatures and props. Back in my early gaming days that meant a Chessex battle map and painted lead miniatures and whatever props we could scrounge up from toy bins and such. Now in the age the Internet it’s possible to obtain high quality props to dress up your gaming table for less than you would think.
One of the newest players in the paper miniature market is Fat Dragon Games. They have an impressive line of paper miniature sets for a variety of genres from classic fantasy, four-color superhero, and golden age pulp to science fiction. They offer both printed two dimensional tiles as well as full 3 dimensional paper models, and all of their individual products are priced under $15.00 (My personal cut-off point for ANY type of PDF product). Today I’m gonna write about their latest offering: Dragon Tiles. Dragon Tiles (Dungeon set 1 & 2) combine the best of both worlds, 2D tile sets with 3D props. There are currently two sets in the line and are priced at a very reasonable $7.99
I started by printing off a few sheets from set 1 and set 2. The pages printed up very nicely and had a rich color to them. I was very pleased with their appearance. I’m very much a novice at building paper models, but I knew enough to have the proper tools at hand (X-acto knives, cutting board, metal ruler, glue stick pen, etc.) so that if my results were less than satisfactory I couldn’t be blamed for lacking the proper tools. I decided to start with a bookcase and a small crate. The crate came out okay- I blame myself, lack of experience mostly; I should have started with a larger piece and then graduated to the smaller ones as I became more skillful at the process. The bookcase however came out wonderfully. I then assembled a table, a doorway and a few chairs, and all came out rather well.

Now be advised- paper modeling is not something to be rushed. It’s a Zen kinda thing. Play some nice music, have a beverage and relax, take your time and enjoy the creative process. You can’t rush this kind of thing and expect to get optimum results.
You can’t start to build a dungeon at 4:00pm and have it ready when the guys show up to play at 6:00pm. But if you follow the instructions, use the proper tools, and take your time- you will have very impressive results. I give the Dragon Tiles sets a hearty two thumbs up!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DRAGON TILES: Dungeon Set 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG