RPGNow.com
Close
New Account
 
  
 
 
You will lose your chance to get the free product of the week.
One-click unsubscribe later if you don't enjoy the newsletter.
Close
Log In
 
 Forgot password?
 

     or     Log In with your Facebook Account
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Big Hexyland Modular Fantasy World
Publisher: Blue Boxer Rebellion
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2014 07:57:40
Big Hexyland is a set of nine hex-shaped, vector image maps which can be arranged any way you like to form a fantasy campaign map. Since the maps are vector images, they scale very well. In fact, you could take these maps to a print shop and have them printed on a large format printer with no loss in quality. Each map has a companion "node map" identifying each regions important locations and travel times. There are plenty of plot hooks and adventure ideas on each map, giving idea-starved GMs a great tool for generating plot elements or story arcs. If I have one complaint, it's that I wish I could edit the text in the hex maps and the node maps to truly customize the world. But this is a minor quibble and in no way detracts from the product. In fact, I'll probably just use them as is. I hope to see more Big Hexyland maps from Blue Boxer Rebellion in the future.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big Hexyland Modular Fantasy World
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Gamers Helping Haiti $20 Donation with Coupon
Publisher: OneBookShelf, Inc.
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2010 05:06:23
As of right now, the Gamers Helping Haiti Bundle has raised over $100,000 to assist Doctors Without Borders' Haiti relief efforts. Read that again: $100,000.

For a measly $20 you get 180 PDFs from publishers large and small who are putting up their own hard work for free to help people they've probably never met in a land they've probably never been to.

The value of this bundle is amazing, as it contains many products that are already more than $20 on their own. Further, with 180 PDFs in the bundle, there's something for everyone.

If you have $20 to spare, log in and grab this bundle.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamers Helping Haiti $20 Donation with Coupon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

BASH! Ultimate Edition
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2009 18:05:33
Excellent! The Ultimate Edition of BASH is superior to its predecessor in every way possible. The book has expanded from 32 to 137 pages, with more powers, a section on super-hero genres, and a killer layout. If you're new to BASH, it's an easy to learn system that plays very fast but still manages to have enough crunch to keep you interested. The basic mechanic is rolling 2d6 and multiplying the result by the appropriate stat (Brawn, Agility, or Mind) plus any applicable modifiers and beating a target number. Simple and easy.

Characters are built on points. These can range from 20 points for Mystery Men to 60+ points for Cosmic-level heroes. While there are plenty of options here, it won't take you hours to build a character and you could jot all relevant stats down on a 3x5 index card.

If you owned the previous edition of BASH, you should really get the Ultimate Edition. The layout is outstanding, the art is bright and colorful, and all the extra new stuff is worth the price of admission.

As far as super-hero games go, BASH Ultimate Edition is my go-to system. Fast, easy, and fun.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BASH! Ultimate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for the review.
Mirror Universe : : Volume 6
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2009 05:03:46
Another fine set of supers from Inspired Device! The good/bad versions are always a plus, giving you twice as many ideas for your games. The brief write-ups can spark your imagination, or you can just chuck them and work up your own. I love the art style and bright, fun colors. The only thing I could ask for is 10 more volumes of Mirror Universe! Well, that and an English translation of their Supers! line!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Elf Army: Basic Infantry
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2009 06:06:32
A fine set of minis for building an Elven army or skirmish force for tabletop wargaming. Consisting of three troop types (Spear, Bow, and Sword) in three poses each, these figures look great individually or massed up in ranks. The included movement trays are useful if you play Warhammer or similar games. If you're feeling ambitious, try scaling these guys down by 50% and you've got some really cool 15mm miniatures for mass combat games like A Fistfull of Miniatures. And, at $3.95 a set, you can't go wrong. Print out a whole army for a fraction of the cost of traditional minis, then assemble them in no time and you're ready to rock 'n roll. Additional movement trays and bases in a wide variety of sizes, shapes, and textures are available at the One Monk website for infinite customization. Simply great stuff!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elf Army: Basic Infantry
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dungeon Heroes
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2009 05:59:09
A great set of easily-built fantasy characters perfect for RPGs and tabletop gaming in general. Visit the website for a ton of differently sized, shaped, and textured bases to customize the figures for your game. Black and white line-art versions are also supplied if you feel like coloring in your own figures. They just look awesome!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mirror Universe : : Volume 5
Publisher: Inspired Device
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2008 06:32:52
Another fine, classy product from Inspired Device. As with its four predecessors, Mirror Universe Volume 5 is wonderfully illustrated and contains brief, but useful biographies of the characters presented. If you like the animated style of super-heroes and you like cardstock miniatures, you really can't go wrong with this set. My favorite in this set? The good version of Nova +. Now if they'd only put out more volumes...

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mirror Universe : : Volume 5
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

zzz-Castles & Crusades Monsters and Treasure
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2008 06:10:03
M&T is a great addition to C&C. It's well-illustrated, has small stat blocks (yeah!), a good selection of creatures and treasure, and has that great old-school feel that only C&C can provide. The only downside? The price! $19.95 for a PDF? The dead tree version costs the same!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
zzz-Castles & Crusades Monsters and Treasure
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 3rd Printing
Publisher: Troll Lord Games
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2008 06:07:09
I'll admit it, I love C&C. It's old-school-meets-new-school philosophy just rocks. Make no mistake about it, this game will take you back to a time when RPGs seemed (and were!) a lot simpler than some of the bloated behemoths we have today. C&C isn't for everybody - I'm sure there are some 3.0/3.5/4.0 addicts out there who would never dream of playing C&C, but I'm not one of them. C&C is simple, quick, and fun. It is, IMHO, a far better successor to AD&D than 3.0 was. And on sale for $10? How could you go wrong? So, buy this little gem, strap on your chain mail, sharpen your sword, and pound those miserable little kobolds into the ground!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Castles & Crusades Players Handbook 3rd Printing
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Eldritch Role-Playing System
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2008 06:00:14
Believe it or not, there IS a good game in here. You just have to wade through a layout that isn't as clear as it should be and some acronyms that might make the game seem more complicated than it really is. The Ability Tree system for defining a characters skills and traits is infinitely customizable and will generally allow you to design any character you want. The combat system is different from what most people are used to, but it's fairly easy to use. A "you design the spell" magic system is provided that does a pretty good job of simulating the arcane arts.

What you're basically getting with Eldritch Roleplaying is a toolkit. You'll need to put some work in to fully realize the game's potential, but I think much of the criticism leveled at ERP isn't 100% accurate, either. ERP doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it does give you a different wheel to play roll around. For a generic fantasy RPG, it's pretty good.

Good: Very flexible character creation system, interesting approach to combat with Defense Pools, good toolkit for GMs who want to create their own fantasy worlds

Bad: The layout and organization is sometimes quite confusing, the various acronyms take a while to learn, a full-color version would've been nice.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eldritch Role-Playing System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cave Trolls
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2008 09:21:12
Wow! These trolls are awesome! Need a few good-old-fashioned beasties for your warband or to terrorize your RPG players with? Then these are for you! You get six trolls, both colored and black & white, plus fold-up bases. The only downside? They come with cave floor style bases... I wish they were "grass" style instead. Nevertheless, these trolls are a great value.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cave Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for the awesome review! I am just updating this to let everyone know that I have added hundreds of new basing options on my website. I now have the 40mm size bases in variety of shapes and ground textures. Visit my website using my homepage link on the right. JIM
Terra Force: Marines
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2008 10:08:42
These models are a great and inexpensive substitute for plastic or metal minis, especially if you don't have the time to paint or the cash to throw down. For $3.95 you get ten Terran marines (nine plus a leader) in heavy armor with tri-guns and cool fold-up bases to mount them on. The art is good, the figures build easily, and you end up with a pretty nice looking squad. As an added extra, you can download several round and square fold-up bases in different terrain schemes from http://www.onemonk.com/. Don't like the color scheme? Uncolored versions of these troops are supplied in the download for you to trick out as you see fit. Pros: Nice art, easy to build, free bases. Cons: I want more already!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terra Force: Marines
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Chimera Hybrid: Stalkers
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2008 08:21:55
A very nice set of figures at a decent price. These Stalkers come in three color schemes and multiple poses. Get the free accessory pack and you can create dozens of completely different (and weird) alien critters to terrorize your enemies with. These critters are three-part models, and I won't lie to you: they are fiddly parts to cut out. However, take your time and the end result is well worth it. Pros: Nice art, three color schemes, free accessory pack. Cons: Fussy cutting. Final verdict: You like aliens? You'll like this set.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chimera Hybrid: Stalkers
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Support Skelebots
Publisher: Mayhem in Paper
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2008 08:13:23
A great set of cardstock minis and a whole lot more impressive and dynamic-looking than traditional "tent" style ones. Constructing them is pretty easy: score, fold, glue, cut out. The cutting stage can be a little fussy, but if you take your time you'll find it goes fairly quickly. The bases fold up pretty fast and I was surprised at how sturdy they were. I glued my figures into the bases for a sturdier final model.

The art is a bit cartoonish, and this will certainly turn some people off. Frankly, I like it as it sets these figures apart from a lot of what's out there. The figures are outlined in a heavy black border which serves to give them definition. I recommend using a black felt marker to "edge" the model and cover up the white edges that result from the cutting stage, which really gives you a nice finished model.

Pros: Fairly quick to assemble and they look great. Fold-up slotted bases are a great touch.

Cons: Might be a little cartoonish for some people. Cutting them out can be fussy. $3.95 for 8 figures is a little steep.

Final Verdict: If you like cardstock minis and are looking for something a little different, this set might be right up your alley.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Support Skelebots
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

EABA Code:Black v1.0
Publisher: BTRC
by Christopher N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2007 00:00:00
I waited (not so) patiently for Code: Black and I was not disappointed. If you like modern horror or dark RPGs in general, then Code:Black is for you.

If you haven't figured it out from the product blurb, you're playing an operative of the Brotherhood of Gilgamesh and taking on Evil with a capital "E". And, to make things interesting, you're just a tiny bit Evil yourself. Oh yeah, there's sorcery, too, but it can totally corrupt you if you give in to using it at your full potential. And that Evil? Well, it's everywhere: vampires, werewolves, aliens, Elder Gods, you name it. And the worts part is, the general public can't even see it. Even what they might see they won't believe. All you can do is try to eliminate the small fries and keep the incomprehensible big guns in the Prison as long as you can. Yeah, it's a hopeless struggle. But, you don't have to play the shining knight in this game. You're a little Evil, yourself, so if some innocents get in the way now and again, or some stuff blows up and makes a big mess, well, at least you put down that cannibalistic cult headquartered at the biker bar just outside of town.

This book is loaded with tons of GMing stuff, a very well thought-out backstory, and just drips atmosphere. Even though it's for EABA, GMs will have no problems using Code:Black with other game systems.


LIKED: It's fully loaded. Tons of material at a bargain price. Great atmosphere, very well-designed, excellent GM tools. The PDF is fully hyperlinked and laid-out in BTRC's trademark style: clean and well organized. My POD copy is awesome, and a hefty book for such a good price.

DISLIKED: It didn't come with silver bullets.

Aside from that, I can't fault this book in any way. As with all BTRC books, it's sparse on art. However, the content is what counts, and if you can't visualize a modern horror game after reading this book, why are you playing RPGs in the first place?

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EABA Code:Black v1.0
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 26 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DrivethruRPG